Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dave Chappelle triggers the Woke Left..

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

As soon as I saw this thread was back I knew what was posted.

I love Chapelle and the last 2/3 mins are very good of that vid.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,226 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Feisar wrote: »
    It is funny that on boards ****** is censored while knacker is not. One can argue that knacker also refers to a trade but why is ****** censored, it has a culinary meaning as well.

Why can't I call a black person the n word? Well firstly why would I? After that though, this is an American thing going back to slavery times. Whites in America treated blacks as commodities, so that's conjured up when a white American refers to a black American as a ******. If I rock up in the Congo and call a lad I meet a ****** it's kind of pointless. At the time his ancestors were selling lads to the American's mine were starving (and not taking the soup). However due to America's culture's reach it'll probably land me in trouble.

The word "Knacker" has multiple meanings. "I was knackered".

The word "nigger" really only goes one way in the modern world and outside of an academic discussion about the word itself, it's usage is strictly limited to a verbal offence.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It's almost as if Chappelle can hold two thoughts in his head simultaneously; wokeism is bad AND Trump is bad - these are not contradictory thoughts.

In the world of simplistic binary thought, such things are impossible to comprehend for some people.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

Tony EH wrote: »
    The word "Knacker" has multiple meanings. "I was knackered".

The word "nigger" really only goes one way in the modern world and outside of an academic discussion about the word itself, it's usage is strictly limited to a verbal offence.

Yes but why is fággot, can mean a meatball type thing and it's censored.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 32,715 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

...take a wild guess?
    Do you think a lot of people still eat those?
    Use it as an insult to mean a meatball? Come on let's not play silly games here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭lemonTrees

Well, it is a bit ridiculous that Black people can call each other the N word without offense, but anyone else who does it is a racist. It should be the manner in which the word is used rather than the word itself.

And honestly, Liberals have been pushing their sensitivity down the throats of everyone for ages, they deserve some offence directed their way. The US has become incredibly PC, it's not comparable to Ireland or Europe (yet)

You can't even call black people blacks anymore according to woke liberals.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭McHardcore

That was awful stuff compared with his specials. Couple of laughs here and there but generally lazy stuff.

The whole white people thing is getting old now.

What made Chappelle worthy of being called a genius for a very long time was that there was always a nugget of truth in his observations when the laughter died down. Never did 'Funny cause it's true' apply more to a comedian than it did with him.

These days though? Not so much.

Oh come on. He was funny "triggering the Woke left" but not when he started making jokes about Trump? From his latest SNL monologue:

“Helicopter took him to Walter Reed Hospital.... Team of doctors waiting for him, doctors came around, gave him experimental medicine and stuff. Flew him back home in the helicopter .... Then walked right in the house, killed four more people. I said, ‘$750.50 in taxes goes a long way, doesn’t it, sir?’”

Thats hilarious, and has a "nugget of truth" in it too. :D

Now you're just moving the goalposts.

You asked about a specific word. You got your answer (though you already knew why it is censored). But I'm really not interested in a rabbit hole of what about this/what about that, because if you really want to get around the censorship of a particular word, it isn't that hard.

If you have a problem with any word being censored, take it up with the owners of the website.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Now you're just moving the goalposts.

You asked about a specific word. You got your answer (though you already knew why it is censored). But I'm really not interested in a rabbit hole of what about this/what about that, because if you really want to get around the censorship of a particular word, it isn't that hard.

If you have a problem with any word being censored, take it up with the owners of the website.

Actually, I had fággot in my original. Why would have mentioned culinary otherwise.

gmisk wrote: »
    ...take a wild guess?
    Do you think a lot of people still eat those?
    Use it as an insult to mean a meatball? Come on let's not play silly games here.

Fair point, I'm only splitting hairs for the sake of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,715 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Fair point, I'm only splitting hairs for the sake of it.
    Well don't, it's extremely unpleasant.
    I am guessing if you had experienced being called that word you wouldn't take how it can be used as a horrible insult so lightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,712 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Dave Chapelle has a good point about this :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

Would it be ok for Ricky Gervais to start laughing at how covid reduced black youths stabbing each other in London during covid?

