Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland agrees to plan on migrant resettlement

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Portsalon wrote: »
    But what did poor Moby Dick do wrong? It's Captain Ahab who had the obsession!

He was all white blubber. No diversity. Had to go. If you reread again carefully you can see that Ahab's crew were a quango.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

n97 mini wrote: »
    He doesn't. He calls himself Grand Torino. I don't know why. Maybe he misspelled the title of the excellent Clint Eastwood movie, or the model of Ford that Starsky & Hutch made famous? But go on, I'm interested to know why you feel he's a complete twat for calling himself that.

He should call himself by his real name if he wants to be taken seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,550 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

He should call himself by his real name if he wants to be taken seriously.

Yeah,

You're right,

"Ulysses" :D

Just kidding, TGT/Rowan should never be taken seriously, he is a gobshìte of the lowest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    The big question now is if its too little, too late for the UK.

The UK passed the point of no return years ago. Ireland can be saved but its very hard to see how that is going to happen. Anyone who dares to question this is not going to get into a position of power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Berserker wrote: »
    The UK passed the point of no return years ago. Ireland can be saved but its very hard to see how that is going to happen. Anyone who dares to question this is not going to get into a position of power.
    I have hope in the Irish Nation and believe that it will actually propel them into power (hopefully with a new party to finally sort out health, affordable housing for workers/contributors, infrastructure, overpriced projects etc.).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Berserker wrote: »

The longer Varadkar and FG can delay a general election [with FF's blessing and help] the less likely we will be able to save Ireland. He's fast tracking citizenship and family reunification for the "new Irish" as fast as he can. So the longer this drags out the more likely he'll be able to stay in and continue this unimpeded.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,550 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

The longer Varadkar and FG can delay a general election [with FF's blessing and help] the less likely we will be able to save Ireland. He's fast tracking citizenship and family reunification for the "new Irish" as fast as he can. So the longer this drags out the more likely he'll be able to stay in and continue this unimpeded.

If there was an election next week, who do you think would be in power after it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

mvl wrote: »
    There probably is, but they are so many, and can you see in what conditions they are hosted in (rather than Irish hotels) ...
    As I said, its all about balance, one can think we can add quotas per country of origin.

And about Venezuelan refugees: thinking they would have a higher chance of integrating here (being catholic and all), adults of working age could end up having higher employment rate, and more important, their children deserve a better chance too - as imo families with children should be prioritized over what we're getting at the moment from the recent agreements.

Jaysus is there nowhere safe in world. Maybe if people want to emigrate to the us or ozz long term. Maybe we can declare Ireland a warzone too.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Another foreign taxi driver in court today on rape charges after fleeing to his country of origin

Why not stop all this tomorrow and provide help in the home countries...

What are the un doing?

Is the role not to help those in their home countries and protect them....

I have no issues at all with us providing aid but to actually help and do good for those that need it.

There is way too much greed in the world and why is it the ones with the most are the ones that happens to tell us all how to live and put up with it.

UN should be going in and stopping any bloodshed of innocent people.... Children or adults...

Because they won't be the ones landed with the consequences of it and the tossers know this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Gatling wrote: »
    Another foreign taxi driver in court today on rape charges after fleeing to his country of origin

Link please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

We should ban taxis as they are dangerous spaces for vulnerable passengers.
    Same way we banned churches as they were lethally dangerous to small boys and girls.
    Oh wait.

We should ban taxis

Drivers who's history cannot be varied , especially when it comes to previous criminal behaviour and sexual assaults

Let's protect people first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Gatling wrote: »
    And from what can gather form a quick look at the story:
    https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/0826/1071059-taxi-driver-charged/

He wasn't given a any term or sentance, and was released on Bail (when Detective objected), and full legal aid was granted.

Bail conditions described as 'strict', which simply means no prowling after 10pm, no taxi driving (clearly), and quick daily visit to a local station.

Stephen15 wrote: »
    Don't remember so many rapes being reported by taxi drivers before the taxi industry was culturally enriched

Majority of rapes to this day go unreported. Only a small percentage are. The numbers reported were even fewer back before our immigrant influx and it’s not cos they were all raping.
    We had a very very different set up then and women often couldn’t report. Majority of them still don’t.

So be careful before you start blaming immigrants.

We should ban taxis as they are dangerous spaces for vulnerable passengers.
    Same way we banned churches as they were lethally dangerous to small boys and girls.
    Oh wait.

Proper asylum process sounds better. Instead of just accepting everyone and anyone. Comparing the churches behaviour to this is stupid.

At least people are addressing the issue now and not turning blind eye like the church scandals all those years.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

Ireland agrees to take refugees from the Mediterranean rescue ship Ocean Viking. We donate to these Charites and the pay us with diversity.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ireland-agrees-to-take-refugees-from-the-mediterranean-rescue-ship-ocean-viking-38431513.html

And from what can gather form a quick look at the story:
    https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/0826/1071059-taxi-driver-charged/

He wasn't given a any term or sentance, and was released on Bail (when Detective objected), and full legal aid was granted.

Bail conditions described as 'strict', which simply means no prowling after 10pm, no taxi driving (clearly), and quick daily visit to a local station.

Thereve been countless cases only the year and loads of outrage about that he same total lack of punishment and all those cases were Irish men. Bit of clarity here

Majority of rapes to this day go unreported.

But this one and others were committed by immigrants

Majority of rapes to this day go unreported. Only a small percentage are. The numbers reported were even fewer back before our immigrant influx and it’s not cos they were all raping.
    We had a very very different set up then and women often couldn’t report. Majority of them still don’t.

So you're basically telling me that it's only immigrant rapes that get reported?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

That largely sounds like gibberish.

If you wanted to take an actual sample, just look over at the uk. You'd discover general criminality from a certain 'ideology/influx' has a 300% over-representation. For raping it's still 200% above the norm.
    Not all, but still be careful, about ignoring such concerning over-representation. One nationality from SE Asia in particular may well be even higher.

Then there is the whole wider issue with taxi-licences being obtained illegally through sham marriges and document fraud.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

Whatever happened to innocent until proven guilty as most on here would be ranting about if this was an Irish man???

Limpy wrote: »
    Ireland agrees to take refugees from the Mediterranean rescue ship Ocean Viking. We donate to these Charites and the pay us with diversity.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ireland-agrees-to-take-refugees-from-the-mediterranean-rescue-ship-ocean-viking-38431513.html

This is why I haven't given to charities in years.

If there was an election next week, who do you think would be in power after it?

Honestly? Since I think way too many Irish are still asleep or in denial about this issue that we may end up with that dreadful FF/FG coalition [they're preparing for it]

Illusion of democracy?

Don't have much choice but to donate. If you don't want to the government will on your behalf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

This is why I haven't given to charities in years.

Good excuse to be tight. :rolleyes: