Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gang attack Garda in Drogheda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Wherever he came from.

Ballbriggan?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

"Ireland is truly failing its people and citizens allowing inhumane behaviour within our Gardai and specifically promoting hate, racism, discrimination and this shameful profiling to Africans, blacks and people of African Descents in Ireland without policy or appropriate measures to tackle it. Justice must prevail in this case and the many others silenced or ignored. I called on the minister of Justice and the Garda superintendent to investigate this shameful behaviour of the Gardai and take adequate action against this and prevent further misconduct on honest citizens."

From one of moyos fellow afrikan supporters..
    The irony

If you don't work and pay any tax you don't fund the gardai. Therefore you don't get a say.

Augme wrote: »
    But he came from Ireland.

Hes not Irish lads get a grip.
    He is here by chance.
    Him and his fellow people contribute f**k all to Ireland and never will.
    Even by birth he's not Irish..
    Dosnt matter what colour his skin for anyone thinking of putting me on that bandwagon.

People who wernt born here but work and pay taxes and follow the law of the land can be classed as an Irish citizen.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,514 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Blueshoe wrote: »
    If you don't work and pay any tax you don't fund the gardai. Therefore you don't get a say.

VAT...

Overheal wrote: »
    VAT...

Nope.

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Nope.

Why not?

Why not?

Not if the money used to pay for the goods or services was a handout. The vat is paid for by the working taxpayer who funded the handout.
    The welfare recipient is just giving back a portion of the money they got for free. Not earned.

I would go so far as to say that those who are in long term unemployment should lose their right to vote. No contribution =no say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

He is here by chance.
    Dosnt matter what colour his skin for anyone thinking of putting me on that bandwagon.

People who wernt born here but work and pay taxes and follow the law of the land can be classed as an Irish citizen.

How generous of you. Let me know when your version of the citizenship makes it into the constitution.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,592 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

He is here by chance.

I have 4 adult children, all born in ireland, I'm English. Are my children Irish?

Drop him out over it.

What's that mean?

I have 4 adult children, all born in ireland, I'm English. Are my children Irish?

Whatever you want them to be.
    Your missing my point.
    Drain on society= not Irish

I have 4 children who are not fully Irish by blood..

Yes

Your missing my point.

People on the Dole or in social housing lose their citizenship? I’m confused.

Your missing my point.

You said
    Dosnt matter what colour his skin for anyone 

If he was born in ireland then he is irish. Cate to elaborate on your "Drain on society= not Irish" comment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

People on the Dole or in social housing lose their citizenship? I’m confused.

Maybe if you hit your head against the wall for a solid hour you might have a better chance of understanding that nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Say what?

Why are the Gardai “scum”?

You said

If he was born in ireland then he is irish. Cate to elaborate on your "Drain on society= not Irish" comment?

....only if he was born in Ireland before Jan 1 2005.

splinter65 wrote: »
    ....only if he was born in Ireland before Jan 1 2005.

So a child born in ireland after that date is not irish?

A child born after that date is only Irish subject to certain conditions.
    Here are the conditions when applying for a passport for a child:

Children born on or after 1 January 2005

Where your child was born on or after 1 January 2005 on the island of Ireland, your child's entitlement to a passport is determined by your or the other parent's citizenship, or by your or the other parent's residence history prior to the birth. Therefore, in addition to the child's full birth certificate, other documentation must be supplied with the application as evidence of this citizenship or residency.

Where a parent is an Irish citizen, or is entitled to be, the full birth certificate or passport of that parent must be provided.

Where a parent is a British citizen, that parent's passport is required.

Where a parent is a national of an EU/EEA Member State or Switzerland, the parent must have resided in the island of Ireland for a total of 3 or more years during the 4 years immediately before the birth. That parent's passport, or national identity card, and Declaration Form A (pdf) must be provided. (Declaration Form B is used by a guardian, or someone acting in loco parentis, where the parent is unable to make the declaration.) As proof of that parent's residency the following documents can be supplied:

Tax records, including P60, P45 and P35L certificates
    Records of any social welfare benefits or a statement from the Department of Social Protection confirming that the parent received benefits and giving exact dates
    Other documents to fill any gaps in periods of residency, such as, pay slips, utility bills, an official rent/lease agreement, a rent book or bank statements showing local transactions
    The documents must be originals. Copies are not accepted.

Where a parent is not a national of an EU/EEA Member State or Switzerland, the parent must have been lawfully resident in the island of Ireland for a total of 3 or more years during the 4 years immediately before the birth. (This does not include periods awaiting a decision on refugee status or residency granted specifically for the purpose of study.) The following must be provided:

That parent's passport as well as a detailed note indicating which pages contain immigration stamps covering the reckonable periods of residence. If the passport office is unable to confirm the required three years residence from the passport, the parent will have to get a letter from the Garda National Immigration Bureau (GNIB) to confirm the reckonable periods of residence.
    That parent's registration card issued by the GNIB.
    Where a parent has been granted refugee status prior to the birth, there is no 3-year residency requirement. The following must be provided:

That parent's passport or travel document
    The letter from the Department of Justice and Equality notifying that parent that refugee status had been granted
    That parent's registration card issued by the GNIB (if available)
    Where a parent has permission to reside in Northern Ireland without any time restriction and that parent is not a national of an EU/EEA Member State or Switzerland, a certificate of nationality in respect of the child must first be obtained from the Department of Justice and Equality. The certificate and that parent's passport must be provided.

