Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular Opinions - OP Updated with Threadban List 4/5/21

I have have an account and also run a channel on Vimeo. Yes, they are separate entities on Vimeo.

Since Vimeo and YouTube are both owned by Google

the Stats system used on each platform is virtually identical, more or less the same .

Vimeo has better quality security is my reason for being on it. I pay for it but it's worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

I have have an account and also run a channel on Vimeo. Yes, they are separate entities on Vimeo.

Since Vimeo and YouTube are both owned by Google

the Stats system used on each platform is virtually identical, more or less the same .

Vimeo has better quality security is my reason for being on it. I pay for it but it's worth it.
    What kind of and how much porn do you post on your channel?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭facehugger99

In general, I think Caucasian women are more attractive then Black women.

I'm also really disappointed that the phrase "That's so gay" can no longer be used in normal conversation anymore - in my view, it's never been properly replaced with an alternative 'politically-acceptable' phrase.

I'm also really disappointed that the phrase "That's so gay" can no longer be used in normal conversation anymore - in my view, it's never been properly replaced with an alternative politically-acceptable phrase.

There has been an acceptable replacement though?

You not knowing that is just so transgender.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

I can't believe this. You're a bloody racist /s.

No, but seriously, I'm a black man in my 20s and I agree. In fact, i think the majority would agree in Western society. In general ANY women is better than a black woman (so long as she's not a white redneck/knacker/gypsy). I would date an arab woman so long as she isn't Muslim. don't want to be allahu akbared when having sex .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

I think that we shouldn't give up seats for choices people make (i.e. pregnant women). Elderly people I can understand but just because you got knocked up and your hubbie can't afford a car, doesn't mean I'll give you a seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭facehugger99

People should not be allowed to drive on a public road until they have passed a driving test or unless they are with an instructor.

The driving test should be a lot harder to pass. Part of the test should involve you having to maintain a speed of a minimum of 90kph on a 100kph road for at least 5km. Like in Speed, if you drop below 90kph your car metaphorically explodes and you fail the test.

People should need to re-take the test every 5 years - if you fail, you're off the fcuking road.

Once you get to 65, this should be every year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Tom tom club were more influential than Talking heads.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Greyfox

The driving test should be a lot harder to pass...

People should need to re-take the test every 5 years - if you fail, you're off the fcuking road.

This won't change the fact that a lot of people become careless after they pass the test. The every 5 years would just turn into a money racket rather then been a good thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

People should not be allowed to drive on a public road until they have passed a driving test or unless they are with an instructor.
    That is totally impractical. How on earth would anyone afford to pay someone to sit in the car with them every time they go somewhere? Learners have to be accompanied and that's enough.

I'm also really disappointed that the phrase "That's so gay" can no longer be used in normal conversation anymore - in my view, it's never been properly replaced with an alternative 'politically-acceptable' phrase.
    We could just go back to calling someone "a big girls blouse" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Most environmentalists are insufferable but their points are valid.
    This is my opinion and I know loads of people who would agree they are insufferable and loads who would agree with their views, but almost no one who thinks both things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

The environmentalists can’t get anything right . They failed to control a fire hose the other day . They interfere with public transport which is the most environmental way to travel . They make unnecessary journeys like the young one that crossed the Atlantic for no good reason . They get the publics back up with their mad stuff and over exaggeration . It would be very interesting to get to the bottom of / if / who is bankrolling them and for what reasons .

• Site Banned Posts: 106 ✭✭Enough is Enough!

There is nothing wrong with tinker fights as long as they fight fair and shake hands once it's done.

Nothing wrong with settling things like men.

There is nothing wrong with tinker fights as long as they fight fair and shake hands once it's done.

Nothing wrong with settling things like men.
    What about slash hooks at weddings and funerals? Do they get extra man points?

