Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular Opinions - OP Updated with Threadban List 4/5/21

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I only ever bought from IKEA once. A wardrobe last year. It arrived on a Sunday and on Monday I had it packed into a refuse bag and sent it straight back. To be fair no questions asked and a full refund.

It was a pile of crap...over priced chipboard. Grand if you are still 25 and living in rented and/or a student but not good enough for my discerning tastes.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

bocaman wrote: »
    Getting into third level immediately after doing the leaving cert isn't the be all and end all. Better off waiting a few years and entering uni etc in your early 20's.

So true. The four years I spent in college immediately after LC were a complete waste. I would have been better off working full time.

I am where I am today (in terms of career success) because of courses I did in my late twenties when I had the cop on to do something relevant and useful. Ironically, those qualifications were much harder achieved, because I worked full time while studying and paid my own fees. Sometimes when something is just handed to you, it's taken for granted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

CruelCoin wrote: »
    In some ways yes, but school also does nothing to prepare kids for simple stuff like: Making basic home repairs, opening a bank account, basic employment law, getting a mortgage.

"Young adults" graduate from secondary with their rote knowledge but completely unable to function in the real world.

They might not know about mortgages but at least they might qualify for one. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Suckler

In some ways yes, but school also does nothing to prepare kids for simple stuff like: Making basic home repairs, opening a bank account, basic employment law, getting a mortgage.

"Young adults" graduate from secondary with their rote knowledge but completely unable to function in the real world.

"Completely unable to function in the real world". Out of all the thousands of school graduates where are they to be found unable to function in their masses??

I'd argue it prepares you well enough for all your suggestions and more. They are all simple tasks of reading/comprehension and problem solving. You're complaining about "rote knowledge" but want them spoon fed all these other things as well??

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

kowloonkev wrote: »
    It's probably more important than people think. Not in terms of education but in developing children, socialising them and teaching appropriate behaviour.

A lot of the vermin walking our streets would have benefitted from staying in school instead of spending formative years in youth gangs eventually leading to a life of crime. Of course parents are important too but I feel it should be compulsory to do the leaving cert.

Absolutely agree with that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

spot on.

I could sew, iron, cook, wallpaper, etc since a kid, as we were taught that at home.That is just household things.

I know grown adults who are bright in terms of schooling but thick as mince in other ways

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Saying that school does not prepare adult for real life is a little over dramatic. It was always thus so to say that this generation are worse than previous generations is just not true. How many of our fathers or grandfather know how to cook, sew, iron etc?

It is true that the school system is designed essentially for sitting and passing exams. Nothing more and nothing less. Could it be more holistic? Sure why not. Is that not the logic behind Transitional Year? But you ask parents should their child spend time learing more french or poetry over sewing/ironing...no parent is going to say sewing.

But ask yourself...is it really a school's role to teach opening a bank account, employment law, sewing, ironing, getting a mortgage, etc etc? As the poster above said, they learned it at home.

I mean opening a bank account...what does that take...a 15 minute appointment with the local bank? Hardly needs to be taught does it. When I opened up my account at 18 after leaving cert, my parents dropped me in to the bank and I sat and filled out the forms. That was it- not exactly rocket science. I had a Post Office book from the age of 8 that I used. Now you can simply open up an account sitting at home at your laptop.

A child's education rests primarily with the parent/parent/guardians. Criticising the school system is looking in the wrong direction. The school system is just one aspect of a child's education/development. It is not meant to be the be all and end all.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Do secondary schools not do Civics classes any more?

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭LilacNails

Im sick to death, of hearing about the poor students, the poor kids, the poor parents....schools, child care workers. Every. Hour. Of. Every. Fckin. Day. On the radio and TV. And yes, I do switch over when anything about them comes on.
    The world is made up of other humans too. There's other people out there who are struggling just as badly, or even worse in their cases. Even before this nuisance of a pandemic there's always been people suffering and struggling. So suck it up a bit, struggle on and instead of ringing into Joe Duffy, take a 5min break outside in the fresh air instead.

