Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby World Cup 2019 Japan The hunt for Webb Ellis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Bizarre that you think that was what I meant. Nonetheless Townsend and Dodson are both representing the SRU when they comment publicly, as are the ridiculous press releases threatening legal action when Scotland signed up to the rules they are now suddenly so upset about.

The contingency appears to have been to play at another stadium in the vicinity if necessary and possible so that the game could be played on the same day e.g. pitch unplayable in Yokohama so move the game to Tokyo. There was never going to be a realistic contingency for a typhoon of this scale hitting the Tokyo area and any legal action the SRU take will be laughed out of court.

Anyway hopefully the game can go ahead so we don't have to listen to them moaning about it for the next four years.

Well clearly the legal advice they've received completely disagrees with you.

You're totally wrong about 'moaning' but clearly you have some problem with the Scottish so fire away with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ridonkulous

Namibia v Canada was been officially cancelled now

Shame for Namibia, they had a real shot at a first win at the world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Namibia v Canada was been officially cancelled now

That's a real shame if true, was both teams' only realistic chance of winning a pool game.

Edit: it is indeed officially cancelled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Where have you seen this?

Official Twitter feed has it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Where have you seen this?

Statement on the rugby world cup site

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I’d be fairly willing to bet €100 it’s cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,868 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Feck. Say very slim chance Japan Scotland game goes ahead so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭votecounts

CANADA VS NAMIBIA CANCELLED

A World Rugby statement reads: "Owing to the level 5 evacuation order remaining operational following Typhoon Hagibis, World Rugby and the Japan 2019 Organising Committee have cancelled today’s Rugby World Cup 2019 Pool B match between Namibia and Canada in Kamaishi on safety grounds."

https://www.standard.co.uk/sport/rugby/typhoon-at-rugby-world-cup-2019-live-scotland-japan-inspection-latest-england-france-off-a4259981.html

Eod100 wrote: »
    Feck. Say very slim chance Japan Scotland game goes ahead so

Bit of a different circumstance, Kamaishi (where the game was to be held) is a mountain town and there's been severe landslides and flooding with roads closed.

But still not looking great for the Scots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

WorldRugby optimistic other games will go ahead

That's the venue that was hit by the tsunami a few years ago also. Really disappointing to see them also lose out on one of their two world cup games due to the typhoon.

Presumably Osaka is far enough west that USA v Tonga will be OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Ah right, you must think Townsend is in charge or the SRU's lawyers?! :pac: Bizarre that anyone could think that!

But this is just a great excuse to get all outraged at Townsend for absolutely no reason. Townsend explained what his understanding of the rules were. He said if the game wasn't played on that day, that is what he believed would happen. Then he made it clear he expected the game to be played elsewhere. Why? Because they'd been told there were clear and robust contingency plans. Which is exactly what they've gone on to say. He wasn't saying "haha look at Ireland", which I guess a few of the more childish minded people who saw the comments took his meaning as.

The same is true for Dodson who is doing his job as CEO of Scottish rugby. And they are completely and utterly correct to be absolutely furious that the plans weren't remotely good enough to protect the integrity of the competition. If the game isn't played then there is absolutely no way Scotland should be leaving this competition without a fuss or great deal of compensation from World Rugby.

Scotland signed a contract to go to the World
    Cup, in that contract it included out all the details....

I find it a bit stupid at this stage Scotland jumping and shouting about it, did they not read the contract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

We remain optimistic that Sunday’s remaining matches will go ahead as scheduled in Kumamoto, Hanazono and Yokohama, which are much further south and therefore outside of the impact of the storm conditions this morning.”

PTH2009 wrote: »
    World rugby will get there marquee Saturday if the game is cancelled

England vs Australia
    All Blacks vs Ireland

World Rugby already got paid

The sale of tickets in the stadium goes to the hosts to pay back the money they paid to World Rugby

For all World Rugby care it could be Canada and Figi ins stadium without a single fan as they won’t lose euro

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Scotland signed a contract to go to the World
    Cup, in that contract it included out all the details....

I find it a bit stupid at this stage Scotland jumping and shouting about it, did they not read the contract?

This is by far the daftest argument against this that anyone makes.

