Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

#GreatestLeagueInTheWorld LOI 2019 pt 2

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

You'd have thought with all the cup quarters on at different times rte would be showing them all to try fill their quota but I guess not.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

D14Rugby wrote: »
    You'd have thought with all the cup quarters on at different times rte would be showing them all to try fill their quota but I guess not.

Are they showing any?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,847 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Are they showing any?

:cryinglaughteremoji:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

LOI Weekly was good this week with Ger O'Brien and Collie O'Neill. Ger talking about Harry Kenny's departure and Collie O'Neill on his own. Collie was heartbroken it seems.
    Fixed games usually are disgruntled players who haven't been paid by their clubs and need to pay bills.... Look at Bray friendly against Waterford 2 years for example. Limerick seems to have gone a bit further but who knows if they've even been paid this season....
    I honestly don't think anyone is being paid anymore, and I don't think they're expecting money either.

Are they showing any?

No which is actually weird as they normally show one I think?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,255 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Umbro snapped up a good few teams this season so imagine they'll do so with yourselves and Drogs. Their gear is quality tbf, miles apart from the Macron stuff we had previous to this season.

It is a real shame that a fully owned Irish company are no longer supplying football kits. Nearly swung a City deal a few years ago by all accounts.

Company is thriving, trading as Horsewear. But unfortunate that they are not making kits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

joeysoap wrote: »
    It is a real shame that a fully owned Irish company are no longer supplying football kits. Nearly swung a City deal a few years ago by all accounts.

Company is thriving, trading as Horsewear. But unfortunate that they are not making kits.

In fairness, Dundalk have had some really stylish kits with CX+, especially the away ones.

Not that I'll be rushing to buy any of the half-price kits on sale now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

No which is actually weird as they normally show one I think?

RTE show the 2 semi's , can't ever remember an earlier round of the cup that they showed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kksaints

major bill wrote: »
    RTE show the 2 semi's , can't ever remember an earlier round of the cup that they showed.

They showed Longford vs Cork at this stage last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

kksaints wrote: »
    They showed Longford vs Cork at this stage last year.

I stand corrected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Fixed games usually are disgruntled players who haven't been paid by their clubs and need to pay bills.... Look at Bray friendly against Waterford 2 years for example. Limerick seems to have gone a bit further but who knows if they've even been paid this season....

Paid wages for February and after that I don't think they have. Don't think Tommy Barrett has taken a wage in over 12 months, someone who'd know him well said when wages weren't paid last year summer and some players left he stopped taking a wage because he's got a day job.

Can't see why some have stuck around when not getting paid. Sign for a junior club and you'll actually get paid, my own club barely has a pot to piss in but still helped pay for operations that players needed while Sean Russell waited months until fans helped with money and even if you wanted to fix games it's easier to do it at junior level where it's going on a lot more than people know.

Paid wages for February and after that I don't think they have. Don't think Tommy Barrett has taken a wage in over 12 months, someone who'd know him well said when wages weren't paid last year summer and some players left he stopped taking a wage because he's got a day job.

Can't see why some have stuck around when not getting paid. Sign for a junior club and you'll actually get paid, my own club barely has a pot to piss in but still helped pay for operations that players needed while Sean Russell waited months until fans helped with money and even if you wanted to fix games it's easier to do it at junior level where it's going on a lot more than people know.
    I think I heard that the pros who left were paid what they were owed alright, but everyone else is skint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭bot43

Ive a feeling CCFC fans will be using the milhouse "already dead" gif later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

bot43 wrote: »
    Ive a feeling CCFC fans will be using the milhouse "already dead" gif later on.

Thats if their manager doesnt retire on the way up the road....seems to have history in Dundalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

seems to have history in Dundalk.

Seems :confused::confused::confused:

You're obviously not supporting them too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I think I heard that the pros who left were paid what they were owed alright, but everyone else is skint.