LilacNails wrote: »
    Im sick to death, of hearing about the poor students, the poor kids, the poor parents....schools, child care workers. Every. Hour. Of. Every. Fckin. Day. On the radio and TV. And yes, I do switch over when anything about them comes on.
    The world is made up of other humans too. There's other people out there who are struggling just as badly, or even worse in their cases. Even before this nuisance of a pandemic there's always been people suffering and struggling. So suck it up a bit, struggle on and instead of ringing into Joe Duffy, take a 5min break outside in the fresh air instead.
    I read an article last night by a healthcare worker who spoke about how during wave one, many patients died without family and some even without a doctor or nurse because at the time they weren't sure about the efficacy of PPE equipment. They had a Spotify account so that the family could stream music, and the families used to send in clothes for their deceased to be buried in... even though they were placed in body bags after.

I can't imagine how a grieving relative or friend feels listening to people complaining about the "curtailment of civil liberties" because their routine is upset. I just wouldn't be able to cope with that. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭LilacNails

There's people out there with no one. No contact no connections, and these times have made things even more unimaginably sad, difficult and lonely. And their the same ones who comply with the lockdowns and advice given. These people are forgotten about, it's just sad. The ones who shout and give out the most are usually the only ones that get heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭cms88

There's people out there with no one. No contact no connections, and these times have made things even more unimaginably sad, difficult and lonely. And their the same ones who comply with the lockdowns and advice given. These people are forgotten about, it's just sad. The ones who shout and give out the most are usually the only ones that get heard.

Agreed. These are the people who it's effecting more than others. In fact they're most likely called ''sheep'' by the social media experts.

I said it before,, year ago people gave their lives to fighting in world wars, they saw horrors, depression and all sorts.

Today we have soft poncey pampered little sh1ts who think because the pub is closed or they cannot go clubbing or eat in a restaurant they are going through some sort of hell.

This whining how its so hard staying in and spending my time watching tv and speaking on the phone, as if that was some sort of sacrifice.

Entitled kunts

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭99nsr125

I agree they are always on the back foot trying to get services but now is not the time to put teachers and sna's at risk needlessly

Statistically schools are almost the safest place to be.

The teachers need a kick up the hole or put on the pup

99nsr125 wrote: »
    Statistically schools are almost the safest place to be.

The teachers need a kick up the hole or put on the pup

Can you not see how the statistics are being manufactured to feed the narrative you are spouting?

If they don't test kids, or teachers or if they don't treat them as close contacts when they're in the same room as an positive case, then yes schools will be statistically very safe.

I think by the way things are going Ireland will be close to herd immunity before the vaccine process reaches the less vulnerable in society. By my reckoning we probably have 10,000 actual cases a day at the moment, and probaby 20,000 daily at the beginning of January. That's probaby underestimating it based on the non testing of close contacts and all the asymptomatic cases that may be multiples of daily positive cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭W123-80's

I think all the vaccines, whilst safe and the best that could be developed in such a short time frame, are gonna prove relatively useless in the context of efficacy.
    More than likely requiring further R&D and development over many years.
    I don't for a second think they are gonna be the magic bullet we are hoping for.
    I think 2021 is a totally write off along with another year or two on top.
    We are gonna be in some sort of Lockdown/open up cycle for a couple of years until we have an effective vaccine and/or herd immunity.

kowloonkev wrote: »
    Can you not see how the statistics are being manufactured to feed the narrative you are spouting?

If they don't test kids, or teachers or if they don't treat them as close contacts when they're in the same room as an positive case, then yes schools will be statistically very safe.

I think by the way things are going Ireland will be close to herd immunity before the vaccine process reaches the less vulnerable in society. By my reckoning we probably have 10,000 actual cases a day at the moment, and probaby 20,000 daily at the beginning of January. That's probaby underestimating it based on the non testing of close contacts and all the asymptomatic cases that may be multiples of daily positive cases.

You are incorrect

Children are tested in households with close contacts or positive cases

The teachers don't want to teach, they don't care about the children who they constantly use as emotional blackmail.

