Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

no surprise, the way we play we're not dominating in midfield - tiki taka we use full backs, counter and bring the forwards into it asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Obviously no appreciation for tap ins if Bobby doesn’t make the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

DrumSteve wrote: »
    For the rest of my life, I will never get tired of this match.

Martin Tylers commentary would ruin anything. They should dub the Icelandic fella then it would be my favorite video of all time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Fabinho was right up there with De Jong as one of the best midfielders from the UCL knockout stages onwards, but his adaption period in the first half of the season definitely cost him any chance of making that list.

I'll be shocked if he isn't making these shortlists this time next year though, as long as he stays fit.

Wijnaldum was solid too, but I don't think he deserved to make the cut either over any of those names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Vicxas wrote: »
    Martin Tylers commentary would ruin anything. They should dub the Icelandic fella then it would be my favorite video of all time

This is the commentary you need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

martyos121 wrote: »
    Fabinho was right up there with De Jong as one of the best midfielders from the UCL knockout stages onwards, but his adaption period in the first half of the season definitely cost him any chance of making that list.

I'll be shocked if he isn't making these shortlists this time next year though, as long as he stays fit.

Wijnaldum was solid too, but I don't think he deserved to make the cut either over any of those names.

How did KDB make the list though when he barely played last season..

Going take shot at this
    1. Allison
    2. TAA
    3. de Ligt
    4. VVD
    5. Robertson
    6. De Jong
    7. Eriksen
    8. Messi
    9. Mane
    10. Salah
    11. Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,462 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Henderson lifts the CL Trophy and can't even make the list of 55. That's a kick to his self worth. He's clearly not rated out side of Anfield
    Toxic Pogba makes the list, Mr Half Effort, yet Henderson who gives it all and lifts the CL is snubbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Jaysus not 1 of our midfielders make the cut

I'm not surprised by that tbh, our midfield works well for the way klopp wants to play but none of them bar maybe fab are stand out players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,916 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Matip was better than VVD in the second half of the season and no love for him either.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Jaysus not 1 of our midfielders make the cut

Looking at the list its a bit of a joke position, De Bruyne is fantastic but missed what felt like 90% of the last year. Most of the players, especially ones from Real Madrid were so massively out of form to the point its a bit of a laugh their in it. Might as well throw Xavi & Pirlo in if Vidal & Kroos make it :pac::pac:

Sergio Busquets (ESP) - FC Barcelona
    Casemiro (BRA) - Real Madrid
    Kevin de Bruyne (BEL) - Manchester City
    Frenkie de Jong (NED) - Ajax / FC Barcelona
    Christian Eriksen (DEN) - Tottenham Hotspur
    Eden Hazard (BEL) - Chelsea FC / Real Madrid
    N'Golo Kante (FRA) - Chelsea FC
    Toni Kroos (GER) - Real Madrid
    Arthur Melo (BRA) - FC Barcelona
    Luka Modric (CRO) - Real Madrid
    Paul Pogba (FRA) - Manchester United
    Ivan Rakitic (CRO) - FC Barcelona
    Bernardo Silva (POR) - Manchester City
    Dusan Tadic (SRB) - Ajax
    Arturo Vidal (CHI) - FC Barcelona

I don't think Fabinho deserves to win it but that list is some laugh to look at, like its still 2016 or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

I wouldn't get too hung up on these individual awards, tbh. I mean, last week Eden Hazard won the Europa League Player of the Tournament award. He played one-third of Chelsea's game in the tournament and scored once, whereas Olivier Giroud (for example) scored 11 goals in 14 games in the cup alone.

The awards are typically nonsense - the people voting don't care that much, or they vote for teammates (club and country), etc.

On our midfielders - on a one-to-one basis, even a lot of our own fans don't rate Hendo or Gini (lord knows why - it's clear how good they are!) so is it really a surprise if other people don't either? It's the system that really allows our players to flourish but I do think Henderson, Wijnaldum and Fabinho have all excelled in the last 6-8 months.

