Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone else here a teetotaler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

All teetotalers I know are dim or deviant or have a dark secret

Two outta three!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I tasted alcohol when I was younger and didn't like it so I never saw the point in forcing myself to drink it to impress anyone. Often when I've been out with my family my brother or brother in law have said "you'll love such and such a drink" and told me to take a mouthful of whatever they're drinking. I've told them alcohol is alcohol and it all tastes the same to me but they keep going on about it so eventually I have to take a drink just to shut them up or I'll never hear the end of it. Without fail I think it's disgusting.

I have no problem with people drinking if they enjoy it, but I find it ridiculous the way some people are obsessed with everyone around them having to drink. For instance my mother is 86 and on a load of medication. She really shouldn't be drinking alcohol but anytime she goes somewhere with my brother and his wife they keep buying her drink after drink. You're useless to my brother if you're not getting pissed and entertaining him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

All teetotalers I know are dim or deviant or have a dark secret

A lot of the haggard looking pub types I see around here are the kinds of ppl I wouldn't have anything to do with in a million years.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

touts wrote: »
    I am by choice. Not religious or medical or anything. Just don't like alcohol and never have.

What's amazing is how that choice seems to empower people to think they can abuse me. I remember being at a match and the father of a mate called me a "****ing dry arse", and not in a joking way, when I said I didn't drink. He really seemed to think there was something wrong with me that I didn't share his love of alcohol. Never met the prick before or since and his son apologized for him.

That is just an example and wasn't a rare event so now I just say I'm driving. However I've come to the conclusion that alcoholism and binge drinking is such a problem in people's lives that they react angrily to anyone who have enough control not to let alcohol take over their lives.
    Hm within Ireland yes, it's generally an irrational response alright. However living abroad I have come to the conclusion that a large percentage of nondrinkers do tend to come across as dry ****es on evenings out and at parties. Going home early every time and missing out on the rest of the fun, tending to be quieter as they don't lower their inhibition level. You need to have a fun, open personality in the first place to keep up with the drinkers and even then it can be draining.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Me.

Almost three years.

Just not for me anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,821 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I never ever been a drinker at home I don't see the point, Iv always just drank to be social , Not saying I'm not social without it I am but i'd only drink if I was out for a reason ,

I'd much rather go out once every two months or so and get drunk, not steaming drunk but a good drunk, But as off this year iv decided not to bother at all anymore for the foreseeable further my Kids are young and weekend time is priceless so I don't want to be hung over or not wanting to be up and out early with them ,

Also I laugh when people say I don't need alcohol to have a good time as a badge of honour,

Its ok to have a few drinks and enjoy yourself,

Humans since time began have been drinking or smoking drugs or licking frogs to let there hair down and be social its human nature, Alcohol is fine as long as you don't have a problem with alcohol

I tasted alcohol when I was younger and didn't like it so I never saw the point in forcing myself to drink it to impress anyone. Often when I've been out with my family my brother or brother in law have said "you'll love such and such a drink" and told me to take a mouthful of whatever they're drinking. I've told them alcohol is alcohol and it all tastes the same to me but they keep going on about it so eventually I have to take a drink just to shut them up or I'll never hear the end of it. Without fail I think it's disgusting.

I have no problem with people drinking if they enjoy it, but I find it ridiculous the way some people are obsessed with everyone around them having to drink. For instance my mother is 86 and on a load of medication. She really shouldn't be drinking alcohol but anytime she goes somewhere with my brother and his wife they keep buying her drink after drink. You're useless to my brother if you're not getting pissed and entertaining him.

Interesting story. :rolleyes:

Shut up you idiot or you'll get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,810 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Why is it anyone else's business. I can understand someone with a drink problem deciding to consciously go tt, but even then it should not be necessary to have to explain yourself. And there is something a bit prissy about the Pioneer movement - don't drink if you don't want to, but you don't have to join a club and make a production of it. The rest of us don't care if you choose to drink or not.

If I feel like having a drink - alcoholic or otherwise - I will have one, I don't need anyone's approval and I don't expect anyone to comment on it, or comment if I refuse one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,694 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

No, but usually give it up for January, and did the same for June this year.