They signed up to the rules of the tournament in total. What do people expect an individual union to do? Start bartering and negotiating over rules of a major worldwide tournament? What would their leverage be there, refusing to attend? :pac:

It's gas to think they'd ever do anything other than sign up to the rules of a rugby world cup. Even if they had any problems at all with them, which i'm sure they didn't because its not the job of the SRU to organise a major world sporting event competently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Bit of a different circumstance, Kamaishi (where the game was to be held) is a mountain town and there's been severe landslides and flooding with roads closed.

But still not looking great for the Scots.
    Yup, and is also nearly 300 miles north of Yokohama.
    The typhoon is currenly around that area, where as its passed by Tokyo Bay many many hours ago.

This is by far the daftest argument against this that anyone makes.

They signed up to the rules of the tournament in total. What do people expect an individual union to do? Start bartering and negotiating over rules of a major worldwide tournament? What would their leverage be there, refusing to attend? :pac:

It's gas to think they'd ever do anything other than sign up to the rules of a rugby world cup. Even if they had any problems at all with them, which i'm sure they didn't because its not the job of the SRU to organise a major world sporting event competently.

Everyone knew about the chance of a storm, if any of the nations had an issue then point out before signing the contract that they felt the robust options where not good enough

Don’t sign and then when it happen start crying in press, how will they sue when they signed the contract?

It’s Scotland full of wind again. Nothing behind it.

No it’s not the job of SRU to organise it but they vote for it and are a tier 1 nation with a say on all this.....

Since Townsend took over they are either crying at national anthem, or after game at ref or in the press about something....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,562 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

WorldRugby optimistic other games will go ahead

They could easily play the Namibia Canada game on Monday ,its not as if either team is going anywhere.
    They've made fools of themselves with their stupid rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Yup, and is also nearly 300 miles north of Yokohama.
    The typhoon is currenly around that area, where as its passed by Tokyo Bay many many hours ago.

There is a Japanese electrician deep in the bowels of the stadium disassembling the floodlights electrics as we speak. :)

Everyone knew about the chance of a storm

Sure a week ago you were telling us it was a media invention, they were just copying and pasting the same story remember? Lorenzo all over again I think was the conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Sign this contract or don't participate, is not really agreement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

so if the match goes ahead in a empty stadium...who will that favour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Nobody, it will be a fair competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Didn't realise Japan are favourites with the bookies should the game go ahead tomorrow. Did they just assume Japan would struggle to get the TBP against Samoa? They weren't too far off being wrong in fairness.

Edit : misread the odds somehow, Scotland are favourites

Sign this contract or don't participate, is not really agreement

Also sign this contract where we mention having strong contingency plans in place but then don't actually invoke any contingency plans and cancel the games instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,522 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

No we'll play NZ if it's cancelled, Japan will top the group, and then it's NZ vs the runners up which would be us

Tell that to Jamie Heaslip. He was on tv last night saying it would be great news for us if it was cancelled :rolleyes:

Sure a week ago you were telling us it was a media invention, they were just copying and pasting the same story remember? Lorenzo all over again I think was the conclusion.

Good memory...I never remember your posts....

Well to be fair every Irish match the media had a “it could be called off” , as other posters at the time said its a case of crying wolf....when a storm did finally hit everyone thought it was more crap

Not sure what that has to do with a legal contract between SRU and World Rugby? Are my posts now included in contract negotiations?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭blackcard

Bizarre that you think that was what I meant. Nonetheless Townsend and Dodson are both representing the SRU when they comment publicly, as are the ridiculous press releases threatening legal action when Scotland signed up to the rules they are now suddenly so upset about.

The contingency appears to have been to play at another stadium in the vicinity if necessary and possible so that the game could be played on the same day e.g. pitch unplayable in Yokohama so move the game to Tokyo. There was never going to be a realistic contingency for a typhoon of this scale hitting the Tokyo area and any legal action the SRU take will be laughed out of court.

Anyway hopefully the game can go ahead so we don't have to listen to them moaning about it for the next four years.

