Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Famous people you have met/chat with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I find it weird that Irish politicians are being classed as famous. I guess if they are known internationally, they are famous but if someone is a TD, they’re supposed to accessible. I mean, I lived in the Dublin Central constituency during the 2007 general election and Bertie Ahern canvassed our street himself (and was unbelievably patronising until the only guy in the house came out to the door).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Dr Moosajee Bhamjee at the cinema years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,861 ✭✭✭RayCon

Met Layne Staley (Singer - Alice In Chains) in the Pink Elephant the night they supported Megadeth in the old Point Depot.
    He handed me 57p (old money ... a 50p, a 2p and a 5p) and asked me could I get him "some blow". Poor ****er.

Met all of Opeth after their Belfast gig in 2017 .. hung out with them having a few pints. Sound lads.

That and the whole Indian back story was a massive part of why he got in and this was the belief amongst FG members as they knew he'd be massively popular with the younger voters
    The whole LGBT was sweeping the nation by storm
    Would you give-over with the fixation with his orientation and ethnicity. If anything, it's nonsense like that which actually causes people to have some sympathy for Varadkar. There is a certain profile of citizens who really need to build a bridge on this issue and swiftly get over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

RayCon wrote: »
    Met Layne Staley (Singer - Alice In Chains) in the Pink Elephant the night they supported Megadeth in the old Point Depot.
    He handed me 57p (old money ... a 50p, a 2p and a 5p) and asked me could I get him "some blow". Poor ****er.

What was he like? And more importantly, did you comply with his request? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Would you give-over with the fixation with his orientation and ethnicity. If anything, it's nonsense like that which actually causes people to have some sympathy for Varadkar. There is a certain profile of citizens who really need to build a bridge on this issue and swiftly get over it.

This was told to me by several FG members, i didn't make the statement up. He was seen by the party moreso than Coveney as a more popular choice

• Registered Users Posts: 6,671 ✭✭✭Feisar

Had a few drinks with Laura Whitmore one night a few years back. She happened to end up sitting at my table in a pub. Seemed really sound.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

My fiancé met Ed o Neil ( aka Al bundy) in LA a decade ago, said he was great craic altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    I was 2 years behind Chris O'Dowd in school in Boyle.

Walked right into Brendan Gleeson going round a corner. Nice fella.

Spoke with Drew McIntyre in Phoenix. I was outrageous drunk and he took the piss out of me. Nice guy though.

Lots of people have met Niall Quinn here. I was in college with his sister a couple years back. Lovely woman

Oddly enough, I have heard he is meant to be a dick now.
    It's said he was sound in his IWW / Early days but not so much anymore. Who knows tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

I live in Bath, UK and I've run into various celebrities now. Nearly killed Kris Marshall there a few months back when he stepped into traffic thinking that there was no filter light. My girlfriend teaches his kids which would have been totes awks the next day. Saw Jontron of youtube fame a few days ago kicking around town, looking happy as Larry. Didn't interrupt him but seems like a nice guy all the same. Fair few guardian journalists seem to be here often enough, but I've somehow managed to keep my mouth shut!

I did't speak to him, but I saw John Bowman in our local library. He was obviously doing research for a book he was writing.

A few years later, I saw his son, the late Johnathon, in Grafton Street one September evening. he was going about his business with a paper in his arm.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

branie2 wrote: »
    I did't speak to him, but I saw John Bowman in our local library. He was obviously doing research for a book he was writing.

A few years later, I saw his son, the late Johnathon, in Grafton Street one September evening. he was going about his business with a paper in his arm.

Having a dump?

That's not what I mean :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

This was told to me by several FG members, i didn't make the statement up. He was seen by the party moreso than Coveney as a more popular choice

Who cares.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

rgmmg wrote: »
    Having a dump?

Not teaching his son manners would be my guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

I once saw Ritchie Kavanagh at the counter in Golden Discs.

I spoke to him on the phone once. He was in character the whole time.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I spoke to him on the phone once. He was in character the whole time.

That's right, that's the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

Met Chris Evans in Davy Byrnes in c. 2000. Was busy with his mates but had time for some chat and he kicked it off by commending us for being on the double vodkas and red bulls at 1900 hrs (not the norm in DBs). Stopped talking to me when I asked him what happened his sidekick (Will MacDonald) from TFI Friday on Channel 4. Think they may have had a falling out, unbeknownst to me at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

Was in a restaurant in Ballsbridge with work colleagues a few years ago and Liam Cunningham was there.

It was early days of Game of Thrones so myself and another girl were trying to explain to the others who he was.

Turns out we weren't exactly subtle because when he was leaving he walked past, winked at us and said "alright girls"!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

My brother doesn't follow soccer at all. He was sat beside Richard Dunne in Dublin airport for an hour discussing the weather, his own job and I dunno the floor covering and paint colours?? Eventually brother asked him what he did "oh I play soccer" brother asked if he's supposed to know him. "Well I captain Ireland" was the response, sound out by all accounts.

I've met lot of sports people.... Cian Healy, DOC, POC, Robbie Keane, Derval O Rourke....Michael O Muirihirtigh.....

Any another of GAA players Oisin McConville, Trevor Giles, Liam McHale, Paul Murphy, Shefflin......

Several TDs The Healy-raes, Mary Mitchell, Enda, Coveney, Nash, Noel Dempsey, John Bruton....

Basically Irish people so not really that famous.

