Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What boardsies would you bring back?

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Permabear was an insufferably smug libertarian, parody or no parody. Had his acolytes, attacking others in unison when called out on outlandish politics. Strangely enough, none of these posters are active today...
    Oops, I actually deleted that post while you were in the process of replying.

Vita nova wrote: »
    Oops, I actually deleted that post while you were in the process of replying.

Don't sweat it. He deleted thousands when the game was up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Menas/Whiskeyman was the same person, loved his posts,.

I will be sure to pass on the compliment next time I see a mirror. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Liah was real and sadly passed away in Dec 2018

I'm very sorry to hear that. I enjoyed her posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Feeky Magee and the infamous "I think my grinds teacher fanices me" thread! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,229 ✭✭✭✭josip

Feeky Magee and the infamous "I think my grinds teacher fanices me" thread! :)

I followed that thread for every one of its 83 pages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Liah was real and sadly passed away in Dec 2018

- Edit -

I have been PM'd a couple of times about the details, she passed on Dec 30 in New Brunswick. I don't have any details to share beyond that. Anyone who knew her will find her obituary & condolence pages.

What? Feck. :(

Anyone remember Jackass/Philologos. The last boards member to try to defend belief in god openly and with any actual genuine earnest that makes it sound like they are even all the convinced themselves?

jaysus i forgot about him.
    i wonder if he ever got the wife he was so assured about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Feeky Magee! Just because of that one thread. God that’s a decade ago!

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

This guy had trouble getting into Princeton, I imagine it a breeze to waltz into it.

rehost2f20162f92f132f2dc01b7b-c0eb-4de4-98c5-af2b0a92a89d-1024x538.jpg

Permabear was an insufferably smug libertarian, parody or no parody. Had his acolytes, attacking others in unison when called out on outlandish politics. Strangely enough, none of those posters are active today...

One thing about Permabear - he loved his statistics and any articles that backed up his viewpoints but, man, did he go quiet when someone could back up an opposing viewpoint just as well.

I remember him scoffing at the idea of teenagers from low income backgrounds getting free tampons and sanitary towels and saying they should get a part-time job to pay for them. He had no comeback when I told him that I was 11 when I started menstruating and that, while that’s quite young to start, 12 isn’t. Hear that, 11 and 12 years olds of low income families? Get out and work, ye lazy sods!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,351 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Anyone else remember PlaneSpeaking & her other incarnations?
    Such a bizarre character.
    I remember being genuinely open mouthed at how vitriolic some of her posts were and then minutes later she’d be posting nice as pie on some of the more lighthearted AH threads. It was unnerving.

I liked her, she often agreed with my vitriol! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Mother of god, he said that about the free menstrual hygiene products initiative? :eek:

And his hatred of teachers was completely irrational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Gerianam

Family Guy

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Mother of god, he said that about the free menstrual hygiene products initiative? :eek:

Uh huh. Totally uneducated on the topic. Like, whatever about 11 being young, he seemed totally unaware that 12 is a pretty common age to start. How many 12 years old have any kind of job? It’s not even old enough for paid babysitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Tbf, of all the strange things about PB, his hatred of teachers was the least weird. It's such a common opinion to hold, and if anything I found him moderate on the subject compared to many others!

Anyone remember the unregistered frequent poster in PI - Miss Fluff Fan or something like that?

Permabear sounds like the most successful of trolls, you're all still here talking about him.

As to whether he was crazy or not, depends on his motivation. If he went on like that solely to wind you up, then I'm sure he was thoroughly entertained. If he was actually Walter Mitty then that's just sad.

I can't remember him too clearly tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,280 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

There's loads of the old posters who I used to enjoy (even if I didn't always agree with them) that I'd like to see back:

danniemcq - I'd still see him IRL but miss him around here.
    Majds & WhiteWashMan
    Whoopsadaisydoodles
    The Corinthian - always entertaining and a great debater even if you didn't always agree with him.
    Tar Aldarion
    Scofflaw
    Degsy
    Sarky
    Morrigan
    Beruthial
    Karl Hungus
    Monkeyfudge
    nesf
    simu
    amp
    Jon Hanna (RIP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It’s gas that he went to the effort of having every fcuking thing he ever wrote deleted, but you can’t delete the impression you made on other posters or ignorant remarks you made and prevent them from resurfacing. Gdpr don’t give a shlt about that.

I remember being genuinely open mouthed at how vitriolic some of her posts were
    Her relentless moaning about women (yes, "her") was just unhinged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,032 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Her relentless moaning about women (yes, "her") was just unhinged.

I remember that poster planespeaking.....don't remember her being particularly narky....think I recall her losing the plot once about children acting up on flights...not sure if it is the same person

Sometimes when you come on you can sense a vibe. When I came on originally I got the impression that a lot of people did not like Permabear, who initially to me seemed like a balanced and common sense poster. I thought that people were just sniping at him, then as it went on, it was clear he was a condescending twat and had a nasty side. But that would not be evident initially to new posters.

