Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2019 - Round 11 Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,136 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Confirmed safety car start.
    flazio wrote: »
    Is there not some new rule that they do a grid start after a safety car period?
    Forgot about that. Mercedes have just said to Hamilton that the safety car driver can decide if it's a standing start or not. Disappointing when all the drivers who were asked said it was fine for a standing start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,247 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Sky saying they'll do the formation lap behind the safety car and start normally.
    What's the point in that?

What was that on the team radio to Lewis,

Did the engineer say a couple of laps behind the safety car to clear the standing water and then he will decide on a standing or rolling start?:confused:

Pussies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Safety car start me bollix. Taking all the excitement out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

So much for that exciting turn 1 sky were building up to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Slattsy wrote: »
    Safety car start me bollix. Taking all the excitement out of it.
    Hope they still do a standing start. Seems like its only F1 wants the safety car, nobody of the teams/drivers or fans want it.

Light rain for the next 30-60 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Guessing a safety car start also means everyone has to start on full wets?

Is it even raining ffs

Wet weather races were always good caus you would get some on inters and some on full wets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,955 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Well thats a dissapointing start.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

This should not be starting as a normal race for **** sake

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Lights out and away we go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭deafroadrunner

Hopefully will be a good race. But I can see Hamilton winning this sadly

Sky feed must be way behind

What are ye watching on

Is this the 2nd formation lap or has the race started?
    Would the cars be fueled for this?

So these laps don't count towards race distance? What about fuel? ****ing bunch of clowns.

Plenty of drivers protesting too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,984 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Going to be some quality radio snippets from this section of the race, but that's about it

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Hamilton is even wanting to get on with it. Come on man.

*Awaits el duderino telling us we're all wrong and the start procedure has been totally fine* :P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,713 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Joke of a setup, not even that wet ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

A few laps with 20 cars clearing the worst of the standing water then go for a standing start, seems logical enough to me.

Standing start is approved

This is utterly ridiculous. I've seen starts in far worse weather.

Standing start coming up, a few drivers itching to get it going,

this should be fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,984 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Standing start after this lap, this should be fun!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,681 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

skipper_G wrote: »
    A few laps with 20 cars clearing the worst of the standing water then go for a standing start, seems logical enough to me.

Thing is what about fuel? That would be my worry, they've effectively had a few extra laps added so this is going to be about fuel management as well which is going to probably result in less action on track to conserve fuel.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,713 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭This is it

Standard start confirmed. Should be good!

This is a farce. Apparently a bunch of lads in a warm dry protacabin know better than the people outside on the track driving.

Normally start coming, they're not completed deluded then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

So these laps don't count towards race distance? What about fuel? ****ing bunch of clowns.

it's a farce so far. I mean as you say the cars are fueled depending on how many laps the race is. So we could easily see cars run out of fuel.