Of those on the list, surely Bernardo Silva and Frenkie de Jong should be top of the pile? Or Dusan Tadic? All superb this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Damnation I'm now listing to that 5live commentary all over again!

/shakes fist at 8-10 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Suso looked a prospect at Liverpool, I remember questioning his non involvement at the time https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92328671&postcount=4536

Aspas didn't show anything at Liverpool outside that initial preseason run. He was like a cat caught in headlights at Anfield.

article-0-119D7159000005DC-226_634x340.jpg

The cat made no critical errors, especially not from corners, so he gets into the team ahead of 2014 Aspas for me.

In all seriousness, I'm glad to see him doing so well now. He arrived at Liverpool at the worst possible time with Suarez and Sturridge forming one of the deadliest strike partnerships in the history of the league. If he'd been kept for another season, he'd have played quite a lot with Sturridge plagued by injuries and Mario plagued by being Mario. I wont start on Borini and his world class movement.

Ki jana hoever suprisingly left out of cl squad, Klopp has included 4 keepers including lonnergan

martyos121 wrote: »
    The cat made no critical errors, especially not from corners, so he gets into the team ahead of 2014 Aspas for me.

In all seriousness, I'm glad to see him doing so well now. He arrived at Liverpool at the worst possible time with Suarez and Sturridge forming one of the deadliest strike partnerships in the history of the league. If he'd been kept for another season, he'd have played quite a lot with Sturridge plagued by injuries and Mario plagued by being Mario. I wont start on Borini and his world class movement.

Borinis movement is so world class he's now moved his way from striker to full back for a milan

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭internelligent

Damnation I'm now listing to that 5live commentary all over again!

/shakes fist at 8-10 :D

Me too. Amazing passion in the commentary. Was surprised Shearer had so much energy albeit being an amazing night. Tyler on the other end of the spectrum.

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Ki jana hoever suprisingly left out of cl squad, Klopp has included 4 keepers including lonnergan

Would Hoever be eligible for a spot on List B? I know we named players for List B already but if he meets the criteria below, he can be added at a later point. Would seem unlikely, though, if the likes of Lewis and Larouci have already been added.
    List B submitted to UEFA includes players born on or after January 1, 1998 who have been eligible to play for the Reds for an uninterrupted period of two years since their 15th birthday.

UEFA rules state the club can name an unlimited amount of players available for List B, although those players must be registered before midnight the day before a match.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Matip was better than VVD in the second half of the season and no love for him either.

Matip was good, very good, but no he wasn't better than VVD no matter how many times you want to post it.

Great to see the club is still looking in on Sean and he hasn't been forgotten about.
    After almost 18 months of treatment, Seán will now move to a specialist neurological facility in the north of England for an initial twelve-week rehabilitation programme.

https://twitter.com/LFC/status/1169635862558191616?s=20

Ali is back on two feet working hard.

MedicalEarlyHeifer-size_restricted.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

where's the ball? good news anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Henderson lifts the CL Trophy and can't even make the list of 55.

Clearly covering ground, having lots of energy or running your hand through your fringe every 30 seconds aren't part of the criteria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Starfleet Student

18 months since Sean got attacked wow time really does fly.

Matip was good, very good, but no he wasn't better than VVD no matter how many times you want to post it.

He was every bit as good and better in quite a few games actually

How com shaq isn't playing tonight

He said he wanted to concentrate on his club career. Although, you'd think game time, in his case, would help his club career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

He wasn't interested. Which is something I didn't think was allowed by UEFA.

I would say Matip was constantly the best defender at the club from when he got back into team from about February to the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Tbf if Coulson said our home jersey was red there’d be one or two posts contesting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

ah hear anytime anyone says x was better than VVD you'll get a debate

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Tbf if Coulson said our home jersey was red there’d be one or two posts contesting it.

That poster has some fixation with the two of yous did ye piss in his cornflakes or something it beyond a difference of opinion he literately hates the two of you.

