Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Yeah, herself had a diesel 9-3, and now has a 159 with the same engine

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭gooner99

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-jazz-2003-1-4-nct-nov-20-taxjan-20/23776748

ZWY2N2I5ZDJmMThkMmFmMTdiMDZmOWRmZDY4NzEyMDLRRJmftnlCZH_BBta4t6-DaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzg1NTY2NjB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NCT til November 2020, bit of tax left, €375

Bit out of the way for most up in Donegal though

Not too far from me from me. Closest bangernomics to me ever. Don't these usually go for more than that?

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Paranoid Mandroid

colm_mcm wrote: »

229k motorway miles according to the add. 1.6. any opinions on this ? The high mileage would concern although it's bangernomics after all

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

229k motorway miles according to the add. 1.6. any opinions on this ? The high mileage would concern although it's bangernomics after all

This is a 16V engine - and they have one tiny, yet with huge consequences issue. The seals between injectors and the block are prone to start leaking air from the combustion chamber. Less air = more carbon buildup in the engine. That carbon then is deposited in the pipe feeding oil into the turbocharger and eventually blocks it and other oil ducts.

In the end, what was an easy problem to fix (3 mins with an allen key), turns into a complete engine failure, that is beyond saving.

The 8V versions, from around 2012 onwards, are much better.

--

That being said, if it drives well without any issues and has documented service history, it might be a good buy. Shortly after the purchase you'd want to tighten the injectors and replace turbo oil feed pipe (~€50 in total) to extend the life of it...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

grogi wrote: »
    This is a 16V engine - and they have one tiny, yet with huge consequences issue. The seals between injectors and the block are prone to start leaking air from the combustion chamber. Less air = more carbon buildup in the engine. That carbon then is deposited in the pipe feeding oil into the turbocharger and eventually blocks it and other oil ducts.

In the end, what was an easy problem to fix (3 mins with an allen key), turns into a complete engine failure, that is beyond saving.

The 8V versions, from around 2012 onwards, are much better.

--

That being said, if it drives well without any issues and has documented service history, it might be a good buy. Shortly after the purchase you'd want to tighten the injectors and replace turbo oil feed pipe (~€50 in total) to extend the life of it...

I f**king love this thread. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-micra/23782330

YzIzYzJhOWY3NTgzODhlZmZjZTViMjMyY2I4MjMyNTk7YyyLIrriDWyag3i44GZ2aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzg1OTg0NTJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NCT til June 2020, tax til May 2020, 72k miles, same owner since 2005 - €400

Handy little runaround at that money. Chip 50 quid off the asking and you're laughing

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-renault-megane-estate-1-5-d-dci/23532489

ZjYyOTBjNDllMTc0ZDE5OWEyNGVhYzI3NDEwMjFiYTU_IL8rlTtiZlPm0qitMHzgaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzY3MjQxNjJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NCT til September 2020, tax til August 2020, same owner for the last 3 years, looks tidy - €1850

These seem to be slowly creeping into bangernomics parameters. This one a very respectable looking yoke for the money. They are a grand car overall too

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-e240-nctd/23781298

MWQ3OTBhYTE3MWQ5OWY2OGYwYTE3MWYyMzBmYzU2YWVw4xeW7RteU_Hq4gqH6u12aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzg1ODk5NjF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

02 e240, NCT til the end of July 2020, €699

Risky buy, but I'd chance it (ideally at 500). This was still with its 1st owner until a few weeks ago. Nice bit of flash if you're standing 10 foot away from it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-renault-megane-estate-1-5-d-dci/23532489

ZjYyOTBjNDllMTc0ZDE5OWEyNGVhYzI3NDEwMjFiYTU_IL8rlTtiZlPm0qitMHzgaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzY3MjQxNjJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NCT til September 2020, tax til August 2020, same owner for the last 3 years, looks tidy - €1850

These seem to be slowly creeping into bangernomics parameters. This one a very respectable looking yoke for the money. They are a grand car overall too

It's great to see the handier size cars with very low tax becoming more available, we'll be spoilt for choice soon.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

It's great to see the handier size cars with very low tax becoming more available, we'll be spoilt for choice soon.

The government will only find another way to get more out of us. I wouldn't count on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭themighty

What are these Meganes like for reliability? I know the previous model has issues with clutch and electrics.

