Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,722 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

AS well as that, in California last summer they shut down large parts of the grid after it was discoverd that sparks from pylons were behind many of the fires - wouldn't be suprised if it was the the case in OZ too!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Birdnuts wrote: »
    AS well as that, in California last summer they shut down large parts of the grid after it was discoverd that sparks from pylons were behind many of the fires - wouldn't be suprised if it was the the case in OZ too!!

An area badly affected by drought due to almond farming too #veganagenda

Better living everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

• Registered Users Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭emaherx

Just came across this, the size of the areas on fire is mind boggling.
    https://twitter.com/SamTalksTesla/status/1213878406598651904?s=19

That's not the area on fire. It's a 3d rendering showing all areas of Australia effected by bush fire over the past month. (Which is still a lot to be fair)
    These are all the areas which have been affected, but not all the areas are still burning.

Credit ~ Anthony Hearsey
    Creative Imaging

Front page edit:

Quoted from Anthony Hearsey:

• Didn’t realise this would go viral ? PLEASE READ BELOW. *

This is a 3D visualisation of the fires in Australia. NOT A PHOTO. Think of this as prettier looking graph.

This is made from data from NASA’s FIRMS (Satellite data regarding fires) between 05/12/19 - 05/01/20. These are all the areas which have been affected by bushfires.

Scale is a little exaggerated due to the render’s glow, but generally true to the info from the NASA website. Also note that NOT all the areas are still burning, and this is a compilation.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Larry Gogan dead this morning. RIP
    There'll be no one left in RTE shortly

• Registered Users Posts: 29,511 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Walking across the yard there and could hear the calf born yesterday sucking its mother from a good distance away. No better sound.

wrangler wrote: »

Was reading some of the answers he got in the just a minute quiz.
    What star do travellers follow?
    Joe Dolan
    Name a bird with a long neck?
    Naomi Campbell

• Registered Users Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ah it's only the ones Joe Duffy visits are in trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Neighbours hay made over christmas in a few days no panic on getting it in around here, usually the remainder of the summer given tippin away bringing it in bit by bit. Wouldnt be unusual for wraps to be left for 2 weeks aswell.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Ah it's only the ones Joe Duffy visits are in trouble.

And father Brian D'Arcy

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Joe Duffy must be getting worried that he's next with the way they are going.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

well the wage bill in rte got lighter over christmas...hmm

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Had a forest walk there over lunchtime. Jez with the drizzle and it being 13c out it was sticky going. Seen a lovely red squirrel 🐿 out on his rounds, always nice to watch them going branch to branch.

My mother got a call today from an 051 number claiming to be from the revenue commissioners. When I ring the number it doesn't ring. Anyone else get this call.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭mayota

whelan2 wrote: »
    My mother got a call today from an 051 number claiming to be from the revenue commissioners. When I ring the number it doesn't ring. Anyone else get this call.

Google the number, it’ll tell you if it’s legit or not.

mayota wrote: »

I did. I tried ringing it too. It doesn't connect, no ringtone or anything

whelan2 wrote: »
    I did. I tried ringing it too. It doesn't connect, no ringtone or anything

Block it and ri g the proper revenue office number

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

mayota wrote: »
    Scam. I got that call before Christmas.
    Foreign sounding lad telling me I had a refund due and what was my sort code and account number?
    Told him to F right off, and blocked the number.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Foreign sounding lad telling me I had a refund due and what was my sort code and account number?

Ye that was it. My mother reckoned it was something to do with my brother downloading a bank app for her on her phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Ah jaysis you're no fun
    Next time
    Tell him you only speak Irish and it's your constitutional right
    Start with Póg mo thóin
    Then inform him in english this time,that under article 6 of the offences against the language act,the caller from revenue is liable for a 6 million euro fine if speaking english to someone whose preference is Irish and that the caller must pay now
    Then ask for his name address and his card details including the 3 digits on the back stating it's best he avoid the daily 600 euros interest

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Anyone watch it, plenty of doom and gloom so true to life

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Mortelaro wrote: »
    Ah jaysis you're no fun
    Next time
    Tell him you only speak Irish and it's your constitutional right
    Start with Póg mo thóin
    Then inform him in english this time,that under article 6 of the offences against the language act,the caller from revenue is liable for a 6 million euro fine if speaking english to someone whose preference is Irish and that the caller must pay now
    Then ask for his name address and his card details including the 3 digits on the back stating it's best he avoid the daily 600 euros interest

That or direct the number to the local revenue office.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Feck it, forgot it was on. Watched Godfather of Harlem, looks good.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Feck it, forgot it was on. Watched Godfather of Harlem, looks good.

Try +1, SKY 244 - on now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Electrician came, restored power to sockets and gave me an sds drill to finish the walls. :)

Kitchen finished. Thanks betajaysus!

jasus ya must be hungry

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

ganmo wrote: »
    jasus ya must be hungry

Ah feck it I’m always hungry!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Watched it. Thought it was ok. Not much livestock. Must call over to shropshire to see that lads knapsack spraying ticket. No mask, no gloves, no waterproof pants, sunglasses not safety goggles.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ah feck it I’m always hungry!

The Irish version of the Incredible Hulk.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Prime time investigates on the ESB would leave you thinking wtf, shutting down power stations for burning peat like their saviors of the planet, all the while oil is leaking all over Dublin from underground cables and they couldn't give a fiddlers