Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland agrees to plan on migrant resettlement

• Registered Users Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭enricoh

Rte are playing their part too, there was a piece on 6one news yesterday a few minutes long, interviewing two women. One a crew member and one head honcho of one of the charities that own a boat, pulling at the heart strings.
    Probably the only 2 women on the boat! The clientele looked fairly male dominated!!
    No mention of numbers to Ireland, it'd be rude and/or racist to ask!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

I loved the comment by Salvini telling Richard Gere who was lecturing Europe to do more that maybe he had enough room in his mansions to take some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I loved the comment by Salvini telling Richard Gere who was lecturing Europe to do more that maybe he had enough room in his mansions to take some.

It's a pity we don't have anyone like Salvini in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Think Gere ($100m networth, owner of $50m Hamptions house) was even offered clearance from Italy to take as many back on his luxury private jet (hardly a carbon-emissions friendly way to travel).

Gere refused, and returned to his luxury holiday in Tuscany instead, after handing out a few bottles of water and a rake of self-promotional selfies as he waved his $1k smartphone and $$$ wristwatch directly in the faces of the poor migrants on the boat.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Gere joined representatives from the non-governmental organization Open Arms at a press conference on the Italian island of Lampedusa to appeal to take in the ship. Salvini has refused to allow the vessel into Italian waters, the latest episode highlighting Europe’s divisions over immigration.

“As the generous millionaire airs his demands about the fate of the Open Arms immigrants, we thank him: he will be able to bring everyone in his private jet to Hollywood and keep them in his villas,” Salvini said in a statement after Gere’s press conference.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Gere joined representatives from the non-governmental organization Open Arms at a press conference on the Italian island of Lampedusa to appeal to take in the ship. Salvini has refused to allow the vessel into Italian waters, the latest episode highlighting Europe’s divisions over immigration.

“As the generous millionaire airs his demands about the fate of the Open Arms immigrants, we thank him: he will be able to bring everyone in his private jet to Hollywood and keep them in his villas,” Salvini said in a statement after Gere’s press conference.

what an absolute hero. This is the kind of politics we need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

It's a pity we don't have anyone like Salvini in Ireland.
    We will eventually get our Salvini, but it could be years too late ....... the damage will be done, but Leo and Simon will have their palatial houses in Brussels, and Catherine Zappone will be back home in Seattle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Kivaro wrote: »
    We will eventually get our Salvini, but it could be years too late ....... the damage will be done, but Leo and Simon will have their palatial houses in Brussels, and Catherine Zappone will be back home in Seattle.

Even in Italy Salvini came too late he's doing his best to preserve his nation but unfortunately there are still large numbers of migrants. Orban on the other hand is stopping immigration and globalism before it's too late.

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭creeper1

Italy may provide permission for the migrants to be flown to Gere's mansions. However since Gere's mansions are in the US they would require a valid passport and American visa for them to arrive legally. That is something I am sure they would refuse.

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭20/20

I think Richard Gere might have a full mansion already, What with all those hamsters rolling around the place.
    Or are they gerbils.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Harvey Weinstein

Screen-Shot-2019-08-14-at-13-11-32.png

Imagine a hard working couple from Dublin, who decide to move to another county.
    If they want to build a house they will likely be refused planning on the grounds that they are not 'local' or have no local connection to the area.

Yet Africans and Middle Easterners are shipped in to 300k+ houses in the same county..something very wrong there

Imagine a hard working couple from Dublin, who decide to move to another county.
    If they want to build a house they will likely be refused planning on the grounds that they are not 'local' or have no local connection to the area.

Yet Africans and Middle Easterners are shipped in to 300k+ houses in the same county..something very wrong there

The EU was told by Perter Sutherland (UN Migration Chief) that it needs to "do its best" to undermine national homogeneity, and this appears to be the policy that Fine Gael have lashed on to with great fervor. Simon Coveney was a great admirer of Sutherland, so it is no surprise that Ireland's homogeneity is being undermined by the importation of people who do not look like us. It most likely explains why Ireland (well Fine Gael) were so eager to sign up for this new automatic and quick resettlement plan of Africans. It doesn't matter what qualifications or backgrounds that these migrants have, just as long as the national homogeneity of the country is undermined.

