Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019/2020

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

A friend of mine has signed up and said the content is excellent, there just isn't that much of it. Not sure if that will change over time.

I already subscribe to half a dozen other outlets so I won't be adding another one unless I drop something else but its an interesting model, I think.

Like Murpho said, journalism can't survive for free and this is an interesting way of trying to compete and thrive. If my choice is €3.99 per month for specialist content or free ****e like most of what is out there, I'd rather pay the extra, at least for a time to see if it is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

jasonb wrote: »
    Anyone here signed up to The Athletic? Have seen a lot of buzz about it and am tempted, but am wondering if anyone using it could tell me what they think.

Thanks...

The quality of the content is pretty good, I'm always finding something worth reading on it. I'm hesitant to sign up for the year though as I'd expect it could become another thing I'm subbed to that I never use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

A friend of mine has signed up and said the content is excellent, there just isn't that much of it. Not sure if that will change over time.

I already subscribe to half a dozen other outlets so I won't be adding another one unless I drop something else but its an interesting model, I think.

Like Murpho said, journalism can't survive for free and this is an interesting way of trying to compete and thrive. If my choice is €3.99 per month for specialist content or free ****e like most of what is out there, I'd rather pay the extra, at least for a time to see if it is worth it.

Clutter and ad free as well.

I can't stand sites like the Echo and mirror with ads and irrelevant videos playing automatically after taking an eternity to load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

Anyone here signed up to The Athletic? Have seen a lot of buzz about it and am tempted, but am wondering if anyone using it could tell me what they think.

Thanks...
    The content is very insightful, it's quality not quantity which I don't have a problem with.

I signed up to read James Pearce's pieces and for me his work makes it worth it alone. A few days ago he did an article on the work done by the staff behind the team in order to prepare for Southampton and ensure fatigue wasn't going to be a deciding factor in the game. There are a few details in the article that demonstrate why Klopp is a master at getting every little detail right in order to give the guys that go out on to the pitch every chance to succeed.

Pearce adds a piece every second day or so, sometimes two drop on successive days but it could be 3/4 days before he has another article.

His latest piece was on Coutinho and how it was a pragmatic decision not to bring him back to the club. In Klopp's view, Coutinho wasn't going to displace anyone in the front three and he felt that Oxlade-Chamberlain and Keita offer more dynamic options from the midfield. Klopp and Edwards felt that Liverpool would spend the season rebuilding Coutinho's confidence and that it wouldn't justify the £21M in wages and loan fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

On The Athletic signed up to it with the 50% off for the year sub and I have to say it's well worth it for that price.

If you like US sports with that coverage as well then it makes it great value to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Thanks...

Yep i signed up a few weeks ago. There is a promo until the end of August for €2.50 a month so pretty good value.

I think the content is very good to be honest. At the very least on a par with some of the better papers and getting better. From a Liverpool point of view they obviously have James Pearce who is well connected and doing good articles every couple of days. He also does Q&As around every game as far as i can see and a podcast will be added as far as I know.

Simon Hughes is also on board now. He was with The Independent and Anfield Wrap previously and has written books on Liverpool most recently this one https://www.amazon.co.uk/Allez-Inside-Resurgence-Liverpool-Champions/dp/1787632709
    Simon has some good articles on there already.

Add to that some other really good writers like Rafael Honigstein who does the odd piece on Klopp etc.

Thats just the Liverpool angle but dont forget you have access to the whole thing with lots of football articles from around the world but obviously a tonne of US sports on there if you want.

No ads, good app with the football side of things being built on all the time (its literally just started a few weeks ago). Most sports writing is utter gibberish so if you want something with a little more thought and substance its well worth it IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

gafferino wrote: »
    Yep i signed up a few weeks ago. There is a promo until the end of August for €2.50 a month so pretty good value.

