Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

Ole, seems quite good at identifying players. I'm extremely pleased with the level of talent he's brought in. The real question is....if he was to get 11 of HIS players on the pitch can he convey his vision and get them playing to the beat of his tune. I'm not so certain.

I look at some of the decisions he's made from a squad management perspective and its extremely worrying.

Ultimately results will dictate the next move, as it stands on current form, those results look likely to be on the negative side.

I'm not sure it can be said that they are players he identified. I'm pretty sure the scouting network identifies them and he may be asked for some input. He alluded to as much back in Feb/March when asked about whether he would have much say on future transfer(although he was care-taker at the time, I still would believe the system is the same. Woodward mentioned the system for recruiting players is working well(!!!) at the latest AGM). We know Maguire was looked at last summer, before Ole, and deemed too expensive. I'd be unsure if Ole knew much about James and would imagine he was recommended as a future prospect by the scouting team. Wan-Bissaka I would think was on most clubs radars after last season.
    I'm not slating Ole.......most managers don't identify players themselves. Salah was a recommendation from the scouting committee that apparently Klopp wasn't overly keen on at the start. Poch has recently said he is more a coach than manager, as had Jose last year. If anything I would be worried about Ole's commitment to the likes of Lingard, and deeming our striking options good enough to compete.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Hate gambling ads and I lose respect for people endorsing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

ozzy jr wrote: »
    When are you going to realise that the Glazers don't give a **** about what happens on the pitch? You only have to look at their NFL team to realise that.

There's constant posts here about changing managers and transfer windows. The Glazers aren't going to finance what's needed to get United back to being a title challenging team again. They do what parasites do, they'll bleed United till there's nothing left to bleed, then they'll move on :(

I endorse this post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

While i hate gambling and paddy power in particular, the pooch having the name Didier gave me a smile, Didier Dogba. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,115 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I've no problem with people having a flutter but I hate the relentless dishonesty and hard sell of the TV adverts, and PP are the worst. Another reason to dislike Mourinho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,667 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Martial and Pogba out against Arsenal it seems. ****ing hell.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Dembela (Moussa, Lyon) linked again today having been done so in the past. I would've been all for signing him last year probably, but if they did the price is probably double what Lyon paid for him. It's not like he's a new and unexpected talent with potential to get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

This is brilliant :D

I'd like to know who the director is as Mourinho is very good in it, same with Rhodri Giggs in his one, they both got it spot on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Pogba reaggrivating the ankle injury cause he played 90 minutes against Rochdale. :(

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Pogba reaggrivating the ankle injury cause he played 90 minutes against Rochdale. :(

Laughable how often this has happened under Ole now, he and the fitness staff have a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭BenK

I can see how the Jose video is funny but I absolutely hate Paddy Power with a passion. Most gambling companies aren't to be admired obviously but Paddy Power's pally pally lark and it's all a bit of craic schtick is so cynical and nasty that they really are the worst.

Funny video and then hard sell at the end, rinse and repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

In better news,Phil Jones is out until after the international break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Laughable how often this has happened under Ole now, he and the fitness staff have a lot to answer for.

Was thinking the same last week watching Rashford. He was playing ****, didn't look fit, and you're looking at it thinking does nobody on the sideline see the risk here with our only "fit", "senior" striker being left on the pitch here and then down he goes. Same thing with Pogba on Wednesday. Only creative midfield option we have, coming back from injury, but sure why not throw him out on the pitch there for 90 minutes in the third round of the bloody League Cup.

I swear there has been zero thought put into the building of this squad. There has been zero evidence to suggest that they even realise it's a small squad never mind how to go about managing one through a season.

In better news,Phil Jones is out until after the international break.

Guy is a genuine joke. I'd love to earn under a 100k a week to sit on my arse. Should be released on a free at this stage.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Yet people were lambasting the previous preseason (in a world cup year no less when it's always stunted) and stating how it held us back later in the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

While i hate gambling and paddy power in particular, the pooch having the name Didier gave me a smile, Didier Dogba. :)

The books and the bus are great

German for beginners
    La specialiste en failure
    The voyeur

Adamcp898 wrote: »

Was thinking the same last week watching Rashford. He was playing ****, didn't look fit, and you're looking at it thinking does nobody on the sideline see the risk here with our only "fit", "senior" striker being left on the pitch here and then down he goes. Same thing with Pogba on Wednesday. Only creative midfield option we have, coming back from injury, but sure why not throw him out on the pitch there for 90 minutes in the third round of the bloody League Cup.

I swear there has been zero thought put into the building of this squad. There has been zero evidence to suggest that they even realise it's a small squad never mind how to go about managing one through a season.

We need Liverpool's fitness coaches and doctors,their players can run and work like demons every game and rarely if ever get injured. A lot of our lads stroll around the pitch and hurt themselves. WTF is going on?

Nah, aim higher that that. We need to go and assemble the entire backroom team from Guardiola's Barcelona. That famously small squad could ping through a 60 game season without breaking a sweat, even with their high intensity press, and win all around them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Ich bin win kloppenjuicen.....
    Adamcp898 wrote:
    Nah, aim higher that that. We need to go and assemble the entire backroom team from Guardiola's Barcelona. That famously small squad could ping through a 60 game season without breaking a sweat, even with their high intensity press, and win all around them.

Don't turn us into vampires...