Simon Coveney was very serious when he said he wanted to see diversity in every village and town in Ireland. A lot of us are somewhat surprised at the speed that he is making this happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

Kivaro wrote: »
    Simon Coveney was very serious when he said he wanted to see diversity in every village and town in Ireland. A lot of us are somewhat surprised at the speed that he is making this happen.

I'd love to know more about the Coveney and Sutherland relationship. Very dangerous to think that such a wealthy individual, with very radical views, could have had an influence on a potential future Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

There's a video here of the pair of them skulking around.
    Sutherland may be gone now, but the secretive Bilderberg bankster organisation lives on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

It's our racist landlords fault that we want free housing.

34% of Dublin's housing applicant's are migrants. Staggering figure!

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1161890358005051392?s=19

It's our racist landlords fault that we want free housing.

34% of Dublin's housing applicant's are migrants. Staggering figure!

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1161890358005051392?s=19
    This should not be a great surprise though.
    The demographics are changing in a lot of villages and towns around the country too with many non-EU migrants covertly deposited in hotels and social housing, which in turn is driving working locals who need housing out into the countryside in search of affordable accommodation. Irish workers looking for housing cannot compete against the Irish government who have unlimited resources when it comes to housing economic migrants.

"Exploitation" of migrants? What does that mean, charging them rent?
    Should they pay less rent than Irish people?
    Exploitation is a term the left are very fond of using, but the same people are the ones advocating for open borders and more migrants and asylum seekers. Which pushes up the rents.

recedite wrote: »
    Exploitation is a term the left are very fond of using, but the same people are the ones advocating for open borders and more migrants and asylum seekers. Which pushes up the rents.

'Exploitation' means we have to find an excuse and a spin to explain why there are so many non nationals on the housing list.

Kind of like the way the shocking levels of unemployment within the African community is spun as 'because of racsim'

'Exploitation' means we have to find an excuse and a spin to explain why there are so many non nationals on the housing list.

Kind of like the way the shocking levels of unemployment within the African community is spun as 'because of racsim'
    Imagine the heads exploding if we asked about the unemployed Africans on the housing list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Now, now.

No-one ever said economics were their forte.

It's all about the feels.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭jay0109

Just keep paying your taxes

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/direct-provision-arson-attacks-may-make-property-owners-reluctant-report-1.3987558
    In the current year spending is set to reach €120 million on direction provision and related accommodation and ancillary services; up from €78 million last year and almost double the €67 million spent two years ago...
    ..“In the first half of this year alone, we have seen a 36 per cent annual increase in the number of applications received...
    ....demand for spaces at accommodation centres having reached capacity, necessitating beds being sourced in the private sector, including hostels and hotels.
    The cost of sourcing these beds increases during the tourism season, from spring until the end of August, and has reached a cost of about €500,000 per week.

I'd say that figure would be dwarfed if we could see the annual housing/social welfare costs of those failed asylum seekers who've been given leave to remain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

creeper1 wrote: »
    Italy may provide permission for the migrants to be flown to Gere's mansions. However since Gere's mansions are in the US they would require a valid passport and American visa for them to arrive legally. That is something I am sure they would refuse.

Don't you know Brown and current Gov Newsom along with Nancy Pelosi and other CA Dems declared Ca a Sanctuary state? I'm sure they'll welcome them with open arms.

The cost of sourcing these beds increases during the tourism season, from spring until the end of August, and has reached a cost of about €500,000 per week.
    We don't know the cost to the tourist industry of re-allocating these beds. How many tourists are making the decision not to come back?

For the investor, the asylum industry is as good, or better than the tourism industry. The profit per bed per night is modest, but the 100% occupancy is guaranteed all year round, and that more than makes up for the cheap rates.

But for this country, and the taxpayer, its is a disastrous swop. The tourism industry brings money into this country.

But the asylum industry costs us money. Total opposites; one is a benefit, the other is a liability.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Them photos of the Syrian family crossing the desert is laughable and not for what you want to think and not what you will try and label me as saying.....

These photos are unreal to the point it's what they want you to see.... In reality we have 20s and 30 year old males entering with feck all families or children.....