I'm looking for an estate, something like this might fit the bill. Love this thread btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,447 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Megane 3 is quite good. I’d certainly put it ahead of most cars in that class.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

themighty wrote: »
    What are these Meganes like for reliability? I know the previous model has issues with clutch and electrics.

I'm looking for an estate, something like this might fit the bill. Love this thread btw.

They are very reliable. But horrible when it comes to ergonomics.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

If you're 6 foot or more be prepared to smack your head in and out as I do....

Bought one to get me by as cheaper to run then 2ltr petrol for 170km a day commute.

Crashed it, suspension bits needed doing, no bags went even though was a big bang, bought with 213k on it now over 241k.

Really miss power though but so far it's quite comfy compared to some others, I wouldn't recommend if you need rear seats for passenger as the seat doesn't even go back far enough for me and you can just about get an A4 page down the back between front and rear seat.... It is that tight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

MWZhMzM4Y2RmNTQ5N2U5YmZjMTlhMTNlYTM2OGY2ZGV1wMJzjLHDBZV2cQr9IhqbaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzg1Mjk1MTZ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

The original of the species - getting very hard to find these days in any state, never mind running with NCT etc!
    Bit of tax until the end of the month, and NCT until the end of January, but at the money, I think it would be well worth it
    Also has had timing belt done, comes with 3 keys,even has alarm and CD player
    108,000 miles and asking €345

Wonder how many head gaskets it's gone through too.

Had one with 38k miles and it had already gone through 2....

Spring snapped also.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Wonder how many head gaskets it's gone through too.

Had one with 38k miles and it had already gone through 2....

Spring snapped also.

First one wasn't done properly, they're truly hateful cars though bouncy as fcuk on the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The GT version would be serious fun.

CoBo55 wrote: »
    First one wasn't done properly, they're truly hateful cars though bouncy as fcuk on the road.

Handled like a boat....

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭BOSTIK

2008 Manual 1.8 Diesel Mondeo, €1,000 & NCT till end of March

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-ford-mondeo-tdci/23787509

NzI1MTViNDVkYTVhMzc1MGUyNjhhY2MzZTljOTY4ZmUi8ZuRs6d_og1gZL0DHcKHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzg2MzkxNjJ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

BOSTIK wrote: »
    2008 1.8 Diesel Mondeo, €1,500 & NCT till end of March

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-ford-mondeo-tdci/23787509

NzI1MTViNDVkYTVhMzc1MGUyNjhhY2MzZTljOTY4ZmUi8ZuRs6d_og1gZL0DHcKHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzg2MzkxNjJ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

€1000

• Registered Users Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭User1998

€1000

€1,250 now lol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭selectamatic

M2-Zm-ZDAx-YTc0-MWIw-ODVj-Mz-A3-MDgz-MTJh-Njgx-NDQy-Mzi-Bm0bvhow-2-ELeo-XTFHTAs.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-golf-1-9tdi-130bhp/23784450

03 130bhp mk4 golf
    Test till January 2021
    Same owner since April 2014
    Looks very honest and pretty clean in general
    I wouldn't be gone on the colour but it's the main reason it's still in good condition
    Asking €750

That’s a great find! You don’t see many in that nick anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-rav4-jeep-4wd-new-nct-03-21-quick-sale/23755499

NWYwOWE1MWQ2NTY3YWQwNDc0MjBjYzJhZmM5OWFlMjSN1vIuaWLlDjsHiLNV77WAaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzg0MDE2NjF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

4wd diesel with 15 months test to March 2021, €950

I like the look of this!

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭jimmythedivil

2010 Subaru Legacy 4wd diesel 2.0 - 1950

https://www.donedeal.ie/adview/view/23742985

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25 Dia_Anseo_Aris

Lads my friends 2016 Tucson in Galway got flooded last night.
    Anything similar with low tax near Galway to get him by until insurance payout?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Lads my friends 2016 Tucson in Galway got flooded last night.
    Anything similar with low tax near Galway to get him by until insurance payout?

He's surely better off buy an older cheap yoke to tide him over wouldn't he?

Transferring insurance onto older cars is usually pretty handy and there's very little downsides to owning something around the 15-20 year old mark as long as you're not renewing or getting a new policy on them.

All should be sorted before renewal time I'm assuming so he shouldn't encounter these problems anyways.