Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Base price wrote: »
    I'm really surprised that there is feck all discussion about the knackery strike on F&F considering that as livestock farmers we totally depend on their service. I bet if we fast forwarded the clock to March 2020 it would make the headlines.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/3000-dead-cattle-left-in-fields-and-yards-aca/

Have a bullock dead since last Monday,was due for collection Tuesday, another ten days he'll be awful.

No problem with the Knackery though, they have to survive too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

You can put out the basalt with a lime spreader and it will break down over time with weathering and biology.

You're preaching to the choir here.
    The best result I got for spread basalt was spread on a field and dung spread on top.

That's why I say better bang for your buck by mixing it in your dungheap and using that heat and those microbes. They go well together.
    And I ain't alone in that thinking.
    https://m.facebook.com/story/graphql_permalink/?graphql_id=UzpfSTExMjYyNzE3MDc0Njg1Mzg6MTQ4NjEzODY1ODE0ODUwNg%3D%3D

All the early studies of using basalt was as an amendment to tropical soils and it did well because of those warm damp conditions.

If a thing works better in a certain way, then do it in a certain way.
    Oh not disagreeing with you at all about that, I was just replying to the other post.
    How did you mix lorry loads through a dungheap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Do you have to order the concrete far in advance?

We ordered around 4 pm and promised delivery at 2pm on Monday. Doesn't bother me if they're late, we have a few bits and bobs to sort and will have more time for those. And 3 slats to replace as well, scraper slats have lost some of their topmost concrete and had a few cows get their legs caught down them.

And that's before we start at the evechutes:(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Oh not disagreeing with you at all about that, I was just replying to the other post.
    How did you mix lorry loads through a dungheap?

Haven't done it but I suppose the best and easiest way would be to scatter it over the dung in the shed before you clean it out or go with a loader bucket full in every trailer load of dung. Something like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I'm really surprised that there is feck all discussion about the knackery strike on F&F considering that as livestock farmers we totally depend on their service. I bet if we fast forwarded the clock to March 2020 it would make the headlines.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/3000-dead-cattle-left-in-fields-and-yards-aca/

It’s a crazy situation, 100’s of millions of euro available through tams to bankroll dairy expansion but god forbid they reinstate the sub they used to pay out to keep them in business, and that’s before you delve into the disposal of offal state of affairs

You're preaching to the choir here.
    The best result I got for spread basalt was spread on a field and dung spread on top.

That's why I say better bang for your buck by mixing it in your dungheap and using that heat and those microbes. They go well together.
    And I ain't alone in that thinking.
    https://m.facebook.com/story/graphql_permalink/?graphql_id=UzpfSTExMjYyNzE3MDc0Njg1Mzg6MTQ4NjEzODY1ODE0ODUwNg%3D%3D

All the early studies of using basalt was as an amendment to tropical soils and it did well because of those warm damp conditions.

If a thing works better in a certain way, then do it in a certain way.

Gave them a seaweed supplement last winter, the shine on their coats was a joy to behold.

Sold me on how important mineral supplement l, whatever route, Is to cattle.

Danzy wrote: »
    Gave them a seaweed supplement last winter, the shine on their coats was a joy to behold.

Sold me on how important mineral supplement l, whatever route, Is to cattle.

You'll be eating it yourself next. :pac:

In another world that would be a unique selling point for the beef of those cattle.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

• Registered Users Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭naughto

Do any of ye no when swallows migrate
    Have some in the garage that I want gone.
    Mrs naughto want a line up

naughto wrote: »

Any day now, they'll be motoring on.

See them gathering on the lines already.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

naughto wrote: »

Ours are gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Anyone know how to change the bulls breed on herdwatch? I want to put in the scanning results but last year the bulk changed the dates as apparently CH go longer.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Base price

C'mon the Boys in Blue.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

On Inis Oirr for the night for a lads evening. Definitely need the break.
    God love with the OH with the two lads but will be home earlyish.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭Odelay

I’d love to see Kerry win.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,511 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Odelay wrote: »
    I’d love to see Kerry win.

And man city lose

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

More decking ppl wanting to go from a to b cross country, missed the first half grrr

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

A lot of Kerry lads getting cramp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    And man city lose

Looks like you'll only get one of those, Norwich 3 - 2 Man. City

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Replacing some shed guttering today, first of the winter ready jobs.

Just off the phone with eldest in Melbourne and he was very emotional with the win.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭Odelay

Just off the phone with eldest in Melbourne and he was very emotional with the win.

Well done, best team won.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,511 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was a good game

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Cream rises to the top BP strangely happy such a excellent team managed to do it. Gavin and Cluxton seemed to be doing a goodbye lap

Apparently we could all die tonight from an asteroid hitting the earth.

Dr Brian Cox is going to be livestreaming the event in a few hours here.

https://youtu.be/yeBQGBRoogg

That won't suit me, I've a skite of things to do Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,722 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Planet probably needs re-setting alright;)

Danzy wrote: »
    That won't suit me, I've a skite of things to do Monday.

If you climb a tree you'll be fine.

I'd say Anna May is bricking it!!
    Storm last year. Asteroid this year.

Nothing new in the overall scheme :)

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

If you climb a tree you'll be fine.

Dig a trench in the ground,, cover it with branches and leaves, fifteen feet of dung on top and you will be fine.