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    Would it be ok for Ricky Gervais to start laughing at how covid reduced black youths stabbing each other in London during covid?

Depends how he delivers it

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod

Feisar, feedback can go to the Feedback Forum or Help Desk Forum as appropriate. Its off topic here.

Depends how he delivers it

yeah i can agree to that but i reckon a lot of the "woke" left would think its only ok to joke about white people, if it goes one way it should go the other, i do feel white people just shouldnt use the n- word though.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

in my head - yes, in a tv producers head - no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭lemonTrees

Would be career suicide.

lemonTrees wrote: »
    Would be career suicide.

like it should be for Chapelle, its the hypocrisy of it all that gets me.

Of course it would, and he’d be celebrated for it too, being the “edgelord” that he is -

At least Chapelle does clever satire that’s actually risky.

Of course it would, and he’d be celebrated for it too, being the “edgelord” that he is -

At least Chapelle does clever satire that’s actually risky.

dont think it would go down the same way tbh, the media would be calling for his head.

They wouldn’t, Ricky Gervais is loved by the Hollywood set, because his jokes are perfectly safe. There’s nothing risqué about his act. He’s just playing to a safe crowd of like-minded people, just the same as himself.

Dave Chapelle on the other hand, is responsible for some of the greatest characters in satirical comedy, like Clayton Bigsby -

They wouldn’t, Ricky Gervais is loved by the Hollywood set, because his jokes are perfectly safe. There’s nothing risqué about his act. He’s just playing to a safe crowd of like-minded people, just the same as himself.

Dave Chapelle on the other hand, is responsible for some of the greatest characters in satirical comedy, like Clayton Bigsby -

dont think you are understanding my point, if he was to say something about black people that would be considered very risque and not safe at all in todays world.

I do understand your point, that’s why I’m pointing out that nobody would bat an eyelid if Ricky Gervais made a joke about black people, because he’s practically a protected species, one of the intelligentsia, the left liberals appear to be under the impression the prick could walk on water. He could parrot Donald Trump and say he could shoot someone and the Hollywood elite would still protect him.

The same could not be said of Dave Chapelle, who built his career on tackling stereotypes and showing people how stupid they actually are. He walked away from a $50m deal with the network, while Ricky Gervais claims he doesn’t care if he doesn’t host the Oscars. He knows well that as a protected species, he will never actually have to care.

I do understand your point, that’s why I’m pointing out that nobody would bat an eyelid if Ricky Gervais made a joke about black people, because he’s practically a protected species, one of the intelligentsia, the left liberals appear to be under the impression the prick could walk on water. He could parrot Donald Trump and say he could shoot someone and the Hollywood elite would still protect him.

The same could not be said of Dave Chapelle, who built his career on tackling stereotypes and showing people how stupid they actually are. He walked away from a $50m deal with the network, while Ricky Gervais claims he doesn’t care if he doesn’t host the Oscars. He knows well that as a protected species, he will never actually have to care.

i get you but i think joking about black people not stabbing during covid ala Chappelle and white terrorists would not do down aswell, we will agree to disagree so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

yeah i can agree to that but i reckon a lot of the "woke" left would think its only ok to joke about white people, if it goes one way it should go the other, i do feel white people just shouldnt use the n- word though.

Whats the n-word?

google is your friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

biko wrote: »
    As soon as I saw this thread was back I knew what was posted.

I love Chapelle and the last 2/3 mins are very good of that vid.

If he had of stuck to making light of the same things they would have loved it but he took aim at white privilege, Trump and they got 'triggered' I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,489 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Overheal wrote: »
    SNL after election was called

That was awful stuff compared with his specials. Couple of laughs here and there but generally lazy stuff.

The whole white people thing is getting old now.

What made Chappelle worthy of being called a genius for a very long time was that there was always a nugget of truth in his observations when the laughter died down. Never did 'Funny cause it's true' apply more to a comedian than it did with him.

These days though? Not so much.

Dave Chappelle Triggers The Woke Right?