Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Harry Wilson has a goal every two games over his past 55 or so league appearances. Still convinced he could do a job at Liverpool in some capacity.

54and56 wrote: »
    Bags this as my next Username :o

Originally Posted by Alonso77 View Post
    Lallana's a handy player to have when he's up to speed and fit but unfortunately it always seems like a cycle of injury-getting up to speed -injury.

He'll be gone next Summer.

It's a bit on the long side, and can you even have both Bold and non Bold in your username ? :confused::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Often with these kid it's their body strength that reveals their lack of preparedness but Elliott looks like he's ready to do battle with gnarled centre backs.

He looks like the real deal, dont think I've ever seen a 16 year old perform like that, he just oozes confidence. His touch is perfect and his passes forward spell danger. Would love to see him get a start in the PL this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

While I doubt he'll be ripping up the latter stages of PL or CL if Liverpool can just stay in a domestic cup he could elevate himself to a position where he is one of the names who comes off the bench for many PL games next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,932 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

If only a few of the youth players retain their spots for the Arsenal game then I want Elliot to be one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Paul Joyce saying Fulham look like getting around 7 million for Elliott at a tribunal. A bargain by the looks of it - should fetch 50 million as a 20 year old ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Harry Wilson has a goal every two games over his past 55 or so league appearances. Still convinced he could do a job at Liverpool in some capacity.

Not sure what the lad has to do to get the respect of the Liverpool fans. People talking like he has no future at the club is madness imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

should fetch 50 million as a 20 year old ;)

that's so 5 years ago!!

He'll be worth at least £150M when he's 20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

magma69 wrote: »
    Not sure what the lad has to do to get the respect of the Liverpool fans. People talking like he has no future at the club is madness imo.

yeah I dont get the disdain for Wilson. Fair enough he is not the finished article but if he got a season of Klopp coaching under his belt he has the potential to be a decent option.

Same goes for Grujic imo, he's had good loan spells and is in need now to come back to the mothership and get better coaching. When he did have a run of games for us he looked impressive and hes gotten better since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Muahahaha wrote: »
    yeah I dont get the disdain for Wilson. Fair enough he is not the finished article but if he got a season of Klopp coaching under his belt he has the potential to be a decent option.

Same goes for Grujic imo, he's had good loan spells and is in need now to come back to the mothership and get better coaching. When he did have a run of games for us he looked impressive and hes gotten better since.

There's no disdain I just don't think he's dynamic enough to play for Klopp. I realized this when I watch Wilson all pre-season and I was far more impressed by Elliott in his pre-season showing. He a scorer of great goals and dead ball specialist, if you took that away he doesn't offer much. Even Curtis Jones looks a better bet than Wilson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

the academy mid 2000s was poor.

I would since mid 2009 it has been improving quite well.
    We had Morgan,Sterling & Coady around 2011-12 who were the top talents.

Then we have had Ojo,Wilson,Kent,Ibe who are all having decent careers.

Elliott,Jones,Brewster,Hoever will be a level above them as well.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

A lot of the academy players Klopp played in the PL were during the run up to the last few games of our EL final season and first PL season when loads of first XI players were rested. There have been very few instances of academy players in the last few years playing in meaningful games with a near full XI.

Pretending this isn't the case because you don't like the poster who tried to make the point (albeit badly) doesn't change that fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,365 ✭✭✭.red.

giphy.gif

Your becoming Unbearable!

Keep it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

5starpool wrote: »
    A lot of the academy players Klopp played in the PL were during the run up to the last few games of our EL final season and first PL season when loads of first XI players were rested. There have been very few instances of academy players in the last few years playing in meaningful games with a near full XI.

Pretending this isn't the case because you don't like the poster who tried to make the point (albeit badly) doesn't change that fact.