I think the content is very good to be honest. At the very least on a par with some of the better papers and getting better. From a Liverpool point of view they obviously have James Pearce who is well connected and doing good articles every couple of days. He also does Q&As around every game as far as i can see and a podcast will be added as far as I know.

Simon Hughes is also on board now. He was with The Independent and Anfield Wrap previously and has written books on Liverpool most recently this one https://www.amazon.co.uk/Allez-Inside-Resurgence-Liverpool-Champions/dp/1787632709
    Simon has some good articles on there already.

Add to that some other really good writers like Rafael Honigstein who does the odd piece on Klopp etc.

Thats just the Liverpool angle but dont forget you have access to the whole thing with lots of football articles from around the world but obviously a tonne of US sports on there if you want.

No ads, good app with the football side of things being built on all the time (its literally just started a few weeks ago). Most sports writing is utter gibberish so if you want something with a little more thought and substance its well worth it IMHO.

Thanks for that post .

I was contemplating signing up for a while, Just did it now.
    Its great value for the yearly offer. I dont mind paying for proper content and have a subscription to the times uk as well.

I'm sure the football will get more comprehensive but you can see so far the steller line of of journos joining up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I see Gary Neville is trying to remain relevant. It's one thing to think Salah may leave, it's another to express it like this. He should go back to football management, he was better at that.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-7376607/Mohamed-Salah-dismisses-claims-Gary-Neville-leave-Liverpool.html

That was taken from a Sky roadshow in front of a live audience it's part the banter that Sky want to promote between Neville and Carragher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭jasonb

Thanks for all the responses re The Athletic. Reckon I'll give it a go, apart from LFC I also follow NFL and MLB so I should find a good bit of content. With the special offer it's £30 a year after the first free month, so I can try it for the month and then see what I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SM01

Gary Neville seems to be descending into more tabloid-lite sound-bites and his views are becoming increasingly insignificant /Merson-esque. He's still worth listening to but i think he's on the wane. It's a shame because for a long while he was well worth listening to (United affiliations aside).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

https://twitter.com/elchaupo/status/1162852346625482752

Surprised no one had snapped up Jose, He'd shine in Italy, they love the chess football he's famous for. He'd forever win Serie A with a decent side.
    Maybe he'll be next in after Klopp. Klopp joked yesterday he'll retire in 2022.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

toxic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭The Good Ole Boys

The Athletic is the best. If you want to be informed about sport, it's your only option. If fact, I think it should be a prerequisite for posting on this forum.

Surprised no one had snapped up Jose, He'd shine in Italy, they love the chess football he's famous for. He'd forever win Serie A with a decent side.

Germans really have a terrible sense of humour.

If Jose was a possibility I'd probably overcome my fear of flying, learn to fly and fly banners back and forth over Anfield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

People shouldn't take snippets like that from Neville seriously - it's designed to provoke a reaction. It was in a live studio setting too so it's just part of the banter that Sky are building between him and Carragher.

I won't go as far as to say that Neville is losing his touch or anything like that but the fact that a lot of people take everything he says as gospel is just an indictment of the poor standard of punditry on TV. He's good, he has good points, but he also has bad ones. For every good piece of analysis of Mignolet (or was it Karius?) and the jumping style, he comes up with silly nonsense too - like the Mané red card against City. He claimed "no red card, ref ruined the game" and stuck to it no matter how many replays of Mané kicking Ederson in the head he saw.

He's not the worst pundit on Sky by a long shot but it's worth taking what he says with a pinch of salt, just like with every other pundit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Signed up for the Athletic myself - €33.50 for a year is a decent deal - but it's worth bearing in mind that it's all long-read, feature type stuff. You're not getting match reports or the general day to day sports news here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

gafferino wrote: »
    I forgot about Honigstein - the book excerpt about Klopp showing the players his CR7 boxers before the final in Kiev cracked me up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

I’d say he’s had plenty of offers but still thinks he deserves/should get a role at a powerhouse club. I’d say he’s had offers from the like of Roma, Lazio even Milan but I’d say Juve would be the only job he’d take in Italy. I don’t know where is left for him to go tbh. PSG or maybe Bayern if this season is a disaster. He’s done in the PL I think, nobody big enough would touch him.

