Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Looking set for two here as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Topped the poll in ours with about 5000 surplus

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Whatever about the elections and who's guarrenteed a seat.
    One thing that was guaranteed was there was a sleepless night last night by farm and business owners and anyone working for or depending on the multinationals for business. Uncertain times ahead.
    Say what you like but it's been a boom time for farm spending with tams, beep, etc, etc. My guess is we won't see the like of that spending for quite some time.

Youngest fractured her elbow falling of horse on Friday, got up and finished last half hour of her lesson with it.

4-6 weeks out of action now, bitterly disappointed, missed two swim competitions over the weekend and another four over next couple weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Whatever about the elections and who's guarrenteed a seat.
    One thing that was guaranteed was there was a sleepless night last night by farm and business owners and anyone working for or depending on the multinationals for business. Uncertain times ahead.
    Say what you like but it's been a boom time for farm spending with tams, beep, etc, etc. My guess is we won't see the like of that spending for quite some time.

A lot of the new groups were anti the government too, you have to be careful what you wish for sometimes too.
    Asset rich farmers won't get a lot of sympathy from now on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

My brother won the local club lotto 9 grand. One of the boys said to him spend it fast before SF take it off him :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

wrangler wrote: »
    A lot of the new groups were anti the government too, you have to be careful what you wish for sometimes too.
    Asset rich farmers won't get a lot of sympathy from now on

I hope the civil servants have been watching Yes Minister :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,888 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Topped the poll in ours with about 5000 surplus

Much the same story in our area, Martin Kenny romped home and I do think they'd have gotten a second seat if there was another candidate. Kenny was supposed to have lost a fair bit of support over the refugee controversy around Ballinamore so he probably could have done even better under different circumstances. I was talking to a neighbor last night who reckoned it's the first time in his memory (50 odd year's) that we'll be without a FG seat as neither Walsh or Feighan seem to be in with a shout.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭enricoh

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    My brother won the local club lotto 9 grand. One of the boys said to him spend it fast before SF take it off him :)

Tax the rich!

enricoh wrote: »
    Tax the rich!

Which quickly turns into - tax the richer than me

• Registered Users Posts: 5,549 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Sinn Fein won in Westmeath too. Same woman couldn't get onto the local council a couple of years ago. And I hear today she's a Dub but running in this constituency (I don't know if that's true but it's the word in the local shop)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Sinn Fein won in Westmeath too. Same woman couldn't get onto the local council a couple of years ago. And I hear today she's a Dub but running in this constituency (I don't know if that's true but it's the word in the local shop)

Did ya hear the craic in kilbeggan with her

• Registered Users Posts: 29,514 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

No ff td in my constituency for the first time ever

• Registered Users Posts: 5,549 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Reggie. wrote: »
    Did ya hear the craic in kilbeggan with her

No. Tell me more

Via pm

• Registered Users Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I have the calves in a shed here with a clay /shale floor. There's straw stored in it before the calves are born. That straw is used Nov Dec. Calves born Jan.
    Anyway I see a calf this evening boring down through the straw bed to lick eat the soil underneath the bed.

I have a cow that does similar when she gets out in the yard and goes to a clay ditch underneath trees and licks eats the clay.
    I'm not complaining or anything but just showing how stock know what minerals and microbes are beneficial for themselves.

I reckon ye''ll all be ripping out those concrete floors and going back to clay floors to benefit stock health. Say nothing to the dept or bord bia though. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Reggie. wrote: »
    Via pm

Spoilsport!!

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Spoilsport!!

Sure that's my MO

• Registered Users Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

I have the calves in a shed here with a clay /shale floor. There's straw stored in it before the calves are born. That straw is used Nov Dec. Calves born Jan.
    Anyway I see a calf this evening boring down through the straw bed to lick eat the soil underneath the bed.

I have a cow that does similar when she gets out in the yard and goes to a clay ditch underneath trees and licks eats the clay.
    I'm not complaining or anything but just showing how stock know what minerals and microbes are beneficial for themselves.

I reckon ye''ll all be ripping out those concrete floors and going back to clay floors to benefit stock health. Say nothing to the dept or bord bia though. :D

The new meta for slurry tank/aircraft hanger-cow shed digging, house the stock on it after building roof first. Dig out a few inches anually and mix with biochar/compost tea and dung to spread on poorer parts of the farm.
    Eventually have an 8ft tank for the next person to use when the wheel will have gone full circle in a few decades.
    Fook me i'm good, do ya think i could get a Teagasc job!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

Ok I did think about voting for sf/ira but no at the end of the day. But to the younger voters I admire those who did vote for them.
    For the single fact that you are not old enough to remember the northern bank or Paul Quinn murder.
    Enjoy the whirlwind

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭Suckler

I says wrote: »
    Ok I did think about voting for sf/ira but no at the end of the day. But to the younger voters I admire those who did vote for them.
    For the single fact that you are not old enough to remember the northern bank or Paul Quinn murder.
    Enjoy the whirlwind

Or Jerry McCabe and how Ferris + Ferris junior + Adams etc. spoke about his killers in the years after. Even tried to have the killers released early. A man went to work that day and they were going to make sure he was never going to see his wife and children again. His partner was blessed to escape the same from what I remember.