He went on like he was some saviour, who had picked up this poor woman from the gutter, rescued her and through the goodness of his heart was going to give her a great life and they all lived the perfect life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I remember him scoffing at the idea of teenagers from low income backgrounds getting free tampons and sanitary towels and saying they should get a part-time job to pay for them. He had no comeback when I told him that I was 11 when I started menstruating and that, while that’s quite young to start, 12 isn’t. Hear that, 11 and 12 years olds of low income families? Get out and work, ye lazy sods!

I remember that thread well. He had strips torn off him and wasn't able for it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Late to this thread but I remember going to my first ever Boards beers in 2009, in Ron Blacks (called 37 now I think). Degsy was probably the poster who stood out to me the most who was there cos he was so “prolific” on boards. He was seeing another Boardsie at the time, Pikachucheeks or something? Neither of them are around any more, but he was nearly double her age and I remember thinking Jesus if this is what Boards infamy gets you then fair fcks. Actually there was another similar couple at the time, W*** and Novella. Again he was close to double her age. Jesus the boards men really had it going on back then. Where are they all now eh.

*think this one is still around

Novella is living in San Fran, two kids and all :O
    LambsEye!! she was this beautiful wild red headed girl who just disappeared :(

Someone just popped into my head...who was the guy who wore a red dress to an AH beers before as a dare? Think he was from cork.

I’m surprised no one’s mentioned Abi/Abigail, although she turned out to be a crazy.
    Ye bastards tried to get me to bring her (Abi) to my Debs a long time ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

PlaneSpeaking, the woman who posted constantly during the day giving out about dole scroungers but apparently had a busy government job and she put this down to time management. God she seemed so angry. I at least admit I do f**k all at work but at least the tax payer isn't paying my wages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

anewme wrote: »
    I remember that poster planespeaking.....don't remember her being particularly narky....think I recall her losing the plot once about children acting up on flights...not sure if it is the same person

One of her more memorable posts was in a thread about a man who had been convicted of sexually assaulting a sleeping young woman. The woman had awoken to find her pants pulled down and the mans hands inside her.

PlaneSpeaking said he was just a young lad copping a feel and the complainent should get over herself, and that she only had herself to blame, it was her own fault for falling asleep at a house party.

She claimed to work in a college which makes her remarks even more frightening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

This thread is really "What boardsies would you not bring back to meet the folks?".

Sleepy wrote: »
    There's loads of the old posters who I used to enjoy (even if I didn't always agree with them) that I'd like to see back:

danniemcq - I'd still see him IRL but miss him around here.
    Majds & WhiteWashMan
    Whoopsadaisydoodles
    The Corinthian - always entertaining and a great debater even if you didn't always agree with him.

Tar Aldarion
    Scofflaw
    Degsy
    Sarky
    Morrigan
    Beruthial
    Karl Hungus
    Monkeyfudge
    nesf
    simu
    amp
    Jon Hanna (RIP)

I found him fascinating more than I actually liked him. Way too preoccupied with turning everything into gender wars.

I’ll also never forget his Dispute Resolution thread where he strode in saying “This is pointless, you’ll all circle the wagons!”. In the same thread, he complained about a mod sticking up for him by giving another poster a warning because he thought the warning was delivered in too jokey a tone. So brittle!

On Whoopsa - I fear this might get me lynched because everyone seems to love her, but I wasn’t the biggest fan of hers. I found her to be frequently quite subtly passive-aggressive if someone disagreed with her. (and yes I’m aware of my sig)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Earthhorse wrote: »
    There was a girl called GirlOfGlass or something. Had a boyfriend whose name I can’t remember right now; TallaghtBoy or something?

Niamh and Cian, friends with both and still very much around...even sold him a car last year :p

Anyone remember when he was posting about his wedding plans and someone dared to ask him where the venue was and he lost the plot, and said he wouldn’t be informing anyone about the venue in case we showed up and robbed his ultra high net wealthy guests. No joke.
    I wouldn’t mind but it was him drip feeding all this info that no one even asked for.

Ahh good times. Tis almost all out of my system now.

I found him fascinating more than I actually liked him. Way too preoccupied with turning everything into gender wars.

I couldn't stand him. He was a sexist dickhead. In one thread about abortion rights he said we'd all be getting abortions just because we were having a bad hair day if were let.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

PlaneSpeaking, the woman who posted constantly during the day giving out about dole scroungers but apparently had a busy government job and she put this down to time management. God she seemed so angry. I at least admit I do f**k all at work but at least the tax payer isn't paying my wages!

Oh yes, now I remember her! You could smell the bitterness in her posts. She only ever seemed to post to express some vitriol. Now, we all have to rant from time to time, and I may have been caught doing as much here, but good God, it was like she was the most hard done by person in the world and it was everyone else's fault and she was gonna make sure we all knew it.

Having said that, I think she might still be around under a different name. Not as prolific but equally bitter devoid of compasion.