We would hear the statistics screamed from the radio and TV if teachers were at risk

There would be interviews with teachers in hospitals if they were at risk.

Guess what there's not because it's not happening, the fûckers don't care about the damage being done to a generation and all of society.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,737 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

W123-80's wrote: »
    I think all the vaccines, whilst safe and the best that could be developed in such a short time frame, are gonna prove relatively useless in the context of efficacy.
    More than likely requiring further R&D and development over many years.
    I don't for a second think they are gonna be the magic bullet we are hoping for.
    I think 2021 is a totally write off along with another year or two on top.
    We are gonna be in some sort of Lockdown/open up cycle for a couple of years until we have an effective vaccine and/or herd immunity.

The mRNA vaccines efficacy is beyond what anyone imagined it would be, and has made older proven vaccines look ineffective as a result. The Oxford/AZ has an excellent efficacy compared to other vaccines (likely because the spike protein is a good attack vector for vaccines), but is being made less good by comparison.

Efficacy is also one component, but lack of severe cases for those who do get the virus and show symptoms is the more important part, it could be 5% efficacy, if the 95% who show symptoms only get mild to moderate symptoms of the disease.

You are incorrect

The teachers don't want to teach, they don't care about the children who they constantly use as emotional blackmail.

We would hear the statistics screamed from the radio and TV if teachers were at risk

Guess what there's not because it's not happening, the fûckers don't care about the damage being done to a generation and all of society.

I thought they weren't testing close contacts anymore?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,660 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I don't think I have read a more inaccurate statement on Boards today.

Poster obviously has something against teachers.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I don't think I have read a more inaccurate statement on Boards today.

Poster obviously has something against teachers.

Then why is there a concerted effort to obfuscate

Do you see retail workers or healthcare workers or public transport workers behaving the same way and they are all at an elevated risk.

The teachers simply don't care about the young lives they are destroying.

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,660 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Then why is there a concerted effort to obfuscate

Do you see retail workers or healthcare workers or public transport workers behaving the same way and they are all at an elevated risk.

... and there you go again.

I just did a count, and I know 6 teachers locally, one my OH.
    I have spoke to 4 of them recently, including my OH, and they all really want to get back into the classroom as trying to teach via Zoom is a balls.

I know its only a straw poll, but what makes you so sure that all the teachers are happy to be working from home? Have you spoke to many?

You also have to remember that it is fine for some of them to have concerns about being in the classroom. As a nation we are being told to avoid contact with each other, but you think they should be in a classroom with up to 30 different kids, any number of which could pass on the virus to them.

And remember too that many teachers would have vulnerable people in their circle who they could bring this virus back to, be it their partners, their own kids or their parents etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,560 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

99nsr125 wrote:

How so?

You are incorrect

I think you may have reading comprehension issues, which is ironic considering your stance on kids going to school.

If a kid tests positive most of the other children and teachers in their class are not considered close contacts and are not tested. I never mentioned households.

Added to that they have stopped testing all close contacts unless symptomatic or vulnerable. You are totally clueless on the subject.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,354 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

United Ireland dog whistling and trolling is putting Unionist backs up and hampering any attempt at any effort at one island containment.

It's strange how during the BSE crisis both jurisdictions worked seamlessly together and it was only about cows, not people's lives.

Delighted that scummy MvGregor lost.

Never understood this idiotic notion that because someone is irish , other Irish should "support their own"

In fact supporting someone or liking someone based on where they come from could be argued as almost racist.

Never understood this idiotic notion that because someone is irish , other Irish should "support their own"

In fact supporting someone or liking someone based on where they come from could be argued as almost racist.

Never forgot about the time he sported a floor length mink fur coat. Can't buy class I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭17togo

You've mistaken this for the popular opinion thread!
    The only people who are disappointed he lost wear pyjamas around town (female version) or walk around with their hands in their jocks (male version). In Ireland anyway. People in other countries think that scrotey behaviour is a bit of Irish craic..... 🀷*♂️, hence his millions!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

joe biden is not on the level :eek: