Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

They've had some chances. Pukki does look very sharp.

We've been pissing about for a bit. Could do with a change.

Klopp will be kicking lads up and down the place. Hopefully that's the little bit of a reminder to shape up in time for the season kicking into full swing. It was looking too easy and it's no harm to have the gloss taken off what I presume will still be a comfortable win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Serious take and composure from Pukki. I know he was top scorer in the Championship last year, but he took that in a fashion that would make you think he'll get a decent return this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

razorblunt wrote: »
    Well deserved goal.

TAA looked at him and didn’t even get him offside.

Think Robbo was playing him on but TAA should have closed him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,644 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

razorblunt wrote: »
    Well deserved goal.

TAA looked at him and didn’t even get him offside.

Was Robbo who played him inside.

Been a little sleepy for the ten minutes before the goal. A lot of the defensive issues are coming from Mane not playing, him filling the gaps and pressing is badly missed, Divok hasn't that in his locker.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

Wish Martin Tyler would just retire. The amount of ****e he talks during matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Throw on Ox and Shaq for the last 20.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Bizarre how no outfield subs on yet. Shaq should’ve been on 10 mins ago, same with Ox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Been impressed by Aarons, his closing down and reading of the game. One to keep an eye on seeing as he's only 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Strange sub, give Salah and Firmino some rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,037 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Weird one to take Origi off... he's had a full season, give him the full 90 and give Mo or Bob a break surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,295 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Strange sub, give Salah and Firmino some rest.

Giving them a good run out from missing pre season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I thought players had to exit the pitch at the nearest sideline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I thought players had to exit the pitch at the nearest sideline?

That was for an injury wasn't it?

Giving them a good run out from missing pre season

Not usually how player returns go though... thinking of it like their pre-season fitness build, at this stage they'd only be playing 60 or 70 mins max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,644 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

BTW, what's the story with the fvcking white socks?

Liverpool RED!

Mane's socks are very distracting.

I missed it beforehand, did the players touch the sign before the game?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Absolutely woeful at the back lads. Trent especially very poor

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

TAA has had a shocker defensively.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Klopp is going to ate the team without salt in the dressing room. This second half is very sloppy.

TitianGerm wrote: »
    That was for an injury wasn't it?

Nope subs now should leave at the nearest point

C'mere, what are we at.

awec wrote: »
    They cut the feet off the red ones and wear these fancy white ones instead that supposedly improve your touch or whatever.

Just the latest fad.

Apparently they're trialing new whitey tighties as well next week to help tighten up their concentration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

How is that not a yellow for Hanley?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

At least Klopp is consistent in his bizarre and delayed use of subs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,709 ✭✭✭54and56

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    Just asking why you think Adrian is a genius signing. He hadn't got a club before he came to Liverpool and
    West Ham released him. Don't quite know what to make of it all yet!!
    Not being smart BTW. Genuine question, don't know much about him

Saw a lot of him at West Ham and always thought he was a very competent and confident keeper.

At 32 on a free transfer he's a proven keeper who can (and is on this short appearance) be a very capable understudy to Alisson. Good and all as Mingolet was as a shot stopper he was brutal with the ball at his feet (so important these days) and didn't command and have the confidence of his back 4.

I’d be raging if I was shaq

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Knex. wrote: »
    Apparently they're trialing new whitey tighties as well next week to help tighten up their concentration.

I actually didn’t realise that the white bit is part of the sock itself.

Usually it’s because they wear these other sock things instead. A few of them are wearing them, just not as easy to spot as it’s white on white now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Milner looks fitter than ever

Sad not see Ox or Keita tbh.

Our fullbacks looked a bit jaded this half to me. Wonder will both start on Wednesday or rest one to favour the Southampton game.

The bench looks a lot stronger this season if players stay fit.

awec wrote: »
    I actually didn’t realise that the white bit is part of the sock itself.

Usually it’s because they wear these other sock things instead. A few of them are wearing them, just not as easy to spot as it’s white on white now.

Seems a bit mad to me. Wonder how they work, considering they're under the main thing that helps with your touch, that being the boot.

Bit like a goalie wearing gloves under his gloves.

I feel there’s something complacent about TAA, his corners have been poor too.

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Seems a bit mad to me. Wonder how they work, considering they're under the main thing that helps with your touch, that being the boot.

I think they’re grippy to stop your sock moving in your boot or something.

I thought it was more a case the football sock caused blisters so they cut through them and wear sports socks underneath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Good win for the first game.

Poor from Adrian there, relatively standard save parried right back into the middle of the box

Salah losing possession to often for my liking, making that turn inside is so predictable.

Might just be something simple, where maybe the material fills the extra space between foot and boot so there's a really tight fit and you feel everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,488 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Weird game.

But very much like last season, not playing well but winning with ease.

A very "first game of the season" game.

On to win a European Trophy next now please.

Say the keeper injury was the end of shaq getting on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Wasteful up front , shaky at back, fair play to them for not giving up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Jaysus they picked the 2 worst performers of the night to interview

He's probably behind everyone in terms of preseason prep though, since he's not just coming back from time off, he was actually injured. So i'd say they'll take it slow enough with him if he's not actively needed. Will probably get some minutes in our next glorified friendly during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭giveitholly

How many times did Tyler mention in the last 5 minutes that Norwich won the second half

The Turnip farmers can be quite happy with much of that game, for Liverpool it's a three goal margin win against a well motivated side in the first game of the season. They'll get better.

Call it now.

Screenshot-2019-08-09-at-21-59-46.png

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Carragher sticking the boot into Alisson early.

Well done Divock.

You're sticking the boot in Carra early.

Bit precious of you, he just made a correct statement that Alisson had a few dodgy passes last season.