Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare Daly hires son of Mick Wallace as her assistant in EU office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

What if I've multiple partners :eek:

Is Noggs a celtic name? :rolleyes:

Unlucky co-incidence then. :)

Don’t worry about me Matt, Irish born and bred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Unlucky co-incidence then. :)

Don’t worry about me Matt, Irish born and bred.

No worries, I assume people pick names for fun and wouldn't be arsed as to why myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Jog on if you going to act the prick, mate.

What's with the aggressive behaviour, if you want comment on what I post do so. Just don't make up stuff and claim I said it. It's not hard.

Did you post this?
    Your reading ability is p*ss poor.

No worries, I assume people pick names for fun and wouldn't be arsed as to why myself.

Fair enough, i’ll let that be. In fairness I don’t disagree, not a fan of Varadkar. Bring back Enda.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

giphy.gif?cid=790b76115d30bcac616b51736f67e6b8&rid=giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,731 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

christy c wrote: »
    Any reason Mick or Clare doesn't get a nice "incompetent" in between their first and last name?

In fairness, Frances had a job and lost it/opted out of it, whichever version you care to believe.
    Mick and Claire have jobs to do too, oppose and expose, and while you or I may disagree with them, they do their job. Very competently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,619 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

In fairness, Frances had a job and lost it/opted out of it, whichever version you care to believe.
    Mick and Claire have jobs to do too, oppose and expose, and while you or I may disagree with them, they do their job. Very competently.

When you owe a fortune you never intend repaying then you should never be allowed to be a TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Other than fatten their bank accounts, what have all these socialists achieved out there in Europe?

Laughing all the way to the bank they are, mostly at us thinking they were true socialists.

In the Chavez, Mao, Putin, Castro, ill Jong, or Stalin sense of pure socialists?

I hope expenses need to be vouched in Europe...

• Registered Users Posts: 7 dompedro

Wheety wrote: »

They act like they're so different to the establishment but they're just the same as everyone else. In it for the money.

GUBU - Begrudgers - Good luck Clare!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

When you owe a fortune you never intend repaying then you should never be allowed to be a TD.

Well if FG can go nine year without paying taxes, seems to be okay.
    I think any good blue shirt or pink shirt, should pay taxes like most everyone else.

Daly said her appointments were vetted by the EU to show candidates had the qualifications. Still stinks though.

Can a tax evading, asset hiding, pension stealing, debt dodging, bankruptee (*), failed builder who is currently disqualified from serving as a company director ever be considered ‘competent’ in any field? What is the benchmark? Must be extremely low for Mick to make the grade.

(*) not 100% sure if he has exited bankruptcy, court appearance in June suggests he hasn’t yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Lest we forget, Wallace stole €1.2 million from the public so that he and his son could maintain their jet-setting champagne lifestyle. I can't think of any other politician, former or current, who directly defrauded the state of a similar amount (corruption and incompetence being different situations.) Yet people think he's some kind of 'man of the people' because he dresses like a tramp and mouths off about whatever issue is flavour du jour.

Can a tax evading, asset hiding, pension stealing, debt dodging, bankruptee (*), failed builder who is currently disqualified from serving as a company director ever be considered ‘competent’ in any field? What is the benchmark? Must be extremely low for Mick to make the grade.

(*) not 100% sure if he has exited bankruptcy, court appearance in June suggests he hasn’t yet.

If he done something illegal, he should be in jail.

Fact is, he does his job in the Dáil, which is as an opposition TD. His job is to question, and if necessary expose inefficiency and corruption.
    As an opposition TD, he is far more competent than many, even if you don't like him or what he exposes.

The legislature needs all types in it, and I see no reason why a builder/developer whose business went tits up, shouldn't be in it if he reaches the quota in an election.

sabat wrote: »
    Lest we forget, Wallace stole €1.2 million from the public so that he and his son could maintain their jet-setting champagne lifestyle. I can't think of any other politician, former or current, who directly defrauded the state of a similar amount (corruption and incompetence being different situations.) Yet people think he's some kind of 'man of the people' because he dresses like a tramp and mouths off about whatever issue is flavour du jour.

Same lad also stole his employees pension contributions. Man of the people indeed.

