Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

308 win Super Hammerhead

• 21-08-2019 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭

Has anyone here any experience of using these 150 gn rounds on deer? They group great in my rifle but never shot deer with em. They seem to be a tough bullet and may not expand well. I was using superformance 150 gn sst but they dont group as well as the sako.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

I've no experience with that actual bullet configuration but have always used soft points in .243, .270 and 30-06. Federal, Winchester, Remington was usually my choice of pill.
    Deer are not tough skinned or heavy boned animals so if the Hammerheads are indeed as advertised-

Heavy jacketed, strong and non-fragmenting, ensuring controlled expansion. Bonded core construction produces high weight retention, producing good penetration. .....followed by actual extensive big game hunting tests.

...they may indeed be too tough for our deer and possibly pass through with out the required damage.

Dead is dead, but dead on the spot (give or take a few paces) is even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭richiedel123

270WIN wrote: »
    Has anyone here any experience of using these 150 gn rounds on deer? They group great in my rifle but never shot deer with em. They seem to be a tough bullet and may not expand well. I was using superformance 150 gn sst but they dont group as well as the sako.