Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Meant to type 18 million tonne meat shortage, way more than the top 30 beef export nations provide.

It's as big a thing we'll see in our life in global meat, it'll change markets globally.

Our meat industry works out of norms but the rest are not as bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mad Max, Fury Road is a pretty crap film. I'm still watching it to see just how bad it can get.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Mad Max, Fury Road is a pretty crap film. I'm still watching it to see just how bad it can get.

It’s somehow both crap and good :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,387 ✭✭✭✭Water John

So bad, it's good, if you're in the humour for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭Odelay

I thought it was part of RTE’s climate change series??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,022 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Was watching kingsman
    Not much better

• Registered Users Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Danzy wrote: »
    China will be short million tonne of meat next year.

That is much more than the top 30 beef exporters globally and includes many who sell a 1000 tonne of beef.

Hope springs eternal.

Other pork and chicken aside, an unprecedented global shortage in meat should give some lift.

What we need is China to buy a few plants here, just for its own use.

That'll happen.
    It won't happen here. The farmers are too small and disjointed here. Product volume is not there by Chinese standards.

Any buying of Irish produce by the Chinese will be only a stop gap measure.
    They've their eyes set on the cheap and mass produced agri market of Brazil.

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2019/11/14/business/port-deal-cited-brazil-china-hail-strong-ties/

I hope I'm wrong but for all the bluster of bord bia and how important it thinks it is in getting markets. The winner for countries importing food is scale and price and to have room to make enough of a margin on.
    As a food exporting nation we're like dunnes stores and Brazil is like lidl/adli x1000.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,773 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

It won't happen here. The farmers are too small and disjointed here. Product volume is not there by Chinese standards.

Any buying of Irish produce by the Chinese will be only a stop gap measure.
    They've their eyes set on the cheap and mass produced agri market of Brazil.

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2019/11/14/business/port-deal-cited-brazil-china-hail-strong-ties/

I hope I'm wrong but for all the bluster of bord bia and how important it thinks it is in getting markets. The winner for countries importing food is scale and price and to have room to make enough of a margin on.
    As a food exporting nation we're like dunnes stores and Brazil is like lidl/adli x1000.

Brazil will probably never have the scale to meet Chinese demand.

It exports 2million tonne a year, China is short 18 million tonne of meat next year.

It isn't that Brazil isn't a humongous size, it's that China has levels of demand we can't comprehend.

If they eat beef like the Americans do, the current global trade in beef will not be enough to meet that demand.

Say China buys the Brazilian herd and the 9 million tonne it's produces a year, that will go a good way to meeting demand. It will not do so but it shows the scale.

African Swine fever is only going to spread further across Asia.

Danzy wrote: »
    Brazil will probably never have the scale to meet Chinese demand.

It exports 2million tonne a year, China is short 18 million tonne of meat next year.

It isn't that Brazil isn't a humongous size, it's that China has levels of demand we can't comprehend.

If they eat beef like the Americans do, the current global trade in beef will not be enough to meet that demand.

Say China buys the Brazilian herd and the 9 million tonne it's produces a year, that will go a good way to meeting demand. It will not do so but it shows the scale.

African Swine fever is only going to spread further across Asia.

But will they replace that 18millon ton meat shortage with meat?

It would be interesting to see what that 18M tons of meat cost them (in pork) and then see how many tons of beef they could get for it?

I think you are right in Chinese demand might lift overall world prices. I don’t think they will eat beef like the Americans.
    It wouldn’t surprise me if they go more for the lower end, maybe offal, as I think they want cheap meat... They want to feed their population, as opposed to providing fancy food...
    But it’s food they want, to replace pork - that doesn’t necessarily mean they want beef, I think they will just want food at the right price...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭jaymla627

That's their MO in other countries I believe.

Wouldn't be economical here given land prices alot more profitable to just buy of farmers

It's nice to have an optimistic story for a change.

https://www.beefcentral.com/trade/export-grinding-meat-prices-continue-to-soar-to-record-levels/

Even before swine fever China was starting to change global beef.

Prices rising strongly across the world, this story from America.

Their R grade steer type is now about 4 Euro a kg. We are the lowest now in comparison to Auz, New Zealand, Canada, America.

Countries we used be 30 cent dearer than are now 40c dearer than us.

So bring the blind, lame and sick to kilmallock next week.

I'll be buying all round me 😉

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Murang

Going to aviva tomorrow night for the match with my 11 year old.its my first time going there will be coming up from the cork side where would best place to park to go to match

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Looking to put up solar panels on some sheds.