These men sorry!!!! I mean kids (no really men) are the ones coming in.... Look up YouTube on the Calais crossing and all the camps.....

We have that complete and utter twat zapone in power wanting to cuddle all these kids(men) and bring them all home..... What a grade a complete and utter fool....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Them photos of the Syrian family crossing the desert is laughable and not for what you want to think and not what you will try and label me as saying.....

It sure is especially since the war in Syria is now OVER but yet we are still expected to take them in as refugees.
    These photos are unreal to the point it's what they want you to see.... In reality we have 20s and 30 year old males entering with feck all families or children.....

Sure look at the migrants being rescued in the Mediterranean aswell all the pictures are being taken from the port side as they are usually rescued about 10km from land but yet it's made look out that they are drowning in the middle of the sea.
    We have that complete and utter twat zapone in power wanting to cuddle all these kids(men) and bring them all home..... What a grade a complete and utter fool....

I remember hearing Zappone got one of the lowest amount of votes for a candiate to get elected down to our electoral system. Before all the usuals are out to scream racist sure she's not even Irish honestly why would an American care about Ireland. I just find it very condescending to hear someone with an American accent as a minister in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Just had a root through the International Protection Office's stats. Does anyone know what's going on with all the Albanians and Georgians applying for asylum (or international protection as it's euphemistically known these days)? Apart from the fact that their economies are rather crap relative to ours.

Those two countries made up a quarter of all applications last year and a third of all applications thus far this year. Perhaps someone can correct me, but I don't think they should be entertained in any way.

It's more than a bit of a joke that they are clogging up the system and hoovering up resources with multiple appeals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Yurt! wrote: »
    Just had a root through the International Protection Office's stats. Does anyone know what's going on with all the Albanians and Georgians applying for asylum (or international protection as it's euphemistically known these days)? Apart from the fact that their economies are rather crap relative to ours.

Those two countries made up a quarter of all applications last year and a third of all applications thus far this year. Perhaps someone can correct me, but I don't think they should be entertained in any way.

It's more than a bit of a joke that they are clogging up the system and hoovering up resources with multiple appeals.
    Not sure about the Georgians, but the Albanians sure have a bit of a 'reputation'. Just put 'albanians' into GoogleNews and discover a full page full of cheery news headlines such as:

e.g. Only 24 Albanian prisoners sent home in six years
    The Times-12 Aug 2019
    The number of Albanians in British jails has more than quadrupled to a record high despite a deal in 2013 to allow them to be sent home to ...

e.g. How blight of Albanian gangs is turning the South East of England into ...
    The Sun-10 Aug 2019
    He has seen first-hand how Albanians are controlling sex workers in the South East, even using a shipping container as a torture chamber.

and so on...
    Their Eurovision song entries could also do with a bit of work.

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭creeper1

The previous poster singles out Albanians and Georgians but I'd add Nigerians, Bangladeshis and Pakistanis to that list

It has nothing to do with international protection.

A clever trick is for them to lose their passports then nothing can be done.

https://www.dw.com/en/thousands-of-deportations-fail-due-to-lack-of-papers/a-43223447

• Registered Users Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭enricoh

We don't know the cost to the tourist industry of re-allocating these beds. How many tourists are making the decision not to come back?

For the investor, the asylum industry is as good, or better than the tourism industry. The profit per bed per night is modest, but the 100% occupancy is guaranteed all year round, and that more than makes up for the cheap rates.

But for this country, and the taxpayer, its is a disastrous swop. The tourism industry brings money into this country.

But the asylum industry costs us money. Total opposites; one is a benefit, the other is a liability.

And to top it all off in last years budget they reinstated the vat on hotels, restaurants etc by 4.5%.
    Brexit, global recession - nah, it'll be grand.
    we have the highest hospitality tax rate in Europe now iirc.
    Who needs tourists anyway, we're getting 40% more asylum seekers than last year, we'll corner that market instead!
    The hospitality industry got thrown under the bus in last years budget to keep the spending going.
    Transport industry my money is on this year, carbon taxes on the diesel to save the planet.
    Brexit, global recession - nah, it'll be grand!