Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greta and the aristocrat sail the high seas to save the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Will be a joke if her and her team fly into madrid after all the fuss. She should stay in South America and do a tour raising awareness instead of flying thousands of miles for the sake of a 60 second speech which will just be repeating what she said the last time.

On youtube at the moment there is a drive to plant 20million trees by raising 20 million dollars, think after 1 week they are up to 13million. This all came from a youtuber making a joke about how he would celebrate getting 20milllion subscribers. Every doller donated = a tree planted. It's a pity Gretta wouldn't set up a foundation of her own or go in partnership with current legit charities that provide employment for people around the world planting trees. She would bring serious attention and anyone could afford to something positive if the cost is only 1 dollar

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Expect she will have to fly to Spain if she is to make the conference. Her detractors will enjoy that.

Hard to know what will drive them crazier, a plane or ...another yacht! They hated that yacht :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Hard to know what will drive them crazier, a plane or ...another yacht! They hated that yacht :)

The Club of Rome and the rest of Gretas behind the scenes string pullers are starting to realise that Gurning Greta is doing more harm than good to the advancement of their power grabbing agenda.Doubt we will be hearing Greta repeating the same tired old slogans for much longer. I hope she doesn't go off the rails when she realises how used she was by her parents, NGOs and foundations.

anything greta does is grand as long as it annoys the sceptics on boards.

lads ye are one step away from "trigger the libs" as justification

step back from the ledge will ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,511 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

anything greta does is grand as long as it annoys the sceptics on boards.

lads ye are one step away from "trigger the libs" as justification

step back from the ledge will ye.

Greta has time for the sceptics on Boards.
    She gave them a shout out yesterday.

https://twitter.com/GretaThunberg/status/1190067742243606529

Greta has time for the sceptics on Boards.
    She gave them a shout out yesterday.

https://twitter.com/GretaThunberg/status/1190067742243606529

theres no mention of boards.ie on that tweet

can you verify or rescind that post please

theres no mention of boards.ie on that tweet

can you verify or rescind that post please

I can yeah, just doing it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Would Greta's level of English be common for kids/teens in Sweden?

When you think about the average Irish kid....12 years of learning Irish...

The Club of Rome and the rest of Gretas behind the scenes string pullers are starting to realise that Gurning Greta is doing more harm than good to the advancement of their power grabbing agenda.Doubt we will be hearing Greta repeating the same tired old slogans for much longer. I hope she doesn't go off the rails when she realises how used she was by her parents, NGOs and foundations.

What does Gurning Greta mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,385 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

It's just a shallow and fatuous insult based on nothing at all bar an attempt to appear clever and funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,583 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It's just a shallow and fatuous insult based on nothing at all bar an attempt to appear clever and funny.

Ah I see. They didn't manage either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,267 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Has she completely left mainstream education? Surely that's a waste of good carbon?

Think education wise she has done quite well..

The people with the Gurning remarks maybe need to go back to school :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,874 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

So a climate change conference in Chile, which was to call for increased introduction of carbon taxes to fight climate change had to be cancelled because of the violent public reaction to an increase in transport costs due to the introduction of carbon taxes.

Oh the ironing.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

M

Think education wise she has done quite well..

The people with the Gurning remarks maybe need to go back to school :)

In most developed countries not going to school results in the parents being jailed as idiots unless the parents are 'cultural'.

Yikes. Some of my friend's folks are very lucky so haha

M

Yikes. Some of my friend's folks are very lucky so haha

Yes their choice of absence impacts on the rest of the class and results in overall education being reduced for those complying with the rules.

Anyone wanting to move their kids outside the curriculum should finance it accordingly.

Not when the child is over the age of 16 (15 years 3 months in Ireland I think) and has not registered for the school year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

JJayoo wrote: »
    Would Greta's level of English be common for kids/teens in Sweden?

