Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,514 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

So did ye vote? Brought eldest lad for his first vote was busy enough

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Voted about 11am, never saw it busier.
    However, as the chapel is next door , some seemed to be hitting the ballot box and 11 o'clock mass.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,773 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I timed going voting just before the rugby match started. It was still busy. I always vote. We owe it to our forefathers, who fought for it.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

I timed going voting just before the rugby match started. It was still busy. I always vote. We owe it to our forefathers, who fought for it.

Growing up i didn't have any interest in politics but my father always stressed how important it is to vote because so many people in world cant vote.

No point giving out about them if you don't get off your hole and vote

Can candidates tweet today? I just saw 2 canvassing type tweets from our local FF candidates. Surely that's not allowed.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Can candidates tweet today? I just saw 2 canvassing type tweets from our local FF candidates. Surely that's not allowed.

On terrestrial media (radio and tv) it's not allowed since sometime yesterday.
    On social media it's still anything goes.

Even years ago there was a rule that posters couldn't be put up within a certain distance of the polling station. It seems anything goes in that regard now too going by this year around here anyway.

I wouldn't put no meas on what's being posted on social media. There's an online world and different world called the real world and the elections in Britain showed how different they still are.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Even years ago there was a rule that posters couldn't be put up within a certain distance of the polling station. It seems anything goes in that regard now too going by this year around here anyway.

I wouldn't put no meas on what's being posted on social media. There's an online world and different world called the real world and the elections in Britain showed how different they still are.

Some posters were beside the school and church where the polling station is, and they were removed today.

Re. the online/twitter/social media thing, it really is an echo chamber.
    If you are into it, you are less likely to follow those you disagree with, so all you see are congratulatory items about candidates/topics you already agree with.

Was someone on another forum today saying someone called to her door and her son answered it. He told her he had voted already and she asked him who they voted for. Do people canvas on election day?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was someone on another forum today saying someone called to her door and her son answered it. He told her he had voted already and she asked him who they voted for. Do people canvas on election day?

No but they can provide transport to the polling station.
    Asking if they voted was fine.
    Asking who they voted for was a bit cheeky.

It'd be worse for the householder if they actually told them how they voted. None of your business..

My timeline on Twitter is full of canvassing still atm from a certain zero choice party.

Dublin being bet, jaysus there could be a divorce on the cards here. All teams lose sometime dearest. .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Is this their 2nd or 3rd team? won't matter a bit come high summer

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Some posters were beside the school and church where the polling station is, and they were removed today.

Re. the online/twitter/social media thing, it really is an echo chamber.
    If you are into it, you are less likely to follow those you disagree with, so all you see are congratulatory items about candidates/topics you already agree with.

Its gas I've seen plenty of candidate ads online...none of them I could vote for.
    In fact the only posters for people I could vote for was on the drive to the polling station, the Joy's of living at the corner of a constituency

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

Dublin being bet, jaysus there could be a divorce on the cards here. All teams lose sometime dearest. .

Not over yet!

Do people canvas on election day?

They do. Candidate I voted for finished day 2 of a constituency tour today.

Ard_MC wrote: »
    Not over yet!

Feck

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

That was some finish

ganmo wrote: »
    That was some finish

Best game ever apparently now....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

3 Way tie in the RTE election exit poll, wonder how accurate that'll be

wrangler wrote: »

That's not good. All sorts of permutations could form a government.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

wrangler wrote: »
    It'll be interesting to see how the next govt is formed .
    FG did'nt get thrashed too badly after all the talk before the election

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

The champagne socialist now lecturing us on how to live, on tommy tiernan now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I voted around 08:30 before breakfast. I brought my 5yo as she was wrecking my head with questions. Only 1 question since. Spent half the morning explaining proportional representation.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Bullocks wrote: »
    It'll be interesting to see how the next govt is formed .
    FG did'nt get thrashed too badly after all the talk before the election

depends on the transfers now

If the exit poles are to be believed.
    It's a fg ff gr coalition.

Hope to God though that there's independents or anyone else brought in except the greens.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Voted a week ago. Stats say only a out a 20% turnout in places. That's mad

Depending on seat numbers we'll have a FF/FG FG/FF confidence and supply, possibly with some minor actors inside, or supplying also.

Or someone brave or foolish enough jumps into bed with SF.

The dilemma for the declining FF & FG is that excluding SF from government allows them to continue building and hurling from the ditch. It's the ultimate risk for one or other of them to put it up to SF and invite them to assist in the formation of a government.

Some very interesting days ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

One scuttery, miserable night out:(

It was constant thunder and lightening through the night here. Fields flooded everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

It was constant thunder and lightening through the night here. Fields flooded everywhere.

We had no lightening but constant rain getting heavy occasionally. No damage to our house or the yard but a window blown in in the old house:(