Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,773 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Some breed of a Viper found in Offaly today. Reckon it came in a delivery of stone from India

Would the cold here have killed it eventually?

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Stone from India? Thought we'd enough of that here

• Registered Users Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭naughto

ruwithme wrote: »

A lot of stone for the likes of headstones
    On graves comes in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was there restrictions on people attending the match?

No, none at all. I'd say maybe 100 at it, a good quarter of them kids under 5 or 6. Social distancing poor enough but the groups of 4 or 5 stayed mostly together.

We were at the far end of the spectators and stayed until most had gone away. My first match this year and I certainly didn't bring a bit of luck with me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

naughto wrote: »
    A lot of stone for the likes of headstones
    On graves comes in

All the granite used for the walls around the m50 came from china

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

ruwithme wrote: »

A lot of stone comes in from India and China.
    Coloured sandstone, marble, polished granite etc.
    Even slates, have been in a house nearby here in Cavan where the entire roof slates, sandstone window sills, cut stone quoins, stone floor slabs for the kitchen and four carved stone pillars, 8 feet long and 18 inches in diameter, all came in crates from China.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    A lot of stone comes in from India and China.
    Coloured sandstone, marble, polished granite etc.
    Even slates, have been in a house nearby here in Cavan where the entire roof slates, sandstone window sills, cut stone quoins, stone floor slabs for the kitchen and four carved stone pillars, 8 feet long and 18 inches in diameter, all came in crates from China.

Isn’t there a guy in Stradone that imports stone and marble from India for headstones and surrounds

• Registered Users Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭50HX

Interesting read by vets on Covid

• Registered Users Posts: 21,389 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I'll read that, but considering the progress they have made with bovine TB in the last 60 years???
    On the plus side the vet in Shetland took action very early on and set up for testing islanders for Covid 19.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Water John wrote: »
    I'll read that, but considering the progress they have made with bovine TB in the last 60 years???

We could wipe out 99% of TB in our national bovine herd in 12 months, except one thing.
    We will not use the vaccine available because doing so would remove our "TB free" designation, and apparently damage our exports.
    Instead we carry on slaughtering herds in an effort to achieve "Zero TB" by isolating herds.
    Exactly as we are trying to do with Covid, at the moment.

Only difference is we have no vaccine for Covid, and indeed may never have one.

After 100 years of steadily improving life expectancy, Covid, plus antibiotic resistant bacteria, might see current and future generations life expectancy trimmed back to 70 years of age or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    We could wipe out 99% of TB in our national bovine herd in 12 months, except one thing.
    We will not use the vaccine available because doing so would remove our "TB free" designation, and apparently damage our exports.
    Instead we carry on slaughtering herds in an effort to achieve "Zero TB" by isolating herds.
    Exactly as we are trying to do with Covid, at the moment.

Only difference is we have no vaccine for Covid, and indeed may never have one.

After 100 years of steadily improving life expectancy, Covid, plus antibiotic resistant bacteria, might see current and future generations life expectancy trimmed back to 70 years of age or so.

Mother nature finding a way to bring back balance once again

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Water John wrote: »
    A new series of ' What planet are you on?' is on RTE 1. Just caught a glance as I passed through the kitchen. The voiceover was bemoaning the carbon footprint of the meat and milk some family had.

Do ye not know "Truth Matters" at Rte?

https://youtu.be/cQy_1XQWuck

Load of bbollics imo. They're little better than Tabloid TV these days - whatever is trendy and gets viewing time in order to pay big salaries to paid actors

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Reggie. wrote: »
    Mother nature finding a way to bring back balance once again

That crossed my mind lately, I'm a total athiest but lately you'd wonder, wouldn't you. Is there a greater power.
    Definitely modern civilisation are so far up their own backsides that they deserved a kick in the hole and maybe this is it.
    Pity is, of course, is that the less well off and the less fortunate people are suffering undeservedly in poorer countries.
    If you heard the Ould ones giving out about the cancelling of the confirmatiions or whatever last friday on Joe Duffy It was a good example of what I'm referrring to

• Registered Users Posts: 9,722 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Would the cold here have killed it eventually?

Almost certainly - its likely the Slow worms( a type of legless lizard which hibernate to survive the winter) in the Burren got into the country the same way during the construction of Ardnacrusha.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

wrangler wrote: »
    That crossed my mind lately, I'm a total athiest but lately you'd wonder, wouldn't you. Is there a greater power.
    Definitely modern civilisation are so far up their own backsides that they deserved a kick in the hole and maybe this is it.
    Pity is, of course, is that the less well off and the less fortunate people are suffering undeservedly in poorer countries.
    If you heard the Ould ones giving out about the cancelling of the confirmatiions or whatever last friday on Joe Duffy It was a good example of what I'm referrring to

Well if you look at history there is usually a pandemic of some degree every 100 years or so. The black death.....the Spanish flu. I think we were due one around this time in history

• Registered Users Posts: 4,022 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Got a few straws recently but there is no label put with them
    Can I just make something from a piece of card?
    What does anyone else do

Looking at donedeal there for a suffolk ram, some lads watched a lot of Batman re-runs with the 45 degree slanty photos :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Looking at donedeal there for a suffolk ram, some lads watched a lot of Batman re-runs with the 45 degree slanty photos :pac:

Holy Smokes Baaman!!

Dinner Dinner Dinner Dinner Da....BAAMAN! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Does anyone know if Levacide injection (wormer for cattle) has gone off the market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

I spread some dung (well rotted) on July 1st on a small field, cut, baled and wrappped it yesterday.
    It looked like good stuff, no sign of the remnants anywhere.
    I'm wondering if it would be ok to feed to cattle?

I spread some dung (well rotted) on July 1st on a small field, cut, baled and wrappped it yesterday.

Well. It got plenty of damn rain to wash it down.

I’d say if they preserve well it will be perfect.

_Brian wrote: »
    Well. It got plenty of damn rain to wash it down.

I’d say if they preserve well it will be perfect.

It definitely got enough rain anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭50HX

Got a few straws recently but there is no label put with them
    Can I just make something from a piece of card?
    What does anyone else do

Use a piece of plastic and permenant marker

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

What else were you thinking of doing with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,022 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

50HX wrote: »
    Use a piece of plastic and permenant marker
    Thanks a I’ll do that

• Registered Users Posts: 4,793 ✭✭✭straight

I'd say you know the answer to that question yourself. Dung deal...

If not suitable for feeding I would dispose of it obviously, they dont make great ornaments.

Feckin insurance companies.

Can’t beleive they can’t be held up for price gouging or something.

Van insurance was €460 (ish) last year. Was my first year with a commercial policy and for fully comp I was happy.

Bounced up to €498 this year, not happy but not too bad.

They were emailing me to contact them. I sent a line of bull**** that FBD were offering €450 with driving other vehicles.

They called me back there and said they can’t match the driving other vehicles clause under €680 but if I was willing to renew they could drop to €400 even, obviously I had to fain didthering but paid out and renewed.

How can it be legal never mind moral that they can just drop €98 like that. 20% just like that. It’s infuriating!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Electricity, phone and other utilities are the same. No loyalty to customers, just low rates to attract new ones

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Electricity, phone and other utilities are the same. No loyalty to customers, just low rates to attract new ones

Banks can be added to that list too. Tis ridiculous at times