Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,516 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What's the story with taxis at the moment. Surely you don't want yo be hopping into a car with a stranger and not know who was in it before you

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Jb1989

whelan2 wrote: »
    What's the story with taxis at the moment. Surely you don't want yo be hopping into a car with a stranger and not know who was in it before you

Surely they might not. But some people won't have that choice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

We watched it earlier this week, two tough cases there.

Great to see the wee girls delight with her shoes and the farmer on the bike was nearly as happy.

We go to outfarm with our digger 2 or 3 times a week during the winter. Neighbour messaged me today that her 2 lads aged 4 and 2 live for the digger coming over. So excited when they hear it coming over the road. Especially now when they can't go to play school.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,411 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The simple things.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

My good deed for the day. Well Thursday it was.

A few days after Xmas I'd a call from a lad looking for permission to search our land for a drone the young lad lost. I told him to work away.
    Not a thought about it again until I was fencing on Thursday and found it in the field.
    I dropped it back , just left it on the front lawn and kept goin.
    I was told today that the young lad himself spotted it on the lawn and it was like Xmas all over again!
    It turned out that he'd lost it on its maiden voyage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Brilliant program on Maradona on channel 4 at the moment

Some genius

Panch18 wrote: »

Some genius

Young lad wanted to watch it but they gave a warning of nudity etc before it and he said no

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

139148012-corona-virus-ncov-mers-cov-middle-east-respiratory-syndrome-coronavirus-stop-block-anti-stamp-vector.jpg?ver=6

VIRUS FREE ZONE

If not already, we will soon be overwhelmed by Covid-19 related news and comment.

Not to have it all-consuming, the mods are designating this thread as virus-free.

No disease-related news or comment here please, use the other threads.

We will all need a break from it, so here will be a temporary haven.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Panch18 wrote: »

Some genius

Some operator when you consider what defenders could get away with back them and that he was off his head for alot of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Some operator when you consider what defenders could get away with back them and that he was off his head for alot of it

Yeah he was getting hacked down in every game

Like most geniuses he was flawed. The last few lines summed it up - the price to pay was too high

• Registered Users Posts: 6,115 ✭✭✭emaherx

greysides wrote: »

We will all need a break from it, so here will be a temporary haven.[/CENTER]

You'd sort of miss the Brexit talk :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

emaherx wrote: »

Wouldn't ya! So much talk and I still know feck all about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭Grueller

emaherx wrote: »

And climate change. Not a word about it now or vegans. Every cloud and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,565 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Got the bikes dusted off yesterday for their first outing of the year.
    Sausages in the oven to fuel us and a home reared ham cooked for picnic.

Beautiful morning here. Hope it’s nice where everyone is.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

_Brian wrote: »
    Got the bikes dusted off yesterday for their first outing of the year.
    Sausages in the oven to fuel us and a home reared ham cooked for picnic.

Beautiful morning here. Hope it’s nice where everyone is.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there.

Yeah tasty morning here. Started off the stitching season here yesterday with the first bit of reseeding starting tomorrow.

Breakfast ready for me when I came in from milking

Cereal?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,198 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Grueller wrote: »
    And climate change. Not a word about it now or vegans. Every cloud and all that.

all pollution/emission levels have dropped in the last 2 weeks, even though farming is continuing as normal (within reason)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

orm0nd wrote: »
    all pollution/emission levels have dropped in the last 2 weeks, even though farming is continuing as normal (within reason)

That will be noted. Time to wake up the 35 from its winter rest and grease up the vicon. I wont do too much climate damage on that old lady today. ; )

Reggie. wrote: »
    Cereal?

Breakfast rolls. Daughter did a fry.

Sweet

Mad thirst on ya for the rest of the day

Reggie. wrote: »
    Sweet

Mad thirst on ya for the rest of the day

Ye will have to drink wine later to quench it

• Registered Users Posts: 18,565 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

orm0nd wrote: »

This great.
    No theory, no papers, nothing else needed.

Literally within days of reducing consumption of fossil fuels air and water quality has bounced back while agriculture hasn’t missed a step. No longer do we need to listen to pasty faced keyboard warriors blaming farming while taking multiple unnecessary flights a year.
    Now we have one mantra., farming isn’t the problem, if they want to make a positive environmental impact they need to stop criticising farming and stop their actions that burn fossil fuels. The evidence is clear and factual real world example.

We do need to address runoff from N application and the likes of MCPA. That’s a separate argument though.

Ye will have to drink wine later to quench it

Oh behave

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

greysides wrote: »
    139148012-corona-virus-ncov-mers-cov-middle-east-respiratory-syndrome-coronavirus-stop-block-anti-stamp-vector.jpg?ver=6

VIRUS FREE ZONE

If not already, we will soon be overwhelmed by Covid-19 related news and comment.

Not to have it all-consuming, the mods are designating this thread as virus-free.

We will all need a break from it, so here will be a temporary haven.

Thats a relief, ye were slow enough off the mark though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

_Brian wrote: »
    This great.
    No theory, no papers, nothing else needed.

Literally within days of reducing consumption of fossil fuels air and water quality has bounced back while agriculture hasn’t missed a step. No longer do we need to listen to pasty faced keyboard warriors blaming farming while taking multiple unnecessary flights a year.
    Now we have one mantra., farming isn’t the problem, if they want to make a positive environmental impact they need to stop criticising farming and stop their actions that burn fossil fuels. The evidence is clear and factual real world example.

We do need to address runoff from N application and the likes of MCPA. That’s a separate argument though.

Thats amazing, unbelieveable even, what measures of water quality are you referring to? Surface water run off? Ground water? Sea water?
    The only water quality metric that comes to mind as being effected is rain water in industrial pockets, but that wouldn't have been an agricultural problem in terms first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Bet the eco warriors aren't happy that the sitting duck farmers are shown NOT to be the problem they've spent decades complaining about. Happy Mother's Day! I'm off to collect a pet kid goat and a couple of pet lambs to keep her company. My daughters are so excited, they've even come out of their electronic devises!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Question for all you more tech minded
    We’ve a tab which the kids use which is linked to OH’s account
    If I ring her they cancel the call on that Tab & she can be none the wiser
    Is there ways to remove call, text off a second smart device on the 1 account?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Cars up and down road here, people climbing the mountain