Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most ''Hardcore'' forum on boards

That GAA Dublin thread. I made the profound observation that football is crap since Dublin and its massive population started winning everything. Fine. But then I suggested that to improve competition they should... divide Dublin into 4 or 5 county teams. Well. Well. Well. Let's just say a communist going into a Legion of Mary meeting in 1950 to air his views would have got more positive vibes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

biko wrote: »
    thought

through

than
    Crikey, I'm a total grammar nazi but the above is really unnecessary on a casual forum.

Yeah I think Aviation is a great forum - just no need for the codes. I remember one time they were going on about EI this and that. I thought it was something to do with Electric Ireland - forgot it's the Aer Lingus flight code (which is stupid anyway as it should be AL :p).

Weather is a fantastic forum, but yeah, hate when that particular crowd are all "What do you mean howling wind and pissing rain is bad weather? There's no such thing as bad weather - I've climbed mountains in that weather" - yawn.

Remember in Animals & Pets, a woman (whom I suppose should really have known better!) asked for suggestions on finding a really nice, fancy little house for the cat ("a palace" was the term she used, and she was happy to spend a bit extra on it) which was feral and would have to spend more time outside when new baby came along. She was told "My children and I have been crying all day because of people like you" (a local case of cruelty to a dog), "Your new child better watch out - they'll be put outside if they drag mud on the floor". Comedy gold in fairness. :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Animals and Pets. If only because how important pets in particular are to their owners.

Commuting and Transport was a very good shout. Cycling v taxis v privatised transport v new projects, there's always a war to be waged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Another one for the Animals and Pets forum.

It usually works like this.
    A new poster comes in with a question which displays that they are not suitably up on the group think of that forum.
    The get berated, belittled and abused.

New poster responds in kind and get a personal warning.

Group get a general warning.

Yes, I think you do get the odd trol. Hardly surprising as these people who refer to their pets as "fur babies", are ridiculously easy to wind up.

Yes, that’s the word for it. Only certain opinions allowed. There are differing parenting styles. Why not different pet-owning styles?
    The weather forum is a place with a huge amount of extremely odd and very defensive posters. Lads discussing how they are stocking up on gas canisters and tinned goods just because two inches of mushy snow might fall. Something very Alan Partridge about them.

I recall saying that it fairly regularly went over 20 degrees at a certain location every summer. I swiftly got a much-thanked reply informing me that the average summer temperature at that location was something like 18.5 degrees. When I meant fairly regularly, I meant maybe 15 days over the whole summer which would be every four days or so. It would comfortably accommodated by the above-quoted average and could also be classed as not rare. But, nope, the average was 18.5 degrees so end of discussion, variations around the mean apparently being lost on them.

Geography has been dumbed down I see.

I did LC Geography nearly two decades ago. Meteorology was never on the agenda. It’s more a maths and physics discipline anyway.
    begbysback wrote: »
    Was browsing there some time back after I seen a thread for some aircraft crash, was amazed to see a mod warning “no speculation on the cause”

Would have thought it a fundamental right to speculate in such cases
    dubdaymo wrote: »
    In fairness I would have to say that the only time I can recall "no speculation" was probably the R116 tragedy. Those (not me, I hasten to add) who suggested what might have happened (and were eventually proved right) did not get a fair hearing at the time, to put it mildly.

It can be a very interesting Forum for aviation enthusiasts much of the time...BUT..

IMHO, the main problem is that the Forum comes across as being inhabited by a clique of pro Aer Lingus/pro Union/Anti-Ryanair know-alls. Anyone who dares to counteract with opposite views may find themselves threatened (in a most arrogant fashion) with sanctions and are sometimes accused of being trolls (the easy way out of stifling opposite views).

The Germanwings crash thread too. People were not allowed to speculate on whether it was deliberate even though some of them were pretty much bang on the money in their analysis.

Candie wrote: »
    It's a doggy dog world out there.

For all intensive purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,634 ✭✭✭✭josip

I would of taught 'intents' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,698 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

But then I suggested that to improve competition they should... divide Dublin into 4 or 5 county teams.

You'd change your tune after a few Dublin v. Dublin All-Ireland finals in a row...

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

That GAA Dublin thread.

There is a sad little man with over 200 posts in that thread alone, just repeatedly deflecting, obfuscating, playing the whataboutery card all in the aim of stifling any discussion.

Over 200 posts on one subject, thats just sad. If you can't make your point in less than 200 posts then you probably don't know what you are doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

By American political standards, FG are far left

In European politics there's much less of a correlation between belief/unbelief and political views, but that's far from the case in the US unfortunately. The "left" of the Democrats tends to be atheist/agnostic, the right Catholic, the Republican "moderates" (extremist by mid-20th century American political standards) mainstream Protestant, the right-wing are strongly Evangelical / Creationist. Shur who cares about the environment when all our lives are dictated by God's Plan and the Rapture is near. etc.

what has this got to do with an atheist forum in Ireland. That’s the other thing that is odd about the place. It’s nearly entirely driven by American politics and entirely fearful of it.

