Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Surely Brian you could of saved yourself all that hassle (not to mention the diesel) and found yourself a horsey box closer to home. he must have being a republican? a unionist wouldn't have such thrash about him.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

ruwithme wrote: »
    Surely Brian you could of saved yourself all that hassle (not to mention the diesel) and found yourself a horsey box closer to home. he must have being a republican? a unionist wouldn't have such thrash about him.

Hard to get anywhere with a few boxes to see.
    As for political/religious stuff, best keep clear of that up north, specially with the blood rising towards the 12th

Up simce 4.
    Neighbors cattle on the lawn woke me. We went out to see about moving them to a field and they went mad, back down the lane to the road. Thankfully road was quiet. Seem to have gone in on another locals land but no gate to the road.
    Wild, wild cattle only looked at every few days over the hedge so used to herding at all.

Lawn is ploughed, 15-20 cattle all 500kg plus make short work of a lawn after such wet day yesterday 😱

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭einn32

Driving in Melbourne to and from work I always pass a lot of cattle and sheep trucks going through the city. It got me wondering why they drive through the city as opposed to staying on the bypass. So I googled it. I found an article about people complaining about the ****e on the roads and one car owner even got the car sprayed in it! There is uproar over these trucks going through the city. The reason they use the city is because they need to bypass an underground tunnel. They found they were decapitating some livestock when they went through the tunnel. The cattle and sheep on the top deck can get their head up through the bars and out in to the open. Next thing they hit the tunnel and it's curtains!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭Grueller

_Brian wrote: »
    Up simce 4.
    Neighbors cattle on the lawn woke me. We went out to see about moving them to a field and they went mad, back down the lane to the road. Thankfully road was quiet. Seem to have gone in on another locals land but no gate to the road.
    Wild, wild cattle only looked at every few days over the hedge so used to herding at all.

Lawn is ploughed, 15-20 cattle all 500kg plus make short work of a lawn after such wet day yesterday 😱

Ah sh1te. Hard to fall out with a neighbour over it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Rang a machinery dealer in north about a horse box .
    He had three come on ahead.

Nearly two hours to get there.

God damn trailers were in bits. One rotten to the ground and two Freisan calves in pure muck in it.
    One with hub missing and broken door
    One broken ramp, wasn’t the size he said it was and four inches of calf scour in it.

Calves were in bits, no feed, no water, just muck. Was so shocked I never even looked to see if they were tagged.

Didn’t even go back to the office, looked at the trailers, got in the car and left.

At least it was a wet day wasted.

Total jokers !!

Try Peter Hosey outside edenderry. All the stuff ive seen him sell has been in good order

Grueller wrote: »
    Ah sh1te. Hard to fall out with a neighbour over it too.

Be no falling out.
    I’ll fill the holes with sand and topsoil, they will level out fine.

His cattle wouldn’t be out much in fairness. Bachelor in his 70’s I’ll not start anything.

Funny, I was going to town last winter mad his horse was on the road on the dark. I herded her into his field bit there was no gate. I called up to his yard. “Did you not see the ****ing twine on the ground to pull across the gap” was what he said. A begrudgingly thanks when I was leaving.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Be no falling out.

His cattle wouldn’t be out much in fairness. Bachelor in his 70’s I’ll not start anything.

Funny, I was going to town last winter mad his horse was on the road on the dark. I herded her into his field bit there was no gate. I called up to his yard. “Did you not see the ****ing twine on the ground to pull across the gap” was what he said. A begrudgingly thanks when I was leaving.

Fair play to you
    Keep counting to 10 & walk

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

My Missus is from down there. I tried to cycle from Belmullet to Blacksod in January and only made it 6k outside the town with the weather. I wouldnt like to see the winds that would meet you on that Island. Theres a reason it was never inhabited

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Be no falling out.

There was a thread on here awhile back. Are you sure you don't need a professional landscaper to do it? Then go down the legal route

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

God damn trailers were in bits. One rotten to the ground and two Freisan calves in pure muck in it.
    One broken ramp, wasn’t the size he said it was and four inches of calf scour in it.

Calves were in bits, no feed, no water, just muck. Was so shocked I never even looked to see if they were tagged.

Didn’t even go back to the office, looked at the trailers, got in the car and left.

Total jokers !!

If ya want a tidy trailer, Hosey Trailers in Naas is the place to go.

**Edenderry....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I just found my fifth 4 leaf clover. Think it means I need to start looking forwards when I'm wandering around :pac:

jimini0 wrote: »
    There was a thread on here awhile back. Are you sure you don't need a professional landscaper to do it? Then go down the legal route

Ha, no thanks.

Thankfully no other damage done.
    He was in sheepishly earlier as he is still missing some.

He had them shut in for a test first thing this morning. Lesson is stop relying on twine to keep gates closed 🙄, but I kept that nugget of wisdom to myself.

Single man in his mid 70’s, about 250acres of land, has planted about 80 within last few years. It’s a difficult time. He’s active enough but has nothing but the farm. So he keeps on farming. Has a sister local but she’s a bit older. Nephew about but never see him at all.
    Sort of guy that gets trampled in a yard on his own or whatever and could be hours or days before someone notices.