IrishAlice wrote: »
    Was in a restaurant in Ballsbridge with work colleagues a few years ago and Liam Cunningham was there.

It was early days of Game of Thrones so myself and another girl were trying to explain to the others who he was.

Turns out we weren't exactly subtle because when he was leaving he walked past, winked at us and said "alright girls"!

He was probably flattered that people were talking about him

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Which one? They're all pretty obnoxious.

Now there's a clutch of boys who would have benefited from a few summers in the bog.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

It's interesting to see that all the meets being mentioned here are with celebs that exist in the real world - no youtubers, wellness practitioners, love island winners or life influencers

I believe that they are the present day 'famous people' .... it must be an age thing :)

mikemac2 wrote: »
    From reading all the mentions from multiple posters Niall Quinn must be the soundest chap alive

For me Packie Bonner my childhood hero blew me off and wouldn’t even say hello when I greeted him or our Celtic supporters group met him in an airport. Never meet your heroes

Mick McCarthy is a back slapping cheery fellow who would talk to anyone for hours. He often brought his Ipswich team to Dublin for pre season and won’t leave Tolka Park until every child has a photo and every hand was shook.

This is why I’d hate to be famous. If you’re not always “on”, people badmouth you. I can think of many times in my life (stressful times, when feeling ill, after having received bad news etc.) where if I happened to be famous and somebody approached me, I likely wouldn’t have responded well.

And it must be weird for famous people that perfect strangers treat you like they know you. That over familiarity could be irksome.

Incidentally, Bonner gladly posed with a family member of mine recently for a photo.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭beveragelady

I used to live in a city where there was always lots of filming happening so I, and everyone I knew, had frequent encounters with famous people. I had a lovely chat with Joe Morton who payed Miles Dyson in Terminator two. They came frequently to the shop I worked in while they were in town. Somewhere they have a photo of him and his wife and their kids with me in the middle in my work uniform.
    I picked a fight with a very unpleasant chap who turned out to be Sylvester Stallone. He had his back to me, standing in front of a door. He knew I was there but ignored me and wouldn't let me through the door. I shoved the door and he stumbled forward then turned around and shouted at me. I was... tired and emotional... so I stamped my little feet and squeaked back at him, like a Jack Russel facing down a mastiff. I have an awful feeling I stuck my chin out and put my hands on my hips but that might be my mortified imagination rather than memory. This was almost twenty years ago but he looked like the side of a hill after a landslide. And he's not all that big really.
    I met Tim Robbins and Susan Sarandon too, they were with their kids. One of the kids was dressed as Obi Wan Kenobi, I think.
    I didn't actually meet her, but my favourite celebrity story involves Scary Spice. I was leaving work and I saw her coming down the street and taking the stairs up the the bar that was over the shop I worked in. I followed her up because I'm a loser. The thing is, we were all very regular customers at that bar, and the previous night I had been utterly plastered and had got up to some harmless and amusing shenanigans. Scary Spice walked in the door and was quietly seated and given a menu. I arrived in and the bar staff cheered and laughed and gleefully returned an item of clothing that I had forgotten. They made me sit up at the bar and they clustered around me, interrogated me and slagged me off and we had a right laugh at my stupidity. This went on for ages, and all the time Scary Spice sat there wondering when she was going to get served.

padd b1975 wrote: »

Is Jonathan P-B’s son unmannerly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

This is why I’d hate to be famous. If you’re not always “on”, people badmouth you. I can think of many times in my life (stressful times, when feeling ill, after having received bad news etc.) where if I happened to be famous and somebody approached me, I likely wouldn’t have responded well.

And it must be weird for famous people that perfect strangers treat you like they know you. That over familiarity could be irksome.

Incidentally, Bonner gladly posed with a family member of mine recently for a photo.

Saw Robert Plant mentioned earlier as a lovely fellah, there's a guy I know who managed to get himself told to fcuk off by Plant. There was quite a lead up and he'll admit it himself that he was the prick in a situation but there was probably at least one passer by there who tells people about how he saw Robert Plant losing the head at some guy out of nowhere!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Homelander

I've been in the same room as a few famous people, a few times (proper famous, not "that lad that was on Fair City for a few episodes")....but I just left them alone, I know it's part of the price of it but it must get so tiring being approached all the time.

As someone else said, you have an off day, even an off moment, like all people do, and you get judged pretty harshly on it too.

I remember standing beside Aiden Gillen once, and someone said "Loved you in Game of Thrones" and he said "Ah stop, these people were all in Game of Thrones too", even though they were all effectively c-list cast members. He had a fair feed of Guiness too. Seemed a very nice guy though. Always appreciated that he's done so many low-level Irish things out of passion rather than money.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,156 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Met a few heads through the Broadway scene, Gary Sinise, Hugh Jackman, James Gandolfini and Jeff Daniels are (were) all sound, especially Daniels who is a charismatic raconteur to beat anyone!

Daniel Craig is quite a shy and unreadable man and Jude Law is a d**k.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I spent a lot of time with Shane MacGowan in the 90s. Around North Tipp not many people took much notice of him as he was always around and just another one of the lads. He always signed autographs and was happy to pose for photos. More of a pain nowadays as everyone has a phone/camera.

One afternoon we were having a few pints in a pub in Nenagh. Some lad kept asking Shane to sing a song but he didn't want to. After a while it became tiresome and shane asked the guy what he did for a living.

"Oh I'm a carpenter"

Shane, "Well make me a f*cking table then. Make me a table. Make me a table"

He wasn't asked to sing again.