Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dave Chappelle triggers the Woke Left..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,226 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

antix80 wrote: »
    Ah ok.. I see what's happened.

I read the op and took it as a discussion of a supposedly edgy routine as a response to outrage culture.

Other people (you included) read the op and took it as an invitation to moan about what the op meant by certain words.

And when I returned to the discussion I thought you couldn't see the similarities between Chappelle's response to outrage culture and the so-called "Alt-right"'s similar response.. and I thought you were being deliberately petty trying to put people down by poking holes in the language they were using. Which is a crappy way of trying to win an argument. But I was wrong, your discussion never went beyond poking holes in the language people were using.

So.. where do we go from there. How about "Tony EH, well done on winning the dictionary owner of the year award. you are best with all the language." However, it's not a discussion that interests me. Maybe start your own thread on modern-US political word usage you don't like? And maybe I'll start one on people who wanted to discuss Chappelle's recent netflix show?

Dig upwards, FFS.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

A brilliant standup show like the good ol days when humor was allowed

So this type of humour isn’t allowed in 2019?

Don’t be silly This was made in 2019.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

Tony EH wrote: »
    Dig upwards, FFS.

No seriously, I just skimmed the thread and was thinking "isn't this thread about Dave Chappelle, who is this jackass trying to stifle discussion by moaning about word usage." I see now from the first page that you weren't the first to take this slant on the discussion. But to derail a thread with garbage like the following is just annoying for everyone IMO.
    Tony EH wrote:
    I keep having to say this again and again.

THERE IS NO LEFT IN AMERICAN POLITICS.

:o

Anyway.. I enjoyed the show. I might take it to the "Entertainment - Television" forum where people aren't so "woke".

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Im really not. Im just saying its refreshing to see people unafraid to do comedy that goes against ‘prevailing trends’ again

When did it stop?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

No seriously, I just skimmed the thread and was thinking "isn't this thread about Dave Chappelle, who is this jackass trying to stifle discussion by moaning about word usage." I see now from the first page that you weren't the first to take this slant on the discussion. But to derail a thread with garbage like the following is just annoying for everyone IMO.

Anyway.. I enjoyed the show. I might take it to the "Entertainment - Television" forum where people aren't so "woke".

The more you type, the more you're demonstrating to everyone that:

a. you didn't understand the point of the thread

and

b. you can't grasp simple points that other people on the thread are making.

a. I think the op was pretty clear on the point of the thread.
    b. Your posts are all over the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

The more you type, the more you're demonstrating to everyone that:

a. you didn't understand the point of the thread

and

b. you can't grasp simple points that other people on the thread are making.

I don’t fully understand your point either, except as a “no true Scotsman” argument.

Chappelle does in fact have a scatter gun approach but he is also, in general, going after the outrage and me-too movement. He’s clear at the start about that.

It’s hit and miss of course. The hounding of Kevin Hart was appalling and his attacks on that are good and genuine, but the Jackson stuff felt flat to me.

a. I think the op was pretty clear on the point of the thread.
    b. Your posts are all over the place

READ THE THREAD PROPERLY. ;)

I don’t fully understand your point either, except as a “no true Scotsman” argument.

Chappelle does in fact have a scatter gun approach but he is also, in general, going after the outrage and me-too movement. He’s clear at the start about that.

It’s hit and miss of course. The hounding of Kevin Hart was appalling and his attacks on that are good and genuine, but the Jackson stuff felt flat to me.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=111113945&postcount=106

I can't be clearer. :confused:

This isn't difficult to understand.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=111113945&postcount=106

I can't be clearer. :confused:

This isn't difficult to understand.

Stop linking to your posts, we can read them. We have read them.

Tony went off-topic a bit.. hence the confusion.

Jesus, this place is surreal sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Ifevera wiztherewas

Tony EH wrote:
    Jesus, this place is surreal sometimes.

Plenty of headbangers going around Tony :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

umm i dont think you addressed the point i made

I did. In short nothing has changed except the powerful and ignorant becoming fearful due to the rise in social media giving many a voice so they spin it like it's changed. There has been harsh censorship for generations and complaining about not liking rape friendly jokes isn't a patch on it regardless of the hype used to make it seem like a movement. Some people don't like certain jokes, nobody is arresting Dave or talking about hanging him.

IMO, it's making little of the #metoo for example, 'aw another whinger claiming rape' and so on. Calling people 'woke' or using 'outrage culture' is censorship in itself.

Never said nor suggested otherwise.

The issue I have is with those that feel he should apologise (or worse) and are labelling him transphobic and misogynistic.

The same mob no doubt that went after Kevin Hart about decade old tweets which they had taken totally out of context.

Indeed Dave cited that during his show as he feels Kevin was done something of a disservice and that he should never have apologised. I agree, he shouldn't, as when he apologised the reaction was almost worse.

Intention is everything and no way either are out looking to offend people. Bernard Manning they are not.

