Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sexual assaults in Courtown - see OP for mod warning - updated 01/08/19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

tuxy wrote: »
    Currently they want reports from people who were in that area on Sunday night. That's what they need help with, if you were not there you can't help them.
    If they need more help they will ask for it.
    Am sure they do, and any visable or even slightly clues would likely help jog peoples memory and bring forward any relevant info quicker.

E.g. What colour clothes where they wearing, did they have unusual accents, funny hairstyles, were they carrying anything, have a dog or drink and so on and on.

Maybe they should do one of those crime scene re-creations, but only this time have non-descript silhouettes placed around the same area, to see if anyone recalls seeing this invisible gang.

It's all a bit slightly curious, that is all.

Hal3000 wrote: »
    No matter who did it, it will be suspended sentences all round. This country is so so rotten in every institution.
    How many Irish cases do you know of where a convicted person was convicted for serious/violent sexual assault and was only given a suspended sentence?

Although Ireland doesn't have sentencing guidelines, it does have a famous case that's used as something of a benchmark by lawyers and the courts, called DPP v D(W). It effectively advises appropriate sentences (after mitigation) for sexual offences warranting “ordinary punishments” of between three and eight years, those warranting “severe punishments” of between nine and 14 years, and those warranting “condign punishments” of between 15 years and life imprisonment.

THe only cases I can think of in which suspended sentences for rape have arisen all involved minor youths as rapists, or else have involved Judge Paul Carney (dead) who gave some frankly baffling sentences for sexual offences.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

I'll disagree

Ireland has become a dangerous place especially for young girls. If that means they are to be in by a reasonable hour or you know they are in a safe environment then so be it.

Oh thank you so much, Stevie. I'm so glad you're around to protect us weak females. How about you organise for the males to be in at a reasonable hour or supervised in a safe environment and then us women and girls can be safe wherever we want at whatever time we want? Stick your patriarchy which you'd probably deny exists. :rolleyes:

We are talking about 14 year old's out past midnight

It's not a recent thing that teens are out late/early at discos. All through the 60s and 70s teens were at dances/discos/night clubs which didn't end till 2am.
    It was par for the course. Half the time we'd get a lift to a dance hall in the middle of nowhere and cross our fingers that we'd manage to get a lift home or close to it without giving up our virtue in return. The hops ended at 11pm but most of us had grown out of them at 15. Are you just upset at 14 year old girls being out past midnight or does the thoughts of 14 year old boys being out upset you too?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

jesus your mad for news/gossip. you wouldnt make much of a cop, jumping in with the two feet, every guard in ireland knows the local goings on and who is up to what.

I’m not mad for news or gossip at all

Quite the opposite

I said we need the guards to issue official and verified alerts with descriptions of the suspects

So the opposite of “gossip”. Next time have a proper read of my posts. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Had a laugh the other day when BBCNews channel ran a non-story about a couple they were looking for after some CS?gas was released on the tube.

Simply "Two white men", along with a very fuzzy image of a couple of lads, one had a bit of a farmers tan btw, and frankly could be from anywhere.

Oh thank you so much, Stevie. I'm so glad you're around to protect us weak females. How about you organise for the males to be in at a reasonable hour or supervised in a safe environment and then us women and girls can be safe wherever we want at whatever time we want? Stick your patriarchy which you'd probably deny exists.

Wow.

Take a long, hard look at your response and ask yourself if it warranted that amount of vitriol.

Disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Harvey Weinstein

bubblypop wrote: »
    No.
    We don't all agree that at all. There is no need for gardai to keep the general public informed about the investigation unless they need information. At which time they will ask for the information they require.

I think what we would all agree with is allowing the Gardai to do their Investigations without interference.

The guards have asked the public for help.
    They are "appealing for anyone who may have information to come forward"

It makes sense then to issue a description of the attackers.

We can’t say and you are not allowed ask

Wtf like !!!??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Augme wrote: »
    If they aren't black or brown there will be a lot of very disappointed people in this thread.

Black and amber no?

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Gardai speak with families of men who may have been involved in sex attack on teens in Courtown

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/gardai-speak-families-men-who-16678083

Wow.

