Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greta and the aristocrat sail the high seas to save the planet.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Thargor wrote: »
    They're a shower of cnuts for picking on that girl in your second post right after you post a demeaning caricature of a girl of a similar age engaged in the exact same protests in your first post? A bit oblivious no?

And what's wrong with socialism?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

It doesn't work

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Carpentry wrote: »

An early education that breaking the law has consequences. Reckon you can never start young people on the road to being good citizens early enough imo ...

Though tbh its the parents who should be arrested - cnuts is right ...

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭NovemberWren

there is no such thing.

the mere prattle of townsfolk (bourgeoise) society of early 19th century was becoming overly mannered; and the term socialism was invented to distance themselves from any others.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭boring accountant

feargale wrote: »
    Dismount your high horses. Look up "far" in the dictionary. How far does a piece of string go? There is no agreed definition of the length of far in politics or in life. The Daily Mail sure as hell isn't near right.

The climate change deniers can continue shooting the messenger but, heads in the sand or not, the message won't change.

@Maryanne84: Keep reading the Daily Mail. Is that where you read about Devalera being a drunk? Remember?

And now I'm out of here for Christmas. Hostilities will be resumed in the new year. Seasonal greetings to all, including climate change deniers

I object to the Daily Mail purely on the grounds of editorial standards, but the Daily Mail couldn’t possibly be far right and be the biggest news site in the world at the same time. You obviously just have no idea where the centre ground of politics actually is. Hint, it’s not the media who defines the centre ground, it’s the readers/listeners/voters.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

• Registered Users Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Works great until the money runs out

• Registered Users Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Ironicname wrote: »
    It doesn't work

Capitalism isn't working either though, at the rate we're going there'll be nothing left on the planet in 100 years. Let's try something else, socialism ahoy, sharing is caring. Happy Xmas Greta!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

hetuzozaho wrote: »

Enslaving animals for her own pleasure.

Haha take a day off Weldoninhio! We'll get back at it tomorrow ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Poor mutts , surviving on Quorn and Avocado, dog nuts Woof Woof

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Works great until the money runs out
    The money did run out for Capitalism - massive Public Debt and QE-based money creation were used to bail it out.

People define Socialism here precisely as Public Debt and Money Creation based funding - they've spent most of the thread labelling exactly that as Communism - except not when it's for propping up systems they support, then it's labelled Capitalism...

KyussB wrote: »
    The money did run out for Socialism - See Cuba as a prime example ...

Fixed that for you ..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Your retort doesn't make any sense - if both Capitalist and Socialist economies shit the bed when 'the money runs out' - then that neutralizes the original criticism (because it doesn't show 'Socialism' as being any worse than the current system - it's applying a criticism, which the current system is directly guilty of).

Capitalism has led the way in demonstrating that the solution to 'the money running out', is to print money (e.g. QE) and use expanded Public Debt as a buffer (which ironically you and others define as 'Communism') - which is precisely what Capitalism has done over the last decade and a bit, in order to survive.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

KyussB wrote: »
    Capitalism has led the way in demonstrating that the solution to 'the money running out', is to print money (e.g. QE) and use expanded Public Debt as a buffer (which ironically you and others define as 'Communism') - which is precisely what Capitalism has done over the last decade and a bit, in order to survive.

That’s what has happened but that is not true capitalism. Bailing banks out with tax payers money is not really capitalism. If banks were allowed to fail, future banks may be encouraged to behave responsibly.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,635 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

If anyone wishes to post a thesis on socialism versus capitalism you may wish to consider a new thread and the rest of us can then ignore it as we see fit - only the climate change stuff is relevant to this thread though so let's keep it somewhere near the underlying topic

Looks like the Austslian Bushfires are more fodder for greta's personal bandwaggoning on topical issues

Looks like she faces more criticism ...
    If she’s serious about fighting climate change, she should start by fact-checking her claims.

https://www.ccn.com/greta-thunberg-just-got-schooled-climate-change-denier/

• Registered Users Posts: 12,223 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I’m still at a loss as to why this young girl has pissed off all the many miserable mid 30s virgins on boards and reddit and elsewhere. What harm is she doing exactly? Can ye not just ignore her?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

MadYaker wrote: »
    I’m still at a loss as to why this young girl has pissed off all the many miserable mid 30s virgins on boards and reddit and elsewhere. What harm is she doing exactly? Can ye not just ignore her?