Turtyturd wrote: »

That's funny coming from you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

18 months since Sean got attacked wow time really does fly.

Was great to see him in good form at croke park for the all Ireland on Sunday and it'll be a pity he'll miss the replay due to rehab.

Hopefully he'll get back to somewhat normality soon enough.

That poster has some fixation with the two of yous did ye piss in his cornflakes or something it beyond a difference of opinion he literately hates the two of you.

He prob has good reason

maxresdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

If we paid 50M for Matip I'd say we got a bargain. Was never really his biggest fan but his form has been pretty amazing tbf.

However, I'd start VVD over him every time given the choice, and I know who I'd rather partner Gomez or Lovren. I'm not sure I'd agree Matip has been the better player for half a season but he certainly had better games. VVD overall game is better and I think Matip benefits greatly from that calmness and organisation he brings.

fyfe79 wrote: »
    He wasn't interested. Which is something I didn't think was allowed by UEFA.

I think the confederations only intervene if the nation contests it. Like Matip with Cameroon - they were unhappy so FIFA deliberated on it and he couldn't play in the interim.

If the Swiss are happy with Shaqiri sitting it out, no reason for anyone to get involved.

I must have missed something.

I thought VVD was the best in the world, I thought we were a VVD injury away from being royally fcked.

Apparently not, we have Matip who's the better player!

Cop on ffs! Matip was excellent the 2nd half of last season no one is denying that, he may have had the occasional game better than VVD no one is denying that, was he better than VVD the colossus, the behemoth, the imperious for half a season? he was in his bollox!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭ballyargus

Phil Babb looked great beside McGrath. Phil Babb benefited greatly from the organisation and calmness that McGrath brought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭The Good Ole Boys

I'm just happy Matip stepped up. Hope he can keep it up too. VVD is certainly the leader of the defence though and that counts for a lot.

Whatever you are paying your English teacher it is worth every penny.

I must have missed something.

I thought VVD was the best in the world, I thought we were a VVD injury away from being royally fcked.

Apparently not, we have Matip who's the better player!

Cop on ffs! Matip was excellent the 2nd half of last season no one is denying that, he may have had the occasional game better than VVD no one is denying that, was he better than VVD the colossus, the behemoth, the imerpious for half a season? he was in his bollox!

In fairness I don't think anyone said matip is the better player, just that when he came in he was every bit as good as Virgil which he was and I don't think anyone could argue otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭The Good Ole Boys

rofl lol thread lamooo

In fairness I don't think anyone said matip is the better player, just that when he came in he was every bit as good as Virgil which he was and I don't think anyone could argue otherwise

Coulson stated that Matip was the better player for the 2nd half of the season, I disagree, nobody in the world can claim that. I wouldn't be even bothered to challenge the point tbh only for the fact it's approx the 20th time that exact opinion was trotted out like it was fact.

Harry Wilson player of the month at Bournemouth.

Whatever Villa price Grealish at, Liverpool should look for 25% more for Wilson as he is a more impactful player.

NukaCola wrote: »
    If we paid 50M for Matip I'd say we got a bargain. Was never really his biggest fan but his form has been pretty amazing tbf.

However, I'd start VVD over him every time given the choice, and I know who I'd rather partner Gomez or Lovren. I'm not sure I'd agree Matip has been the better player for half a season but he certainly had better games. VVD overall game is better and I think Matip benefits greatly from that calmness and organisation he brings.

giphy.gif

Coulson stated that Matip was the better player for the 2nd half of the season, I disagree, nobody in the world can claim that. I wouldn't be even bothered to challenge the point tbh only for the fact it's approx the 20th time that exact opinion was trotted out like it was fact.

I didn't cop that tbh, I certainly wouldn't say matip was better in 2nd half of season, like it was written in stone but I would say he was equally as good or just as good, don't think anyone could say for a fact that he was better, but isn't it great that we can have these comparisons between the two all the same

Does the Club World Cup get aired on any station here?

Think some matches were on BT Sport a couple of years ago, not sure if they still have the rights for it though.