Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Collected the bale handler on Saturday. Very happy with the build quality. Check valve to be added today. I needed to use it Saturday to stack a handful of bales so took it without the valve been fitted. So far impressed, but only stacked 20 bales so far!

2020-07-25-11-25-54.jpg

2020-07-25-11-26-04.jpg

2020-07-25-11-26-25.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Collected the bale handler on Saturday. Very happy with the build quality. Check valve to be added today. I needed to use it Saturday to stack a handful of bales so took it without the valve been fitted. So far impressed, but only stacked 20 bales so far!

2020-07-25-11-25-54.jpg

2020-07-25-11-26-04.jpg

2020-07-25-11-26-25.jpg
    Is the red bit on the end of the grab a pair of rolllers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

2020-07-25-11-25-54.jpg

2020-07-25-11-26-04.jpg

2020-07-25-11-26-25.jpg

Well Wear - you have a mighty fine looking set up there

hows the fendt going for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Is the red bit on the end of the grab a pair of rolllers?

Yeah rollers. It will roll down between bales on a trailer/stack to grab them. Not 100% sure of the logic but I guess it aides with tearing.
    Panch18 wrote: »
    Well Wear - you have a mighty fine looking set up there

hows the fendt going for you?

Going the finest. The odd error code but nothing major. Turn off/on clears it. Heading for the 1k hours now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,479 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Yeah rollers. It will roll down between bales on a trailer/stack to grab them. Not 100% sure of the logic but I guess it aides with tearing.

Going the finest. The odd error code but nothing major. Turn off/on clears it. Heading for the 1k hours now

No harm getting the error codes checked out. Take note of the codes number and get paddy to check them off. A simple error code can grow into a snag. I know from experience

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

Reggie. wrote: »
    Looks different than my own

They seem to have made a slight design changes alright. Is yours 3m Reggie? What hp have you in front. I'm on hilly ground and find the 150hp renault often needs most of what she has to pull it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

What would that be like for handling bales set on their end?
    Or are the paddles better for them? We've got a pair of rollers on bale handler and I think that they would be more inclined to separate the bale if you don't lift them from right at the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,479 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mythos110 wrote: »
    They seem to have made a slight design changes alright. Is yours 3m Reggie? What hp have you in front. I'm on hilly ground and find the 150hp renault often needs most of what she has to pull it

Yeah mines 3m. I have 140hp up front and you would need it

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭F5500

Lads has anyone gotten a dribble bar retro-fitted to a tanker through TAMS? Any rough idea as to what you'd end up paying? Seems to be plenty clean tankers for sale at value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Just following up from my dumper hire post,
    What's approx cost to dry hire a 10 t track machine for a week? Self drive. Not sure if I'd go with it, as a machine with driver will cover a lot more in the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

What's approx cost to dry hire a 10 t track machine for a week? Self drive. Not sure if I'd go with it, as a machine with driver will cover a lot more in the same time.

350- 500 depending were you hire

Would you not rally up a few friends and hire 2 dumpers and a digger .

I can keep 2 x 6 ton dumpers going with my 3ton digger on a short enough draw once the digger is slightly higher and material loose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Is it possible to get half of a 21 spline pto drive and slot it into a pto with 6 spline at machine end instead of having to use on of these converters on the tractor's pto shaft?

PTO_Shaft_Adapter_4b433bcb-20e9-413e-abce-3bd5a71520ea_2048x2048.jpg?v=1579571605

Only 21 spline pto I saw had a star shape shaft compared to a normal triangle type. Or could I just change the pto outer yoke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

4-500 for the week i would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Paid 500 plus vat recently for an 8t, if you get a digger/dumped make sure and get someone to drive dumper. You'd be surprised at the extra progress you'd make not jumping from one to the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Farm where I'm at had a Massey combine out on demo yesterday, would put up a pic if I was anyway half tech savvy, serious bit of kit with a 12mtr header and 650hp apparently, just a pity the air con had already quit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Anyone know anything about the weidemann t4512

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about the weidemann t4512

Iirc, she has hydrostatic drive on her so I wouldn't be taking her to an out farm. I think there's a danger of overheating on those and they wouldn't be capable of going very fast, so I'm told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Iirc, she has hydrostatic drive on her so I wouldn't be taking her to an out farm. I think there's a danger of overheating on those and they wouldn't be capable of going very fast, so I'm told.

Yeah they will only do 20k but can be towed behind a jeep. I have a demo booked in for this winter I've a very narrow passageway here 9'9" and I reckon that's the narrowest machine out there.

