Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

#GreatestLeagueInTheWorld LOI 2019 pt 2

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

pgj2015 wrote: »
    how did they raise any money monday night? i had money on me for them and saw no one collecting at the gate.

Think it's per goal scored in the cups they donate to Temple Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Gave Dundalk a scare tonight.

Poor defending cost us.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Artanevilla is spot on. €100 for every cup goal.

But they could/should have had a collection on Monday was well. They did against UCD. Bohs fans would gladly have contributed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Just a few things on tonight.

We weren't far off of seeing Bohs and Dundalk knocked out of the cup alongside Cork and Pat's, which would've made it probably one of the most eventful round of cup fixtures (although not entirely finished) in recent memory.

If Crumlin United can get past Lucan United on Sunday (and they are favourites to do so) and manage to draw Galway United, or UCD to a lesser extent, in the next round they would definitely fancy their chances.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Gave Dundalk a scare tonight.

Poor defending cost us.

Nearly saved or nearly drowned

Mmmmmmmmmm............

Only joking

That’s 3 times Derry have scored 2 goals against Dundalk in successive matches this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭bot43

Wonder what happens next week when ccfc lose to Sligo and Waterford. Another new manager?

I knew we would be poor this season. But bloody hell.

Fair play Galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

bot43 wrote: »
    Wonder what happens next week when ccfc lose to Sligo and Waterford. Another new manager?

I knew we would be poor this season. But bloody hell.

Fair play Galway.

New club again? It's been a few years, they're due one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

joeysoap wrote: »
    Artanevilla is spot on. €100 for every cup goal.

But they could/should have had a collection on Monday was well. They did against UCD. Bohs fans would gladly have contributed.

I was thinking the same thing monday night, they would have made a fair bit if they had a collection at the entrance, seeing as the game v ucd and bohs were at a reduced price, most people wouldnt mind putting a few quid in a bucket for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭prodsc

When is the draw for next round of Cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭howiya

At least there’ll be a different pairing in the final this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭howiya

prodsc wrote: »
    When is the draw for next round of Cup?

Monday morning on Morning Ireland at 8:35am according to Dundalk’s Facebook

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I was thinking the same thing monday night, they would have made a fair bit if they had a collection at the entrance, seeing as the game v ucd and bohs were at a reduced price, most people wouldnt mind putting a few quid in a bucket for them.

And Temple Street is a great cause, and a stones throw from Dalymount.
    howiya wrote: »
    At least there’ll be a different pairing in the final this year.

Make the ‘Medja’ happy anyway.
    howiya wrote: »
    Monday morning on Morning Ireland at 8:35am according to Dundalk’s Facebook

Must be right. D14 and a few others say they are never wrong anyway. :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Era, it's a stupid competition anyway....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

They will even incorporate it into the cooking section on the show, where they'll show you how they microwave the balls with Dundalk and Rovers in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

What a year in the difference for Cork! Can’t say I’m too upset for them, Great to have a different pairing in the final still holding out for that dream final Bohs v Rovers!! Hasn’t been one since the 1940s (Bradley begs to differ) and still holds the record attendance for a cup final!

They will even incorporate it into the cooking section on the show, where they'll show you how they microwave the balls with Dundalk and Rovers in them.
    Then they'll say "Here's one I made earlier" and show balls with Cork and Dundalk in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭kksaints

Harry Kenny gone from us. Can't say I'm surprised after last nights debacle.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

kksaints wrote: »

Surprised it took that long

kksaints wrote: »
    Pat's said he resigned but who knows really.

Longford Town released a statement saying that Neale Fenn had resigned and Daire Doyle would take over on an interim basis as was expected. Thought there might be a bit of drama in the statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Didn't Pat's use to train in the evenings before this season? If so and they revert to evenings again then Collie O'Neill wouldn't be a bad choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Pat's are just three points off fourth place which more likely than not will be good enough for Europe.

Seems a bit mad changing things this late in the season.

Weekend of shocks continuing it seems in Sligo.

Zebra3 wrote: »

By all accounts the second goal was a beauty from Karl O'Sullivan, beats four players and rounds the keeper to score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Some half of football. 2-2 at half time and a red card for each side.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

By all accounts the second goal was a beauty from Karl O'Sullivan, beats four players and rounds the keeper to score.

Limerick are fixing this game , the back 4 are. Tracy and Williams didnt celebrate both Limerick's goal. O'Sullivan's 2nd goal was a wonder goal. Every other Limerick player was delighted for him. He ran about 50 yards beating 4 men and put it away. How 2 players didnt even go to celebrate looked really bizarre to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Sligo on a -2 asian handicap being 3-2 up at ht.