The past 15 months its been pretty difficult to incorporate even senior players to the first team as even if an Allisson or Firmino are out injured there is huge scrutiny over those who take their places. When a player plays for Liverpool or City they have to go in the team and the form can't dip or people will blame them for it, similar to the way TAA was often criticised in his first few seasons at right back before he became a far more dangerous attacking threat. Liverpool's team now plays with symmetry so when something changes it can often have effects. If TAA or Robertson are out you notice what they bring to the team that their replacements don't, same with VVD, Bobby, Fabinho, et cetera.
    VERY hard to bleed in young lads when we basically need 99...100?? points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Klopp:
    Ward
    Chirivella
    Ojo
    Brannagan
    Canos
    Smith
    Randall
    TAA
    Woodburn
    Teixeira
    Camacho

Disregarding Trent, they were tipped for the first team before Klopp arrived. Klopp has been clear he want's a clear path to the first team from the academy, hell he's the one who wants Melwood closed and a new training facility built with the whole thing under the same roof.
    The guys your seen now are players Klopp and his team have overseen the development of and you'll see more of them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

6 wrote: »
    Who votes btw? I'm presuming it's an online type job. They are generally a bit mad anyway.
    While it might be last week's news Popbitch unearthed this....

>> A Messi result <<
    When good votes go bad

Is there nothing FIFA can do that doesn't end up looking like a fix?

This week they hosted "The Best" awards where the best male and female footballers were voted for by representatives from football associations around the world (i.e. their national coach, captain and a media rep). Megan Rapinoe won Best Female and Lionel Messi won Best Male. All votes were published, so it seems like it's perfectly straightforward and transparent, right?

And yet in the last couple of days a number of people whose votes had been tallied for Messi have come out and said that they didn't actually vote for him. First it was Nicaragua, then Sudan, and now Egypt have all come out and said that the votes listed in their name (for Messi) were not actually cast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭The Good Ole Boys

Popbitch is always sniffing about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭dmigsy

magma69 wrote: »

Have you watched many full matches that he's played in? He plays a bit like a striker in the midfield. He's a passenger for most of a match then pops up with a goal. Doubt Klopp fancies carrying him. Great left foot but his all-round game might not be enough for Klopp.

He wouldn't get in ahead of any of the midfielders and he's nowhere near good enough for the front three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

dmigsy wrote: »
    Have you watched many full matches that he's played in? He plays a bit like a striker in the midfield. He's a passenger for most of a match then pops up with a goal. Doubt Klopp fancies carrying him. Great left foot but his all-round game might not be enough for Klopp.

He wouldn't get in ahead of any of the midfielders and he's nowhere near good enough for the front three.

Think the loan was the right choice for this year. Help him get up to speed in the league and build on his general passing and movement within a well organised team (which Bournemouth definately are). Could see us owing Howe a debt of gratitude, with Wilson's all round play being much improved and much more active a year from now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Liverpool Football Club can confirm its application to trademark the word 'Liverpool' in the context of football products and services has been unsuccessful.

The club accepts the decision that has been taken by the Intellectual Property Office, due primarily to what the official judgement cites as “the geographical significance” of Liverpool as a city in comparison to place names that have been trademarked by other football clubs in the UK.

We will, however, continue to aggressively pursue those large-scale operations which seek to illegally exploit our intellectual property and would urge the relevant authorities to take decisive action against such criminal activity wherever it exists.

Peter Moore, LFC’s chief executive officer, said: “It should be stressed that our application was put forward in good faith and with the sole aim of protecting and furthering the best interests of the club and its supporters. Nevertheless, we accept the decision and the spirit in which it has been made.

“I would also like to take the opportunity to reiterate our thanks to all those who engaged with us throughout this process, most notably independent traders and local football clubs.”

https://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/announcements/366323-liverpool-fc-statement-on-trademark-application?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

By all accounts he's well able to work hard. Lampard plays a high energy type game and had no problem playing him last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭mosstin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

TitianGerm wrote: »
    By all accounts he's well able to work hard. Lampard plays a high energy type game and had no problem playing him last year.

He works plenty hard, it's the other side of his game that's missing - the in-possession crafting. Moving cleverly off the ball, getting involved in little linkups like our front 3 do, and playing in tight spaces to cause confusion. Most of his good attacking play happens in open spaces, but we need players that do both - rampaging into open space, but also getting involved in all the little linkups to pull teams apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭chicorytip

FitzShane wrote: »
    chicorytip wrote: »
    9 Yes, of course you will have the exceptionally good one's that make it but it's still a very small percentage in the overall context.

Seeing as you talk about decades, here are a list of players that have played in the Liverpool academy, and were given opportunities to play in the PL in the last 10 years. They had an opportunity to make a name for themselves. Whether they make it or not is another question. Some have the talent but not the mindset.