Was reading a Teagasc doc on Beef housing and the follow on section was dealing with machinery and had this photo. Is this for removing posts only - I'm nervous about his rear window!
    521988.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭emaherx

Was reading a Teagasc doc on Beef housing and the follow on section was dealing with machinery and had this photo. Is this for removing posts only - I'm nervous about his rear window!

Think it's a matter of perspective. Don't think the window and that post will interfere with each other.

So it is for removing posts?

Looking to sell a trailer at a mart machinery auction. With all this Covid nonsense the auction is now a 7 day online auction.

Not sure whether this would be any better than firing it onto eBay/Done Deal - only advantage is the lack of timewasters. I'm just not sure I can see the target market registering for online bidding to try to buy it.
    Am I wrong here? Has anyone else tried selling machinery at one of these new online mart auctions? I presume viewing will be available on site, but bidding online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Looking to sell a trailer at a mart machinery auction. With all this Covid nonsense the auction is now a 7 day online auction.

Not sure whether this would be any better than firing it onto eBay/Done Deal - only advantage is the lack of timewasters. I'm just not sure I can see the target market registering for online bidding to try to buy it.
    Am I wrong here? Has anyone else tried selling machinery at one of these new online mart auctions? I presume viewing will be available on site, but bidding online.

I was looking to buy an item at an auction that happens monthly and is advertised on DoneDeal. Went and looked at item, headed home and bid online. Was the underbidder, ended up getting identical item 20% cheaper elsewhere.

You can always set a reserve with auctioneer. There are very few bargains at some auctions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Mods!! Save that pic for future use :D

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭F5500

timple23 wrote: »
    You can always set a reserve with auctioneer. There are very few bargains at some auctions.

I keep a regular eye on one popular monthly auction. The prices that end up being paid are usually similar to asking prices you'd see on DoneDeal, I haven't seen many lads making great savings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Farm where I'm at had a Massey combine out on demo yesterday, would put up a pic if I was anyway half tech savvy, serious bit of kit with a 12mtr header and 650hp apparently, just a pity the air con had already quit!!

9t from chandlers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Advice please :)

OH's birthday is coming up soon and I was thinking of getting him a impact wrench/driver thingie as a present. I reckon either a half or three quarter inch drive would suit as it would be used mainly to open wheel studs, nuts and bolts on the tractor/digger/machinery instead of swinging out of a bar with 5' of scaffolding tube at the other end.
    Would a pneumatic one work off the air compressor outlet on the lorry as it's piped for a drag trailer or should I look at a battery one. Also how much would one of them cost.

Thanks in advance.

Base price wrote: »

OH's birthday is coming up soon and I was thinking of getting him a impact wrench/driver thingie as a present. I reckon either a half or three quarter inch drive would suit as it would be used mainly to open wheel studs, nuts and bolts on the tractor/digger/machinery instead of swinging out of a bar with 5' of scaffolding tube at the other end.
    Would a pneumatic one work off the air compressor outlet on the lorry as it's piped for a drag trailer or should I look at a battery one. Also how much would one of them cost.

Thanks in advance.

https://www.thedandys.ie/product/hikoki-hitachi-36v-12-brushless-impact-wrench-hkwr36db

Have this in work,will eat the top of range e750 milwalkee battery guns,several times over

Any nut/bolt or it baulked at.....took heat or 12ft pipe on 3/4 socket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Base price wrote: »

Thanks in advance.

No good trying to work an air gun off the the tanks or compressor of a lorry Base.

Invest in a battery powered impact gun. Milwaukee would be the preferable choice. Go for 3/4 drive and something with over 1750nm of torque...he (or she) will be forever in your gratitude, trust me.
    Expect to pay €750+.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭Base price

https://www.thedandys.ie/product/hikoki-hitachi-36v-12-brushless-impact-wrench-hkwr36db

Have this in work,will each the top of range e750 milwalkee battery guns,several times over

Any nut/bolt or it baulked at.....took heat or 12ft pipe on 3/4 socket
    No good trying to work an air gun off the the tanks or compressor of a lorry Base.

Invest in a battery powered impact gun. Milwaukee would be the preferable choice. Go for 3/4 drive and something with over 1750nm of torque...he (or she) will be forever in your gratitude, trust me.
    Expect to pay €750+.
    Thanks lads but tbh I didn't think I'd have to spend that sort of money - I'm not saying he's not worth it but I reckon he/me will manage swinging outta the 5' scaffolding bar for a another few years.
    If ye have less expensive birthday present suggestions then please let me know cause I'm running out of ideas.

On the flip side, I might just buy him a fly rod and teach him how to fly fish although I reckon the fish will stay safe enough in the lake rolleyes.png