The tweet that Ellis sent out when he left references being constantly paid late so you might be right there that Pro lads got some payments. Though I'd say someone like Holland and Fitz probably found it harder than Brouder and Ellis to get money off Pat since they didn't play. Luckily for both lads they're young and probably still at home.

Though I always wondered was Will Fitz actually injured or just didn't want to play incase he got injured seeing what happened to Russell and affect him finding a new club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Seems :confused::confused::confused:

You're obviously not supporting them too long.

Dont worry I have been supporting them longer than most....was taken to Oriel for the first time for my 3rd birthday and that wasnt today or yesterday.

Making it more interesting is....its 9 years today that he retired!!!! I am sure he will be reminded!!!

In January 2010, Fenn moved to Dundalk

On 29 July 2010, he announced his retirement from football with immediate effect due to personal reasons. Fenn insisted he would not be making a return to football. "I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks. At the moment, I can’t see myself coming back at all." However, only four days later on 3 August, he signed for Shamrock Rovers until the end of the 2010 season.

In fairness, Dundalk have had some really stylish kits with CX+, especially the away ones.

Not that I'll be rushing to buy any of the half-price kits on sale now :D

Maybe if city had gone with CX+ :)

Galway United up a goal after 35 minutes against Rovers, jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Shocking stuff from Rovers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,400 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Galway United up a goal after 35 minutes against Rovers, jaysus.

The cup specialists at it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Relief for rovers

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,342 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

A respectable loss away to Dundalk.
    Nice that Harps are losing too though, considering they were 1 up.

Is Georgie Kelly the second best striker in the league?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,543 ✭✭✭pgj2015

https://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/sport/475994/former-dundalk-fc-striker-leaves-scottish-premiership-st-johnstone-on-loan.html

scottish league 1, id say the standard in that league is very poor. he would be better off coming back here to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Relief for rovers
    They should be relieved, we gave them a good game. Took our goal well and had a couple of decent half chances too. They obviously had more of the ball and some good chances but we defended very well throughout, helped that we made the pitch only 40 yards wide too. Lots of positives to take from the game for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kksaints

Stephen O'Donnell gets his first win as a manager. We came back from 1 down to beat Finn Harps 2-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Big defeat for Harps.

Any lingering doubts for Cork and Waterford should be put to bed now.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    https://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/sport/475994/former-dundalk-fc-striker-leaves-scottish-premiership-st-johnstone-on-loan.html

scottish league 1, id say the standard in that league is very poor. he would be better off coming back here to play.

Falkirk averaged close to 5,000 last year when they finished bottom and were relegated out of the Scottish Championship.
    There isn't a club here with that type of fan base.

Im no great fan of Scottish football but dismissing the likes of Falkirk is a bit daft. And clearly McMillian sees it as his best option.

Falkirk averaged close to 5,000 last year when they finished bottom and were relegated out of the Scottish Championship.
    There isn't a club here with that type of fan base.

Im no great fan of Scottish football but dismissing the likes of Falkirk is a bit daft. And clearly McMillian sees it as his best option.

last season when they were in the championship, could be a different story this season. there is no chance that league one in scotland isn't dirt. some of the lower premier league team games are very poor.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,847 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

He's possibly settled over there.

last season when they were in the championship, could be a different story this season. there is no chance that league one in scotland isn't dirt. some of the lower premier league team games are very poor.

If 5000 people stuck with them when they were rooted to the foot of the championship I don't see why they wouldn't come out to see them surely challenge for a League 1 title.

The thing about Scotish clubs is they have large loyal core fanbases. Sevco have the world record attendance for a 4th tier game from their time down there.
    I'm not disagreeing that the Scottish third tier is a low standard. I'm just saying McMillian will probably play infront of more people over the season playing for Falkirk than he would playing for Dundalk or Shams.

I won't even get into the fact Scottish third tier prize money is higher than the LOI Premier Division.

The cup specialists at it again

Sure are

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    A respectable loss away to Dundalk.
    Nice that Harps are losing too though, considering they were 1 up.

