Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular Opinions - OP Updated with Threadban List 4/5/21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Yes.
    Now if the child was my niece,or someone I cared for then thats a different story....but those important to me come first and always will.

Some might lecture me on priorities, morals, compassion etc, and think that gives them some moral high ground, but you must also understand the fact I would do that for my dog shows I do care, maybe not in usual way of thinking, my care has always been for those I care about. I am not ashamed to admit either.

I have no doubt some person who will have difficulty grasping this will try to convince themselves he "must be trolling", cos that is the excuse used on the net by some when they are unable to accept what they read.

Well, its an unorthodox opinion that's for sure. But so be it. Just remind me never to be on a sinking boat with you and you're dog

• Registered Users Posts: 28,979 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Antares35 wrote: »
    I have many unpopular opinions I'd love to post but I always stop myself because it just isn't worth the outrage from others.

Unpopular opinion, the unpopular opinions thread is not a safe space for unpopular opinions.

If you can't tolerate people judging your opinion perhaps you're more worried about what it shows up about yourself that you're not proud of.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Quazzie wrote: »
    If you can't tolerate people judging your opinion perhaps you're more worried about what it shows up about yourself that you're not proud of.

Did I say judgement? I thought I said outrage.

"It says more about you" is such a tired old cliché around these parts.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,399 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

cms88 wrote: »
    While i have little systempay for teachers most of the time, i do agree with you on some the parents with special needs. I've head some say how they've been telling the children wh many days before they wer back etc and how upset the children will now be. Well maybe they shouldn't have got their hopes up when there was always a good chance that the schools wouldn't reopen.

It's a;way annoyed me how some parents with a special needs child will use the child as a way for them to get their own way.

I agree 100%.

There was a woman on RTE news yesterday and then on Prime Time later on that night whose son has autism who seemed to take it upon herself to be a spokesperson.

Except her arguement was ruined when she admitted "I am not an expert in the field....". Well stop condemning the government's decision so.

I wonder if the parents of special needs children were given weekly compensation to home-school, would they be giving out as much?

ShyMets wrote: »
    Well, its an unorthodox opinion that's for sure. But so be it. Just remind me never to be on a sinking boat with you and you're dog

Or a survivor on a plan wreck. Anyone remember Alive!? :pac:

It sounds more like you can't handle people having differing opinions so you resort to personal attacks. Consider asking yourself why that is.

Can you point out one instance where I resorted to personal attacks?

Driving yesterday and I caught a snippet from something on the radio about trolling on social media etc. The woman talking said, "well, you know everyone is very brave behind the keyboard". My unpopular opinion is that most people on Boards who pick on other people and tear their posts apart and treat the last word like the holy grail are actually probably really nice, in real life :)

You said "Perhaps you're more worried about what it shows up about yourself says about yourself and you're not proud of".

That's a personal attack. You're suggesting that his character is something to be ashamed.

I'm suggesting that the poster's inability to accept any feedback on his opinion might mean that he isn't confident his opinions are ok to begin with. It's not personal, I don't know the person. I'm making a suggestion that the poster can accept, or move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭growleaves

I agree 100%.

There was a woman on RTE news yesterday and then on Prime Time later on that night whose son has autism who seemed to take it upon herself to be a spokesperson.

Except her arguement was ruined when she admitted "I am not an expert in the field....". Well stop condemning the government's decision so.

I wonder if the parents of special needs children were given weekly compensation to home-school, would they be giving out as much?

How people are continually dazzled by the magic-word "expertise" I'll never understand.

There is no track record of success for these inhumane lockdowns, no historical precedent and no empirical basis.

Its just here is a university-trained theoretician from the sciences to say this is how we're doing things.

They may as well be throwing fairy dust into people's eyes.

growleaves wrote: »
    How people are continually dazzled by the magic-word "expertise" I'll never understand.

There is no track record of success for these inhumane lockdowns, no historical precedent and no empirical basis.

Its just here is a university-trained theoretician from the sciences to say this is how we're doing things.

The Spanish flu of the 20th century shows many instances of flattening the curve and the success of these instance were attributed to lockdowns. Not knowing something exists does not mean it isn't there. It just means you're ignorant to it's existence.

LINK

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

People are focusing on some imaginary child dying, instead of seeing how much I care for a living creature.

It is an imaginary situation. The dying child is just as much imaginary as you sittng there with your dog on the imaginary boat.

"Ahh sure look at Justin. He loves his dog so much that if a totally imaginary disaster situation were to arise he would save the dog over a child. Give that guy a medal. What a hero."

Is that what you are expecting?

Anyway if this totally hypothetical situation arose than no, you would not choose the dog.

I'm suggesting that the poster's inability to accept any feedback on his opinion might mean that he isn't confident his opinions are ok to begin with. It's not personal, I don't know the person. I'm making a suggestion that the poster can accept, or move on.

Ah now, first you said "judgement", then you said "feedback" - this is my third time to say and second time to iterate I said "outrage". :)

The Spanish flu of the 20th century shows many instances of flattening the curve and the success of these instance were attributed to lockdowns. Not knowing something exists does not mean it isn't there. It just means you're ignorant to it's existence.

There were limited closures and restrictions in a few US cities on a timescale of weeks/months in 1918.