Take a long, hard look at your response and ask yourself if it warranted that amount of vitriol.

Disgusting.

Yes, it did.

Where's the vitriol either in small amounts or the large helping you're accusing me of dishing out? I never use the term snowflake but it's fairly appropriate here, the dunne. Get over yourself, although to be fair I'm aware of the tack that you're taking. It's growing old on boards these days and doesn't faze me.

How about women stop blindly supporting mass immigration in Europe?

I'll have some of what you're drinking!! What on earth has your comment got to do with my post? You really are losing the plot a bit like your leader. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Allinall

We can’t say and you are not allowed ask

Wtf like !!!??

Where did the Gardai say “We can’t say”?

You’re just making stuff up now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Allinall

Are you a high ranking Garda?

If not, then your post has no basis.

It might make sense you you, but your opinion is irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭Anto Lynch

Sigh.
    No it's doesn't.
    Gardai want people who were in the area to inform them so they can interview them.
    Luckily Gardai know how to interview witnesses so as to get the information from them, the witness may not even be aware they know something.
    If Gardai look for information on a blue Audi a6, then they get information on a blue Audi a6. If they appeal for all people in a certain place at a certain time to come forward, they then get way more information.
    Does that make sense to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

No it doesn't. Because then when you are being interviewed you cannot give a description based on what you saw. Witness memory is notoriously bad. Confirmation bias is particularly hazardous. Last thing Gardaí need is someone confirming what they have been told because they want to be a good citizen or because they've convinced themselves they saw what the Garda description states. If you were in the area, saw something suspect or saw the crime you don't need a description to know to come forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,940 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Regardless of our differences on this thread

I think we all agree that when serious crime occurs

the guards should give detailed descriptions of the suspects ASAP

with as much detail as possible so that they can be apprehended.

Certainly no PC millennial or woke media attitudes should frustrate/deny the correct info going to the public.
    they were only interviewed today https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/specialist-gardanterview-girls-at-centre-of-courtown-sex-assault-allegations-1.3973029

the sensitivity referred to was the age of the victims

• Registered Users Posts: 17,091 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

the sensitivity referred to was the age of the victims

Jasus that won't suit the racists. What are they going to be offended about now?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

Irish nationals from Kilkenny..

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

"Oriental"? I didn't know people still used that term, and it might not suit the racists, as they want the attackers to be middle eastern or black

• Registered Users Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

screamer wrote: »
    Irish nationals from Kilkenny..

So many disappointed posters:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

vicwatson wrote: »
    So many disappointed posters:rolleyes:

Indeed. Isn’t it shocking that the focus is on the ethnicity of the perpetrators rather than the brutality of the attacks. If our society is going down the pan, it’s sure being helped along with narrow minded focus such as this.

I feel so very sorry for the girls that’s too young to deal with such violation.

El_Bee wrote: »
    "Oriental"? I didn't know people still used that term, and it might not suit the racists, as they want the attackers to be middle eastern or black

That would cover a huge area of the globe. It means eastern I think

So basically Eastern Europe all the way over to South Pacific broadly speaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,427 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

screamer wrote: »
    Indeed. Isn’t it shocking that the focus is on the ethnicity of the perpetrators rather than the brutality of the attacks. If our society is going down the pan, it’s sure being helped along with narrow minded focus such as this.

I feel so very sorry for the girls that’s too young to deal with such violation.
    Don’t worry, as soon as it’s established that the suspects are white Irish men these same people will seamlessly pivot to accusing those poor girls of making false rape accusations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

If I found out a family member had raped a child I would personally break them up. I hope they have already been dealt with, and then face the full rigours of the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

pablo128 wrote: »
    If I found out a family member had raped a child I would personally break them up. I hope they have already been dealt with, and then face the full rigours of the law.

Has this some connection to this thread or is it just something that's currently on your mind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

The men from Kilkenny are only being questioned for now, they are not necessarily guilty. Funny how all the lefties here are jumping to conclusions which is what they have been accusing many of their opponents in this thread of ironically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

The men from Kilkenny are only being questioned for now, they are not necessarily guilty.

Which men are being questioned?