Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

0lddog wrote: »
    Ad says miles, does speedo say kM ?

Is the seat covering after market ?

Yep it’s 433kkm

Seat covers are those taxi style vinyl ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-tour-1-9-tdi-100h-100hp-5dr/27304342?campaign=8

MjE1YzYyY2IxZDRlNzM4MmJlNzRmYTg3OWE2ZGM2MjLi9pFx0GyvYZMivQ7OARSraHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzE4NDQyNzJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2010 Octavia with NCT and (non-PSV) tax all the way til October 2021, €1950

Looks a tidy car despite the miles. Is it worth two grand?

Definitely an ex taxi. Ffs leatherette covered seats. Not necessarily a bad thing but it’s a mk1 that continued in production long after the mk2 was introduced (2004/5). Mk2 a far superior car and got for similar money.

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭11wingnut

Where is reg on Mazza in background from?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

11wingnut wrote: »

How is anyone meant to know that. Unless they seen it some time.

Andrew33 wrote: »
    Definitely an ex taxi. Ffs leatherette covered seats. Not necessarily a bad thing but it’s a mk1 that continued in production long after the mk2 was introduced (2004/5). Mk2 a far superior car and got for similar money.

Switch on the dash over the light switch too

• Registered Users Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

11wingnut wrote: »

It's here but still no idea what country of origin is.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/maserati-quattroporte-4-2/26251112

It's here but still no idea what country of origin is.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/maserati-quattroporte-4-2/26251112

It’s a uk reg, just completely wrong format.

LJ07 UUN

Mot history is eventful
    https://www.check-mot.service.gov.uk/?_ga=2.127892493.1056683890.1614208831-1685609189.1614208831

• Registered Users Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭dobman88

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It’s a uk reg, just completely wrong format.

LJ07 UUN

Mot history is eventful
    https://www.check-mot.service.gov.uk/?_ga=2.127892493.1056683890.1614208831-1685609189.1614208831

Jesus. I just had a quick scan but is the majority of the failures just lack of basic maintenance?? Seems a bit mad

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

dobman88 wrote: »
    the failures just lack of basic maintenance?? Seems a bit mad

Especially a car that costs so much when new. You would think the person would look after it better.

A very nice mk2 Octavia https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27320791

And another one. Cheap thrills
    https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27346926

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-tour-1-9-tdi-100h-100hp-5dr/27304342?campaign=8

MjE1YzYyY2IxZDRlNzM4MmJlNzRmYTg3OWE2ZGM2MjLi9pFx0GyvYZMivQ7OARSraHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzE4NDQyNzJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2010 Octavia with NCT and (non-PSV) tax all the way til October 2021, €1950

Looks a tidy car despite the miles. Is it worth two grand?

This is a bizarre yoke. Where would that have come from? India maybe? They kept producing them for eastern Europe until 2010, but they'd all be left hand drive.

India or at a push South Africa the only places I can think of that might have kept rhd models that long...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

2ndcoming wrote: »
    This is a bizarre yoke. Where would that have come from? India maybe? They kept producing them for eastern Europe until 2010, but they'd all be left hand drive.

India or at a push South Africa the only places I can think of that might have kept rhd models that long...

They were sold in Ireland until 2010 too

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

What would be more bizarre is for anyone other than the current owner to think it's worth two grand.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

They were sold in Ireland until 2010 too

:eek: Really?

Jaysus, there's a few 07 and 08s on DD now that you mention it. 10 is a very late one. I suppose the main question is why?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Australian insurance disk too!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Jaysus, there's a few 07 and 08s on DD now that you mention it. 10 is a very late one. I suppose the main question is why?

They were marketed towards taxi drivers mainly. They were obviously much cheaper than the new model, and very basic. I think the very last of them might have been 2011.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,045 ✭✭✭CoBo55

It was a bargain basement offering that, as was mentioned earlier ran at the same time as the new model. There's an 09 one knocking around here still, I think they put discs on the rear instead of drums and a few small tweaks.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

What would be more bizarre is for anyone other than the current owner to think it's worth two grand.

It's worth nowhere near that. It's a grand car and I'd expect change.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Andrew33 wrote: »
    And another one. Cheap thrills
    https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27346926

but expensive insurance & tax & fuel costs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

How is anyone meant to know that. Unless they seen it some time.

By looking at the dealer's website.

fryup wrote: »
    but expensive insurance & tax & fuel costs

Swings and roundabouts

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'd be surprised if that was Indian, SA or AUS as I can't see any aircon.. Seems Irirsh to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭selectamatic

bear1 wrote: »
    I'd be surprised if that was Indian, SA or AUS as I can't see any aircon.. Seems Irish to me.

It'll be either Irish or uk.

They were sold domestically until at least 2010. I think someone on here even saw an original Irish 2011 reg'd one

20210225-140129.jpg

A one owner from new one sold in a few hours that was up for €2200 in Carrick on Shannon about 3 months ago.

There's quite a demand for cheap tax, reliability, simplicity and fuel efficiency above all else.

It'll be either Irish or uk.

They were sold domestically until at least 2010. I think someone on here even saw an original Irish 2011 reg'd one

20210225-140129.jpg

A one owner from new one sold in a few hours that was up for €2200 in Carrick on Shannon about 3 months ago.

There's quite a demand for cheap tax, reliability, simplicity and fuel efficiency above all else.

Did that one have close to half a million miles up on it too?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

270 isn’t close to 500!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭selectamatic

If I remember correctly it had 320k+ km on the clock.

I've long posted that 1000-1500 should be the price of them however currently it's tricky get them at that.

Just posted that example to say that they can make 2k the odd time.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/05-hyundai-accent-nct-10-21-tax-9-21/27353934

7 months tax, 8 months test, asking €695. It's not even bad looking, really.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-seat-ibiza/27353191

8 months test,a whisker of tax and a big bastid dent in the wing. Asking €450.

How could you be without a car for that money.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    270 isn’t close to 500!

The car is advertised with 433,000 miles on the clock.