When you think about the average Irish kid....12 years of learning Irish...
    Swedes have excellent english, have worked with many of them and they all had excellent social and professional levels. At 12 I'd say good grasp is expected.
    I don't think the Irish education system can really be a model or comparison to others. The socialist model has worked well for them till now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,583 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Swedes have excellent english, have worked with many of them and they all had excellent social and professional levels. At 12 I'd say good grasp is expected.
    I don't think the Irish education system can really be a model or comparison to others. The socialist model has worked well for them till now.

I've lived with a few, find them a bit weird and can get offended easily. Certainly not as much crack as the Irish, we shouldn't be copying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

She is of course joking about her travelling the wrong way.

Current domestic situation in Chile has led to the conference being moved.

Expect she will have to fly to Spain if she is to make the conference. Her detractors will enjoy that.

Why does she have to be there at all??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Why does she have to be there at all??

because she is saving the planet remember :rolleyes:, yes by coming up with super ideas like taxing the ****e out of people in the hope the brazilians will stop burning their forests or the indonesians will stop using the ocean as a landfill ...

oh noes a shallow and fatuous remark in this thread

you only take issue with it on one side, obviously.

theres probably a word for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

I've lived with a few, find them a bit weird and can get offended easily. Certainly not as much crack as the Irish, we shouldn't be copying them.
    I found them great crack, and similar to Irish. I'd certainly say we could learn a few things from them. Well, absent the Greta experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,423 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You often hear China slagged off about their coalmines, but I see the UK is allowing a new one to open

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-cumbria-50274212

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

The first world problems of young adults . . . .

Activists sail four weeks across Atlantic for climate change summit -- then learn it is canceled
    (CNN)A group of climate activists crossing the Atlantic by sailboat to a UN summit in Chile were shocked to learn the event was canceled -- four weeks into their grueling voyage.

The 36 young environmentalists set off from Amsterdam on October 2, using a sailboat in order to highlight the impact of flying on greenhouse gas emissions.
    They had completed more than half of their seven-week journey to the UN Climate Conference (COP25) in Santiago, Chile, which was scheduled to take place in early December.

However Chile's President Sebastián Piñera announced Wednesday that the country would no longer host the summit, amid protests that have left at least 20 people dead and led to the resignation of eight cabinet ministers.

Instead of turning back, the Sail to the COP group, as the activists are known, have now decided to sail on to Belém, Brazil.

source

About Belem. The weather is nice there as well. ;). If they want to take a container ship home it will probably set them back $100 a day and it takes a lot longer as you have to go as slowly as the container ship.
    Belém is served by two airports: Val de Cans International Airport, which connects the city with the rest of Brazil and other cities in South America, North America (USA) and Europe (Lisbon) and Brig. Protásio de Oliveira Airport (formerly called Júlio César Airport) dedicated to general aviation.

source

Greta Thunberg Begs For Help After Traveling Halfway Around The World 'The Wrong Way'

Hans von Storch: "The demand of Greta Thunberg, we should panic, has something of ideas of an end-time sect" URL="https://kaltesonne.de/hans-von-storch-die-forderung-von-greta-thunberg-wir-sollten-in-panik-geraten-hat-etwas-von-ideen-einer-endzeitsekte/"]DE[/URL
    Abendblatt : Greta Thunberg says: Listen to science! Is that good for you?

Hans von Storch : She calls for listening to scientists who should reinforce what she believes and says anyway. Some colleagues then use particularly pithy statements to address cultural notions that we hold archetypally deep inside us - for example, that we humans are destroying the world because of our sinful behavior. This is an ancient motive. There is indeed an important issue with climate change. But the way it's treated has more to do with public psychology than with the science it claims to be.