Fact is, he does his job in the Dáil, which is as an opposition TD. His job is to question, and if necessary expose inefficiency and corruption.
    As an opposition TD, he is far more competent than many, even if you don't like him or what he exposes.

The legislature needs all types in it, and I see no reason why a builder/developer whose business went tits up, shouldn't be in it if he reaches the quota in an election.

No problem with his tax evasion. No problem with his stealing his employees pension contributions. No problem with him transferring assets to his brother. Fair enough.

As I said, if he broke the law he should pay the price.

I don't like him by the way, but that doesn't get in the way of believing in a democracy.

Did you post this?

Dude if you're going to claim I wrote something I didn't why are you surprised I question your reading ability?

No idea what your major defect is pal, but not interested with engaging any further, thanks. You need to see a doctor about your memory issues though. Here’s a reminder.

No defect at all just curious as to why you think misrepresenting what another poster says is ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

If ? ????

dont you know who Mick wallace is ?

Mick wallace is a convicted criminal who sat in a dail that had more convicted criminals than at any other time and i suspect any other national parliament in eurpoe .

Ireland doesnt punish its criminals thats a sad fact but we dont have to reward them either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

we need representatives in the dail that are not belong to the main parties and who will speak out and expose corruption and cronyism.

what we dont need is yet another example of nepotism and entitlement.
    there are decent people in this country who have graduated and are failing to find work in their field and those with connections and relations in tje right place have no difficulty.

One more for the ignore list.

That'll be a very long ignore list if you keep making up stuff other posters never said. ;-)

mynamejeff wrote: »
    If ? ????

dont you know who Mick wallace is ?

Mick wallace is a convicted criminal who sat in a dail that had more convicted criminals than at any other time and i suspect any other national parliament in eurpoe .

Ireland doesnt punish its criminals thats a sad fact but we dont have to reward them either

He didn't pay pension entitlements and paid the price for that, 8 or 9000.

I don't think a lot of his business activities but I didn't listen to all the evidence and I am not a sentencing judge, so I leave that to them invariably.

Reviewing what he does in his job now...I have to say again, he does it better than most in opposition.

He didn't pay pension entitlements and paid the price for that, 8 or 9000.

I don't think a lot of his business activities but I didn't listen to all the evidence and I am not a sentencing judge, so I leave that to them invariably.

Reviewing what he does in his job now...I have to say again, he does it better than most in opposition.

What would he have to do for you to change your mind about him? Could he murder someone and still be in your good books?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Is there any way to recall mep’s?
    Here pussy pussy,here pussy pussy!

What would he have to do for you to change your mind about him? Could he murder someone and still be in your good books?

You aren't reading posts. I don't like him much. But I like democracy more.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭headtheball14

Clare Daly wasn't just stopped for an illegal turn. That really downplays what happened. She was breathalysed and passed but was still brought to the station in handcuffs.
    By the time she got up the next day garda were already leaking the details with one helpfully ringing a journalist from the station all at the time she was supporting and standing up for a whistle blower when few others would
    https://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/gene-kerrigan/daly-arrested-handcuffed-vilified-move-along-now-nothing-to-see-here-34735870.html

She was the td who put legislation in the dail to legislate for fatal foetal abnormalities forcing the government to stand up and legislate for what the public had already voted for in the referendum in 2002 but successive governments had ignored.

She's asked over 8000 parliamentary questions in the dail and most ministers will be absolutely delighted she won't be facing them.in the future. In fact i'd say they voted for her

You mightnt agree with Her but she didn't hide where she stood on things. I wish her the best in the eu. The Irish political system is much poorer without her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I agree that he should be in jail, the judge was much too lenient and should have made an example of him.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/td-mick-wallace-disqualified-for-six-years-from-company-involvement-36257686.html

I don't think even Lowry defrauded the State of €1.4m in taxes.

blanch152 wrote: »
    I agree that he should be in jail, the judge was much too lenient and should have made an example of him.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/td-mick-wallace-disqualified-for-six-years-from-company-involvement-36257686.html

I don't think even Lowry defrauded the State of €1.4m in taxes.