Paul Quinn was no altar boy but the way SF cohorts dealt with him was pure savagery and SF knee deep in it.

The murder of Robert McCartney the same, SF knee deep in it and made it a text book political football because of their members involvement and the need to cover it up.

Then yesterday the clown below in Waterford singing "up the ra".. beggars belief.

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭gk5000

Yes on the last 2 posts.
    But remember who's failures allowed this to happen, and are fully responsible - FFG.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Would have been leaning towards SF myself if i was at home just because there having the balls to stand up to institutions the other parties are afraid of eg insurance companies. Im far from a socialist and dont believe in it one bit but it will definitly be interesting to see how the next few years go. Who knows maybe a land tax could be a great incentive to free up more land on leases for young farmers, there might be more progress made with the beef task force too.
    Unfortunatly it looks like the man on the dole is just going to stay on his hole powered by the dole and be better off financially while the workers in the country get screwed even more with increases in taxes.

Better living everyone

It will be an interesting time now to see what government is formed.

FFG and some independents is possible, but they will need to look at what the public votes for, housing, healthcare and some measure of climate but not excessive change. If that government is formed they will
    Essentially be implementing the left addenda anyway because anything else will see a slaughter at the next polls with more SF candidates on the ticket.

SF May cobble together some massive left group but honestly they are such an entrenched group I couldn’t see it lasting any time to agree on much. SF would be happy to collapse it quickly run more candidates in the hopes of more control.

FF/SF plus small number of independents, I don’t think FF would take the massive influence SF would have on the partnership, they would want all their manifesto implemented, again SF would likely collapse the government quickly to get another shot at the ballot papers with more candidates.

There seems an appetite within the traditional parties now to stick SF into power and let them see how hard it really is, problem with that is how much damage will they have done to taxation and gdp by the time they leave government.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Well that was one cluster **** of a election. I'd say if I put our dogs photo up on a SF poster we'd have our first canine rep in the dail. Irish people sniggering and laughing at trump, Borris and Co. for the last few years. Well stand up ireland and look in the mirror and watch as a leftie shower of gob****es drive us back into a recession. Well done and congratulations. Rural Ireland is goosed if these get into power with a leftie coalition. Let the last one out turn off the lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

Well that was one cluster **** of a election. I'd say if I put our dogs photo up on a SF poster we'd have our first canine rep in the dail. Irish people sniggering and laughing at trump, Borris and Co. for the last few years. Well stand up ireland and look in the mirror and watch as a leftie shower of gob****es drive us back into a recession. Well done and congratulations. Rural Ireland is goosed if these get into power with a leftie coalition. Let the last one out turn off the lights.

Look the sky won’t fall and the civil servants who really run the country won’t be jumping over ropes for Mary Lou. I’ve got over the anger today!

Ya dont think ppl have been getting voted in for years because they wore a ff or fg or whoever badge in the past?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

ganmo wrote: »
    Ya dont think ppl have been getting voted in for years because they wore a ff or fg or whoever badge in the past?

Of course I do. I'm not that naive Ganmo. The local count was only 2 miles away so I went in for a look. The poor young lad that was in our area was like a rabbit caught in the headlights and looked more worried about not been able to complete his exams in college than taking his dail seat, which on the first count looked likely. You'd want to see the shower of lachicos that were running his campaign. Something out of pinky blinders would have been similar. I said it last week that Mary Lou and Ryan would have a rumble between the sheets and that is as likely an outcome as any other at this stage. The Peter Casey presidential election protest vote should have been enough to wake Michael and Leo up to the fact that they were both asleep at the wheel. I just thought the people of Ireland were intelligent enough to know that Peter Casey was never going to out run MDH for president and used their vote as a warning shot. Well the shot fired by 24% of the population on Saturday could well be a blast between their own 2 eyes.

See the eircom.net email adresses are going to a payment service soon.. Been using it for near 20 years now. Pain in the hoop changing over all my associated accounts to new email address..

https://www.eir.ie/support/webmail/webmail-frequently-asked-questions/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭straight

I guess with the RA in charge now would be a bad time to incorporate ones farm....