Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings Cont'd [Mod Note in Post #1 updated 27/01/20

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭RoosterCogburn

I'm sure the gangsters know if they cover it up well enough they'll likely get away with it but if they have actually videoed what happened then you can't erase content from the internet completely. You would hope for the sake of law that they do get caught and put away as to get away with this would open up everything to get even worse, which I dread to even speculate what that could entail.

Whatsapp is encrypted so whatever was sent cant be accessed by anyone, if its true that ya man sent it to the wheelchair fella then it probably never went further than that, look everyone knows who done it but its another thing proving it, these lads arent as brain dead as they seem, especially the nutter from that Dublin that was supposedly involved, someone ratting is always the best way to nail these lads

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Happyhour

6541 wrote: »
    Think about this, Drogheda is a small town, the estate where this happened is small. How the feck is there no convictions ? Maybe the Gardai are trying to build a solid case ?
    There is over 50,000 in the town... the estate can be as big or small as you like they need evidence hard evidence.. the 2 gangs mostly live on either side of the town. The rest of the town is collateral damage . After what happened keane do you think anyone will testify to anything they witnessed unless one of their own crumbles..hopefully they get rock solid evidence they burned the lot out the back on a green area..couch etc..everyone in the town wants the group responsible for keane's death gone. No rational person has sides in this but everyone agrees there is no place in this town or country for people who can do that weather their hands has blood on them or they know something.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Whatsapp is encrypted so whatever was sent cant be accessed by anyone, if its true that ya man sent it to the wheelchair fella then it probably never went further than that, look everyone knows who done it but its another thing proving it, these lads arent as brain dead as they seem, especially the nutter from that Dublin that was supposedly involved, someone ratting is always the best way to nail these lads
    Not encrypted when they are put onto YouTube and if someone received it then they can give that to the Garda and get them nailed for it, revenge by getting then solitary confinement for life. There's a general consensus here (not that it holds weight) that he wasn't involved at all, the only connection is flip flops but that can be to throw off the scent. Wonder what the cause of death was, haven't seen that talked about but then again missing torso so only video evidence seen would yield the answers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Bounty hunter 123

Not encrypted when they are put onto YouTube and if someone received it then they can give that to the Garda and get them nailed for it, revenge by getting then solitary confinement for life. There's a general consensus here (not that it holds weight) that he wasn't involved at all, the only connection is flip flops but that can be to throw off the scent. Wonder what the cause of death was, haven't seen that talked about but then again missing torso so only video evidence seen would yield the answers.

Flip flops not the only connection the fact his brother in law was mudered would surely be a bigger connection.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭IRE60

Just a general one on the demand side of the equation. I heard a council member from Drog yesterday and he made an excellent point. Collectively stop referring to coke as a 'recreational drug' - its nearly an apologetic statment. I never heard a herion addict saying that H was a recreational drug'.
    As I said before, certain cohorts in Irish society see coke as acceptable. If I was sitting in a bar and rolled up my sleeve and stook needle in my arm - how acceptable would that be!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,744 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

IRE60 wrote: »
    Just a general one on the demand side of the equation. I heard a council member from Drog yesterday and he mad an excellent point. Collectively stop referring to come as a 'recreational drug' - its nearly an apologetic statment. I never heard a herion addict saying that H was a recreational drug'.
    As I said before, certain cohorts in Irish society see coke as acceptable. If I was sitting in a bar and rolled up my sleeve and stool a needle in my arm - how acceptable would that be!

Well needles carry your blood which can harm another person cocaine does not. Also heroin mongs you out where cocaine puts you in party mode.

That'd be the difference Ted. Not many lads Rob you with a bag full of cocaine threatening to put some up your nose, a syringe though..

Well needles carry your blood which can harm another person cocaine does not. Also heroin mongs you out where cocaine puts you in party mode.

That'd be the difference Ted. Not many lads Rob you with a bag full of cocaine threatening to put some up your nose, a syringe though..

No they'll just blow your brains out instead, can't condone any of the drugs as they all fuel gangland crime, without them there is no gangland drug cartels, gangs or whatever they are called. Seems to be more then party mode that we're discussing here, you think if the lads were on heroin they'd been able to chop up a body or is it cause the lads were on a party mode after taking cocaine Ted?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 Jo Kaine

you've obviously never went on a cocaine binge. it's far from a **** party mode drug then.

I know that went on binge recently. A working family man, he started on a saturday. lost his job on tuesday and the wife had his bags packed and left outside the front door on the friday evening. That's the sort of damage it can do.

These gangland lads are bumping the stuff every half hour or so, constantly hoovering it up having a constant supply. their heads are gone well beyond repairing.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Peepee the knight rider

As long as special branch or any other specific criminal or such investigating section has a mobile device, they can breach it, and view not only the targets social media, emails, texts or calls, they can view deleted history, and more importantly they can breach all the receivers stock pile likewise. The technology is expensive but widely used within the gov departments worldwide. It is illegal but available to them. Times like this, if strictly monitored, I welcome its use given the circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,006 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Garda helicopter hovering around Dundrum/Sandyford Road and lots of sirens in the area too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭Granny15

Garda helicopter hovering around Dundrum/Sandyford Road and lots of sirens in the area too

Must be all the gang lords based in Foxrock

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,202 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Granny15 wrote: »

The real string pullers are far more likely to live out there than a council estate in Finglas or Coolock.

spurious wrote: »
    The real string pullers are far more likely to live out there than a council estate in Finglas or Coolock.

QED

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Granny15 wrote: »

Dundrum is close to the so-called M50 'corridor', also close to the Sandyford Central Bank, more likely something to do with that. Also a few dodgy estates in Rathfarnham/Nutgrove. Not to say people in Foxrock don't take coke, but they are clever/cunning enough to cover their tracks for the most part.