There should definitely have been a contingency for playing the match the next day. There was always the possibility that some match was going to be cancelled due to weather, if not a typhoon then flooding. Ireland fans would be moaning if it happened to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Didn't realise Japan are favourites with the bookies should the game go ahead tomorrow. Did they just assume Japan would struggle to get the TBP against Samoa? They weren't too far off being wrong in fairness.

Scots have a 2 point handicap

Also sign this contract where we mention having strong contingency plans in place but then don't actually invoke any contingency plans and cancel the games instead.

The plans are outlined in the contract.....

This is nothing new, the unions all got told this years ago....

For the knock out games they have 2 day window I think, group stage no window. Even before the World Cup started this was confirmed to everyone but the unions knew years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Scots have a 2 point handicap

That makes a lot more sense, completely misread out when I had a look earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Didn't realise Japan are favourites with the bookies should the game go ahead tomorrow.

Not on Paddy Power, they're not.
    Scots 4/6

For the knock out games they have 2 day window I think, group stage no window. Even before the World Cup started this was confirmed to everyone but the unions knew years ago

This is a contract that you have never seen, but their lawyers have. Their lawyers have decided they have an extremely strong case.

What on earth could give you the confidence to claim a sports lawyer's opinion about a contract you've never seen is incorrect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,846 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Good memory...I never remember your posts....

Well to be fair every Irish match the media had a “it could be called off” , as other posters at the time said its a case of crying wolf....when a storm did finally hit everyone thought it was more crap

Not sure what that has to do with a legal contract between SRU and World Rugby? Are my posts now included in contract negotiations?

You are constantly ranting about people quoting your posts and you are almost inferring that it was in the past and you shouldn't be held accountable (They are your posts after all)

The fact is that you should absolutely be held accountable for your posts and you'd certainly be the first to mention other people's posts.

fryup wrote: »
    so if the match goes ahead in a empty stadium...who will that favour?
    Nobody, it will be a fair competition

the scots surely? the japs will be without their 16th man > the home support

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Looks like they are preparing for it to go ahead...

https://twitter.com/FreemanrugbyJPN/status/1183140571541471233?s=09

yippee a valid excuse to miss Mass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

All this talk about re-scheduling has reminded me of the time Saracens played Clermont on a Monday night. What a mad game that was :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,846 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Looks like they are preparing for it to go ahead...

If this is true, you just have to admire the moxy of the Japanese in general, they really are an honorable bunch of lads!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭fitz

This is a contract that you have never seen, but their lawyers have. Their lawyers have decided they have an extremely strong case.

What on earth could give you the confidence to claim a sports lawyer's opinion about a contract you've never seen is incorrect?

Also, every quote of the rules I've read references the game taking place on the scheduled date. Nothing about not allowing it to be relocated.

Anyone who has every been involved in diaster recovery or business continuity planning will tell you that contingency based on a location that would also be affected by the likely risks you're trying to mitigate is no contingency at all.

If there are stadia available in locations that were known to not be in the typhoon's path yesterday, that's ample time to relocate a couple of hundred people and play the game without fans present. In that circumstance, they could the Scots have an easy case to make imo.

It's a simple matter of poor planning by the tournament organisers, when they have plenty of data to indicate high likelihood of the risk occurring. Total abdication of responsibility to not have proper mitigations in place. I think the poster who mentioned the cancellation insurance and the speculation about not being able claim against it to cover refunds if the match went ahead behind closed doors was probably on to something.

Certainly looking at the photographs being posted from around the stadium there's no good reason why the game itself shouldn't be playable.

The big question now is whether the transport systems are in place to allow the ticket holders to attend or whether it needs to be played behind closed doors.

I'd imagine they'll do everything they can to get the crowd in.

Elsewhere the Wales and USA matches are both confirmed as going ahead.

Decision on Japan v Scotland imminent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,349 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Sky news on the cutting edge of breaking news :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭basillarkin

decision put back til 2am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,868 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Where'd you see this?

I'll be completely pissed by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,456 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Something tells me the SRU are being had for a lend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,456 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

SportsJoe journo is at the Yokahama venue right now, says the weather is gone through, skies are blue and stadium is a hive of activity.

Not a bad sign.

Strange that is taking so much longer to announce this than the other two games, must be a less straightforward decision.

Much more riding on it, in fairness.