Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A Moan Again, Naturally: Liveline 18/07/2019 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Maura was introduced three times, over 15 minutes, without speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,281 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

It was amazing that the Muldoon lad didnt ring in to tell this story last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

McDermotX wrote: »
    Scam

Lets see how crafty it is.

I'm not listening but I need to know was it:
    (a) a crafty scam
    (b) a very sophisticated scam
    (c) utter stupidity on the part of the caller

I'm several pages back but my money's on c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

He loves saying "medics".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Dr Muldoon I Presume

a new play by Fiona Looney.

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭zell12

murdershewrote_6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I was thinking that there might be a bookeen in all these murdered missionaries. Why else are we having to listen to all these murder stories.

A friend of the family, a Francisan brother RIP was murdered (shot) in Kenya many years ago.

There are hundreds of these stories. I can think of 4 that I know of.

Maura was introduced three times, over 15 minutes, without speaking.
    Like I said. Not an ounce of manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Come off it, which one of youse is this ?

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

I'm not listening but I need to know was it:
    (a) a crafty scam
    (b) a very sophisticated scam
    (c) utter stupidity on the part of the caller

I'm several pages back but my money's on c.

And you are correct caller.

Woman distracted by a handsome man with broken English in ALDI car park. Man wanted to know where the hospital was.

The woman wanted to blame ALDI for not having CCT in the car park where she parked her car and left it unlocked and money was taken from her purse.

Cos if there was CCT in the car park and she left her car unlocked nothing would have happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

How did peeple feeeeeeeel in de seventies caller? What do you think dey tauwt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

What is this about - just killing time to Farcy presumably. :confused:

If that was the palmarians he'd be spitting fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Will we ever find out who did the dastardly deed?
    Tune in tomorrow for some more fascinating facts about Old Moordors and dose wot did 'em and remember folks, the dead can't sue.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

De brudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,522 ✭✭✭cozar

Dreadful show today.

Joe’s brother, Aiden’s anniversary RIP. He heard of his death just before or after the show I believe and had to drive to Ballyfermot to deliver the bad news to his mother. Aiden died in a motor accident.

cozar wrote: »
    Dreadful show today.

Yeah there was a chance if he left the Dub on for a while longer he would have proved to be gold cos he was so stupid but Joe didnt like him cos he rang in with the wrong name

BPKS wrote: »
    And you are correct caller.

Woman distracted by a handsome man with broken English in ALDI car park. Man wanted to know where the hospital was.

The woman wanted to blame ALDI for not having CCT in the car park where she parked her car and left it unlocked and money was taken from her purse.

Cos if there was CCT in the car park and she left her car unlocked nothing would have happened.

A-ha!

Will de dastardly teeves leave de money in a presbytery for Mrs. Eejit to collect in wonder?

re. comment in bold - :rolleyes:

That was the archetypal Lahvlahn.

Stories about a pub with zero resolution and irrelevant questions.
    Issues of interest only to religious people.
    Salt o' the Earth Dub.
    Old rambling lady.
    Death and murder.
    Last minute addition of cancer to tick every bingo square.
    Sophisticated elaborate scam revealed to be simple and avoidable robbery.

A-ha!

Will de dastardly teeves leave de money in a presbytery for Mrs. Eejit to collect in wonder?

re. comment in bold - :rolleyes:

Knock knock, Ding Dong
    “Hello my child”
    “Faaaader, I just found dis bundle of money in a car boot. De boot was heavy but I managed to open it to rescue €200 which an auld lady left inside, unlocked. I was afraid someone might steal it an dat”.
    “You are a Good Samaritan. Blessings be upon you. I will keep it safely in case the lady phoned Joe Duffy and he suggests to try all the presbyteries.”

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

That was the archetypal Lahvlahn.

Stories about a pub with zero resolution and irrelevant questions.
    Issues of interest only to religious people.
    Salt o' the Earth Dub.
    Old rambling lady.
    Death and murder.
    Last minute addition of cancer to tick every bingo square.
    Sophisticated elaborate scam revealed to be simple and avoidable robbery.

Add in Dublin specific issues with a description of the area for those outside of Dub a lin and no familiar.

