Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Run the Line trail race - 16th Nov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Fantastic event. I haven't done any trail running in a while so I died on the uphills and was probably a bit too cautious on the descents. The new (to me) start/finish location is also a huge improvement on Lamb Doyle's and showed just how big the even as become.
    Kudos to all of the staff and volunteers for making it such a great day. I hope yiz made lots of money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 floodser

Brilliant event. Really enjoyed it. Really well organised with marshals well placed all over the course and a great setup in the Gap. Looking forward to doing the long course next year.

https://www.strava.com/activities/2868585775

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

no early bird entry for next year, just standard pre-reg option :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭kulekat

What a great event. A massive thanks to the volunteers, they were so enthusiastic on sat.

Question for the 26k runners, how does it compare to the 13k route? So is the first half harder than the second?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

Not sure to be honest as have never done the shorter route but this is the elevation my watch recorded for the run if that's of any help.

495688.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭kulekat

opus wrote: »
    Not sure to be honest as have never done the shorter route but this is the elevation my watch recorded for the run if that's of any help.

495688.png

Thanks for that, the 7.5-10km 'hill' looks interesting alright!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

kulekat wrote: »
    What a great event. A massive thanks to the volunteers, they were so enthusiastic on sat.

Question for the 26k runners, how does it compare to the 13k route? So is the first half harder than the second?

The answer is in the training really...
    If you haven't got the training done it will all be difficult...
    Plenty of hills in the 2nd 3rd of the route and collectively it saps the legs near the end (on uphills in particular).
    The other thing unless your on the podium for the short course you have to work out when the best time to walk/wog and conserve/build energy is.(usually uphill;)),
    Terrain wise its grand two forest sections and some fire trails.
    A few from here do reccies the weeks leading up to the event but the maps/trials are good enough off the RTL website to go exploring yourself albeit the forest sections would be tough to find and stay on track have you not done them on several occasions.

My advice join IMRA you'll soon find your way around the different places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭py

There may be a better thread to ask this but what's the deal with all the backpacks? What do people carry in them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

py wrote: »
    There may be a better thread to ask this but what's the deal with all the backpacks? What do people carry in them?

Hydration back packs..a bladder slots in them that you can put water/fuel into and carry with you..straw comes out of them and you can fuel/hydrate during the event
    Depending on the race some require you also carry a mandatory kit as well (rain gear/compass/head torch etc) so you can bang it all in the back pack..

Decathlon/Halfords/Argos/Aldi/Lidl do a cheap entry level version and train with it before race day rather than arrive and run..