Peptides and Kloppen juice. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

It's Jose's fault because he didn't play a high intensity style so Ole trying to change up the training has caused the issue

The man is gone nearly a year and he is still holding the team back ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I heard that Mourinho's Paddy Power ad upset Pogba and Martial so much that they have called in sick for the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

Would not suprise me if its a case of Pogba pulling a sickie.. He has looked a slapped arse the last 2 years, Fair enough if he wants to leave but a club has to come up with a proper offer, just because he wants out, does not mean the club should accept 10 jellybeans and a bag of crisps for his transfer, he is being paid a fortune and should get his head down and play his game, for a player of his standing he was an embarrassment the other night..

I know theres some jokes being made here about Klopp and Pep's squad conditioning but I reckon doping is absolutely rampant in football, I just wish our team could take the right ****ing drugs :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,584 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Adamcp898 wrote: »

A truly remarkable atheletic achievement.

If only other teams could figure out their secret!

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

A truly remarkable atheletic achievement.

If only other teams could figure out their secret!

We all know the Spanish secrets

Siesta!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I know theres some jokes being made here about Klopp and Pep's squad conditioning but I reckon doping is absolutely rampant in football, I just wish our team could take the right ****ing drugs :pac:

The superhuman performance of Leicester City when they won the league after barely surviving relegation the previous season has to be the biggest "inspirational story" of modern sport.

It is incredible that teams can play such high intensity football without developing injury problems.

Even when United were successful we had serious injury problems at the club with multiple first team starters missing series of games through injury.

Those fitness coaches at City and Liverpool must really know their stuff.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

nullzero wrote: »
    The superhuman performance of Leicester City when they won the league after barely surviving relegation the previous season has to be the biggest "inspirational story" of modern sport.

It is incredible that teams can play such high intensity football without developing injury problems.

Even when United were successful we had serious injury problems at the club with multiple first team starters missing series of games through injury.

Those fitness coaches at City and Liverpool must really know their stuff.

Thought that was down to the benefits of no European football?

Next season we'll get to see these benefits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

But I was led to believe that the fitness issues and by extension the performances were someone else's fault.

Now I dont know what to think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Thought that was down to the benefits of no European football?

Next season we'll get to see these benefits

Pfft, next season?
    I think you mean after Christmas.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

We could see three dms playing Monday to protect Lindelof from long balls and Ashley Young from an off the ball run.

Might need a fourth dm to protect the three dms now that I think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,233 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

What is becoming of the club...

We are the laughing stock of clubs right now

The squad are ****ing awful

Even the defence is paper thin

One or two injuries and look at the backup 😒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,371 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

BDI wrote: »
    We could see three dms playing Monday to protect Lindelof from long balls and Ashley Young from an off the ball run.

Might need a fourth dm to protect the three dms now that I think of it.

Liverpool play with 3 defensive minded CMs and seem to do alright. In fact it's pretty key to their excellent defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

What is becoming of the club...

We are the laughing stock of clubs right now

The squad are ****ing awful

Even the defence is paper thin

One or two injuries and look at the backup 😒

Look at the players on the field never mind the back up. Director of football Ed driving the sinking ship.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tumbleweed.gif

Pretty much what you'd rather watch then seeing us play..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Tumbleweed.gif

Pretty much what you'd rather watch then seeing us play..

Yes bland and nothing there

sums up utd alright lol

Liam O wrote: »
    Liverpool play with 3 defensive minded CMs and seem to do alright. In fact it's pretty key to their excellent defence.

All the same, at least we've no fit centre forwards to stop us from fielding a team of centre midfielders :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭KH25

We will beat arsenal, but only because they’re in an even worse mess than we are.

If I see Lingard in the starting lineup I lose all hope.

Headshot wrote: »
    Yes bland and nothing there

sums up utd alright lol

I think everything that can be talked about what's wrong/how people see how it can be fixed has been covered so it's understandable at the same time it's another nail in the coffin of how things are panning out for fans.

We're basically in a period of just talking about how bad we've played in a game situation and that is just repeating what has been said in the previous game/games.

Nightmare

KH25 wrote: »
    We will beat arsenal, but only because they’re in an even worse mess than we are.

Lingard is United's kryptonite against arsenal. It's the team he loves to score against.... Cue we win some how with lingzzz coming out with the winner lol

Yeah I'm some how dreaming here lol

Seen a post on Reddit..

"Sokartis and liuz will have a field day"

Reply... "They won't even have to turn up"!!

That hurt.. even more then watching us under Moyes/LVG

I thought we would beat them but we are missing our best counter attacking assets, in terms of rashford, martial and pogba to play them in, we do have james but i dont think he can do it all on his own, Arsenal are also coming back towards full strength players wise, we are still fecked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

We're going to win Monday and look really impressive, then Newcastle will beat us Liverpool will hockey us and we'll draw with Norwich. That's how we do now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,233 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Lads the football we are playing now is no different than Moyes or van gaal

Boring ****e

Absolutely god awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Arsenal are as bad as United but they have a goalscorer in Aubameyang

He'll be a handful on Monday, if he scores they win IMO.

No idea where a goal will come from with United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Arsenal are as bad as United but they have a goalscorer in Aubameyang

He'll be a handful on Monday, if he scores they win IMO.

No idea where a goal will come from with United.

Good point, if arsenal score more than united then they'll be favourites to win the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Good point, if arsenal score more than united then they'll be favourites to win the game.

Great contribution

Oranage2 wrote: »

Do you ever try discuss football on here or is it just all smart arse replies