Had a couple of heavy nights recently, culminating in a late one with friend who was moving home to Poland inviting me over to help him finish off a bottle of whiskey, so I've decided to stay dry for the rest of the month to give my body a break.

Haven't been in a pub for probably a few months now, but it's easy, too easy, for me to sip away at whiskey a few nights a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

No I’m a Geetotalor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

I must admit whenever I give up drinking completely I feel much better generally, get people saying I look younger, and I wonder why I drink at all.

I have given up completely twice now, once in in 2007 for a full week, then again this year for 4 days about 2 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’m enjoying not drinking. Gave up due to health issues that I’m 90% out the other side of... don’t miss it. I’d be in the pub 3 times a week but limit myself to Diet Coke. I don’t miss the hangovers. Enjoying having copious amounts of energy, clarity, fitness and health. I intend to keep in that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Quit over 16 years ago at the age of 21, had no choice it was life or death. Used to be one of the lads who would scorn at people who didnt drink or even didnt drink enough or fast enough around me because ultimately it made me feel insecure about the problem that i was having with it.

I have to say though i've had more positive feedback than negative over the years, in fact if anything i get a lot of people who want to have a private conversation about their own drinking and the damage its doing to them when they find out why i don't drink.

But anyone who presses the issue (it was always women by the way :pac: ) i see it as a pretty accurate indicator that they're not the type of person i want or need in my life and go on about my business, lifes too short to feel like you have to please others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If anyone thought it right and proper to look down on someone for not drinking... well let’s just say it would be the last conversation I’d be having with them you’d be some seriously stupid fûck if you want to base your judgement towards someone on the basis of them drinking or not.. that’s simply Neanderthal behavior...if someone on the other hand wants to go drinking five nights a week that’s their business I’d think no less of them either... their body, their life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

looksee wrote: »
    Why is it anyone else's business. I can understand someone with a drink problem deciding to consciously go tt, but even then it should not be necessary to have to explain yourself. And there is something a bit prissy about the Pioneer movement - don't drink if you don't want to, but you don't have to join a club and make a production of it. The rest of us don't care if you choose to drink or not.

If I feel like having a drink - alcoholic or otherwise - I will have one, I don't need anyone's approval and I don't expect anyone to comment on it, or comment if I refuse one.

I had not heard of the Pioneer movement, not being Irish, until one day here when the bus was dropping the neighbour who is a serious overdrinker off at his house. The driver asked me if I drank and I said no and he asked if I had been a lifelong Pioneer.

It may well help some folk get off drink and stay off it? Like AA?

That was the original intention, it was introduced by a Priest as a follow on to an earlier temperance movement to get men who drank their wages off the drink, and fair enough. It was a sort of early AA. It has been corrupted since - what else is new? - and children making their confirmation are asked to take the pledge not to drink until they are 18.

Again, fair enough in itself, but there used to be something creepy - and it annoyed the hell out of me - about the teachers taking children who practised songs in school to go and put on a Pioneer 'show' with added local entertainers, some evening in some remote Parish Hall. They were always very badly organised and would still be going on at 11 at night when the children had to be at school the next day, and parents hanging around waiting to take them home. I have no idea why they felt the need to do these shows. I lost patience one time at gone 11 pm and went in (I refused to sit through the tortuous evening, I would wait in the car) and rooted my two out and took them home - they still hadn't done their 'performance'.

I used get very irritated by the sanctimonious besoms who never missed a chance to flaunt their virtue and their Pioneer pin.

And I was never much of a drinker anyway! You can tell it gets me riled up still!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

14dMoney wrote: »
    I always found it unbelievably frustrating trying to round people up at the end of the night though.

Even drunk my friends knew if they were messing I wouldn't hesitate to leave them to find their own way home. Only happened once!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I'm 26 so I do get the anode comments quite a bit.

That's positive!

I'm not a tee-totaler, but have mentioned here before I do an annual month/ 6 weeks off the drink to test myself to make sure I'm not an alcoholic. I'm pretty sure my drinking is moderate-normal, but that's also what an alcoholic would say.

