Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baby wipes

• 01-09-2019 9:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭

My wife is due our first early next year, she's 16 weeks gone. We've been picking up bits and pieces as we go, and everyone is advising sticking up on wipes now as they get expensive.

Does anybody know a good place/website to order wipes? Since I have the time to purchase online and wait for delivery, I'm trying to use it to stock up on a few bits to spread the costs.

• Administrators Posts: 54,316 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Firstly, this stocking up thing is way overblown. Wipes (and nappies) are always on offer somewhere, there is no point having a house full of wipes or nappies to save yourself a really insignificant amount of money.

But even aside from that, don't stock up on any of this stuff now. You don't know what will work for your baby and what won't.

If you're happy to order online, Amazon have offers all the time. Boots too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Kind of agree, water wipes are often on offer so don't worry too much. Dunnes (in person) and boots (in person and online) often have the boxes of 9 or 12 packs on offer (not at the moment though, just looked)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

My wife is due our first early next year, she's 16 weeks gone. We've been picking up bits and pieces as we go, and everyone is advising sticking up on wipes now as they get expensive.

Does anybody know a good place/website to order wipes? Since I have the time to purchase online and wait for delivery, I'm trying to use it to stock up on a few bits to spread the costs.

Amazon for things like waterwipes and pampers when they are on offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭PhoenixParker

Also for newborns you're generally advised to use waterwipes or similar. Water wipes have best before dates and last year I remember lots of people stocking up, only to find they'd gone mouldy.

As Awec says, there's always an offer on somewhere. Keep an eye out for offeres and track prices so you've a good idea what constitutes a good offer but keep your money in your pocket/account for now. Buy when you know what works for baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Thanks for the replies.
    I know, naivety is playing a part here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Thanks for the replies.
    I know, naivety is playing a part here!!

We've all been there! You'll be grand once you're in the thick of it, don't worry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

As above- water wipes have an expiry date, I wouldn't go mad.
    As for nappies, I wouldn't buy them either in bulk for a child you've never met. Different nappies suit different bums. Pampers leaked constantly on my last baby, had to switch to aldi.

Re the wipes, I switched to cloth wipes recently (baby no 4), and I wouldn't go back. I'm sorry I didn't do it sooner, had an idea that they'd be stinky and hard work, but they are neither, and will definitely save money long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

wow you are organised
    consider the environment look at biodrgradable options and despite what they say never flush them, just googly wet wipes and environment,
    consider something like Eco by Naty – Unscented Wipes, Biodegradable & Hypoallergenic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,715 ✭✭✭✭fits

Yes I agree with the others. Don’t go mad stocking up and consider using cloth wipes. There is a kit called cheeky wipes that could be worth getting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

We use the pampers pure wipes and little rascal and friends nappies.
    You can get reusable nappies if you dont mind washing them. Might find yourself with space in your bin for something else some weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭maxsmum

Some wipes can cause rashes etc eg mine could have Aldi extra sensitive but not Lidl extra sensitive. Water wipes are so expensive that it was great to discover we could use Aldi extra sensitive and saved a fortune.
    Nappies Jesus do not buy more than a couple of packs as like everyone else says your baby will suit certain ones! For us Aldi were the best and I still can't get over how much Pampers cost...they leaked for us all the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭irelandrover

We use these wipes. We find them far better than the disposable wipes.

https://www.cheekywipes.com/

These are the ones I got too. I'm just raging I didn't get them sooner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,725 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

We've found Dunnes Stores own brand XL wipes are the best for our baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

They grow out of the nappies really quickly at the start as well so “stocking up” may end up being a false economy.

I would say there is a deal on wipes in Dunnes at least once a month too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

We are using these now. Exact same as water wipes, only cheaper, bigger pack and the wipe itself is bigger, so they are much better value.

https://babywipesdirect.ie/

These wipes are great if you're looking some reusable stuff.