URL="https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=de&tl=en&u=https%3A%2F%2Fkaltesonne.de%2Fhans-von-storch-die-forderung-von-greta-thunberg-wir-sollten-in-panik-geraten-hat-etwas-von-ideen-einer-endzeitsekte%2F"]google translate[/URL

Spain has problems of its own.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Info like the below always puts in things in perspective when it comes to coverages

aDg4M2B_460swp.webp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

For gods sake we need to stop producing plastic not finding better ways of cleaning up our mess which is an impossible task at the rate we are polluting. We cant continue as we are with exponential economic growth it is eco suicide.

Info like the below always puts in things in perspective when it comes to coverages

aDg4M2B_460swp.webp

This shows the benefit of the effort that Greta is doing. 11M have joined her in Global protests and the conversation on this is ever louder.

One familiarity between Boyan and Greta is the detractors lining up telling them it won't work. I would bet both of them are supportive of the others efforts.

One thing I would be worried about Boyan's approach is that many might use it as an argument to not change, saying 'sure the ocean clean up will catch it'.

To use an analogy, if you had a hole in your roof and water was pouring in, boyan has invented a clever system to catch it all, Greta is saying we should listen to the engineers who says the hole in the roof should be fixed.

For gods sake we need to stop producing plastic not finding better ways of cleaning up our mess which is an impossible task at the rate we are polluting. We cant continue as we are with exponential economic growth it is eco suicide.

Yeah you are right.

That young lad isn't half as amazing as a girl who stopped going to school because of the environment and has been foisted onto the main stage by her parents, listing her disability as a superpower.

Go greta.

Yeah you are right.

That young lad isn't half as amazing as a girl who stopped going to school because of the environment and has been foisted onto the main stage by her parents, listing her disability as a superpower.

Go greta.

Can you point to any evidence of this? Or is it just a rumour you are using to negate the value of what she has done.

Also, this isn't an either or, Boyan should be applauded for his efforts, so too should Greta. Those saying there is no point, no need, they are puppets for socialist governments to raise taxes, their parents are abusing them, they are doing it for attention, they just want to make money, and so on and so on are really the only ones not adding value in the whole conversation. Well, they are adding one piece of value, they are showing there is a critical need for work to be done because people are not going to change their behaviours on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭DeconSheridan

Amazing they wont go to China or India the worlds biggest polluters.. Communism is what they really want, the climate farce is just a stick to bang the drum with.

Hi, welcome to Boards.

How do you reckon 'they' want communism? What evidence is there in anything which Greta has said to indicate this?

Who is they? Greta went to the United Nations, China and India are part of the UN. No one expects her to change the world but at least she's making some people aware of the issues at play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Its always the same.
    'listen to the scientists' our own Jess Spear who's speaking at a PbP climate indoctrination in dublin soon

EDIT : twitter wouldnt embed properly but if you look at her twitter feed its a lot of her calling for forced nationalisation, the jailing of executives, forced green new deals, socialist uprisings etc.... massive greta fan with a marxist flair

Its always the same.
    'listen to the scientists' our own Jess Spear who's speaking at a PbP climate indoctrination in dublin soon

EDIT : twitter wouldnt embed properly but if you look at her twitter feed its a lot of her calling for forced nationalisation, the jailing of executives, forced green new deals, socialist uprisings etc.... massive greta fan with a marxist flair

She sounds amazing, right up my street, I'll look her up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

She sounds amazing, right up my street, I'll look her up

494437.jpeg

well she does make her agenda very very clear. the venn diagram of communism vs climate activism is rapidly becoming a circle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭DeconSheridan

Hi, welcome to Boards.

How do you reckon 'they' want communism? What evidence is there in anything which Greta has said to indicate this?

Its not the child per se but the people and funding behind the movement.

Who are 'the people'?

Do you think there is an issue in terms of mans impact on the environment?
    How do you think we should tackle it?

Greta thinks there's an issue, she thinks we need to unite behind the science to develop solutions to reduce the impact on society and facilitate alternative methods to supplying worldwide economies.

