Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings Cont'd [Mod Note in Post #1 updated 27/01/20

• Site Banned Posts: 40 Benoconnor80

Somoeone shot in Clare just noe

• Registered Users Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Notdeco wrote: »
    Allegedly gym bag stolen with flip flops in it.
    I'll leave the rest out, you can join the dots yourself

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 DonBertie

Ffs, let him read the thread like the rest of us. Where the hell are the mods.

As a fellow newbie I never thought not to read through the thread and ask for a concise breakdown instead. Today's youth....

Think best approach is to simply ignore any poster asking for same or asking questions easily answered by reading through the thread rather than berating them for it. I'm sure it will eventually click if they're desperate enough to find the info they want.

Any updates on the shooting in clare? Near sixmilebridge I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Letwin_Larry

The IRA were decimated a few years back in Dublin by a massive garda operation.

All dead or behind bars.

The capability is there to finish any group off but the will isn't.

A lot of shady stuff us plebs will never know about.

You are spot on, they were completely compromised/defeated. a spent force. I know it's not a popular thing to say, but we've been spoon fed this "undefeated army" nonsense so many irish have actually swallowed it.

for folk who don't know they need to read up a bit on things.
    They could start with FRU, and also UVF (especially the Glenanne gang). then look at RUC shoot to kill, & SAS operations in Armagh, Fermanagh, & Tyrone,
    all were instrumental in defeating them, and forcing them to the negotiating table.
    dont forget Freddie Scapp and anyone but some delusional drunk realises it was game, set & match to HM Crown forces.

the Brits allowed them a face-saving "negotiated peace" and they took it.

A couple of shootings reported in clare, Gardaí on scene.

You are spot on, they were completely compromised/defeated. a spent force. I know it's not a popular thing to say, but we've been spoon fed this "undefeated army" nonsense so many irish have actually swallowed it.

They could start with FRU, and also UVF (especially the Glenanne gang). then look at RUC shoot to kill, & SAS operations in Armagh, Fermanagh, & Tyrone,
    all were instrumental in defeating them, and forcing them to the negotiating table.
    dont forget Freddie Scapp and anyone but some delusional drunk realises it was game, set & match to HM Crown forces.

The provos killed 700 RUC and over 300 British soldiers. They brits couldn't inflict a strategic military defeat on the provos. The brits couldn't wait to pull out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

Any updates on the shooting in clare? Near sixmilebridge I think

Odds are 1/3 Travellers.

Dante7 wrote: »
    Odds are 1/3 Travellers.

Could be Connected to limerick gangs. Seems theyre all fighting over the supply of coke.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Carioco

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    What’s the story with the flip flops?

Think his flip flops were meant to be in the bag they stole hence why flip flops were found with bodyparts

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

Could be Connected to limerick gangs. Seems theyre all fighting over the supply of coke.

All this drama is great value for €80 a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

Few lads jumping at the opportunity to settle scores now that the attention is elsewhere. It'll take a while for the ERU to arrive in Clare tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭Alliance123

The youngest of the active Provisionals why didn't go Dissie are all over 50 now. Hard to see any of them coming out of retirement for something that's not a Belfast thing. Armagh does it's own thing like it always has done and will not get involved in anything outside of their own purview. I doubt the Derry Dissies could find Dublin on a map and the Derry Provies were on ceasefire for about a decade before it was official policy.

True all 50 yrs plus now stuck paying overinflated mortgages on worthless ex council houses and living week to week doing construction on some cold damp site. Their priorities have changed all have kids n grandkids now so have something to live for. Before not

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭TallyRand

That is way way way more deluded than someone saying the Provo’s could re-group to something like they were in 70’s-90’s

Seriously, crazy thinking. Wasn’t plain sailing for provo’s with informers and the Mickey Mouse loyalist groups you mention but who are you kidding thinking the brits manipulated every single thing. You have a very binary way of thinking.

Don’t forget the Provo’s were so measured (compared to Islamist nuts), nearly always a warning and lengths to avoid civilian deaths.

They could have done 20 bombings at the one time around London at certain times if there was the will from the top.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Taysteee

Dante7 wrote: »
    Few lads jumping at the opportunity to settle scores now that the attention is elsewhere. It'll take a while for the ERU to arrive in Clare tonight.

True because there all over swords at the moment

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭NorthCity

I'm guessing you are a unionist , They spout that nonsense all the time , The truth of course is completely different
    https://www.irishcentral.com/opinion/niallodowd/margaret-thatcher-ira-1988

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭NorthCity

The Brits are such kind hearted decent people they signed away their grip on the north just for the hell of it , Ha
    They committed to signing away their control if the IRA ended their campaign of freedom fighting , Brexit exposed just how much they signed away ,

Taysteee wrote: »
    Looks like "the man" got himself a new name

F**k off.

Banned

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Johndoe19

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    Great range of posters here. I see even the RUC SB have a spokesman.

It was better when we had Flashy’s “cousin” here. Sending us photos of his money and “supplies”.

We also got some interesting snapchats and generally better source material. Now we just get people asking questions, reporting already known facts or just straight up arguments with each other. Still more entertaining than Netflix :-)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

F**k off.

Mod

Do not post in this thread again.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Taysteee

Taysteee wrote: »

Garda have been swarming Coolock and Artane since yesterday. Hearing sirens every few minutes which is strange at this hour.

The overtime ban has been lifted by the looks of it - for the moment anyway.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3 NeedAKebab

Garda chopper back in Drogheda, just flew over Rathmullen direction

NeedAKebab wrote: »

It’s been out about 8 times today. Means nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 82,679 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think we need a new thread called "garda helicopter thread" for this sort of stuff.

The helicopter light is as bright as the sun :D

Plus that could be the Coast Guard. People need to stop posting every time they see a Chopper or drive past the ERU. Seriously it’s getting old fast

• Registered Users Posts: 82,679 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Not really relevant to the thread.

It is if you are being chased by it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 NeedAKebab

Gone now, just did a few laps, didn't seem to stop anywhere in particular

• Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

The billboard in the background of this picture of Bugzy Malone with Keane has a very appropriate slogan on it.

d31987a5a0.jpg

Source:

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Louskerr123

Carioco wrote: »
    Think his flip flops were meant to be in the bag they stole hence why flip flops were found with bodyparts

His flip flops (sliders) were in the bag that was lost/robbed in the incident when the video was taken of him getting a smack.
    After the incident, there was a picture posted online and one of the Coolock lads is posing with the sliders on his feet and the Gym bag.
    You should find it on twitter as it’s been doing the rounds.