Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dave Chappelle triggers the Woke Left..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

There's zero need to start discussing why George Nkencho was shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 UziDoesIt

Interesting bit of anti-semitism here which seems fine with everyone on the forum. Referring to American Jews as simply "diaspora" and of course then the trope of owning the banks.

Remind me again who was at the forefront of the civil rights movement with black people? oh that's right, it was the "diaspora". Something that black people seem to have forgotten about too.

And do tell us what the Asian Americans have done to deserve being attacked in the streets too? do they own something that blacks believe they should have?

I had just picked up on that as being any white non natives. But I only read it quickly. Maybe that's why it wasn't picked up as anti semitic?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

What's anti semitic about it?

I'd presume the poster is responding to the user 'buried', who appears to be blaming the jews for keeping the black race down?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Oh I thought it was some sort of specific response to the word 'diasapora' . Anti Semitism is the socialism of fools.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,775 ✭✭✭buried

lol You can label it "anti semitism" all the Hell you want buck, its the literal truth. Did some other diaspora own the ghettoes and the banks? Mexicans was it?

Asian Americans? What are you on about? People getting attacked in the streets is an everyday concern, I got it over here in my country all day everyday. What has that got to do with anything I was talking about?

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

That's not what I'm doing. What I said was you can't blame a certain community of people for feeling hostile towards another community of people who basically were de-facto in control of their recent historical environment and controlled their environment extremely badly. We Irish know all about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 UziDoesIt

It's exactly what you were doing. You thought you'd be 'clever' with it and shroud it in certain language but couldn't resist using disparaging 'othering' language like "diaspora" to denote that Jewish Americans aren't actually Americans and that they came in and co-opted everything from the poor blacks and as such, one can't be surprised if blacks go around punching Jews in the face every day on the streets of NY. I mean gee, you "can't blame them". Sicko.

No, all I did was state actual historical facts. Just because you don't like those facts, or try to cry foul upon them for whatever agenda you have, doesn't negate that those facts are true. 100% true.

How do you mean, "you thought you'd be clever", all I did was use the term that best denotes the argument I am trying to make. How is that "clever"? Anybody could find out in two seconds exactly what I was talking about, because that is the term any person would know or could find out in two seconds exactly what I was talking about. It is a Jewish term, its genesis is Jewish after the fall of Jerusalem.

Never said Jewish Americans aren't American either. Show me where I did, seeing how you seem so sure.

Look buck, sorry if History offends your person, but there's f**k all I can do about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,712 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m certainly not one to be offended by history, it is after all written by the victors, but honestly when you used the term diaspora in the context you did, and I assuming you’re Irish yourself, I thought you were referring to the Irish immigrants of that time period to America and how they treated black people.

I didn’t imagine you were referring to Jewish immigrants who were treated no better than black people, and often they shared the same neighbourhoods, with banks and financial institutions regarding them as being one and the same in terms of their social status during the period you’re referring to.

Perhaps if you had linked to sources to support your opinion, I would have been left in no doubt you were actually referring to Jewish immigrants, or Italian immigrants, or Chinese immigrants, etc.

No, I was referring to the small cabal of Jewish landlords who owned the vast tenements in areas such as the South Bronx. Absolute total destitute $hitholes where no amenities were ever set up or properties re-furbished. That is a fact. This was rampant in the 70's, areas such as the South Bronx, known as "the Zoo", these people were landlords with zero conscience. You want sources? Okay, here is a fairly recent one -

Do you want me to link sources how the Jewish Diaspora were/are linked to the American banking industry too? Or can you or anybody else find that out for yourself in two seconds?

I meant it would have been helpful to have provided a source for the claim you stated afterwards was historical fact, the diaspora you were referring to in your previous post around the time of the mid twentieth century. You claimed anyone would have made the connection, they might have done if they were familiar with the connection you were making. I would have preferred sources for the claims you made then, as they would have provided some context.

It seems silly to accuse other people of being afraid of history when you can’t even bring yourself to identify directly the people you’re referring to, rather than dancing around it and hoping people know the tune. I’m not thinking there was any other explanation behind it other than simply being silly.

But I have provided sources Jack, I gave you one right there about the Israel brothers that you have chosen to ignore. Look man, you are a well known poster of American culture up on here, so what I am saying shouldn't be any surprise to you. The situations I am talking about are true, anybody can find out about them, if they look up the actual urban history of the last American Century. Black people that come into cultural prominence, especially from the East/Mid coast have no problem explaining it, from Chuck D, Tupac Shakur and his own mother, to Dave Chappelle, they all have the exact same story, because it is the truth, they are the ones that lived it and got out but they are lambasted for even mentioning it. Now I am lambasted for mentioning it from some poster that joined 2 days ago who names themself after a Uzi sub machine gun.

Do you want a source for who made the Uzi sub machine gun or is that a bitteen too "anti semitic" ?

Am I missing something with the connotations behind the use of the word ‘diaspora’ when referring to Jews?

Is it a bit like pointing out that it’s ‘hypocritical’ of black people to use the word **** in the same way it’s ‘hypocritical’ for Jews to use the word diaspora?

Previously I’d only have heard of diaspora in the context of referring to immigrants who had formed communities in other countries, mostly familiar with Irish diaspora.

I didn’t choose to ignore the article you provided from 2013 to support your historical argument about American society in the mid twentieth century. I think anyone would be surprised to hear that the mid twentieth century refers to 2013, particularly when it’s only referring to two Jewish landlords in a society of over 330m people.

