Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving a job

Options
  • 14-08-2019 10:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭

Hi all,

I understand it is a busy time of the year for teachers' queries as we enter into the new academic year shorty, however I thought I'd post my situation here to see if any of you very helpful teachers could offer me some advice and guidance.

I have been working in the same school for the past 2 years. I commute to the school for what I believe to be a long commute (1 hour 20 mins in the morning traffic depending). The commute time on the way home is slightly shorter as I try to beat the rush hour traffic. I pay 2 tolls on my way to work and 2 tolls on my way home. I travel 1000 km per week. As you can imagine, commuting costs are quite high taking into account tolls, price of fuel, car services and so on. Accommodation near my school is quite expensive and works out less economical than driving up and down to the school everyday (you have probably guessed the school is in Dublin). I find it very, very hard to save any money.

For the past few weeks I have been dreading the thoughts of going back. I'm not dreading going back to the school as I enjoy teaching there as much as any of the other schools I have taught in. I'm dreading the thoughts of commuting once again for another year; leaving the house at 6am, defrosting the car in the depths of winter and praying there are no incidents on the road that would add time onto an already lengthy journey to work.