Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

And in other news we haven't got a government yet because.. wait for it.

The Greens have a sizeable number of secondary school students (with no life experience) as members. They have the same vote as the adults in the Green Party. And the GP have a system where the party can't decide on what actions they take without it going to a vote from their members.
    So the 17 year olds want the GP to remain in opposition for now and to be a majority party in the future and the adults want to go into government now.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

The Greens have a sizeable number of secondary school students (with no life experience) as members. They have the same vote as the adults in the Green Party. And the GP have a system where the party can't decide on what actions they take without it going to a vote from their members.
    So the 17 year olds want the GP to remain in opposition for now and to be a majority party in the future and the adults want to go into government now.

A FF, FG and Sf would be fun

• Registered Users Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Cows with guns.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

Cows with guns.

I was thinking more of the Mexican standoff in Reservoir Dogs. 3 guys with 2 guns each, pointed at the other 2.
    Fun times

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Priced it to €.79c/metre before own labour, use of our tractor and use of the post driver from fence post supplier.
    Wants to put in cheap timber stakes, mid steel wire, screw in insulators, leave it unstrained and pull it all up again next year then.
    For a lad who is conscious of what neighbours think he has no problem having fences lying on ditches by the road etc whereas i couldnt give a damn about neighbours talking about the state of the place but id just rather have a good fence to make life handier on myeelf.

I get commentary from the other side usually, ie my age group complaining about the young lads, I tell them to cop on to themselves, did they not get enough of it in the fifty years they were at it.
    Most of the ones I'd be listening to would be formal partnerships with the young lad being over 35.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭Grueller

ganmo wrote: »
    The jobs I think of are never as important as his jobs. Anything I price up can always be got cheaper. When I get a great deal he would prefer to buy off someone else.
    Feckin ould lads

All that and I sell everything too cheap as well. Sometimes I don't know how I haven't had to sell the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Grueller wrote: »
    All that and I sell everything too cheap as well. Sometimes I don't know how I haven't had to sell the place.

Try not let it get you down
    We all get it
    Keep being the bigger person and take it on the chin (well that’s what’s told to me)
    I know it’s extremely difficult at times

• Registered Users Posts: 11,267 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That ain't going to happen in my lifetime.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

What type of finish do you give to concrete in a indoor handling area?
    Only used for dosing & testing of beef cattle.

We reclaimed a two acre field over the past couple of months and were waiting on rain to be forecast before sowing the grasseed. Last week I was about to hook on the sower and my father says I'll sow it. I says fair enough but do you want me to throw in a couple of bags of fertiliser with it. That would be a bit heavy to carry he says. My bemused and puzzled look obviously registered with him and he explained himself.

Despite being 75, needing a new knee and having a severely infected and swollen finger, with bad arthritis in both hands he took three bags of grass seed and a bucket and set off to sow the field broadcasting by hand. Sure what else would I be doing with myself he retorts.

At that I knew there is absolutely no point in the future of trying to stop him doing things that he wants to, his way. I may as well appreciate the hardship he wants to give himself and accept that he'll happily die doing something like that on his land.

He'll reap what he sows I suppose. :D
    Bless him. I hope you followed him into the field so you learned to broadcast seed by hand :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Howdy folks, If a fella wanted to get a few pigs to fatten them and kill them for himself! would a herd number be enough for him? Any help greatly appreciated

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Howdy folks, If a fella wanted to get a few pigs to fatten them and kill them for himself! would a herd number be enough for him? Any help greatly appreciated

No you need a pig number

• Registered Users Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Footage captured by drones yesterday shows the devastating moment a piece of the coastline began to move towards the sea in the northern town of Alta. The land disappears underwater as the current of the sea carries several building back towards the land. There are no reports of any deaths or injuries so far, although a dog appears to have been swept away. Daily Mail.co.uk

https://video.dailymail.co.uk/preview/mol/2020/06/04/3399201251694260243/636x382_MP4_3399201251694260243.mp4

P.S.
    The dog survived by swimming ashore

• Registered Users Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

What type of finish do you give to concrete in a indoor handling area?
    Only used for dosing & testing of beef cattle.