It's not very complicated, or unreasonable to hold this view is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Who are 'the people'?Do you think there is an issue in terms of mans impact on the environment?
    How do you think we should tackle it?Greta thinks there's an issue, she thinks we need to unite behind the science to develop solutions to reduce the impact on society and facilitate alternative methods to supplying worldwide economies. It's not very complicated, or unreasonable to hold this view is it?

Problems with 'mans impact' on the environment does not equate with having to believe the screaming heebjeebies of 'greta'.

The cult of personality has absolutely sweet feck all with what the scientists are actually saying. More importantly the kid is far from 'reasonable' in her various rantings tbh. But you know that already...

gozunda wrote: »
    Problems with 'mans impact' on the environment does not equate with having to believe the screaming heebjeebies of 'greta'.

The cult of personality has absolutely sweet feck all with what the scientists are actually saying. More importantly the kid is far from 'reasonable' in her various rantings tbh. But you know that already...

How many times has she spoken?
    How many times has been in any way close to being considered to 'screaming heebeejeebies? Outside of the UN speech, a total of zero I think it is fair to say.
    Even at that, one persons passionate speech is another persons rant apparently.

You can talk about cult of personality all you want, it's appropriately vague to distract from the message which she is communicating, the fact that she is 16, the fact that she is a girl, the fact that it will mean changes in order for to see changes or whichever other possible reason is the true source of your angst on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Irish PM under fire for extolling benefits of climate crisis
    Activists critical of Leo Varadkar over claim warmer winters lead to fewer deaths

Environmentalists have heaped scorn on Leo Varadkar, Ireland’s prime minister, after he said the climate crisis could have benefits such as warmer winters, lower heating bills and fewer deaths.

Some called the comments silly and weird, others branded them irresponsible.

The taoiseach made the comments in Dublin last week at the launch of an upbeat progress report on the government’s climate action plan.

“One thing we definitely face as a result of climate change is a warmer winter. We’re already experiencing warmer winters and that actually means using less energy because it’s warmer and people need less heating and it also means fewer deaths as a result of cold weather,” he said.

“It’s interesting that when you do look at those things there is a ledger, and there are benefits and there are downsides. The downsides outweigh the benefits, but we need to be aware of them too.”

Irish Doctors for the Environment, an advocacy group, wrote to Varadkar on Monday saying the climate crisis had an “overwhelmingly negative effect on human health”. It asked him to retract and “address the errors” in his speech.

Other environmental campaigners expressed anger and disbelief.

“That the taoiseach would make these comments while delivering a progress report on his government’s climate action plan exposes the extent to which that plan is a surface level response to a multi-faceted crisis, the scale of which they fail to comprehend,” said the Green party.

“Millions are dying or being displaced right now. That will rise to hundreds of millions if the complacency of governments around the world continues. Our milder winters are punctuated by cold snaps that threaten our most vulnerable, including the thousands of people now homeless.”

Oisín Coghlan, the director of Friends of the Earth Ireland, acknowledged Ireland could benefit in a narrow way but said the climate emergency’s wider impacts on the country and the rest of the world were overwhelmingly negative.

Cara Augustenborg, an environmental scientist at University College Dublin, echoed that view, saying the few lives that might be spared from winter-related deaths paled in comparison to wider suffering.

Extinction Rebellion Ireland called the comments shocking. “It’s time for civil disobedience,” the group said.

The spat came as climate experts warned that a catastrophic storm during high tide will flood thousands of homes, businesses and landmark buildings in Dublin in the coming decades.

Peter Thorne, a lead author on the fifth assessment report of the UN’s intergovernmental panel on climate change, said Ireland had so far been able to “dodge a bullet” because storms have struck during low tides.

Ireland is one of the EU’s worst carbon emission offenders and faces fines of more than €250m (£216m) for missing 2020 targets on reducing greenhouse gas emissions and adopting renewable energy.

The government unveiled an ambitious plan in June that outlined measures to curb emissions and set a path for net-zero carbon emissions by 2050.