I wouldn’t be surprised if he rocked up at Wolves in the near future actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,417 ✭✭✭.G.

He'll be at PSG soon enough surrounded by limitless cash just how he likes it. I never ever want to see him in charge at Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

He needs a short term gig where he can be guaranteed to get a few trophies and walk away after the second season before the trademark Mourinho 3rd season that some united fans still claim to be a myth kicks in.

PSG, Bayern and Juve would fit the bill although I think Bayern wouldn’t want the stain on their reputation and they’d probably win just as much without him. Could see another Chelsea homecoming where their fans are convinced he’s back for the long haul and this time will be totally different only for the exact same thing to happen again.

Most likely step will be international management where he won’t cause trouble with the squad as quickly and Mourinhoball will be more acceptable as long as he delivers results. Whatever it is he won’t be near Liverpool although that was obvious before the suggestion was made.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭koppy

Be interesting to see how hed get on in a international job. Not been able to buy who he wants etc.
    Like him myself but hopefully never see him as liverpool boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

koppy wrote: »
    Be interesting to see how hed get on in a international job. Not been able to buy who he wants etc.

He'd be perfect for international football I think, very pragmatic stuff. Think it'll be a while before he takes a job like that though, it's not involved enough for him at this stage yet, think he'll be wanting the day-to-day type of job for another while.

I like the impression of him a lot of the time, particularly while he's out of work... in a way he reminds me of Barton, can have moments where you seem to get access to the vulnerabilities and see the thoughts and emotions going on inside, and he can be quite charming and thoughtful - but the instant he's backed into a corner, or feels threatened, or emotions are high, the feral destructive nature kicks in. He's done too many despicable things when he's in that mode for me to ever be able to warm to him I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭mosstin

koppy wrote: »

Really? I find this remarkable. Odious man - bully, little regard for his players, once successful but collateral damage of that success often toxic. I cannot stand him, and this recent attempt to soften his edges is pathetic.

He time is over but is a great man who achieved great things. You say bully, but I say driven and passionate human, who wanted the best out of his players by any means necessary. many of he old player say he is wonderful man. Materazzi was in tears at his departure. Says a lot in my mind.

source.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Starfleet Student

Creepy gif.

He time is over but is a great man who achieved great things. You say bully, but I say driven and passionate human, who wanted the best out of his players by any means necessary. many of he old player say he is wonderful man. Materazzi was in tears at his departure. Says a lot in my mind.

His ex-physio suggests otherwise. Hideous bully. There is no argument to say that he wasn't. Funny you should mention Materazzi - birds of a feather.

mosstin wrote: »
    His ex-physio suggests otherwise. Hideous bully. There is no argument to say that he wasn't. Funny you should mention Materazzi - birds of a feather.

Cannot prove a negative.

Many players thought he was a good man. John Terry would not be the player he became without the guiding touch of Jose.

Cannot prove a negative.

Many players thought he was a good man. John Terry would not be the player he became without the guiding touch of Jose.

You could barely use English coherently a few months back and now you're a philosopher?

A Gif paints a thousand word no need for Grammarly that way.

You could barely use English coherently a few months back and now you're a philosopher?

These things are not mutually exclusive. I still struggle with English, but Grammarly helps me a lot when I am typing on my PC computer.

Jose was a driven man, I do not think he was a bully, maybe he made few mistakes with some people, but I think it is very harsh to judge him on a couple of isolated incidents.

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭internelligent

He/she switches back and forth. Schizophrenia? Split personality? He's gets some t hanks so all's good

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Turtyturd wrote: »
    He needs a short term gig where he can be guaranteed to get a few trophies and walk away after the second season before the trademark Mourinho 3rd season that some united fans still claim to be a myth kicks in.