You are censoring people right there. You are taking away an individuals right to not like something by inferring they are merely part of a mob.
    Exactly, Bernard Manning. Back in the 70's he was controversial so nothing has changed. It's not your place to decide who is or isn't legitimately offended. Let them be offended. We need vote for or against any laws for sure, other wise it's just spin.

It's a right wing driven agenda to play 'the left' as the great censor. The right want the rise in communication from minority groups silenced and anyone who speaks up for them. They can't stop social media so they change the narrative. Trump the alleged billionaire is for the working man, the leftist socialist are out to take away your rights.
    Comedy:

You went back to 1952 there and the latest was 1992. Nobody is really denying here that there is a right wing historically hostile to free speech, it would be fairly stupid to do that.

On the other hand free speech is under attack from left wing sources as well, and in fact belief in free speech as an absolute value has dropped amongst millennials and the next generation.

Seinfeld and Chris Rock refuse to do college gigs for instance.

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

And your right up there.
    Delighted Dave got under your skin.
    I love dave as you said

Generalised ad hominem, Ifevera.

Abel Ruiz wrote:
    And your right up there. Delighted Dave got under your skin. I love dave as you said

:pac: :pac: :pac: devastated here...

You went back to 1952 there and the latest was 1992. Nobody is really denying here that there is a right wing historically hostile to free speech, it would be fairly stupid to do that.

On the other hand free speech is under attack from left wing sources as well, and in fact belief in free speech as an absolute value has dropped amongst millennials and the next generation.

Seinfeld and Chris Rock refuse to do college gigs for instance.

A person made a comment that the Right don't really ban anything. He only later specified he was talking about very recently.

The way I see it is we had generations of conservative right wing Christians censoring everything heavily. It's loosened over the years. Let's not forget in Texas they are literally re-writing their history books to infer the founding fathers admired Moses. So some serious censorship still takes place from the right.
    With the advent of social media everyone has a voice. There have been many institutionally bad things which are rightfully called out. Yes, it goes too far in places but I would suggest after generations of it being the other way there will be a turbulent period until it settles hopefully somewhere in the middle.
    As much as there is an element of over kill, there is also an element of dismissing all criticism as the right try to hold on to the status quo.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,489 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Super Woke Tony :D
    giphy.gif

(Of course there’s a left in American politics, even if there are few or no seats in elected office for it)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,182 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Poor old Dave is in trouble with the lefties, not sure if you've seen his new stand up show on Netflix Sticks & Stones but it's laugh out loud funny and worth checking out to draw your own conclusions. I think he nailed a few topical subjects.

The woke media say you should skip it https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/59ngpb/you-can-definitely-skip-dave-chappelles-new-netflix-special-sticks-and-stones

Dave Chappelle under fire for discrediting Michael Jackson accusers in Netflix special
    https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2019/aug/28/dave-chappelle-under-fire-for-discrediting-michael-jackson-accusers-in-netflix-special

Vice, really, that trash site? Who owns them? HBO, gee now, why would they say to skip it? And the Guardian only prints stories bashing Michael Jackson.

Wade Robson and James Safechuck are proven liars. Leaving Neverland was debunked long ago, the media are only interested in negative Michael Jackson stories. It was no different when he was alive, only now they can say what they like without fear of litigation.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=CXOfz1YkWeA

This week, Missy Elliott received The Michael Jackson Vanguard Award at the MTV Music Awards. MTV didn't call it that in much of its promotion but Missy Elliott made sure to call it by its proper title and the celebrities on the red carpet don't believe he's guilty, with one saying "Wade Robson is a piece of $h*t and a liar".

https://youtube.com/watch?v=O23OoxUPJog

I can't stand Vice myself. Cheap, lazy condescending crapola.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,775 ✭✭✭buried

Was actually going to cancel me Netflix account until I heard about all this noise last night.

I think I'll still cancel it anyways.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 17,182 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Overheal wrote: »
    Dave’s hilarious. I don’t particularly like him belittling rape much less child molestation and pedophilia but he’s an edgelord. Still on my watchlist.

I don't think he's "belittling rape much less child molestation and pedophilia". He's calling Wade Robson and James Safechuck out for the proven liars that they are.

Just to note it's very ironic how all these supposed anti-outrage threads pop up giving out about the giving out :)

And we don't see, 'Chappelle crossed the line and I'm outraged' thread or 'Fair play to your wan Greta getting in the boat' thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,171 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Greta outrages me just by looking at her, reminds me of some evil kid from a movie. What an evil head on her.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,480 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

sligeach wrote: »
    I don't think he's "belittling rape much less child molestation and pedophilia". He's calling Wade Robson and James Safechuck out for the proven liars that they are.
    They're not proven liars - you just have a bizarre inability to view Michael Jackson as possibly capable of wrongdoing.
    Greta outrages me just by looking at her, reminds me of some evil kid from a movie. What an evil head on her.
    The classy insults of an autistic teenager continue.

I still don't believe the world is fuked lads despite all the evidence to the contrary. There's​ still plenty of well adjusted people out there with plenty of decency in them.