Dundalk not at their sharpest, City goal led a charmed 2nd half. Goalie was good, defense was solid. referee was poor. Delayed quick free kicks by standing over the ball. McCormack verbally abused the 4th official and Connelly either didn’t see it or didn’t want to see it. City were decent for spells, but never threatened.
    He's possibly settled over there.

He’s an architect, so won’t be relying on football going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

You watch Scottish League 1 games yeah? Your previous post before suggests you're taking a guess that it must be dirt

Anything I have seen on youtube of the lower Scottish Leagues 1 & 2 looks similar to our two leagues, even some of the top Lowland & Highland League teams look like they are playing at a decent technical standard

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

It's a country with a fully professional league, a proper football ladder, proper football grounds with atmospheres. Football culture, league steeped in history, an actual football industry.

We sometimes have the cheek to look down our noses at Scottish football, and yea we usually have a couple of teams that would survive in their premier league. The Mickey mouse cup bohs and Waterford have entered tells you all you need to know about the difference though. Underage and lower league teams playing in it against traditionally 2 of our huge clubs who feel they need to play in it for financial reasons.

Scottish football has a million problems but even at that level, as an option for a professional footballer it's light years ahead of the league of Ireland. He'd be the best striker in our league.

And that's ****ing depressing

Another pitch invasion from the (very healthy) Rovers support?
    https://twitter.com/PGaillimh/status/1170089471720792064?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

The thing about Scotish clubs is they have large loyal core fanbases. Sevco have the world record attendance for a 4th tier game from their time down there.
    I'm not disagreeing that the Scottish third tier is a low standard.
    Rangers had a serious squad in that 2012-13 season in the 4th tier and still lost/drawn enough games to prove it was no walk in the park at that level

joeysoap wrote: »
    Dundalk not at their sharpest, City goal led a charmed 2nd half. Goalie was good, defense was solid. referee was poor. Delayed quick free kicks by standing over the ball. McCormack verbally abused the 4th official and Connelly either didn’t see it or didn’t want to see it. City were decent for spells, but never threatened.

He’s an architect, so won’t be relying on football going forward.

small man syndrome is my guess as to why hes such a prick during games.

Amazing how it's only mentioned when our fans go on the pitch. Bohs fans invade after beating Longford in the last round and **** all said about it, a few kids run on the pitch after Rovers score a last minute winner in the cup and its all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭shanec1928

The small minority :pac:

Amazing how it's only mentioned when our fans go on the pitch. Bohs fans invade after beating Longford in the last round and **** all said about it, a few kids run on the pitch after Rovers score a last minute winner in the cup and its all over the place.
    Honestly I never saw the Bohs one against Longford, I called them out on it against Waterford. I'm fond enough of Rovers myself so I'm not digging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,657 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Is Georgie Kelly the second best striker in the league?

Ciaran Kilduff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,657 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Did anyone get hurt or did a couple of people just celebrate in a way you didn’t like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Judging by pictures on a Twitter, it was neither just kids nor a few.

Not that a pitch invasion is the end of the world either.

small man syndrome is my guess as to why hes such a prick during games.

I think it’s because its Dundalk and he’s a local. Maybe I’m wrong.

Goalkeeper was good and brought off some decent saves, has a great kick out and from frees, but the recent time wasting saga seems to have been ‘wasted’ on Connolly. (The Kearns fiasco would never have happened if the ref had booked Kearns for time wasting earlier in that match.) I suspect, though it will never be proven that the City goalkeeper would have stepped up his time wasting antics if the match had remained scoreless. Ref would probably have booked him with a minute to go. We’ll never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Ah lads, verbally abusing linesman? Every team out there tonight had someone who did that this evening. Is it just because some fans are near and can hear that suddenly make it an incident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭overshoot

kksaints wrote: »
    Stephen O'Donnell gets his first win as a manager. We came back from 1 down to beat Finn Harps 2-1.

Literally passed ye the winner... Brainless and sickened.
    Clarke might have been lucky to stay on the pitch early on. Boyle probably wouldn't have got to it again after his touch but he was last man