This year I'm taking September off drinking, so the Boards Beers will be the last Hurrah for a month, maybe 6 weeks. Any chance a few others might be interested in doing it?

I don't do Dry January because it's not a real challenge -- nobody is going out because they're broke, and people in your social circle are probably doing it too.

Having said that, it would be interesting if a few here were also interested in it, because we could compare notes and experiences whilst also not being in the same social circles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I like a few pints, but I can live without it easily enough.

I don't really drink to excess any more on a night out, I might stay out all night but I pace myself. As the years go on my ability to recover from a mad session is definitely in decline - it's never really worth it anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Mrs S is a life long Pioneer. Very handy when we're out socialising, as I always have a designated driver. Every home should have a teetotaller.

Mr Crumble doesn't drink either. I'm not a big drinker myself, but as you say always good to have your life home sorted :)

That was the original intention, it was introduced by a Priest as a follow on to an earlier temperance movement to get men who drank their wages off the drink, and fair enough. It was a sort of early AA. It has been corrupted since - what else is new? - and children making their confirmation are asked to take the pledge not to drink until they are 18.

Again, fair enough in itself, but there used to be something creepy - and it annoyed the hell out of me - about the teachers taking children who practised songs in school to go and put on a Pioneer 'show' with added local entertainers, some evening in some remote Parish Hall. They were always very badly organised and would still be going on at 11 at night when the children had to be at school the next day, and parents hanging around waiting to take them home. I have no idea why they felt the need to do these shows. I lost patience one time at gone 11 pm and went in (I refused to sit through the tortuous evening, I would wait in the car) and rooted my two out and took them home - they still hadn't done their 'performance'.

I used get very irritated by the sanctimonious besoms who never missed a chance to flaunt their virtue and their Pioneer pin.

And I was never much of a drinker anyway! You can tell it gets me riled up still!

All this is new to me! Never heard the like! A PIN?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

No I like beer.

Wow, what a great post, why can't I thank it!!??

I have one account!

Im eating my breakfast Kate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Why did you decide? How long ago?

few years ago, mental health reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Inventive User Name

I've never drank. When I was a teenager, the peer pressure from my friends actually had the opposite effect! I didn't want to drink just because other people were telling me I should. I'm now 27 and still haven't. I've always been interested in health & fitness so that's probably had an Influence as well. Suppose I'm a bit of an oddball because I've never craved it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I've never really drank. I've gotten drunk to see what it's like and to keep the whingers at bay, but otherwise, I'm happy enough to go out sober.

Like others, I just never liked the taste of alcohol and every alcoholic drink tastes pretty much the same. I used to drink lucozade but it tastes worse than alcohol now! Kopperberg does an alcohol free drink that's quite nice, so now that's my drink of choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I often go weeks and months without a drink and can respect people who abstain on a night out if they have a busy day next day ,but somebody who never drinks I do not trust.

I build a storey in my head that they are monsters and the drink unleashes that side of them and they are keeping it hidden , but they are still those monsters .
    or you know they may not like the taste , but seriously serial killer monsters is more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It seems to be more acceptable nowadays. Years ago you were as dry as an African footpath if you didn't drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I often go weeks and months without a drink and can respect people who abstain on a night out if they have a busy day next day ,but somebody who never drinks I do not trust.

I build a storey in my head that they are monsters and the drink unleashes that side of them and they are keeping it hidden , but they are still those monsters .
    or you know they may not like the taste , but seriously serial killer monsters is more likely.

Its called insight and maturity realising that drink and or drugs leads them to do things that are not happy with, make them aggressive, violent or nasty and they just decide its not for them.

I know soemone who gave up for no particular reason and then realised they never liked alcohol much anyway no amazing revelations or anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

I build a story in my head that they are monsters and the drink unleashes that side of them and they are keeping it hidden , but they are still those monsters .