It doesn’t matter now, at least I know who you’re referring to, which wasn’t clear in your original post.

Diaspora is a Jewish term. That is where the word comes from. It comes from Hellenic Greece but the Jewish people adopted it after the fall of Jerusalem in 6 BCE.

If you want to ask any African American people about who ran their own urban communities during the mid twentieth century ask the likes of Chuck D or Afeni Shakur. They have told countless stories about it. They lived it. Both lambasted for it.

I don’t want to ask them though, I think they might just be biased, just a hunch 😂

I did make the point earlier that history was written by the victors, and I have no doubt Chuck and Afeni would offer their own versions of historical facts, much like the way Chapelle does in his monologues that are often more woke than an insomniac on speed in terms of their historical accuracy 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 10,736 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Was it not Professor Griff, and not Chuck D, who was the antisemite in Public Enemy?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

But this is the thing, these people are affected by their biases because their bias is "their truth", it is their truth, but these people are then thrown into the entertainment industry and when they feel that they have reached maximum peak of this industry they then start divulging the past, their past, their biases. Then they get lambasted for it.

Chuck D was always fairly vocal about the entertainment industry in America, how black artists were treated. The entertainment industry in America is basically run by Jewish people, they set up the first theater circuses, set up the first motion picture establishments. Fair play to them, they see the future and know how to capitalize on it. I just think that Chuck D may have been set against Jewish people from the get go because he grew up in a New York area that was controlled by Jewish slumlords, hard to blame him, the environment is what makes the individual.

They’re lambasted, but not nearly to the same degree as they are celebrated for saying what white middle class types wish they could get away with saying about other groups in American society.

Chapelle is a social commentator and comedian, he’s not a historian. He tells a compelling narrative when co-opting black people’s oppression for his own personal gain. This is the chap who has always made a point of declaring how he walked away from $50 million, and disappeared from the spotlight.

He came back of his own volition and was well paid to do a couple of Netflix specials. To say he was thrown into anything ignores the reality that he was able to orchestrate his own circumstances where most black people, like most Jews, and in particular in the late twentieth century, were not, because Blacks, Jews, Hispanics, Muslims, Chinese and a whole plethora of other groups were, and still are to this day, subservient to wealthy white society.

Chapelle undoubtedly knows this too, and he knows too how to choose his words carefully and tailor his act according to his audience. He also understands that unlike his character Clayton Bigsby, he at least knows he isn’t white, but at least he gets to feel white by entertaining middle class white people nowadays with dreary and obvious humour as opposed to biting social commentary he used to do when he was virtually unknown.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Jews outside of Israel are a diasporic people and they regard themselves as such. 'Next year in Jerusalem' at Yom Kippur meals etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,774 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Most jews in America identify as white. Jews typically rank amongst the higher earners in the US. So, are they subservient to themselves?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Schrodingers minority?

Turned out Chapelle did a different monologue in rehearsals so SNL would not cop on.

Weird that such a milquetoast monologue had to be sprung on SNL in order to be aired but then the head of SNL and both of its parent companies are all....you guessed it.

As some wag put it, you're going to see the "Early Life" section of all the Wikipedia entries for Americas top media executives being hastily edited if Kanye and Chapelle arent shut up.

Post edited by Dyr on

• Registered Users Posts: 11,774 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I half feel sorry for Kanye. He's clearly not well in the head.

Things have gotten ridiculous though. No group should be off limits when it comes to comedy.

My point wasn’t about how Jews identify themselves, it was how wealthy white society regards Jews, regardless of how wealthy or otherwise Jews themselves are, wealthy white society regards Jews the same way it does blacks - with contempt.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

i did not see the monologue, i don,t think its a problem to say that a large amount of hollywood tv and film executives are jews , since america is the largest exporter of film and tv shows this means americans have a significant influence of culture .Go to any country

theres american tv shows on tv and on streaming services .you could say the same about japan, japan has a booming animation industry ,which produces anime, sci fi action films which have a global audience.Many actors and comedians in popular tv shows are jewish .

i think it would be very hard to find a popular tv show in 2022 in america that does not have at least one actor of jewish descent in the cast.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Jewish_actors

chappelle is a very popular comedian ,i think he,s very smart and he,s careful not to go to far or put himself at risk of being cancelled.

I think its best to simply ignore kanye as he seems to be repeating various weird conspiracy theorys he read on the internet.

the entertainment industry is wide open in that anyone can launch a youtube channel, or start streaming on twitch.com

if you are funny,witty, entertaining and good at talking for hours on camera you,ll get an audience.no one cares what race you are ,it helps to be young and attractive .theres `1000s of people making podcasts and streaming on twitch or youtube.

i,m not an expert on history, but i think for a 100 years most of the banks and financial industry was controlled by wasp,s ,

white anglo saxon protestants , there was widespread racist discrimination against the irish and jewish immigrants at least up to 1940 in america .

one of the reasons hollywood was based in california was to get away from certain companys on the east cost of america which wanted to monopilise film distribution in america.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,489 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Jon's take on the whole Kyrie/Chappelle/Ye episode of anti-semitism, and his blessing as a member of some of the ruling Jewish Committees, for the United States to finally have a Christian president, even be sworn in on a bible.

Jon also rejects the concept of punishment for prejudice and would rather see compassionate education against prejudice.

"Hurt people, hurt people."

The back half the conversation is quite somber actually. Colbert closes by touching on the start of Chappelle's SNL monologue.