Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great British Bake Off 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,299 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Eleysian wrote: »
    ^^^ Wasn’t it a treat to se them all look out for another. I prefer this to the adult version and sure didn’t miss Paul.
    Definitely. I wouldn't miss him tbh, Liam Charles wouldn't be my first choice to replace him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I loved the Christmas special today!

Glad it was bakers I like the first time around.

However I totally would have gone with a different winner based on that showstopper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,384 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Remind me who's the UK sitcom actress that Jane is a ringer for;

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/profiles/4kVWWxvplNwPB05XRRvfJrT/jane

p044t93d.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Remind me who's the UK sitcom actress that Jane is a ringer for;

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/profiles/4kVWWxvplNwPB05XRRvfJrT/jane

p044t93d.jpg

The guy from The Inbetweeners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I loved the Christmas special today!

Glad it was bakers I like the first time around.

However I totally would have gone with a different winner based on that showstopper

Well no, both Showstoppers were excellent. Somebody else should have won based on the technical round.

Derry girls gbbo on now!

That was brilliant.

Dónal wrote: »
    That was brilliant.
    So much fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Like GBBO...don't like Derry girls....it's a no watch from me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

That was a brilliant hour of TV. Must go find a Cork battenberg tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,384 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Dónal wrote: »
    That was brilliant.
    gmisk wrote: »
    So much fun!
    Definitely feelgood TV for all the family - lots of laughs from the teens watching in this house.

Just love the native Derry accents from Jamie Lee and Saoirse too - very sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,504 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm only catching up on this now - best Christmas TV of the season by a long shot!

They're an absolute hoot, I love 'em all!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I still haven't watched it but I think with a rainy lunchtime on the cards, today is the day :D I love Derry Girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

GBBO for Stand up to Cancer coming in 2020. Some interesting celebs announced.

https://twitter.com/BritishBakeOff/status/1214336092008136711?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Gosh, I'd hardly recognise Carol Vorderman.

Some interesting names in there. Some for the "yuuf" as well, names I'd only recognise from hearing about them from younger generations!

Oh God, Alison Hammond :(

Other than that, I've only heard of about half of 'em (which is good going for me),

And if pushed I'd have sworn blind quite a few of them have done GBBO before! There's definitely a circuit of these shows that they all do, they all start to blend (in my head anyway) after a while :o

Still looking forward to it though!!

Gosh, I'd hardly recognise Carol Vorderman.

Some interesting names in there. Some for the "yuuf" as well, names I'd only recognise from hearing about them from younger generations!
    Carol Vorderman is turning into Benjamin Button!

My small claim to fame is that I was on Countdown about 20 years ago (back in the days of Richard Whitely RIP and Carol), and met her in the prep room beforehand, getting the make-up done - and I honestly did not recognise her, it was her voice that gave her away. Make-up, hairdo (and I suspect a deal of cosmetic enhancement these days) goes a long, long way......

Any idea when this will be aired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

miamee wrote: »
    I still haven't watched it but I think with a rainy lunchtime on the cards, today is the day :D I love Derry Girls.

We only watched it yesterday, and it was great craic. They must have some fun on set

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Any idea when this will be aired?

I think it was on around March or April the last time.

GBBO for Stand up to Cancer coming in 2020. Some interesting celebs announced.

https://twitter.com/BritishBakeOff/status/1214336092008136711?s=19

Louis Theroux! Amazing

AM I the only one that thinks that's a terrible line up? I don't know half of them and don't like the other half. Can't see myself watching somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

My small claim to fame is that I was on Countdown about 20 years ago (back in the days of Richard Whitely RIP and Carol), and met her in the prep room beforehand, getting the make-up done - and I honestly did not recognise her, it was her voice that gave her away. Make-up, hairdo (and I suspect a deal of cosmetic enhancement these days) goes a long, long way......

Did you win? :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

No way! How did you get on?

Ah no :mad:

From an initially sceptical viewpoint (I'd never even heard of Noel), I thought they developed into a great double act, perfect for the show.

Feck.

Aw no, I really liked Sandi :( Herself and Noel were great together. I never liked Mel & Sue (especially Sue) because with them it was basically "The Mel & Sue show" with some baking thrown it. With Noel & Sandi it was all about the bakers, which is the way it should be.

Wonder who the new presenter is going to be? I hope Noel doesn't leave as well :(

I wonder if Noel will go to?
    Will they promote Harry Hill from Junior GBBO?

Hope not, I can’t stand Harry Hill.