That is not a precedent for what is happening now.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,601 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I don't like IKEA.

There were limited closures and restrictions in a few US cities on a timescale of weeks/months in 1918.

That is not a precedent for what is happening now.

When second waves occurred, the lockdowns were repeated, and worked just aswell the second time. Unfortunately due to us not adhering to lockdown rules enough or lockdown rules not being strict enough, we are now gone beyond the second wave.

Its said the 3rd wave was the worst/most fatal of the spanish flu........and so concludes my knowledge on the subject :pac:

No you are confused. The limited closures and restrictions that happened in Sep 1918 to Feb 1919 in a handful of cities were during the second wave. Read your own link.

There has been never been stricter shutdowns as in 2020/1 outside of Stalinist Russia.

Because there has never been a need to have such strict restrictions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

It is an imaginary situation. The dying child is just as much imaginary as you sittng there with your dog on the imaginary boat.

"Ahh sure look at Justin. He loves his dog so much that if a totally imaginary disaster situation were to arise he would save the dog over a child. Give that guy a medal. What a hero."

Is that what you are expecting?

Anyway if this totally hypothetical situation arose than no, you would not choose the dog.

Why are you incapable of accepting I care more about my dog than a stranger I dont know ?
    Why is this so hard for people like you to accept ?
    Do you feel threatened by different reasoning to things in life ?

Are you so confused you have to try convince yourself I must be lying in order to placate your own warped vision of how the world should be ?

Maybe you cannot accept that my love and loyalty to those and things i care about far exceeds any care I have for strangers. If so then that is your problem not mine, and trying to suggest I must be lying or really implying it, wont alter the truth.
    Why is it too difficult to accept I could be telling the truth.

Why are you incapable of accepting I care more about my dog than a stranger I dont know ?

Are you so confused you have to try convince yourself I must be lying in order to placate your own warped vision of how the world should be ?

Maybe you cannot accept that my love and loyalty to those and things i care about far exceeds any care I have for strangers. If so then that is your problem not mine, and trying to suggest I must be lying or really implying it, wont alter the truth.

This needs to be brought back to just one seat since you didn't even consider giving your own life in your scenario.

Three questions: What would you do if it was you and your dog, you and a random child, and you and your child?

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

Secondary school isn't nearly as important as we pretend it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Secondary school isn't nearly as important as we pretend it is.

It's probably more important than people think. Not in terms of education but in developing children, socialising them and teaching appropriate behaviour.

A lot of the vermin walking our streets would have benefitted from staying in school instead of spending formative years in youth gangs eventually leading to a life of crime. Of course parents are important too but I feel it should be compulsory to do the leaving cert.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

It is not a question of accepting it or feeling threatened. Rather strange angle to take. This is a hypothetical siuation. If that is how you feel so be it. I don't believe you are lying and I have not suggested otherwise and no doubt you love your dog very much. I just find your response amusing and just file it under bravado/keyboard warrior.

As a matter of interest and be truthful, do you have children of your own?

But like I said in my original response- if that sitaution were to arise there is no way you would leave a child drown so it is very easy for you to sit there typing out otherwise. A lot of big talk if you don't mind me saying and no doubt in your head you have no doubt you would save the dog. The reality would be very different.

You firmly believe that if you were in that situation you would save the dog- fine I don't doubt your belief as you sit behind a computer screen. But having said that I don't believe for one second that you would save the dog if it came down to it- nobody would save the dog first unless the person has some serious mental health issues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

This needs to be brought back to just one seat since you didn't even consider giving your own life in your scenario.

Three questions: What would you do if it was you and your dog, you and a random child, and you and your child?

You seriously need to learn how to accept that some other people will not think like you.
    Accept it, move on, tell yourself whatever it is to convince yourself i must be lying, joking trolling or whatever in order to think you are right, i am wrong.
    Is it that hard to accept I am being honest.
    Do you think you have some moral superiority ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

kowloonkev wrote: »
    It's probably more important than people think. Not in terms of education but in developing children, socialising them and teaching appropriate behaviour.

In some ways yes, but school also does nothing to prepare kids for simple stuff like: Making basic home repairs, opening a bank account, basic employment law, getting a mortgage.

"Young adults" graduate from secondary with their rote knowledge but completely unable to function in the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭bocaman

Getting into third level immediately after doing the leaving cert isn't the be all and end all. Better off waiting a few years and entering uni etc in your early 20's.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I don't like IKEA.

IKEA is full to the brim of vast swathes of cheap, tacky, flimsy, plasticky, plyboard ****e.

But there are the very occasional nugget amongst all the crud.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    IKEA is full to the brim of vast swathes of cheap, tacky, flimsy, plasticky, plyboard ****e.

But there are the very occasional nugget amongst all the crud.

That would be the meatballs :pac:

I actually like some of their stuff, my last kitchen was an Ikea one, a kind of country style one and we were short on space so there were clever space saving hacks. One thing I don't understand is the people who (well pre-covid anyway) treated it like a day out for the family. Dump the kids in the childcare facility, go off and spend hours looking at the furniture then reconvene in the Ikea restaurant for meatballs and other aeroplane quality food. A dead man wouldn't want that life :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

I don't like IKEA.

The safety of their furniture has been brought into question on more than one occasion.