In recent days the singer Cher and the actor Mark Ruffalo have added their voices to a campaign to stop Ireland becoming an entry point for fracked US gas.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/nov/04/irish-pm-leo-varadkar-under-fire-for-extolling-benefits-of-climate-crisis

Jesus it makes some of the ignorant Clmate Denialism in this thread look respectable.

How many times has she spoken?How many times has been in any way close to being considered to 'screaming heebeejeebies? Outside of the UN speech, a total of zero I think it is fair to say.
    Even at that, one persons passionate speech is another persons rant apparently.You can talk about cult of personality all you want, it's appropriately vague to distract from the message which she is communicating, the fact that she is 16, the fact that she is a girl, the fact that it will mean changes in order for to see changes or whichever other possible reason is the true source of your angst on this.

From someone who includes a whole load of non stop gretacisms in comments - there appears to be a woeful lack of knowledge of the content of her various PR video appearances and speeches at various events where she indeed spouts much of the same type of heebjeebies. Granted the UN event was the icing on the cake - go watch a few of these to become a little bit more informed. But hey no worries ...

Ps why are you mentioning / hung up on the fact she is a '16 year old girl'? Odd no?

KyussB wrote: »
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/nov/04/irish-pm-leo-varadkar-under-fire-for-extolling-benefits-of-climate-crisis

Jesus it makes some of the ignorant Clmate Denialism in this thread look respectable.

That's the thing Varadkar is not a 'Clmate denier' by any stretch of the imagination - much as is with those who point out the whole '12 years to armegedon' is bs - on this thread. That said I never knew Varadkar could trigger such gaseos emissions from the alarmists lol ... :D

Edit: why you still quoting from a source which receives payment from a US industry based (in your words) 'think-tank' to publish directed media content - all the whilst castigating others for their sources. Tut tut ...

Varadkar is pretty much in the same camp as the Denialists - just with such views moderated down to the level of bordering on political acceptability, among the most well off.

Denialists, faux 'skeptics', and politicians implementing cyncally ineffective climate policy and paying lip service to downplaying climate change - they're the same group - just like the way Free Market Libertarians are the batshit end of the right-wing, and NeoLiberals the supposed 'moderates' of the right, designed to be more politically palatable.

If you can highlight the conflicts of interest in Guardian funding, which render the cited article non-credible - go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,372 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Nowhere on earth is climate change more apparent than the New Zealand alps.

Franz Josef glacier in 1910 filled the valley with hundreds of feet of ice. In 2019 its retreated so far back up the mountain its barely visible anymore. Even since 2009 the rate of retreat is astonishing

That's just 2 years

KyussB wrote: »
    Varadkar is pretty much in the same camp as the Denialists - just with such views moderated down to the level of bordering on political acceptability, among the most well off.

Denialists, faux 'skeptics', and politicians implementing cyncally ineffective climate policy and paying lip service to downplaying climate change - they're the same group - just like the way Free Market Libertarians are the batshit end of the right-wing, and NeoLiberals the supposed 'moderates' of the right, designed to be more politically palatable.

If you can highlight the conflicts of interest in Guardian funding, which render the cited article non-credible - go ahead.

Already have - you have not been paying attention evidently - no?

So let me get this straight- anyone who you do not agree with are"faux 'skeptics', right-wing NeoLiberals Denialists" - grand so that makes your argument so much clearer... :rolleyes:

"US industry based think-[tank]" - where's the conflict of interest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Nowhere on earth is climate change more apparent than the New Zealand alps.

Franz Josef glacier in 1910 filled the valley with hundreds of feet of ice. In 2019 its retreated so far back up the mountain its barely visible anymore. Even since 2009 the rate of retreat is astonishing

That's just 2 years

So a lump of ice, on land, is melting. I’ve gone to my fridge and got an ice cube and did a micro experiment and you are right!! Ice melts on land, and it’s bleedin freezing out!! Who should I inform??