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭forgottenhills

Total jokers !!

I'm sorry that you had that experience and total waste of your time.

If you are concerned about the welfare of those calves that you mentioned you can contact the Department of Agriculture in Northern Ireland with details at:

Ballykelly House
    111 Ballykelly Road
    Ballykelly
    Limavady
    BT49 9HP
    Phone: 0300 200 7852

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I'm sorry that you had that experience and total waste of your time.

If you are concerned about the welfare of those calves that you mentioned you can contact the Department of Agriculture in Northern Ireland with details at:

Ballykelly House
    111 Ballykelly Road
    Ballykelly
    Limavady
    BT49 9HP
    Phone: 0300 200 7852

I'd be disappointed that someone would leave those calves there without alerting the authorities.
    Horrendous description anyway

wrangler wrote: »
    I'd be disappointed that someone would leave those calves there without alerting the authorities.
    Horrendous description anyway

Didn’t say I did, didn’t say I didn’t follow it up.

I’d hate you to be disappointed, your continued happiness means soooo much to us all. 😉

Didn’t say I did, didn’t say I didn’t follow it up.

I’d hate you to be disappointed, your continued happiness means soooo much to us all. ��

We'd be thoughtless b......s if we didn't ensure that it wasn't ignored. Plenty out there couldn't be ar..d

I was going to comment yesterday, but I knew what your reaction would be.........

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Ha, no thanks.

Thankfully no other damage done.
    He was in sheepishly earlier as he is still missing some.

He had them shut in for a test first thing this morning. Lesson is stop relying on twine to keep gates closed 🙄, but I kept that nugget of wisdom to myself.

Single man in his mid 70’s, about 250acres of land, has planted about 80 within last few years. It’s a difficult time. He’s active enough but has nothing but the farm. So he keeps on farming. Has a sister local but she’s a bit older. Nephew about but never see him at all.
    Sort of guy that gets trampled in a yard on his own or whatever and could be hours or days before someone notices.

Keep being nice he might remember you next time he's in with his solicitor...

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Keep being nice he might remember you next time he's in with his solicitor...

Afraid we’re only half breed prods here while he’s consider himself pure bred. I’d say we’re well off the Christmas card list.

It’s nice to be nice, literally no farmer knows Wien his stock break, none of us can guarantee it won’t ever happen.

I’ve had one break here in last 12 years. And the neighbor she went into was a real cnut towards me about it. I thanked him very much and left his yard without fuss.

Afraid we’re only half breed prods here while he’s consider himself pure bred. I’d say we’re well off the Christmas card list.

It’s nice to be nice, literally no farmer knows Wien his stock break, none of us can guarantee it won’t ever happen.

I’ve had one break here in last 12 years. And the neighbor she went into was a real cnut towards me about it. I thanked him very much and left his yard without fuss.

I don't know why farmers pay insurance, they never seem to claim. I just send out the assesor, let them act the **** with them .
    And to be fair, if your cattle break out the injured party should be paid

wrangler wrote: »
    I don't know why farmers pay insurance, they never seem to claim. I just send out the assesor, let them act the **** with them .
    And to be fair, if your cattle break out the injured party should be paid

Ahh
    Everything isn’t down to momey, I can repair this garden with a few barrows of stuff, it will grow in over a few weeks and then once that’s done why would I bother making a big deal out of it.
    He’s a grand fella, bit rough round the edges but grand.

It’s just something that happened, nobody injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭148multi

Was out for a walk today , have never seen so many Ash trees dying, of every age from a few inches up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭dzer2

148multi wrote: »
    Was out for a walk today , have never seen so many Ash trees dying, of every age from a few inches up.

All but 4 trees here have it here over 150 ash trees on the farm.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

148multi wrote: »

Same here - the past 12 months its become rampant around my parents place in North Kildare:( Young trees seem to be particularly badly hit

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Lot of Ash died this year as well, disappointing to see. Will change the country side for years to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Danzy wrote: »
    Lot of Ash died this year as well, disappointing to see. Will change the country side for years to come.
    I remember seeing our Elm trees dying over about ten years due to Dutch Elm disease. We had about 50 mature trees on the farm at my home place.
    Thankfully the Ash trees on the farm in Longford appear to be healthy but I presume that it is only a matter of time until they are affected.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Someone closer to the border might be able to help me, what are the regulations selling cattle from the South up to Northern Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Just on the Ash trees dying I see today one of the hurley makers launching a bamboo hurley

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Someone closer to the border might be able to help me, what are the regulations selling cattle from the South up to Northern Ireland?

When I was in marts yonks ago, they have to go through an approved export facility. So Mohil would get bulls in from the Christmas Cracker etc to be seen by officials & tested if necessary.
    I'm sure someone can let you know more recent specs if they've changed- Albert J most likely!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,497 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Just on the Ash trees dying I see today one of the hurley makers launching a bamboo hurley

All they'd have to do is sow new or treat the existing ones with biochar.