Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,022 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Has anyone received their school bus tickets, i haven't yet

Came today

• Registered Users Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭tanko

New series of This farming life on BBC2 at 8 tonight

Missed it, do you know if it’s repeated during the week?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

presumably its still the same advisors though? did the members of NPHET change when there was a change of Taoiseach?

I’d love to see the advice given by nephit compared to what they went with ??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

tanko wrote: »
    Missed it, do you know if it’s repeated during the week?

Saturday at 11

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000lwqw

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Our kids schools emailed today. 1st and 2and years back 31st Aug.
    No school blazers allowed(?)
    No lockers will be available this year, probably to keep them apart more.
    No changing rooms, wear your PE gear to school on the days you have PE.
    Boarding section to be closed, so this will probably cut class numbers by 25%.
    As there will be no Boarders, kitchens closed, so the option of hot dinners for day pupils now gone.
    Waiting for an email to say opening postponed...

Suckler wrote: »
    Look at the age range now contracting C19 and you'll have your answer. Mass goers aren't the demographic causing/affected by the new surge in numbers. Personal responsibility is out the window so we're all being treated like kids. Usual, the minority of clowns that can't do simple things like wear a mask and lose their marbles as soon as they get in the door of a pub are affecting the majority.

Yeah, but the people testing positive are showing no effects of illness.
    Only one person admitted to hospital in last 7 days ( if internet sources are to be believed).
    Now, if these people testing positive have immunity and are not spreading it, it's actually a good thing.
    And let's face it, only those folk in Kildare etc were working in a meat factory, they'd never have been tested and we would be clapping ourselves on the back for our lockdown " success".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

31st August is 2 weeks time. Thats what they said 5 months ago.imagine that! How could ya trust them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Our kids schools emailed today. 1st and 2and years back 31st Aug.
    No school blazers allowed(?)
    No lockers will be available this year, probably to keep them apart more.
    No changing rooms, wear your PE gear to school on the days you have PE.
    Boarding section to be closed, so this will probably cut class numbers by 25%.
    As there will be no Boarders, kitchens closed, so the option of hot dinners for day pupils now gone.
    Waiting for an email to say opening postponed...

We have to remove lockers to allow 1m distancing when students are in corridors. I spent a week modifying drawings and plans utilising every entrance to create a traffic system to allow some hope of physical distancing.

It is going to be different for students. A lot of freedoms curtailed.

Very much hoping we don’t get shut down. Our children need to see others.
    I’m helping a small but at couching 11yos at soccer. You can definitely tell they are missing the structure of school.

My 5yo is at cul camps this week and Is a different girl. Normally a great girl but irritable with lockdown.back to her old self. The little things make them happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,516 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We have to remove lockers to allow 1m distancing when students are in corridors. I spent a week modifying drawings and plans utilising every entrance to create a traffic system to allow some hope of physical distancing.

I’m helping a small but at couching 11yos at soccer. You can definitely tell they are missing the structure of school.

My 5yo is at cul camps this week and Is a different girl. Normally a great girl but irritable with lockdown.back to her old self. The little things make them happy.

Will the cul camp go ahead with the announcement yesterday?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Will the cul camp go ahead with the announcement yesterday?

That I don’t know. We have no text received yet.

It’s hard.
    Our secondary school has no space for 6th years to have lunch so they must leave school to eat.
    Grand in good weather but what do they do when it’s chucking down outside ??

I think this is a brilliant story, even if it highlights the lack of Athletics training grounds here.

https://twitter.com/Independent_ie/status/1295903445715755011?s=20

_Brian wrote: »
    It’s hard.
    Our secondary school has no space for 6th years to have lunch so they must leave school to eat.
    Grand in good weather but what do they do when it’s chucking down outside ??

We have zero space either.No up town as there are 2 other secondary schools in the town so to limit interactions, Students are going to have to eat at their desks. It will be Really difficult on them but still better than stuck at home for another 6 months.

I think this is a brilliant story, even if it highlights the lack of Athletics training grounds here.

He is supposed to have a great set up. Not expensive to join either.

Cul camp went ahead today.

That I don’t know. We have no text received yet.

Youngest lad was at regional training yesterday for soccer. It was to be on today. Just got a text it's cancelled

We have zero space either.No up town as there are 2 other secondary schools in the town so to limit interactions, Students are going to have to eat at their desks. It will be Really difficult on them but still better than stuck at home for another 6 months.

Be happy with eating at the desk.
    Just told to leave school for duration of lunch break.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Who's gonna tell the kids they're pointing the wrong way:P

Having van tested.

Lad in after me slipped the tester a €50, I mean I saw him actually do it.

I haven’t seen that done since the 70’s, and the waiting room probably hasn’t been cleaned since the 70’s either ☹️

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭straight

Having van tested.

I haven’t seen that done since the 70’s, and the waiting room probably hasn’t been cleaned since the 70’s either ☹️

I usually just leave it sticking out of the ashtray.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

straight wrote: »
    I usually just leave it sticking out of the ashtray.

And it still fails

It's all on camera now lads. If the tester takes the money they will get into trouble. Well around here anyway. Cavan must be different :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,773 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Having van tested.

I just speak in a thick northern accent and leave my jacket open, showing a hand gun.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 6,115 ✭✭✭emaherx

I just speak in a thick northern accent and leave my jacket open, showing a hand gun.

I just bring my jeep in suitable road worthy condition. :D
    It works most of the time too!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Heated words in a doe centre up north,

Doe man: you failed on far too much parts sir, its a big list!

Van owner. Well fcuk you, I'm from South armagh, and I'll find out where you live!

Doe man, (angrily shakeing doe fail sheet) well I'm from armagh too ya prcik and I already ****ing know where you live!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Dirty ***** ....

Wasps that is. :mad:

Was draining a gully between some sheds today and went to check that the pipe was feeding into the drain correctly. As I looked up - there was a swarm of wasps ascending around me. Ran for it but the feckers got a few hits. Had to strip to get the rest off me. Thankfully I was wearing a cap so they didn't get near my head. Treated stings with vinegar and some antihistamines.

A plague of wasps and now an incoming storm tonight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

gozunda wrote: »
    Dirty ***** ....

Wasps that is. :mad:

Was draining a gully between some sheds today and went to check that the pipe was feeding into the drain correctly. As I looked up - there was a swarm of wasps ascending around me. Ran for it but the feckers got a few hits. Had to strip to get the rest off me. Thankfully I was wearing a cap so they didn't get near my head. Treated stings with vinegar and some antihistamines.

A plague of wasps and now an incoming storm tonight...

They are fast little feckers. Strimming my garden a couple of years ago and hit one in a clump of grass. Dropped the strimmers and ran like the clappers.. they were in my jacket and clothes. Never stripped so quick in my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Downtown123

Anyone know where I’d get a door for a 1990 JCB FM 412? Tried John Conathy and FC Farm Spares but no go.

Did you try Tom Hoey

whelan2 wrote: »
    It's all on camera now lads. If the tester takes the money they will get into trouble. Well around here anyway. Cavan must be different :D

It’s only viewed if there is a spot inspection or a complaint

Moving the mobile broadband about to different locations last week to try and get some decent reliable connection.

I’m not quite sure it’s IP66 waterproof but it will be interesting to see if it survives tonight 🤔

https://ibb.co/cr0k2Bh