We use them for cleaning her face and hands after she eats, we don't use them for nappy changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,715 ✭✭✭✭fits

I also use regular baby wipes for nappy changes (aldi) But when they were newborns I used cotton wool and water.

IKEA sell packs of ten towelling wipes which are fantastic and we use those after meals, and cleaning faces and hands now.
    https://www.ikea.com/ie/en/p/krama-washcloth-white-40054538/

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Think I will get those Ikea ones.I use the kitchen cloth usually but it gets so dirty and smelly and has to be dumped regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

At best you'll only end up with out of date wipes or nappies that don't fit after a few weeks, worst case would be the wipes you have may cause some skin irritation and you have to change them all, or nappies that don't fit so good and leak.

We had subscriptions with Amazon family, saved a small fortune that way and you can easily pause and change size if you have more than you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Might save ye a couple of bob but wipes are way overhyped... If you have a big pump bottle, put a dash of coconut oil and lavendar in it and keep it where you will be changing the baby. Fill it with water and it is perfect, use cotton pleats instead of wipes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,820 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Car99 wrote: »
    Amazon for things like waterwipes and pampers when they are on offer.

But first find a brand you like. People like different brands

It never occurred to me to either stock up on wipes or that some wipes suit better than others. So much to learn, just as well I've plenty of time to panic before it really counts :D

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

ted1 wrote: »
    But first find a brand you like. People like different brands

Certain brands suit different babies as well. Some wipes can cause a rash on one baby but be perfect for another. Pampers were useless on my baby but Lidl nappies worked well, yet his cousins it was the opposite.

If I was doing it again I think I'd steer clear of wipes or at least use them more sparingly than I did. As handy as they were, I feel guilty given that that they are essentially plastic, not flushable and not environmentally friendly at all. I'd probably try cloth nappies too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

We use bamboo washable kitchen 'paper' on our baby,I but we cloth nappy too so washing them is easy. I lave them; we only had to buy them once and they get softer with each wash. I got them on Amazon, but I've heard that Supervalu is stocking them now.

We're very eco-friendly in our gaff, and go the extra mile compared to most people.

But cloth nappies and reusable wipes that had been used on a dirty arse was a line that I was not willing to cross. :D

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

awec wrote: »
    We're very eco-friendly in our gaff, and go the extra mile compared to most people.

But cloth nappies and reusable wipes that had been used on a dirty arse was a line that I was not willing to cross. :D

Yeah it's a tough one - I mean, new parents and parents of babies and toddlers already have enough work to juggle without laundering nappies as well and I'd have probably caved within the week on that eco resolution.

But I think I'd use them less for things I used to use them for -and when they are handy and you are doing stuff one handed you do tend to go for them all the time like wiping hands and faces, spot wiping spilled food, highchair etc and I wish I'd only used them for the baby's bum using a facecloth or kitchen cloth instead of a wipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Really? What an odd way to think. Cloth nappies and wipes are easy to use and are a huge saving of money and for the environment. If the baby poos on their clothes you're hardly going to throw them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

lazygal wrote: »
    Really? What an odd way to think. Cloth nappies and wipes are easy to use and are a huge saving of money and for the environment. If the baby poos on their clothes you're hardly going to throw them out.

Depends on how bad the poonami was. I did throw out a few vests that were covered when my little boy was small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I always found the cloth nappies were brilliant for containing the poo. Never got the up the back poo experience with them unlike the disposables.

That's what we've found; no poo escapes while we've been using the cloth. The way I've put it to people is that you can have random poo escapes sometimes, or you can have 10 minutes of scheduled poo cleaning twice a week. Breastmilk poo is water soluble so you can just throw the nappy straight in the wash :D

Lots of people have been so surprised at how easy they are, they're a long way from the terry squares and pins our mammies used.

Are nappy booster pads worth buying if you're going the cloth nappy route? I would be planning on disposables for the first weeks and then switch to cloth as it all settles down a bit - I haven't a clue what I'm talking about though!

