Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

How so? Salah's been fine, it's the other two up front that have been woeful.

All three of them tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I hope Robertson isn't injured, he pulled up there like a donkey in the national.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭shamrock55

So is it gonna be a meltdown Tuesday then or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Played a lot better than we did last year but lose 2-0. That’s football.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭dmigsy

Fabian Ruiz is a fantastic player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Such a frustrating night - so many bad touches and passes in the final third, we should be winning this.

That Mane-Salah breakaway should've been a goal all day long. Gah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,328 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

lol that is typical of Napoli there in the 2nd half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Jesus, we just can't score in Naples. Tonight, a 1-0 defeat last year and i think we drew nil all there under Hodgson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭54and56

Very poor night for Robertson. He's due one, it's forgivable.

Hardest game of the group out of the way.

Big wake up call.

Klopp will use it to everyone's benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,573 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

naughtb4 wrote: »

Napoli player is one who played the ball, Robertson then barged him. It's a free outside the box, soft pen but a penalty.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

VVD believing his own hype it seems. Shockingly lazy from him all game - that second goal epitomises it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

VVD believing his own hype it seems. Shockingly lazy from him all game - that second goal epitomises it.

Christ it really does take one defeat to bring this shíte out.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

54and56 wrote: »

Probably wasnt fit enough to play 90 minutes he looked fooked for that second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Poor from Klopp not to rotate more. We could afford to lose this game with a heavily rotated team and go again Sunday with a fresh team. What’s sure is Klopp does not trust Shaq or Lallana one bit. Could even add Lovren and Ox to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,620 ✭✭✭eigrod

shamrock55 wrote: »
    So is it gonna be a meltdown Tuesday then or what

Nah. We’ll be fine. Toughest game out of the way, move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Played a lot better than we did last year but lose 2-0. That’s football.

Yeah, its infuriating. We really deserved the loss last time, this time we should've been cruising but the front 3 weren't at it.

Napoli always win at home, I never saw anything else happening. I just thought we'd change the system and play for a draw. Game was far too open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Christ it really does take one defeat to bring this shout.

A few making their debut this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

Poor performance. Lucky it came in this game.

Not a penalty for me at all and struggling to work out what the point of VAR is.

Few lads off the boil. It happens. Won't be overly detrimental.

Hah, back to your igloo.

This away record in Europe needs sorting, there's no doubt about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭klose

Poor from Klopp not to rotate more. We could afford to lose this game with a heavily rotated team and go again Sunday with a fresh team. What’s sure is Klopp does not trust Shaq or Lallana one bit. Could even add Lovren and Ox to that.

It was the toughest group game by far he was dead right in his team selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Turtyturd wrote: »
    A few making their debut this season.

People are spoiled.

We lost a game, this happens, we will plow on.

I don't care about this result. Means little. We'll leave this group, that's the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,198 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

54and56 wrote: »

Hardest game of the group out of the way.

Big wake up call.

Klopp will use it to everyone's benefit.

Came into the game carrying an injury, so somewhat understandable/predictable. Just one of those times where we can actively see our lack of depth at full back.

Anyway, all in all, good game, and grand performance against a very good team. Disappointing to lose and to not score, but don't think anyone needs to be crucified over this one.

Somewhat yeah, we've still made the final in every European tournament we've been in under Klopp though so I think we can deal with it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Napoli are a very good side, toughest game out of the way, thought we done well for the first 80 mins, not a disaster but disappointing all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

klose wrote: »
    It was the toughest group game by far he was dead right in his team selection.

I’d back us to win our other 5 games and go through top on head to head against Napoli - I still think we will mind

magma69 wrote: »
    Napoli are a doozy team for us. Fair play to them.

They're a bloody good side. If Liverpool trade wins against them, grand. Certainly can't expect to go there and win handily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Napoli are a good well drilled side at home, the front three were playing for themselves far too much, the links with midfield hardly existed and that is down to Klopp unfortunately, no Wijnaldum no control. It's not a disaster but the next game now is a must win.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

What a strange game. We'll chalk it up anyway. I'd say Klopp is dying to get a hold of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,578 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Where you watching the game at all?

He made some great defensive moves.

Shocking post, have been waiting since January against City to post it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,325 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Meh not really bothered I expected a draw, loss no biggie it's early days. Thought we played well enough

Napoli will beat everyone else in group at home too. No big deal .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,328 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Salzburg game will be a big game now need to win that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Whatever about the rest I wouldn't agree with Ox not being trusted at all, he started 3 games ago, probably rested if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

thought we played decent.

But we should have overlapped for cutbacks in the final third in the centre Napoli were very compact.

Penalty very poor decision.

Funny enough this same ref has had problems with VAR before, got sent home from the last World Cup for failing to use it in big decisions:

https://www.dw.com/en/world-cup-over-for-german-referee-felix-brych/a-44538513

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,531 ✭✭✭✭noodler

No meltdown but I thought it was a clear peno.

Couldn't believe the split in opinion here. Have to check it again.

EDIT: hmmmm, there's bit of a fall beforehand alright.

I wouldn't be getting hung up on that quite yet. Yes, we were awful in the group stages last year on the road, but won well in Munich and Porto.

Napoli are a very good team. We wouldn't be losing our heads if we'd lost away to Man City or Spurs or Dortmund etc.

Let's see how we got on in Belgium and Austria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Holy shít, lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,012 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Napoli are a really really good side managed by one of the greatest managers of all time it is no shock or upset to lose away to them.

Hope this doesn't put the wobblers on us now for sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,198 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

"This is the problem with Liverpool in Europe!" says B/R Football pundit Stu Holden of the European Champions and back to back finalists...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Hope this doesn't put the wobblers on us now for sunday

If it helps how you feel Chelsea lost at home to a team nowhere good as Napoli that sacked their coach a week ago. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

noodler wrote: »
    No meltdown but I thought it was a clear peno.

Couldn't believe the split in opinion here. Have to check it again.

EDIT: hmmmm, there's bit of a fall beforehand alright.

Just a bit.

ERG89 wrote: »
    If it helps how you feel Chelsea lost at home to a team nowhere good as Napoli that sacked their coach a week ago. :/

Ross Barkley also ripped the ball away from Willian so he could take a late penalty and then hoofed it over the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭.G.

Few good saves from Adrian and a worldie second half one too, front three won't all be as bad again you'd expect. Win the home games and Genk away and the job is done.

VAR needs binning if its just going to compound referring mistakes rather than correct them. It's like they don't want to grass on their mates.

I can't believe the amount of people moaning about the penalty. What does Robertson expect when he just dangles a leg out like that in the box? Unless he wins the ball, it's tough sh!t.

Players are always going to make the most of it. There doesn't HAVE to be contact. It's not up to the Napoli player to just hurdle a leg and do Robertson a favour.

It's the same when a keeper comes rushing out. Unless he wins the ball, he's giving away a penalty all day long.

It's a penalty. No doubt about it.