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    What about slash hooks at weddings and funerals? Do they get extra man points?
    Using slash hooks is just so transgender.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭10fathoms

Dublin IS a kip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

10fathoms wrote: »
    Dublin IS a kip

Anyone who complains about that should leave if they hate it so much.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

No homeless person or asylum seeker should get housed in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

10fathoms wrote: »
    Dublin IS a kip

I'm not sure that's an unpopular opinion , but fire ahead

cjmc wrote: »
    I'm not sure that's an unpopular opinion , but fire ahead
    Ah , don’t burn it !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

You decide what phrases and terms you use!! No one else. That's gay, Don't be gay and That's bent are ones I have used and heard of being used while being able to understand what is meant by them, without associating them to ANY traits the gay community is known to obtain that homophobic people see is as disgusting etc or what way they think.

I remember when I was in or around 12, and there was a scout leader who was gay. When we would say 'don't be gay', 'that's gay' or even when the word gay was said it would send us into a panic if/when he was around, thinking we've offended them while knowing that it was bad that feeling was a repercussion of saying it. I remember when he approached us at a different time, knowing of the many times he had heard us say it and thought it was nice that we were aware of how it would make him feel because he was, in fact, gay. He then went on to explain what context meant. He knew what those terms meant and they had no impact on him. Where I grew up those kind of sayings were not thought of as offensive. I didn't know anyone who held homophobic values or traits, it's only now in this pathetic society, where we are being told how we are to speak and what speech is acceptable.

A mate of mine whos girlfriend is your typical fisher price woke feminist tried giving me a lecture of the "dramatic consequences" of using that phrase. My mate is Irish living in Holland. The gf is Greek. She was not capable of comprehending my rather simple explanation of "different cultures love". The penny didn't drop, that dialect is not a universal language. This is Ireland now and it comes from women more than men.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 271 ✭✭lleti

I have several unpopular opinions, some related to trans and climate change that would probably get me banned so I'm going to go with a probably not so common opinion.

The whole "UNITED IRELAND!!!" thing makes me cringe. Lads going mad acting as if they're been suffering for 800 years or something. Lay off the victim complex would ye?

Vast majority of people in the country have not been negatively impacted by Ireland being a republic and NI being in the UK. Ireland has been invaded multiple times throughout it's history.

I see people go on about the DUP as being stuck in the stone age or whatever yet loads of people yearning for something that last happened several hundred years ago..

And to top it off, as time goes by and as immigration happens the people living in ireland become less and less and less linked to those people who were in Ireland when it was invaded by the brits so it all seems a bit stupid to want something just because it was that way hundreds of years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

We'd still be farming supds and wipindg our arses with our hands if it wasn't for the British.

They gave us all their infrastructure, social values and the common law.

What the hell did the O'Connor's,the last Irish Royal family, ever do for us?

• Registered Users Posts: 82,818 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

vriesmays wrote: »

No able bodied person who hasn't worked a day in 5 years should be in social housing in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

If/when a border poll happens, I'll be voting against a united Ireland. I'd rather keep all nordies on the other side of the border.

We'd still be farming supds and wipindg our arses with our hands if it wasn't for the British.

They gave us all their infrastructure, social values and the common law.

What the hell did the O'Connor's,the last Irish Royal family, ever do for us?
    Do they make an Irish Cream Liquer .

https://www.google.com/search?ei=0taYXfSoHpeU8gLNqJmACA&q=O%27Connors+Cream+Liquer&oq=O%27Connors+Cream+Liquer&gs_l=psy-ab.12...8973.9190..11721...0.2..0.89.177.2......0....1..gws-wiz.......0i71.TyLtaT14LvM&ved=0ahUKEwj02bWf1oXlAhUXilwKHU1UBoAQ4dUDCAo

vriesmays wrote: »
    No able bodied person who hasn't worked a day in 5 years should be in social housing in Dublin.
    Or any city centre. If they want a free house give them one out the country where they can spend all day scratching their hole. Keep city centres for people who are working (or studying) and contributing. It's crazy that someone like Margaret Cash can get a four bed forever home in Tallaght at 28 and there are other 28 year old's commuting and working who can't afford to move out or get a mortgage. People who are renting in Dublin are only dreaming of owning their own home. Absolute joke of a system.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,040 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Shaving your face daily is a much bigger fashion statement than choosing not to shave but for some reason it is usually seen as the opposite.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Foster and Allen - my uncle Mike, is the best song ever made

Skibberididdidlidididileda