Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Ferris

rn wrote: »
    There was a cohort of 2010 megane estates bought by lads where I work at least 8+. Large company, over 500 spaces. All 1.5 dci engines on cheap tax.

About 4 of them are still there in 2020, I know the owners. All still happy. Some have done large mileage, others tiny.

I compare that to volvo v50 1.6 diesels. About 10 were bought new or nearly new in 06-08, I know at least 5 of owners. All gave enough serious trouble to be ditched before they were 5 years old.

So I'd be favouring Renault over Volvo.

To be fair, i'd well favour the 1.5dci engine over the 1.6hdi PSA engine in anything. I drove an old megane (megavan) with the 1.5dci for a while, was a grand engine (for a diesel).

• Registered Users Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-for-sale-hard-top/24103738

MmVlOTM1YWY3OTEwMDM3M2MzMDE3NmVlYjZiMzYyYzevt40fz1CQffgT8czN2Z6taHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDEwODQ4NTV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2 owner C70 with 6 months test, €950

Probably not the best example, but a nice bit of flash for less than a grand

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-for-sale-hard-top/24103738

MmVlOTM1YWY3OTEwMDM3M2MzMDE3NmVlYjZiMzYyYzevt40fz1CQffgT8czN2Z6taHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDEwODQ4NTV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2 owner C70 with 6 months test, €950

Probably not the best example, but a nice bit of flash for less than a grand

Heads up this is the guy who sells with diferent names in dundrum d 14 ..I will avoid

Yeah, he’s David, Damien and Noel. Still would though if the car was ok

• Registered Users Posts: 73,447 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Andrew33 wrote: »
    I know what Liana stands for!
    Life In A New Age.

It’s originally Life In A Nasty Automobile but they changed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭slipperyox

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic/24140072

tested civic diesel
    cheap tax
    I have one.

no cam belt, no dpf.

If clutch is good, its a bargain

I’m gonna guess it’s as rough as a bears arse.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2001-mercedes-c200-komp-nct-01-21-tax-03-20/24025985

ZjVhZDMzYjlkYjRhZDNlOGM4YjI2ZTI3Y2IzZDg1YmTVNQHXz11fIu27n5AUYLyKaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDA0NTU3NDh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

C200 Kompressor with tax til March and a years test, same owner since 09, small miles - €1275

I think it needs to come down to around a grand, but still it loves a lovely example of one of these

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-punto-1-4-petrol-sport-nct-08-2020/24120830

MTkxNmI3MDg2OWMxZDViOTgzZjUwZDc2YWZmODUxZTK4XxGEJaAlp55KnUtt30d8aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDEyMDIxNjZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Nice looking Punto Sporting with test til August for €950

You'll be the 8th owner

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a6/24149719

Yzg4Y2I5ZjBkYThkZTRlYzcxYWFlMDRjNWFlMTc0OGIsZE7ldzALlNQAqbzVysTjaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDE0NTIyNTd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

130 bhp TDI A6 with a draw bar and a years test, €800

Same owner since 06. Bargain motoring. It'll just keep going & going. Love this

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭almostover

slipperyox wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic/24140072

tested civic diesel
    cheap tax
    I have one.

no cam belt, no dpf.

If clutch is good, its a bargain

Judging by the cow box in the background the clutch could have a share of lugging done, if the car has a hitch! The photos were taken by Stevie Wonder too...

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭slipperyox

almostover wrote: »
    Judging by the cow box in the background the clutch could have a share of lugging done, if the car has a hitch! The photos were taken by Stevie Wonder too...

well. I can promise you, that these cars had clutch failures at less than 40k from new, pulling 1 occupant.

So I wouldn't worry about it pulling cow boxes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

ZWE2ZmU3OWQ0OWIzM2E5ZDkxYTI0YWFkYzQyYmMyNzbV5GTKEiTwBd6WsF7VTSNfaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDEyMDgwMjB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Tidy looking, low milage shopping trolley with many many extras !
    Cloth Interior, Radio, Central Locking, Electric Windows, Power Steering and much more ...

2002 Toyota Yaris 1.0 Terra **NCT 07/2020**

€950

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-toyota-yaris-1-0-terra-nct-07-2020/24121532

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

colm_mcm wrote: »

Just looked them up and I thought the whole idea of a turbo was massive torque this car has less torque than some N/A cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Just looked them up and I thought the whole idea of a turbo was massive torque this car has less torque than some N/A cars.

https://www.explainthatstuff.com/how-turbochargers-work.html#whatis

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

OK. :confused: I know what a turbo charger is. Didn't need a link to explain it.

To put it more bluntly the post you quoted should have said that car is a ball of shít with extra parts to go wrong that a N/A car could do better.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

OK. :confused: I know what a turbo charger is. Didn't need a link to explain it.

To put it more bluntly the post you quoted should have said that car is a ball of shít with extra parts to go wrong that a N/A car could do better.

Okeydokey.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Anyone remember Ross Kemp in the boot of a twingo...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Mad_Mike wrote: »
    VERY dodgy!

Another ad, same text, stupidly low miles, both dealing since 2020 on Donedeal, both using same method to block out number!

NDJlNjQ0NDExMGEzNDUyODY0MDAzNmVmMjgzYjEwMjiWHh9ZuZm9z1LYts3GPqJbaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDA5MzM5NDR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Another one up again!

N2JmY2I3NGUyYmFmNDFkZmE1NzY3YzgwZWUzYjI2ZDLtY_YdtmCKa2EYyYtmPWA6aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDE0MzM0Njh8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

mondeo.jpg

Stupidly low mileage, NCT manually altered as usual, plates blocked out as usual, and most of the text is the same as used in previous ads too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭jharr100

jharr100 wrote: »

Less than a grand now ..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

jharr100 wrote: »
    Less than a grand now ..

Anyone ever have worries about flood damaged cars from Cork? Particularly pre 2010 cheap cars.

Civic looks a good bargain

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

I wasn’t in the market for it, but it just came up and I could resist it.

125k, timing belt done at 89k, fsh up to 2012, drives beautifully, everything works. Nct’d Until March (meh) bit it’s taxed until 5/20

Tax is a bit of a killer but is sooooo nice.

I’ve owned barges before w220, w124,w210 but this Japanese jag is a step above.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

I Was VB wrote: »

125k, timing belt done at 89k, fsh up to 2012, drives beautifully, everything works. Nct’d Until March (meh) bit it’s taxed until 5/20

Well bloody wear.

Saw that and got a few hot flushes, what's it like in the flesh?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Well bloody wear.

Saw that and got a few hot flushes, what's it like in the flesh?

Honestly it’s a beauty, whisper quiet and bodywork is 99% mint, interior is mint. Everything works.

I bought it to tick it off my automotive bucket list but I think I’m going to hold onto it. The build quality is better than mercs of the same vintage.

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

My mate (a Garda) bought one. He loves it. It changes owner every few months to help the tax :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Happy motoring! Can’t beat a straight 6.

My mate (a Garda) bought one. He loves it. It changes owner every few months to help the tax :D:D:D
    A member of our finest involved in tax avoidance?
    Tut tut.

Honestly it’s a beauty, whisper quiet and bodywork is 99% mint, interior is mint. Everything works.

I bought it to tick it off my automotive bucket list but I think I’m going to hold onto it. The build quality is better than mercs of the same vintage.
    I’ll take it off your hands when the time comes.
    I’ve a grand place for it :-)