You always did fancy yourself as judge and jury. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Clare Daly wasn't just stopped for an illegal turn. That really downplays what happened. She was breathalysed and passed but was still brought to the station in handcuffs.
    By the time she got up the next day garda were already leaking the details with one helpfully ringing a journalist from the station all at the time she was supporting and standing up for a whistle blower when few others would
    https://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/gene-kerrigan/daly-arrested-handcuffed-vilified-move-along-now-nothing-to-see-here-34735870.html

Don’t be telling porkies - she was arrested because she failed to give an adequate breath sample.

She was stopped for performing an illegal turn.
    When stopped they smelled drink (which she admitted taking) and then she failed to provide a breath sample so had to be arrested and brought to the station (which conveniently increased the time between her drink and the sample).

And nobody knows who the leaker was - it could have been the Gardai, the doctor who took the blood sample, any civilians in the station that night, or Daly herself.

Funny how Daly’s supporters seem to think that our drink driving laws should have been ignored for her

You always did fancy yourself as judge and jury. ;)

I was only agreeing with you.

If he did something illegal that warranted jail he should be there. He isn't.

You know me blanch, it is up to a court and jury to decide these on the basis of evidence, not you or me.

blackwhite wrote: »

And nobody knows who the leaker was - it could have been the Gardai, the doctor who took the blood sample, any civilians in the station that night, or Daly herself.

Which is why I would want somebody I could trust working for me.

The news had her speaking in the Dáil saying there was a 'parlimentary process' followed in this appointment. Anybody know what that is or the details?

If he did something illegal that warranted jail he should be there. He isn't.

You know me blanch, it is up to a court and jury to decide these on the basis of evidence, not you or me.

He was convicted, that isn't beyond doubt. The judge was too lenient, that is an opinion I am free to hold.

The news had her speaking in the Dáil saying there was a 'parlimentary process' followed in this appointment. Anybody know what that is or the details?

I thought the Dail had risen for the summer? Is she collecting two salaries for the moment?

eh? Did I say it was today?

Well, if you say the news, and it is in the news today, that's what I would have assumed.

However, if she was talking in the Dail about her appointment of parliamentary assistants, whether it was last week or today, it still begs the question as to whether she was taking two salaries for a while.

Jesus, somebody got out the wrong side of the leaba today. :rolleyes:

Did anyone see Clare Daly talking in the Dáil? She mentioned a 'parliamentary process' for appointments. Does anyone know what that process is?

Jesus, somebody got out the wrong side of the leaba today. :rolleyes:

Did anyone see Clare Daly talking in the Dáil? She mentioned a 'parliamentary process' for appointments. Does anyone know what that process is?

Hadn’t realised the Dail was in session today?

There was footage of the moon landings on the news today too! Go figure.

What a pair of desperate fools you guys are.

There was footage of the moon landings on the news today too! Go figure.

What a pair of desperate fools you guys are.

So when was she talking in the Dail about crony appointments to the European Parliament? Was it before or after she was elected to the European Parliament, and was she collecting two salaries at the time?

Go find it on the player, if you want that info, I wasn't taking notes for you, sorry.

I am interested in something she said. If you don't know what parliamentary procedure she was talking about, fair enough.
    I did try to google it but just turned up stories about FG hiring actual family members, like this one.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/fine-gael-td-appointed-wife-as-parliamentary-assistant-to-38000ayear-job-31079218.html

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭noubliezjamais

Once again, doesn't someone realize this lad was kicked out of a Stillorgan school for the Facebook scandal?

Or does Mick Wallace have more than one son?

Once again, doesn't someone realize this lad was kicked out of a Stillorgan school for the Facebook scandal?

Or does Mick Wallace have more than one son?

I would presume it’s him - iirc he was expelled for a memes page made for his school on which they posted jokes about a teachers recent miscarriage.

Lovely bloke for our taxes to be paying for his cushy gig.

Delighted Daly’s involvement in this has been brought to light - always thought she was full of ****e, she’s no better than the rest of those she railed against. She’s now a part of the same dirty establishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Two Fine Gael TDs, Noel Rock and Alan Farrell said they had no difficulty with Ms Daly employing Mr Wallace’s son, who had previously worked for his father in Leinster House.