Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭White Clover

Congratulations Mr & Mrs Mickey:)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Congratulations Mr & Mrs Mickey:)

ahh she took the mickey! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,979 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I bought a parkside lidl air impact driver, anyway its not opening the tractor wheels, would it be the compressor, line or is it just no good?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I bought a parkside lidl air impact driver, anyway its not opening the tractor wheels, would it be the compressor, line or is it just no good?

Is the compressor and hose definitely delivering the correct pressure and volume of air as per the details of the impact driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭emaherx

Is it a half inch driver? You're probably asking a bit much of it. I find even a dwalt battery 1/2 inch driver struggles to crack the nuts on wheels that haven't been opened in a while but it zips them off one you crack with a good long breaker bar. There is a reason garages use inch drivers with appropriate size compressors.

think its 1/2 inch, what kind of air one would open them? I have a big compressor in parlour and small one in workshed

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Probabky need a 3/4 inch drive at the minimum for tractor back wheels.
    You have to also ask yourself if a 30 euro lidl jobbie is so good, how can CP etc get away with charging 200 euro plus...

think its 1/2 inch, what kind of air one would open them? I have a big compressor in parlour and small one in workshed

Realistically unless you want to spend a few hundred on a semi decent one just get a good long breaker bar to loosen the first little bit and use your lidl one to spin the nuts off. You'd probably need a bigger compressor for your workshed too so getting expensive quick.

The Tri-colour is flying at half mast at the local Dept. Ag. office.
    No one seemed to know why.
    The first rumour that went round was that the King of Saudi Arabia had died and it was at half mast as a mark of respect.
    Then someone suggested that it was actually because his favourite camel had died.
    Turned out it was because Jacques Chirac had died....

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    The Tri-colour is flying at half mast at the local Dept. Ag. office.
    No one seemed to know why.
    The first rumour that went round was that the King of Saudi Arabia had died and it was at half mast as a mark of respect.
    Then someone suggested that it was actually because his favourite camel had died.
    Turned out it was because Jacques Chirac had died....

Ya just had to ask me sure

To be honest, the camel story was more interesting... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 29,514 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was reading somewhere here the other night about limiters on trucks. Had to drive in car behind oh who was in his lorry going to Newry to get it fixed. Was doing between 85 and 90km per hour behind him. We passed out a tractor and slurry tanker on the motorway and also a lorry that was only doing 60kph. It was a slow trip. We were passed out by loads of lorries. Which were probably doing over 100kph

• Registered Users Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

What kind of break out force has it in theory(torque in nm/ft-pounds)? Think tractor wheel nuts would be up around 550nm of torque, depends on size of nut etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Just a reminder for the leitrim posters here.
    The upcoming buffalo auction is on November 2nd if ye want to replenish the herds. There's 450 buffalo on offer this year and there's an online option of bidding.

https://www.kotatv.com/content/news/Buffalo-Roundup-brought-thousands-together-to-witness-an-old-west-spectacle-561569901.html

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

The upcoming buffalo auction is on November 2nd if ye want to replenish the herds. There's 450 buffalo on offer this year and there's an online option of bidding.

https://www.kotatv.com/content/news/Buffalo-Roundup-brought-thousands-together-to-witness-an-old-west-spectacle-561569901.html

1ozv19.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭Odelay

Is they water buffalo?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Odelay wrote: »
    Is they water buffalo?

Apologies.

The scientific Latin name is..Bison bison bison.

1/2 inch and 3/4 inch is that the hose thickness?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,389 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I'll let Johnny Lynch know. Might be interested in milking an extra few.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

When trying to open tractor wheel nuts during the summer I took a punt on a cheap torque multiplier (similar to this https://jebbtools.ie/products/1-torque-multiplier-68-1-4800nm?variant=32255549905&utm_medium=cpc&utm_source=google&utm_campaign=Google%20Shopping&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI9Z_sua755AIViK3tCh1SmAzjEAQYASABEgLGMvD_BwE) before I splashed out on bigger compressor and/or air gun. Was pleasantly surprised to see it do the job just fine

1/2 inch and 3/4 inch is that the hose thickness?

No, the size of the square thats in the end of the socket.

Got myself a wee van today.
    Will need to get the Tiguan cleaned and up on DD now to move her on.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

_Brian wrote: »

Nifty yoke.

You have the same paint combo as I as well.

A man of discerning taste.

😉

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was reading somewhere here the other night about limiters on trucks. Had to drive in car behind oh who was in his lorry going to Newry to get it fixed. Was doing between 85 and 90km per hour behind him. We passed out a tractor and slurry tanker on the motorway and also a lorry that was only doing 60kph. It was a slow trip. We were passed out by loads of lorries. Which were probably doing over 100kph

Was behind an artic few months ago heading from Monaghan towards Aughnacloy, I was at 110kph and he was pulling away from me.

I don’t know if things have changed much but when I drove a truck most guards had no idea how to read the old analog taco cards, as long as it has the date and a few scratches they were happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Very fancy

When trying to open tractor wheel nuts during the summer I took a punt on a cheap torque multiplier (similar to this https://jebbtools.ie/products/1-torque-multiplier-68-1-4800nm?variant=32255549905&utm_medium=cpc&utm_source=google&utm_campaign=Google%20Shopping&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI9Z_sua755AIViK3tCh1SmAzjEAQYASABEgLGMvD_BwE) before I splashed out on bigger compressor and/or air gun. Was pleasantly surprised to see it do the job just fine

Have one here too very useful, bought it for one trailer I was changing the wheels on. I'd say they hadn't been removed in the last 30 years, nuts wouldn't budge after heating with gas and using a large 3/4 inch drive breaker bar with a scaffolding pole over it, but the torque multiplier had them loosened with a fraction of the effort.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Very fancy

Thanks.

Eldest girl is 17 today so I’m cooking a stack of pancakes 🥞 for breakfast

New van and pancakes, living the high Life now :D