As for atheism in general - the 4 horsemen are/were clearly right wingers. And generally they were the most influential atheists of our age. The problem is that not believing in god isn’t a reliable indicator of much else. The forum here has gone fairly left wing, of the intolerant type.
    Which personality are you talking about...? Hardly Michael Nugent of Atheist Ireland, he comes in for criticism as well as praise as far as I can see.

The cult of personality is of the posters in the forum itself.
    You only have to express non-belief in god(s) - when asked - and some dope is slagging you off. Oh well. I know which one of these three I'd rather be accused of being:

Who is slagging you off? It’s 2019. Nobody is a genius for not believing in God in 2019.

You realise most of us are atheists here right? Except for the obvious posters who post in Christianity and a few who suppose abortion on religious grounds it’s common.

I did LC Geography nearly two decades ago. Meteorology was never on the agenda. It’s more a maths and physics discipline anyway.

Contours were on the agenda. After that all that is needed is knowing what a H is or an L is and the weather fronts.

I’m sure they still are. Meteorology is way more than contours. Anyone hoping to study it in college is encouraged to study physics and maths. A lot of people working in the field have an undergraduate degree in maths/physics disciplines and then do further study in meteorology which requires a degree in those fields, not geography. There are some specialised degrees that will incorporate it all. I know all this because I was interested in meteorology at one point at school and was good at science but realised I wanted to focus on biology so meteorology would not be for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

dfx- wrote: »
    Animals and Pets. If only because how important pets in particular are to their owners.

Commuting and Transport was a very good shout. Cycling v taxis v privatised transport v new projects, there's always a war to be waged.

Commuting & Transport is like a microcosm of what is going on the roads everyday, all different modes of transport competing for the same limited space and tempers getting frayed. Hence there is a lot of bickering on there, just as there is on the roads.

The Infrastructure forum on the other hand is excellent, especially the threads on the Metro. There is a lot of very knowledgeable posters on there, so much so that the NTA acknowledged in a report that they are monitoring the thread.

Arghus wrote: »
    The soccer forum can be tetchy at times.

There's United and Liverpool fans there who just can't let anything go. The pettyness is pure playground stuff.

I've heard horror stories about the commuting and transport forum, but I can imagine the horror without having to experience it.

The radio forum is mostly fine but every so often there's someone there who just can't relax.

I can’t even enjoy the Soccer forum rows. It’s all just so infantile. GAA too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,698 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

what has this got to do with an atheist forum in Ireland.

There must be thousands of threads on Boards discussing American politics, is it only the few ones in A&A you have a problem with?

Also you might have noticed during the referendum last year the attempts by far-right religious groups from the US to influence the vote, including sending campaigners over here?

The 1983 referendum that brought in the 8th amendment in the first place was bought and paid for by the US religious right.

Who is slagging you off?

You get called bollocks like "fundamentalist".

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Indeed so, pacifically in the business world.

I’m sure they still are. Meteorology is way more than contours. Anyone hoping to study it in college is encouraged to study physics and maths. A lot of people working in the field have an undergraduate degree in maths/physics disciplines and then do further study in meteorology which requires a degree in those fields, not geography. There are some specialised degrees that will incorporate it all. I know all this because I was interested in meteorology at one point at school and was good at science but realised I wanted to focus on biology so meteorology would not be for me.

Yeh but the guy we are talking about was complaining about squiggly lines on maps. Not having to work out the equations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,322 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Hardcore? Pro wrestling obviously. Disagree with me and I'll hop a chair off your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

64323a5418e590f3b076adc20908f13cf70e3aaa_hq.gif

Yeh but the guy we are talking about was complaining about squiggly lines on maps. Not having to work out the equations.

I don’t ever recall any geography teacher of mine explaining how contour lines can be used to read did weather charts. I wouldn’t immediately make the link myself, to be honest. The thing the respective maps are measuring are different, for starters - one measuring pressure readings, the other height above sea level. Learning about pressure readings is veering into physics rather than geography already. And we don’t even know if that poster did geography up to LC but even if they, it’s hardly a signifier of dropping standards in geography teaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Commuting & Transport is like a microcosm of what is going on the roads everyday

Bollox it is, its a microcosm of what goes on in the NTA :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,614 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The weather forum when there's a storm forecast and it turns out to be a damp squid. Lads genuinely devastated that nobody was killed. They put these 'events' on such a pedal stool.

I’ve been over there, bit of a storm in a tea cup.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,877 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I don’t ever recall any geography teacher of mine explaining how contour lines can be used to read did weather charts. I wouldn’t immediately make the link myself, to be honest. The thing the respective maps are measuring are different, for starters - one measuring pressure readings, the other height above sea level. Learning about pressure readings is veering into physics rather than geography already. And we don’t even know if that poster did geography up to LC but even if they, it’s hardly a signifier of dropping standards in geography teaching.