To obtain a certificate of nationality, that parent must complete Declaration Form C (pdf) which can be obtained from the Department of Justice and Equality. (Declaration Form D is used by a guardian, or somone acting in loco parentis, where the parent is unable to make the declaration.)

Children born abroad

If your child was born abroad and you were born in the island of Ireland, your child's full birth certificate, your full birth certificate and your marriage certificate (if applicable) must be provided.

If neither you or your child's other parent were born in Ireland, then the child's certificate of entry in the Foreign Births Register, which was issued by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and the child's birth certificate must be supplied.

If you are an Irish citizen and your child was born abroad and adopted under Irish law, the certificate of entry in the Irish Adoption Authority's Register of Intercountry Adoptions as well as your passport or birth certificate is required. (If you are living abroad and adopted your child abroad, you should apply for the adoption to be entered in the Register of Intercountry Adoptions.)

Where your child was born on or after 1 January 2005 on the island of Ireland, your child's entitlement to a passport is determined by your or the other parent's citizenship, or by your or the other parent's residence history prior to the birth. Therefore, in addition to the child's full birth certificate, other documentation must be supplied with the application as evidence of this citizenship or residency.

Where a parent is an Irish citizen, or is entitled to be, the full birth certificate or passport of that parent must be provided.

Where a parent is a national of an EU/EEA Member State or Switzerland, the parent must have resided in the island of Ireland for a total of 3 or more years during the 4 years immediately before the birth. That parent's passport, or national identity card, and Declaration Form A (pdf) must be provided. (Declaration Form B is used by a guardian, or someone acting in loco parentis, where the parent is unable to make the declaration.) As proof of that parent's residency the following documents can be supplied:

Records of any social welfare benefits or a statement from the Department of Social Protection confirming that the parent received benefits and giving exact dates
    Other documents to fill any gaps in periods of residency, such as, pay slips, utility bills, an official rent/lease agreement, a rent book or bank statements showing local transactions

Where a parent is not a national of an EU/EEA Member State or Switzerland, the parent must have been lawfully resident in the island of Ireland for a total of 3 or more years during the 4 years immediately before the birth. (This does not include periods awaiting a decision on refugee status or residency granted specifically for the purpose of study.) The following must be provided:

That parent's passport as well as a detailed note indicating which pages contain immigration stamps covering the reckonable periods of residence. If the passport office is unable to confirm the required three years residence from the passport, the parent will have to get a letter from the Garda National Immigration Bureau (GNIB) to confirm the reckonable periods of residence.
    Where a parent has been granted refugee status prior to the birth, there is no 3-year residency requirement. The following must be provided:

The letter from the Department of Justice and Equality notifying that parent that refugee status had been granted
    Where a parent has permission to reside in Northern Ireland without any time restriction and that parent is not a national of an EU/EEA Member State or Switzerland, a certificate of nationality in respect of the child must first be obtained from the Department of Justice and Equality. The certificate and that parent's passport must be provided.

To obtain a certificate of nationality, that parent must complete Declaration Form C (pdf) which can be obtained from the Department of Justice and Equality. (Declaration Form D is used by a guardian, or somone acting in loco parentis, where the parent is unable to make the declaration.)

Children born abroad

If your child was born abroad and you were born in the island of Ireland, your child's full birth certificate, your full birth certificate and your marriage certificate (if applicable) must be provided.

If neither you or your child's other parent were born in Ireland, then the child's certificate of entry in the Foreign Births Register, which was issued by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and the child's birth certificate must be supplied.

If you are an Irish citizen and your child was born abroad and adopted under Irish law, the certificate of entry in the Irish Adoption Authority's Register of Intercountry Adoptions as well as your passport or birth certificate is required. (If you are living abroad and adopted your child abroad, you should apply for the adoption to be entered in the Register of Intercountry Adoptions.)

Checkmate. Well hurled.

The amendment to the constitution was a thing of beauty. Common sense prevailed. Imagine running that vote now!! Shudder

Children born abroad

So if his parents had been in ireland 10 years or one of them is irish then he is irish.

No one knows if any/all of those conditions have been met yet we have a poster stating

He is here by chance.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,635 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

So, so, so.....

I'm not Irish:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Beasty wrote: »
    So, so, so.....

Is there another boards you can use ;)

Beasty wrote: »
    So, so, so.....

Apparently not! Come to the dark side, we have ****e beer, morris dancers and a decent footy team :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Late to the thread but it’s been too long since liberal baton charges were applied.

Noveight wrote: »
    Late to the thread but it’s been too long since liberal baton charges were applied.

I’d have fond fantasies of the likes of the carabinieri arriving to give them the full works complete with tear gas.

You should seek professional help so.

"London 999 feed" on twitter. Have a look. See what's coming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

If he was born in ireland then he is irish.

We had a referendum on this. You are wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Someone was telling me yest there is a well known problem of gangs traveling on the dart line and causing havoc in various towns then moving on

She said that the locals feel the guards are tip toeing around the incidents as the gangs are from a certain background.

If true that is very sad and a recipe for disaster