PSG, Bayern and Juve would fit the bill although I think Bayern wouldn’t want the stain on their reputation and they’d probably win just as much without him. Could see another Chelsea homecoming where their fans are convinced he’s back for the long haul and this time will be totally different only for the exact same thing to happen again.

Most likely step will be international management where he won’t cause trouble with the squad as quickly and Mourinhoball will be more acceptable as long as he delivers results. Whatever it is he won’t be near Liverpool although that was obvious before the suggestion was made.

Nearly every post you make has to be getting a dig in at another club, you managed a 2 for 1 special here with Utd and Chelsea, it's not bad going, other days it's Arsenal or Spurs and seemingly Aston Villa lately.

It's petty, pointless stuff tbh but I dare not say it has no place in this Liverpool thread as I still have not managed to compile a list of stuff appropriate for in here yet as I will no doubt be asked to produce.

dont_believe_you_anchorman.gif

Salah running on water.
    1_Mo-Salah-runs-on-water.jpg

She played him like a fiddle in the end. I'd say the money she got out of Chelsea for that **** show probably even kept Roman up for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,497 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

He/she switches back and forth. Schizophrenia? Split personality? He's gets some t hanks so all's good

The pieces are all right there in your post, I’m just struggling to put it all together. It’s a mystery I do knot know how to solve.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭This is it

I remember a mate being delighted when he was appointed at United, after his spell at Real alone I wouldn't want him near a club I supported.

There's no doubt he was a talented manager, but to use a description from an earlier poster, an odious man, is spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

A few months, try a few days. It's like a switch that goes on and off as the need arises. Only see them when quoted these days though.

As far as Jose goes, the way he fucked over his physio was the absolute last straw for me. And sure, sometimes these things happen in the heat of the moment, but he stuck to his guns after even in the cold light of day and ruined a human beings career (which was already a tough enough position to have been in as a woman in football anyway) for literally no reason. A lot of the nonsense and negativity in his press conferences is just irritating pageantry, but that incident was properly mean. The auld eye gouge wasn't great either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Would ye take him as the Ireland boss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Jaysus ye nearly have me signing up for the athletic myself. I'm a massive NFL fan, so knowing there's a lot of content for that too could sway it.

Have a monthly sub to a smashing magazine that I could swap out at a similar price, so might do that. Although that gives me access to a few ebooks every year that are 20 quid a pop on their own.

ardinn wrote: »
    Would ye take him as the Ireland boss?

In fairness, he'd be a left field choice to replace Joe Schmidt. Good call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ovie Ejaria doing his Marko Grujic tribute against West Brom - scores a cracker to put Reading 0-1 up then concedes the peno to level the game 1-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,881 ✭✭✭✭klose

Ovie Ejaria doing his Marko Grujic tribute against West Brom - scores a cracker to put Reading 0-1 up then concedes the peno to level the game 1-1.

Fairly certain he's a loan with an obligation to buy next summer so has no future anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

klose wrote: »
    Fairly certain he's a loan with an obligation to buy next summer so has no future anyways.

well that's a bit strong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Well thanks for that!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Signed up for the Athletic myself - €33.50 for a year is a decent deal - but it's worth bearing in mind that it's all long-read, feature type stuff. You're not getting match reports or the general day to day sports news here.

Do the Athletic have any football podcast content?

And does anyone have the link where you can sign up for half price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

While I don't agree with a few guys on here on how they think Liverpool should do their business on a few topics but jesus the lads that set up another account to throw in a little 6mm spanner into the thread is just pathetic. Smells of another club wum or a jilted lover.

So obvious and so so sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,881 ✭✭✭✭klose

well that's a bit strong

Haha! No future here I meant to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

When was last time we lost a game in the League at Anfield, must be 2016 season, it's a long time ago. We're due a defeat, that's for sure.