Hm actually it is more or less the same, indeed most weather charts except for surface level are actually showing a height (geopotential) at a certain pressure value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I'd be a casual reader of the weather forum (generally when a big 'event' is happening) and I find them a great source of information. They are much more valuable to the site than the majority of other forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

I don’t get the criticism of the weather forum. Sure, it blows hot and cold but...

Hm actually it is more or less the same, indeed most weather charts except for surface level are actually showing a height (geopotential) at a certain pressure value

Right, but if you weren’t taught that, it’s not necessarily intuitive. It’s easy to scoff at others for not knowing something you know, like Franz Von Peppercorn did, but we all have huge gaps of knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A route to future disaster, as many dinosaur biologists would agree in the couple of seconds after the meteor struck:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

As an atheist pretty far left British lone mother of a Muslim's child with a special need noone believes in (Adhd) living in a council house and having been on social welfare for a few years before I find thrills in nearly every forum to be honest.

The worst? Animals and Pets.

Oh, I'm also a teacher doing f- all for the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Experience_day

zanador wrote: »
    As an atheist pretty far left British lone mother of a Muslim's child with a special need noone believes in (Adhd) living in a council house and having been on social welfare for a few years before I find thrills in nearly every forum to be honest.

The worst? Animals and Pets.

Jeez what some people do to tick the diversity boxes for HR nowadays!

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

Jeez what some people do to tick the diversity boxes for HR nowadays!

:p

I know- I actually have a few others I can tailor for jobs ðŸ˜

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

No one mentioned Prison?

Guess that probably means none of you, Zaph excepted, have found yourselves posting in there,,,,,

....yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Beasty wrote: »
    No one mentioned Prison?

Guess that probably means none of you, Zaph excepted, have found yourselves posting in there,,,,,

....yet

Thats because Boards prison is the most civilised prison known to man.

Now if we were allowed to post there and kick a man while he is down like in a normal prison then that would be great entertainment value and well worthy of a mention here.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Thats because Boards prison is the most civilised prison known to man.

Now if we were allowed to post there and kick a man while he is down like in a normal prison then that would be great entertainment value and well worthy of a mention here.

Don't worry we delete those appeals don't get into that sort of stuff

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,379 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Indeed so, pacifically in the business world.
    Pacific porpoises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,511 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

No one mentioned Prison?

....yet

Prison used to be great craic, til someone threw all their toys out of the pram and the powers that be decided they had to play it straight for some reason.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Prison used to be great craic, til someone threw all their toys out of the pram and the powers that be decided they had to play it straight for some reason.
    Unfortunately that was the "Feedback" provided by a number of posters

It does though mean that when you see threads there the appellant usually does have some chance of reprieve

If they have no chance we do not allow them access when banning (although some do slip through the net)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I got to post in Prison once! :D Can't believe that was nearly 11 years go. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

adox wrote: »
    I don’t get the criticism of the weather forum. Sure, it blows hot and cold but...

I like the weather forum but only in spring and summer, I suppose you could call me a fair weather fan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,220 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Is this what the men for 1916 fought and died for???

Yes. There were many lesbian and gay people amongst those fighting in 1916. And James Connolly was certainly a very strong feminist too so probably in todays world would be a strong lgbt rights advocate.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I'm glad you posted that, JK. I had a situation with a young relative a while back and would dearly have loved to run some things past the folks in that forum to make sure I was handling things as well as I could, but a quick look through it put me off because I would afraid I'd phrase something ambiguously or something, and be torn apart myself or offend someone unwittingly. It doesn't seem welcoming in that way, which is a pity because I could have used some help.

I think you may have been too afraid and that the forum would have been much more welcoming than you believe. I'm sorry you felt it wouldn't be though.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

No one mentioned Prison?

....yet

Prison is no craic any more.. you're too nice to them, trying to find them every opportunity to get out.

Now Gordon on the other hand. He was more of a batton across the bars type warden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Tikki Wang Wang

Yes. There were many lesbian and gay people amongst those fighting in 1916. And James Connolly was certainly a very strong feminist too so probably in todays world would be a strong lgbt rights advocate.

I’m eating my breakfast, Kate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Fascinating, can you name some?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

The odd paedophile knocking around too by all accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

padd b1975 wrote: »
    The odd paedophile knocking around too by all accounts.

Can I ask why you felt the need to make a comment linking paedophilia to homosexuality?

I fall into neither of the categories above, but it always bothers me when people casually lump them together. They are far from one and the same.

I’m eating my breakfast, Kate

Does thinking about lesbians put you off your breakfast. Maybe you need to see someone about that.

Terry Pratchet

Can I ask why you felt the need to make a comment linking paedophilia to homosexuality?

I fall into neither of the categories above, but it always bothers me when people casually lump them together. They are far from one and the same.
    I don't think he did that. But Pádraig Pearse seems to have been a paedophile, as well as a bit of a bollix, who thought the Irish were a nation of idiots anyway. But we digress.

Roger Casement was another one.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

But Pádraig Pearse seems to have been a paedophile, as well as a bit of a bollix, who thought the Irish were a nation of idiots anyway.

Hold up ...really?? :(