Someone I think posted about a company providing solar installations but cant find the post.

Anyone know who company is?

gozunda wrote: »
    Looking to put up solar panels on some sheds.

Someone I think posted about a company providing solar installations but cant find the post.

Anyone know who company is?

Solar for hot water or for electricity Gozunda?

Can I ask what your reasoning is, if you don’t me asking...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just came across this on the Farming Independent and it maybe of interest to some of ye. I sorta scanned through it but I'm smothered with a cold/flu for the last week and tbh it's too much of an effort to read in detail. The only point that I noted was that we will not be required to cover our lagoon as it was constructed more than 5 years ago.

https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/forestry-enviro/environment/government-publishes-plan-to-tackle-agriculture-emissions-38699895.html?fbclid=IwAR0AJArGpu9xMk3jvAlrzGr70PsRFqdncS743rkbxmR6UqhFCh0g-XsA24o

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Solar for hot water or for electricity Gozunda?

Can I ask what your reasoning is, if you don’t me asking...

Yup. South facing roofs which are going wanting atm. Old water heater at end of its life - so looking to put in solar now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,888 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I saw an April 14 born bullock (4 and a half year old) in the mart recently. You'd have to wonder at the reasoning behind keeping him that long, he wasn't a screw of a Frx or similar but a goodish LMx 700kg. I've​ often considered running just above the bare minimum stocking rate of a few middling store bullocks and basically let them roam freely around the place. A few square bales of hay in snowy weather, an occasional dose and testing would be the height of the expenses. Leave them there until fat (probably mid-late summer) and into the cow ring before restocking at small money. Granted you'd be relient on someone rearing the calf through to a strong weanling/store for a small return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭toleratethis

let them roam freely around the place.

Great way to overgraze a place

• Registered Users Posts: 29,510 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I saw an April 14 born bullock (4 and a half year old) in the mart recently. You'd have to wonder at the reasoning behind keeping him that long, he wasn't a screw of a Frx or similar but a goodish LMx 700kg. I've​ often considered running just above the bare minimum stocking rate of a few middling store bullocks and basically let them roam freely around the place. A few square bales of hay in snowy weather, an occasional dose and testing would be the height of the expenses. Leave them there until fat (probably mid-late summer) and into the cow ring before restocking at small money. Granted you'd be relient on someone rearing the calf through to a strong weanling/store for a small return.
    would he not be 5 and a half years old if born in April 2014?

whelan2 wrote: »
    would he not be 5 and a half years old if born in April 2014?

Yes we've established I can't count, I'll blame being half asleep on the couch after a long week for my miscalculations.

Great way to overgraze a place

Perhaps although I'm talking keeping minimum numbers and basically staying as far away from the intensive systems as possible.

Guy Martin is on Channel 4 now with a fast tractor.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,197 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Attended 4 funerals during the past week, all were top class farmers in their own fields from different parts of Munster.

Just thinking to my self there if they met up in the great ranch in the sky, there's going to be some chat.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

orm0nd wrote: »
    Attended 4 funerals during the past week, all were top class farmers in their own fields from different parts of Munster.

Just thinking to my self there if they met up in the great ranch in the sky, there's going to be some chat.

Was thinking likewise about Gay, Brendan and Niall Tobin, There'd be some yarns told there

• Registered Users Posts: 5,208 ✭✭✭Grueller

Guy Martin is on Channel 4 now with a fast tractor.

I love his shows

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

Just seen that machete attack on WhatsApp ****ing animals to do that to a child

Grueller wrote: »
    I love his shows

They really go to lengths to explain the whole process of how they arrive at the final event at the end of the shows.

I never knew a tractor could get to 8000 hp till tonight..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭visatorro

I says wrote: »
    Just seen that machete attack on WhatsApp ****ing animals to do that to a child

I'm in a couple of WhatsApp groups. Tbh honest I'm afraid to watch any video that comes in. Delete any suspect ones straight away now. Couple of bad ones stuck in my head for a while. Some lads you'd wonder about. If the guards took the phone off them they'd be arrested!

It's just the world we live in now I suppose nothing shocks people anymore. People used to say if it's out there it's there forever but there seems to be another horror story waiting to be made viral next week. So it's forgotten fairly soon

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Must have been some kick in the arse to see their record broken by some Yank on a vintage Allis Chalmers :).