How are you coming to that conclusion?

She is not the first child activist, she won't be the last...it is lucrative work

Check out previous child activist https://celebstrendingnow.com/severn-cullis-suzuki-net-worth/ ....from the 90s...she is worth €23 million bucks...

Why are so many creepy people adoring a 16 year old girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

MadYaker wrote: »
    I'm at a loss as to why you want to belittle and ridicule people who don't support Verruca Salt and her corporate backers? This child is nothing but a useful pawn. Almost everything she says is carefully scripted for her, the only personal statements she has made are to throw a tantrum when Trump stole her limelight and she went on a rant about her childhood being stolen, yeah tell that to the street kids in India who live on rubbish tips scavenging for anything they can sell just to survive.

Or the staged photo of her sitting on a floor on a train pretending to be hard done by. Who took the photo of her lost in thought? Perhaps it was one of her entourage who were seated in first class with her? This is a young girl from a very privileged background who has been sailing around the world courtesy of some of the worlds wealthiest people she's getting a little bit carried away which means she's starting to slip the leash now and starting to sound extreme, expect her to be replaced very soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

How are you coming to that conclusion?

She is not the first child activist, she won't be the last...it is lucrative work

Check out previous child activist https://celebstrendingnow.com/severn-cullis-suzuki-net-worth/ ....from the 90s...she is worth €23 million bucks...

Why are so many creepy people adoring a 16 year old girl?

You seem to have missed this post:
    Beasty wrote: »
    If anyone wishes to post a thesis on socialism versus capitalism you may wish to consider a new thread and the rest of us can then ignore it as we see fit - only the climate change stuff is relevant to this thread though so let's keep it somewhere near the underlying topic

feargale wrote: »
    You seem to have missed this post:

Lol Think you might be referencing the wrong post there - poster is clearly referencing greta etc - ie subject of the thread title. But I think you know that already no?

School strike 71!

https://twitter.com/GretaThunberg/status/1210464779506204675

Unite behind the science! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

School strike 71!

Another zoomed in photo, not seeing any other kids around supporting her, or last week either. Too busy playing with their new phones and electronic gadgets manufactured in sweat shops in the third world, anyway there's no point in turning up for Friday protests when the schools are shut for holidays. :D

School strike 71!

So school holidays? Hows that school strike thing work again? ;)

I wonder will this be kept up even if she doesn't return to school ...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

gozunda wrote: »

Ah here now....don't you know it's not a RAYLLY strike...it's a kinda symbolic one...remember when the self-employed Dublin Taxi Drivers went on strike....y'kno like that ...Ok...ye get the idea like...? :confused:

Symbols are great....I luv 'em :D :rolleyes: :( .....;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Austria!

Carpentry wrote: »
    greta-child-socialist-soldier-climatism.png?w=590

I wonder how the climate extremists will cope against this deeply coherent and compelling argument...

• Registered Users Posts: 23,762 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Problem with what she is doing is in order to stay relevant she has to be in the limelight day after day after day. Can't miss a single day.

She'll end up suffering from burnout as we all would.

On the other hand if she disappeared for just a week the herd move on quick!

Another zoomed in photo, not seeing any other kids around supporting her, or last week either. Too busy playing with their new phones and electronic gadgets manufactured in sweat shops in the third world, anyway there's no point in turning up for Friday protests when the schools are shut for holidays. :D
    gozunda wrote: »

Great stuff haha

• Registered Users Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Harika

I'm at a loss as to why you want to belittle and ridicule people who don't support Verruca Salt and her corporate backers? This child is nothing but a useful pawn. Almost everything she says is carefully scripted for her, the only personal statements she has made are to throw a tantrum when Trump stole her limelight and she went on a rant about her childhood being stolen, yeah tell that to the street kids in India who live on rubbish tips scavenging for anything they can sell just to surviven.

It's one thing not to support her, another thing is to post memes about her, limelight, throw red herrings, claim without proof and so on.
    On the other hand the more you and the other media rub itself on her the longer she will stay relevant.