PieOhMy wrote: »
    Add in Dublin specific issues with a description of the area for those outside of Dub a lin and no familiar.
    Excellent point. I would have liked a full run down of all Dublin Street names to really cover all bases but he did just enough, the wily old fox.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

The people who owned the pub in Stradbally have over the years sued at least two newspapers in connection with this unsolved murder. Got damages on both occasions. I hope Joe did his homework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

jelutong wrote: »
    The people who owned the pub in Stradbally have over the years sued at least two newspapers in connection with this unsolved murder. Got damages on both occasions. I hope Joe did his homework.

EXPUNGE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Sure...where else would he get free unlimited advertising for his bukes

https://www.rsvplive.ie/news/tv-film/rtes-joe-duffy-shuts-down-19014012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

sligojoek wrote: »
    Addicts fighting over a "Turk-in-ay."

How in the name of jaysus could you look at 'tourniquet' and come up with 'turk-in-ay'?

Is he bixleckiz or wha?

Maybe he's never seen it written down and learned the word from the "unwell".

• Registered Users Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭KevRossi

BPKS wrote: »
    Joe doesnt seem to like the Rose of Tralee.

I wonder was some of the Liveline budget directed towards The Rose of Tralee.

He's still angry that he didn't get the gig a few years back when Gaybo jacked it in. He was rumored to be taking over the job, but they went with Tubs or D'Arcy.

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »
    How in the name of jaysus could you look at 'tourniquet' and come up with 'turk-in-ay'?

Is he bixleckiz or wha?
    sligojoek wrote: »
    Maybe he's never seen it written down and learned the word from the "unwell".

Was de turk-in-nay story even covered yesterday? Or was it a classic Lahv Lahn "it was on de promo but ne'er will be spoken of again topic" so to speak?

KevRossi wrote: »
    He's still angry that he didn't get the gig a few years back when Gaybo jacked it in. He was rumored to be taking over the job, but they went with Tubs or D'Arcy.

Can you imagine? 30 Lovely(ish) Girls reduced to tears as Mr. Duffy probed (careful) depper and deeper (careful now) to find death, cancer, or unwellness.

Sure...where else would he get free unlimited advertising for his bukes

https://www.rsvplive.ie/news/tv-film/rtes-joe-duffy-shuts-down-19014012

Would you retire from a 40 week, 5 hour a week job that paid you over €400K a year for being useless?

6 1/4 hours a week caller....6 1/4.:):).

Not when you only work 4 days caller....

But...But..I'm here all summer :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,860 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

KevRossi wrote: »

Can you imagine joes wardrobe choices if he did get that gig

Double denim, equatorial size leather belt, cravat, and cowboy boots and hat for the Country Special would be a sight to behold.

Don’t forget the fringed pocket kerchief for the denim suit

Was de turk-in-nay story even covered yesterday? Or was it a classic Lahv Lahn "it was on de promo but ne'er will be spoken of again topic" so to speak?

The latter, so to speak.
    Can you imagine? 30 Lovely(ish) Girls reduced to tears as Mr. Duffy probed (careful) depper and deeper (careful now) to find death, cancer, or unwellness.

The Rose (Petal) of Tralee

2 hours, thus far, bored sick waiting in a cardiologist’s waiting room as the system is down and they can’t retrieve my echo. De car park charges!! Keeping amused reading de thread... keep going. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,012 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

missed yesterdays show, any bits worth listening back to ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

2 hours, thus far, bored sick waiting in a cardiologist’s waiting room as the system is down and they can’t retrieve my echo. De car park charges!! Keeping amused reading de thread... keep going. :(

If only there was a radio programme that you could ring to complain about de system being down and de car park charges being up......... so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Day 1: Green waistcoat
    Day 2: Red waistcoat

But it would be mostly about the misery, one of the last contestants yesterday had her mother die just before she did the Junior Cert, Duffy would have dragged 40 minutes out of that.

Name and shame de hostible Cat. My money is on De Beacon.

the scams have gone from sophisticated to slick , things are getting serious :pac::pac::pac:

A slick scam (copyright)

Aha, another gobsh1te duped coming up to an All Ireland final.

A slick scam sez joe

In fairness he’s not the best judge of these things

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

There is never a problemo with adverts.
    Great site!!!!

If I had spare All Ireland final tickets, would I give them to a total stranger?

did the offer of a choice of stands/terrace not raise any alarms caller