I have had a 'hangover' from 7up, just the one bottle, only non-alcohol they had, don't drink soft drinks now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I have had a 'hangover' from 7up, just the one bottle, only non-alcohol they had, don't drink soft drinks now!

I had a Godawful headache one morning after 2 bottles of strawberry&lime Kopperberg the night before. It wasn't the alcohol but the sugar.

I'm not teetotal, I'll have the very occasional drink but it's very rare. I do get sick of being the designated driver, it's like herding cats if you have a few rogue giddy people you need to corral into the car when all they want to do is make one last, very important, slurred point to the complete stranger they've planned to take over the world with, and whose name they can't remember.

I had a Godawful headache one morning after 2 bottles of strawberry&lime Kopperberg the night before. It wasn't the alcohol but the sugar.

'Twas, aye.

"I think I ate a dodgy burger", groaned Rhubarb the morning after he downed eleven bottles Bicardi Breezers and several vodka tonics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I rarely drink. If I'm out, I prefer the comfort of being able to drive home at the end of the night. And if I'm at home, I'd rather just have a mug of tea. While I don't get drunk easily, a sniff of drink is enough to give me a hangover so bad you could almost take a photograph of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

I’ve become an alcoholic in the past couple of weeks. Half bottle of whiskey every evening. Cheaper than the drug habit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Was a fairly infrequent drinker to begin with, but when I did drink I had a tendency to overdo it.

I suppose I would say I can be fairly anxious in larger social groups, so I would often drink more to compensate for the lack of fitting in or being able to perform as well as others in that area.

Other than that it'd be drinking a bottle of wine with dinner by myself every now and again. I'd almost prefer to shop after 10 so as not to get the urge to grab a bottle. Never really felt fulfilling and i'd always regret having wasted a tenner or so afterwards.

I 'gave up' one night about 3 years ago after an experience on LSD and haven't looked back since.

That said, I'm not particularly against drinking and probably wouldn't consider myself teetotal, though others seem eager to apply the label to me.

Would happily indulge if I found myself in a time, place or with company that I felt I could enjoy it. I definitely have far less desire to drink in general in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Never had a taste for the drink, nor the constitution.

Seen enough of it's devastating effects to last a lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not, but for the amount of times I actually drink, I may as well be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭vixdname

Used to drink quite a lot as a younger man, sometimes every night.
    I used to work in pubs and clubs back in the day so i saw both sides of the coin.
    Eventually, I realised I was losing way to many days to hangovers and generally feeling messed up after too much alcohol the night before.
    Dont get me wrong, I had great nights on the beer to.
    Eventually the kids arrived on the scene and theres no point in having a hangover at 06:30am when theres a dirty nappy waiting to be changed.
    Over time I just got completely out if the habit, and thats all it was, a habit, which, omce broken, didnt have any real appeal to me anymore.
    I still have the odd pint now and again but Id probably be able to count those pints drank every year on my 2 hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

As above exactly, circumstances change and your life changes.

I often think about all the craic I'm missing every Saturday night out the town, the music etc but when I do have a night out, I always find the realization that you aren't missing much at all. If anything.

All that partying, drinking, weekends on the lash, its a young persons game. And that ain't me.

yep; the dip when the sugar runs out ! only cure is.... more sugar

Deja Boo wrote: »
    Never had a taste for the drink, nor the constitution.

Seen enough of it's devastating effects to last a lifetime.

My illness causes a bad reaction to alcohol. Like frogs in the brain. Seems an auto immune thing? A lot of folk with CFS/ME are the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

I’ve become an alcoholic in the past couple of weeks. Half bottle of whiskey every evening. Cheaper than the drug habit.

That's the spirit.

Adapt and overcome.
    Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,562 ✭✭✭celt262

My 5 year old said to me the other day that he can't wait till he is an Adult so he can have a good drink. I wouldn't mind i just get out maybe once a month now for a few pints my days of mad weekends are long behind me.

Have gone to a few parties and didn't bother drinking said i was driving but didn't stop people trying to force drink onto me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Uncharted wrote: »
    That's the spirit.

Adapt and overcome.
    Well done.

I need help. But can’t ask anyone.