PlainSpeaking was the cut of someone who never got any male attention in school and so tried desperately to try and win over the advances of the male AH cohort by being as derogatory and poisonous as possible about women, and shoehorned into every post that she was a woman so she should know why women do the things they do.
    She just came across as pathetic and sad.

She’d try to be your best buddy then in another thread after you ripping the head off her five minutes previous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,700 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ah, she wasn't well in the head that one.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    I couldn't stand him. He was a sexist dickhead. In one thread about abortion rights he said we'd all be getting abortions just because we were having a bad hair day if were let.

Do you remember the Ladies’ Lounge thread that was created for forum members to relate personal stories of sexual abuse they had suffered? It was a very moving thread. After a good few pages, in strides Corinthian having blatantly only glanced at the thread title and little else with a hypothetical where his girlfriend badgers him for sex, asking if that would be viewed as coercion. Basically he was looking to start a debate. Completely tone-deaf. He was ran from the thread and it is the only time I ever saw him back down from his argument and apologise.

On Whoopsa - I fear this might get me lynched because everyone seems to love her, but I wasn’t the biggest fan of hers. I found her to be frequently quite subtly passive-aggressive if someone disagreed with her. (and yes I’m aware of my sig)
    Nope, you're not alone. Used to love her - and was quite pally with her here, but she changed. I still admire her though.

Another poster exactly like that imo was Ickle Magoo. She was awesome - then totally changed, and not in a good way.

I found WhiteWashMan appalling in the way he spoke to people. There's a Stockholm Syndrome about some old guard posters though. Ditto Scofflaw. How can people be ok with such sneeriness? And as for The Corinthian... best I say nothing other than WHAT a woman hater.

Arghus wrote: »
    Ah, she wasn't well in the head that one.

In a few years time they will be saying that about us:D

Or maybe.....:pac:

I wonder is he reading this. Haha hi PB

tenor.gif?itemid=4982968

Without a doubt. I hope he is actually because he’s seeing what a charlatan we all know he is now.

Hey, Permabear, my diseased left tit says hi!

Actually snorted tea all over my phone there.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Oh there was a guy from Tallaght that used to post here and sell a few bits, redsfan I think his name was on here. Me and him ended up going to the Champ League Semi Final in Anfield in 2005 :) Good times :D

Permabear was that dude who was going out with some 19 year old pierced gamer girl type after their eyes met across a bank lobby or something, yeah I remember reading his posts.
    I must be stupid and naïve because I just took his story as for real, was he found out somehow?

There was a lovely poster on foot.ie I think who's name escapes me but I think he posted here too and was killed in a one punch attack in Australia. I used to like his posts about Irish football. Very sad story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭MarquisDeSad

I remember being genuinely open mouthed at how vitriolic some of her posts were and then minutes later she’d be posting nice as pie on some of the more lighthearted AH threads. It was unnerving.

She had four accounts going at the same time. So bizarre. Like a full time troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,901 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Since its changed to boardsies you would prefer to have never existed...wasn't that paedo journalist a frequent AH poster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Feeky Magee was Boards.ie for a period of time.
    Two legendary threads in particular.
    1) Pictures that shook the world
    2) I think my Grinds Teacher fancies me.

Check them out and come back, Feeky

Nope, you're not alone. Used to love her - and was quite pally with her here, but she changed. I still admire her though.

Another poster exactly like that imo was Ickle Magoo. She was awesome - then totally changed, and not in a good way.

I found WhiteWashMan appalling in the way he spoke to people. There's a Stockholm Syndrome about some old guard posters though. Ditto Scofflaw. How can people be ok with such sneeriness? And as for The Corinthian... best I say nothing other than WHAT a woman hater.

Yeah, that seemed to be it. People can change and who knows why? I’m more prickly and quicker to temper than I was pre-diagnosis. In fairness, she was mostly grand. I just don’t have the warm feelings for her that everyone else does. But yes, I greatly admired her at the same time. Her personal tragedy is beyond the comprehension of pretty much anyone here.

Look at us all bonding and having a bitch

giphy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Permabear was that dude who was going out with some 19 year old pierced gamer girl type after their eyes met across a bank lobby or something, yeah I remember reading his posts.
    I must be stupid and naïve because I just took his story as for real, was he found out somehow?

I remember taking it as true, 40 year old hedge fund manager having kids with a barely legal single mother, ew but ok.

I had a run in with him and someone PM'd me with a heads up and when you look at all the detail together it does get pretty clear how incredible it was.

There's another poster who I suspect is a fantasist who's starting to jump the shark as well. Learn from the bear man, keep things grounded and realistic.

Look at us all bonding and having a bitch

giphy.gif

Well, I’m perfect so I’m allowed. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'd like to see myself get back into posting more regularly. I really improved my use of language during my heyday here on boards. The ability to compose a well constructed and thorough post has many benefits which loop back into other aspects of life away from t'internet.