Surely FAI will put a stop to Limerick soon.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Some half of football. 2-2 at half time and a red card for each side.

Scratch that. Sligo make it 3-2 on the brink of half time.

wadacrack wrote: »
    Limerick are fixing this game , the back 4 are. Tracy and Williams didnt celebrate both Limerick's goal. O'Sullivan's 2nd goal was a wonder goal. Every other Limerick player was delighted for him. He ran about 50 yards beating 4 men and put it away. How 2 players didnt even go to celebrate looked really bizarre to say the least

Johnny Ward has his match fixing tweet all ready for the final whistle, so he can delete again for the third time.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Salmon Leap

A bit out of the blue. What does this mean for Sean Kavanagh then? He is arguably the best left back in the league, I doubt Lafferty signed to sit on the bench either.

Kav only recently extended his contract. Lafferty a great replacement for Trevor, maybe he can play on the right as Ethan Boyle is very out of sorts

Sligo leading 5-2 now at the Showgrounds.

Sligo leading 5-2 now at the Showgrounds and Limerick pick up another red card!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭shanec1928

A steward has just been assaulted by limerick player straight red.

That's three reds now for Limerick. Sussy as f*ck!

Omackeral wrote: »
    That's three reds now for Limerick. Sussy as f*ck!

Three league matches left, the lads just didn't fancy seeing the season out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

How many reds do you have to get for the match to be abandoned? Lol

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    How many reds do you have to get for the match to be abandoned? Lol

Five, you need to have seven players on the pitch.

shanec1928 wrote: »
    A steward has just been assaulted by limerick player straight red.

How did this happen??

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭jay1988

How did this happen??

Just seen on another site, that the limerick players elbowed the steward in the head and then his head collided with a wall and the steward was taken off in an ambulance.

Absolute toerag if true.

If that’s the case, hope he’s charged with assault.

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭jay1988

If that’s the case, hope he’s charged with assault.

Rightly so, a lifetime ban too, that steward would most likely have been a volunteer, helping his club out on a match day, people like that are the lifeblood of this league.

jay1988 wrote: »
    Just seen on another site, that the limerick players elbowed the steward in the head and then his head collided with a wall and the steward was taken off in an ambulance.

Absolute toerag if true.

Ex Sligo player Jason Hughes. The lad is a gob****e in general so no surprise it was him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Bohs, Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, Waterford FC, Galway Utd and Crumlin utd or Lucan Utd in QFs

as a waterford fan hope we get an easy draw and avoid Bohs, Dundalk and Rovers. Sadly we dont have a strong enough squad to win the cup but with a kind draw we might get to a semi final

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

major bill wrote: »
    What a year in the difference for Cork! Can’t say I’m too upset for them, Great to have a different pairing in the final still holding out for that dream final Bohs v Rovers!! Hasn’t been one since the 1940s (Bradley begs to differ) and still holds the record attendance for a cup final!

I would absolutely hate a Bohs Rovers final. The Garda overtime would bankrupt the State.

Sligo away is the nightmare draw..

Don't even care about Limerick anymore, it's just sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

jay1988 wrote: »

Absolute toerag if true.
    No way the FAI will tolerate that sort of behaviour

Jason Hughes will get a shorter ban than Conor Kearns

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Bohs, Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, Waterford FC, Galway Utd and Crumlin utd or Lucan Utd in QFs

as a waterford fan hope we get an easy draw and avoid Bohs, Dundalk and Rovers. Sadly we dont have a strong enough squad to win the cup but with a kind draw we might get to a semi final

And UCD.

Andrew Cunneen was all guns blazing tweeting about the game tonight because there was negativity for him to jump all over. Plenty of positive results this season that he's brushed over but as soon as sh*t hits the fan he's all over it.
    The same man who won't even cross a f*cking bridge to watch his local team for free (with a media pass) tweeting as if he's there every week, knob jockey.
    Easy knowing he writes for that rag the Limerick Leader, I could eat a tin of Alphabetti Spaghetti and sh*t a better article than him or any of those hams.

This is a complete rant, but I'm frustrated at the club and that eejit.

Homophobic abuse.

Classy.

Homophobic abuse.

Classy.
    Hardly homophobic, but I've edited it anyway. Absolutely, positively not intended.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Homophobic abuse.

Classy.
    Where? He never said anything. Stop looking for offense where there is none.

"Knob jockey" apparently