Tomo89 wrote: »
    Who?

Cryptic. You’ll learn

• Registered Users Posts: 45 macapaca

A few posts back there was the reference on the problem to calling cocaine a recreational drug, and it shouldn't be is a great point.

Generally calling it the 'party' drug, good craic, stress reliever getting you in the mood.....so that makes it alright then. Yah of course it does, despite .....

- mixing it with alcohol has lethal consequences - check in and see whats filling up ambulances and A&E at the weekend
    - it's feeding violent crime on the streets and in the homes
    - it's creating destruction of families caught up in drug debt (pay up or your house will be burnt down)
    - the people who bring you this recreational drug are the same people flippantly killing, chopping up, reeking havoc and making OUR country unsafe
    - they are getting away with stuff - because they can ...and the judicial system works in their favour
    - their supply chain is full of death and destruction across continents

....but hey, look, it's good craic all the same to do the odd line or two isn't it!

No it's fcuking not. Fcuk that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Helicopters in that area are usually to do with the mint in Sandyford. Any time they move money there is at least 1 chopper in the sky.

macapaca wrote: »
    A few posts back there was the reference on the problem to calling cocaine a recreational drug, and it shouldn't be is a great point.

Generally calling it the 'party' drug, good craic, stress reliever getting you in the mood.....so that makes it alright then. Yah of course it does, despite .....

- mixing it with alcohol has lethal consequences - check in and see whats filling up ambulances and A&E at the weekend
    - it's feeding violent crime on the streets and in the homes
    - it's creating destruction of families caught up in drug debt (pay up or your house will be burnt down)
    - the people who bring you this recreational drug are the same people flippantly killing, chopping up, reeking havoc and making OUR country unsafe
    - they are getting away with stuff - because they can ...and the judicial system works in their favour
    - their supply chain is full of death and destruction across continents

....but hey, look, it's good craic all the same to do the odd line or two isn't it!

No it's fcuking not. Fcuk that!!
    Perfectly put, sad to need drugs to have a good night out, drink is demon enough without adding to it. Everyone that takes drugs adds to the fuel of gangland, just cause you decide it doesn't fit your narrative doesn't mean it isn't linked. Basic logic, who brings it into the country, where do they sell it, where does it all go after it's sold? All the way down to the end of the barrel, a night out, a little sniffy in the cubicle, outta sight outta mind eh. Think again, actually just think at all. It's like the environment everyone can make a small change to make a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Klopplfc20

Targeting the users is not the answer there are 2 many and cant be managed...go for the highest port of demand you can build a case against even if it takes tears but even when they are down there will be another guy to take his roll....not 1 person on this page will see the war on drugs won in their lifetime

Klopplfc20 wrote: »
    Targeting the users is not the answer there are 2 many and cant be managed...go for the highest port of demand you can build a case against even if it takes tears but even when they are down there will be another guy to take his roll....not 1 person on this page will see the war on drugs won in their lifetime
    Intimidate the weak or cut the head off the snake but whatever it is, it needed to be long term and the governments and political parties need to agree on a strategy to fight crime but these days they are all about themselves, they've left the normal law abiding citizens to rot while they get richer.

Maybe they should concentrate on the communitys instead of isolating them. Punish 1000s of ppl at once and they will iluorise and more gangs will start....the crips and the bloods started off as just a group of local friends who formed to protect there familys because the authorities didn't care.....now look at them in America out of control...concentrate on future generations because this one is already to late

This thread has gone from one with a few connected people in the know straightening the record and giving out good info to a few know less middle aged nobodys talking about what politicans have to do in the war on drugs. Shame.

Haladmirer wrote: »
    This thread goes back years.there was many in the know at times.hard to believe when you read the ****e being spouted now.
    The next gangland murder someone here from old should start a new gangland thread and leave this ****e to the hang em high armchair politicians

So this thread is facts only? Can't have a discussion? Surely part of the discussion is how this can all end or be dealt with?

No he wants a body count....but as the admin deletes posts I would say it's best to listen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭avalidusername

As long as special branch or any other specific criminal or such investigating section has a mobile device, they can breach it, and view not only the targets social media, emails, texts or calls, they can view deleted history, and more importantly they can breach all the receivers stock pile likewise. The technology is expensive but widely used within the gov departments worldwide. It is illegal but available to them. Times like this, if strictly monitored, I welcome its use given the circumstances.

That's an element though, there's been cases before of Gardai using the Pulse system to check on ex's or ex's new boyfriends, and if you were caught speeding in some area and your friend knew a local Garda, ah it's grand, Tony wiped that....How many people got away without points on their license before that was caught? That was meant to have been a strictly monitored system too.

Nobody wants to do that here. At least the people who are on here to get the low down on who done what. Go to the politics forum if you want such a discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

As someone mentioned yesterday or the day before, I reckon it's a watertight case needed before any charges can be brought. After the Regency trial got messed up I reckon the DPP want any prosecution over the murder/dismemberment to be completely bulletproof before there'll be any charges. Blood in the house could be explained to a jury by the lad being there for a pint to straighten things out, and cut his hand on a broken glass, blah blah, not beyond all reasonable doubt before a jury.

Given the Garda forensics were in the house for the best part of a week I would think they found a lot more than just a trickle of blood. Even if there was a clean up forensics can find blood where there appears to be none, it was said in evidence in the ongoing High Court murder case earlier this week that they used this product to find blood after the bathroom had been fully renovated and cleaned. A few quick sprays and the blood of the victim showed up
    https://www.bluestar-forensic.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Mr.burgess

Good and fairplay to them as them sickos have been following cops home no doubt they could do the same to the marchers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Spiderpaddy666

U mean whitechurh and holylands