I'd just leave a tamp finish on it. Could use 1 of those rollerbugs if you could lay your hands on one too. I'd be afraid it would wear down too much and get smooth over time though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I'd just leave a tamp finish on it. Could use 1 of those rollerbugs if you could lay your hands on one too. I'd be afraid it would wear down too much and get smooth over time though.

Tamp finish we did for a fella a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

TITANIUM. wrote: »

Backyard pig herd number will cover you up to 5 pigs unless it’s changed recently. The inspection is fairly basic, anyone with basic knowledge of keeping animals would be able to have things right. Guy we had out was dead on.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,518 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nephew badly sprained his ankle coming down the stairs in their house. They brought him to casualty. Whole family has to self isolate for 2 weeks now. Sister is immuno compromised.

_Brian wrote: »
    Backyard pig herd number will cover you up to 5 pigs unless it’s changed recently. The inspection is fairly basic, anyone with basic knowledge of keeping animals would be able to have things right. Guy we had out was dead on.
    I've never heard of a backyard pig herd number, when was that implemented.
    Anyway here is a link to DAFM with information about keeping/rearing pigs and how to apply for a pig herd number - https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/animalhealthwelfare/animalidentificationmovement/nationalpigidentificationandtracingsystem/

I'd say students will do us all a favour if they keep those clowns out of power. I'm no fan of the other parties either tbh but the Greens are in cuckoo land.

495 euro for 1000litres of green diesel

• Registered Users Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭naughto

whelan2 wrote: »
    Nephew badly sprained his ankle coming down the stairs in their house. They brought him to casualty. Whole family has to self isolate for 2 weeks now. Sister is immuno compromised.

How many went to a&e

naughto wrote: »
    How many went to a&e

Just the father and the child

Base price wrote: »
    I've never heard of a backyard pig herd number, when was that implemented.
    Anyway here is a link to DAFM with information about keeping/rearing pigs and how to apply for a pig herd number - https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/animalhealthwelfare/animalidentificationmovement/nationalpigidentificationandtracingsystem/

That was years ago when I applied.

whelan2 wrote: »

Gosh.
    Know know plenty who’ve been in AamsE and no need to isolate afterwards. That would be very unusual.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭Odelay

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=geaKpiMKi_4

Interesting video on how clay pipes were made in Ireland.

Listen to the price for a calf, by Christ you'd be happy with that now.

Is this factory still going? Irish Stoneware & Fireclays Ltd., Carrickmacross, Co. Monaghan.
    Narrated by Diarmaid Ó Muirithe. Filmed in 1983.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Is it a self imposed quarantine?

ganmo wrote: »
    Is it a self imposed quarantine?

I'm not sure. With my sister being immuno compromised maybe it is. Wont be hard for my nephew as he never goes outside :D

Odelay wrote: »

Is this factory still going? Irish Stoneware & Fireclays Ltd., Carrickmacross, Co. Monaghan.
    Narrated by Diarmaid Muirithe. Filmed in 1983.

Sadly no Stomeware is no more.
    It was bought out by a German company and then wound down.

Last time I passed there seemed to be a plastics recycling centre and only one of the old kilns seems to be standing

When I was young I was often in the yard when the kilns were on and full.

We still have a wee stack of the small red land drainage pipes where they were stacked in for safe keeping abkut 40 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Odelay wrote: »

Narrated by Diarmaid Ó Muirithe. Filmed in 1983.

those "Hands" programmes are exceptional. could watch them all day. There's one on hurley making with a young Brian Cody

• Registered Users Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭Grueller

those "Hands" programmes are exceptional. could watch them all day. There's one on hurley making with a young Brian Cody

Have the full box set here. The one on carriage making was unreal.