Benitez:
    Spearing
    Ecclestone
    Robinson
    Pacheco
    Ayala
    Darby

Kenny:
    Sterling
    Spearing
    Flanagan

Rodgers:
    Coady
    Wisdom
    Kelly
    Ibe
    Rossiter
    Ejaria
    Sinclair

Klopp:
    Ward
    Chirivella
    Ojo
    Brannagan
    Canos
    Smith
    Randall
    TAA
    Woodburn
    Teixeira
    Camacho

That's a fair big list, especially Klopp. It doesn't even include players who only played cup games. I know the list of players who have made it to the very top are low, but to be fair, most clubs probably have a similar turn around of players. There has been some excellent top level players come through the academy in recent years such as Sterling and TAA, with a number having strong PL level careers such as Coady, Kelly, Ibe, Ward, Harry Wilson etc.

You seem to want to put down the academy, which is weird given how well some of them played last night.
    No. The fact that many who leave the club make successful careers elsewhere is noteworthy even if it be at lower league standard. The reasons most of those you mention were selected to play for the first team at all were - a) because of long injury lists causing the absence of regulars or b) simply to give them a try out in one of the less important cup matches and see how they cope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

.red. wrote: »
    Your becoming Unbearable!

Keep it up.
    giphy.gif
    Ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

giphy.gif
    Ok

This gif a day keeps the Unity fans away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Are we all not secret Manchester United fans?

Completely unprompted but I've just been thinking about this assist from Xabi, probably the best I've ever seen, and everyone else should get to watch it again too. 60 yard 180 no-look weak footed on the half volley.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Alonso77

OwaynOTT wrote: »

Go Devils!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Alonso77 wrote: »
    Go Devils!

No stoopid, it's Manchester Red. Get it right.

Jeez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,090 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I can't even remember the last time we played at Brammall Lane and won the game. Must be 15+ years. Last memory of playing there is Fowler scoring a penalty there, maybe first game of the season? Did he also score a bicycle in that game but get ruled out for offside as well, or was that the season previous after he re-signed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭amber69

Vicxas wrote: »

Jeez

Wrong again.. Its Man u.. A good old name

Vicxas wrote: »

Jeez

It seems to be just 'Manchester' these days, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Completely unprompted but I've just been thinking about this assist from Xabi, probably the best I've ever seen, and everyone else should get to watch it again too. 60 yard 180 no-look weak footed on the half volley.

giphy.gif

Best I've seen was stevie g against Fulham a few yrs back I'm sure someone will find it, alonso looked a bit hit and hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

giphy.gif

Jaysus, 14 fecking years ago, <goes to check retirement plan>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

OwaynOTT wrote: »

Wash out your hoor mouth

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

FitzShane wrote: »
    I can't even remember the last time we played at Brammall Lane and won the game. Must be 15+ years. Last memory of playing there is Fowler scoring a penalty there, maybe first game of the season? Did he also score a bicycle in that game but get ruled out for offside as well, or was that the season previous after he re-signed?

overhead kick was Birmingham in front of The Kop,

would have been magical

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Best I've seen was stevie g against Fulham a few yrs back I'm sure someone will find it, alonso looked a bit hit and hope

Class alright, lovely finish too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭chicorytip

You could be describing Shaquiri.

Happy Friday

source.gif

shamrock55 wrote: »

Yeah I remember that one, outside of the boot, looked like something I'd break my knee trying to do

6 wrote: »
    Happy Friday

source.gif

Needs more confetti and fireworks if you ask me :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Needs more confetti and fireworks if you ask me :confused:

5bab01be6ff1b274ebf34558d70ef4f2.gif

gafferino wrote: »

That's a bit old now. Got anything newer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Wash out your hoor mouth

image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Coutinho's assist for Sturrige for the 4th against Arsenal inside the first 20 minutes that time we beat them 5-1.

That was a lovely assist.

*special mention too for Suarez almost scoring that years Puskas winner early in that game.

won't embed for some reason!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CrfQtnTuF1I&t=174s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

Suarez hit the post in the first half didn't he with a volley

the greatest goal never scored imo

gafferino wrote: »

This one should be produced whenever the tired ole "Slippy G" comment gets wheeled out.

Also just thought of that time we saw the most unnecessarily unselfish moment of all time when a wide open Jari Litmanen (now there's a player) decided to not take the free header into an open goal, but instead to try to head it back to Fowler who had 4 defenders surrounding him :pac:

giphy.gif