It sounds like water wipes are the least likely to irritate, but again I think I'll only plan on those for the first weeks and switch to cloth wipes as things settle down.

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Candie wrote: »
    Are nappy booster pads worth buying if you're going the cloth nappy route? I would be planning on disposables for the first weeks and then switch to cloth as it all settles down a bit - I haven't a clue what I'm talking about though!

It sounds like water wipes are the least likely to irritate, but again I think I'll only plan on those for the first weeks and switch to cloth wipes as things settle down.

For just wet nappies I used cotton balls dipped in water for a quick wipe, and waterwipes for poos. One waterwipe will do the work of 2/3 other brand wipes, so well worth the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

Candie wrote: »

Depending on the type of cloth nappies you use, you may or may not need boosters. Some have the boosters sewn in and some need them packed in separately so you can choose how absorbant you need them. There is a cloth nappy library where you can rent a bundle to try out different types to see what suits. There are really good cloth nappy groups on Facebook where you can get loads of info and support.

I've not had any issues with the sensitive wipes from Lidl and Aldi but every baby's skin is different. I found water wipes too wet!

Well there's a bit of a difference between washing clothes on the incredibly rare occasion poo or pee escapes, and washing 5 or 6 nappies every single day.

I get why some people use them. Not for me though.

The idea that cloth nappies are better at containing explosive poo is of course purely anecdotal.

Well there's a bit of a difference between washing clothes on the incredibly rare occasion poo or pee escapes, and washing 5 or 6 nappies every single day.

Nah; you get two dozen and wash every 2/3 days.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

It's once they start weaning that I would not be mad on cloth nappies.I mean poonamis are generally only a problem for a few months.My youngest lad is 16 months and his dirty nappies...sweet jesus.No cloth nappies would survive, I would be binning most of them.He is far and away the worst of my kids for them.I am now seriously considering moving to those re-usable wipes though because at this stage we are back to using Water Wipes and the odd cloth clean up with him.All other wipes have failed with his dirty nappies.

That being said, we only use wipes for nappies, any other wiping round mealtimes etc is done with cloths.It would cost me a fortune in wipes otherwise.

To the OP I'd say get some packs of water wipes to get you through the first few weeks and see where you go from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 MommaSarah

jlm29 wrote: »
    Pampers leaked constantly on my last baby, had to switch to aldi.

Re the wipes, I switched to cloth wipes recently (baby no 4), and I wouldn't go back. I'm sorry I didn't do it sooner, had an idea that they'd be stinky and hard work, but they are neither, and will definitely save money long term.

Re: pampers vs aldi - really? I was stuck for nappies recently and bought first time ever at aldi. They feel really wet on the inside when the nappy is fully soaked, unlike pampers.

Re the wipes: fair play on switching to the cloth ones. I just wash my baby's bum under running water or I use water wipes when I'm out and about. I was shocked when my niece wiped her face with Johnson&Johnson ones and she got an instant rash all over her face! (she's not allergic to anything) Then I read on the packaging that all these wipes (except water wipes) contain SLS, which is basically a detergent. We would never put soap on our skin and not rinse it off, yet we do it (our used to do it) on our children's bums...

MommaSarah wrote: »
    Re: pampers vs aldi - really? I was stuck for nappies recently and bought first time ever at aldi. They feel really wet on the inside when the nappy is fully soaked, unlike pampers.

Yup, and I’ve heard lots of other people say the same thing. I suppose all the little bums have different shapes, so what suits one just doesn’t suit another.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭cant26

jlm29 wrote: »
    Yup, and I’ve heard lots of other people say the same thing. I suppose all the little bums have different shapes, so what suits one just doesn’t suit another.

Ya have to agree that they may not suit all babies! I swore by aldi. Couldn’t understand how people would fork out for pampers when aldi nappies were so great.
    Roll on second baby and it’s been pampers all the way. He is much smaller and the aldi nappies always seemed so thick and big on him. Pampers baby dry were lovely and neat with no leaks. Thankfully they both out of nappies now :)